paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $59

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its 12 inches long, has a .687" inside diameter, a bead blasted finish, and porting. Small paint is recommended.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
RollingThunder Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, SP AA, BigShot
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3,
Palmer Stabilizer
Maddman Rocket Valve
TigerShark Bolt
Lapco AutoSpirit
12V Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Chronic, Marbs, Spank or Big Ball (now Menus) anything that is .686-.688
Strengths: Consistant
Well made
Accurate
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Here is my review of the AutoSpirit (for Spyder).

Location: New Kent Paintball in New Kent, VA on July 3, 2004.

Starting Temp: 80 F
Ending Temp: 88 F
Humidity: 80%

Gun setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3 (Red/Black Fade)
(pure mechanical blow back marker)
Low-pressure internals
Delron Bolt
Palmer Stabilizer (direct) (set at 450 psi)
In Yo Face Ė T-Stock w/drop forward
20 oz CO2 through a PMI remote

Range: Firing range is setup with man size waist high silhouette targets.
Targets are set at 10 ft, 25 ft, 35 ft, 50 ft, 75 ft, 100 ft
For review purposes I used 10, 25, 50, 75 and 100 ft.
(On field shot out to 130 ft., will be part of my opinion portion of review)

Paint: All paint was not fresh, could tell is it had been on the shelf for quite sometime.
Zap Sports Series .686 -.688 (had dimples and paint was settling)
(Looked like old Spank w/black shell)
Zap Primer .687-.690 (misshapen)
Zap Chronic .686-.687 (paint was settling)
Viewloader Heavy Metal .686-.688 (no defects noted)


Review: All shots where well aimed center mass shots. Gun chronographed in at 275-277 fps. No ball breaks occurred.

At 10 feet: All paint hit 10 for 10 in a 4-inch square pattern

At 25 feet: All paint hit 10 for 10 in a 6-inch square pattern

At 50 feet:
Primer: 8 for 10 in a 12x6 inch pattern, with the 2 missed just left of the edge of the target.
Sports Series: 10 for 10 in a 12x10 inch pattern.
Heavy Metal: 10 for 10, 8 in a 8x6 inch pattern and 2 hit low on target making the pattern 8x10 inches.
Chronic: 10 for 10 in a 6x6 inch pattern.

At 75 feet:
Primer: 5 for 10 in a 12x12 inch pattern, with the misses just right, left and high.
Sports Series: 6 for 10 in a 12x12 inch pattern, with the misses just right and left.
Heavy Metal: 6 for 10, 12x14 inch pattern with misses just left and high.
Chronic: 8 for 10 in a 12 x 8 inch pattern with miss just left.

At 100 feet:
Primer: 3 for 10 in a 14x14 inch pattern.
Sports Series: 3 for 10 in a 14x14 inch pattern.
Heavy Metal: 4 for 10, 14x14 inch pattern.
Chronic: 6 for 10 in a 14 x 10 inch pattern with miss just left and low.


Over all from the data, update 75 feet the barrel is very accurate with all paintballs. As you extend your range the better the quality of the paintball the more accurate the shoots were. As you can note Chronic shot the best, most likely since it is a better quality paintball.

Opinion: The AutoSpirit is a good upgrade form most stock barrels on inexpensive guns. With a the porting at the end of the barrel it can be considered loud, but I have heard louder stock barrels and if can lower your gun operating pressure this will also reduce the report. When the paintball match perfectly with the bore the accuracy was outrageous. Players watching me during the testing at the range noted the impacts on target sound like the gun was firing ďHOTĒ. When gun was chronoed it was shooting a 276 fps. I can only assume I was getting the full potential out of the air.

During game play, on the denser wood course any player that got with in 75 feet of me was eliminated using 1 and 3 shot bursts. Total kills 10. On the Fire Base course, shooting in a fire suppression mode, I was pining down targets at 130 feet. I was shooting through 20 feet of woods, to an up hill to position shooting at a shoulders and head target. I was using Chronic paintballs only and after the game the pattern at that position was 14x8 and 2 very splatter covered players.

If you paint match near perfectly, this barrel is one of the best barrels I have used. You can go a little small and not loose too much, but I donít recommend going above .688. This will be the barrel I use if Iím shooting a medium-small ball.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good barrel for around $50.00, then I'd get this barrel. If you properly paint match you'll never go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbkevin Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many barrels. Dyes, 32deg, old bob long barrels, etc. Lapco's are the best.
Marker Setup: AM Illusion Pro
Also used Lapco's on Cockers and Mags
Recommended
Paintballs:
Since this is a small bore barrel, I would use small bore paint.
Strengths: Cheap
The Best Quality
Weaknesses: The only one is Loudness. Alittle bit on the loud side.
Review: I have had many lapcos for many different guns. They have all been well finished, excellent bore finish, etc. I have never recieved a flawed one. They are on the loud side, but for me and a pump gun, that doesn't seem to matter. Even on my cocker or mag, it wasn't a problem.
Conclusion: Okay. Here it is. If you read and take to heart only one review for this or any lapco barrel, hopefully this is it. First off, this is a tight bore barrel. So anyone on here complaining that the barrel is too small, their paint is too big. Second, too the person who complained about the logo being upside down when the barrel was screwed in all the way. Boo Hoo. It doesn't matter unless your tottally image conscious. Third. Yes, it is loud. Atleast louder than most barrels. Forth. Too the person complaining about you need a long barrel plug to fit these barrels. Most people use the condoms nowadays anyway, but yea you need a long plug. Spend a whole 3 bucks. Too the people who complain about anything above 200fps and they broke paint, look at your paint and playing conditions.

It seems like most of the complaints were fairly shallow. I'm sure some were legitamate, because out of all the barrels lapco makes, there are bound to be 1 or 2 here or there. I have never had a genuine problem with any of the lapco's I have owned. All have been top notch. Plus, you can get 2 of them for less than the price of 1 dye. I love my lapcos. Any questions about them, email me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Stainless Steel Lapco Bigshot
14" Dye Stainless Steel
16" Smart Parts All American
Marker Setup: '99 Autococker body
Palmers Quickram
Palmers Micro Rock Front Regulator With Knob
ANS Chrome Quick Switch 3 way (use to have a shocktech bomb but it wasn't nearly as short of a trigger pull and leaked when u tapped the timing rod)
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Evolution Style Pull Pin
AKALMP Tornado Valve
AKALMP Sidewinder Inline Regulator
AKALMP Back Block
Dye Chrome Trigger Frame
Dye Chrome Polished Trigger Plate
Dye Black Sticky Grips
Kapp Black Trigger Shoe
Kapp Chrome Beaver Tail
Generic Cradle (I have no idea what brand it is but it works very well)
Generic Stainless Steel Ball Detent
Stock Springs, Hammer, Pump Rod, Springs, Timing Rod, And Front Block
Lapco 12" Stainless Steel Big Shot (bore size .689)
Lapco 12: Aluminum Autospirit (bore size .687)
Viewloader 12 Volt Revolution Hopper
48 CU 3000 PSI PMI Nitro Tank
ACI 42" Coiled Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, Hellfire, All Star, Slam, Team Colors (yes even these but only when they're very fresh)
Strengths: Price - who can't afford a $50 barrel?
Weight - this thing is one light barrel, any lighter and my gun would be unbalanced
Accuracy - we did a shooting test between my tricked cocker and my friend's who had a 14" dye boomstick. we both ran marballizers from the same box and i was more accurate 5 outa 7 times.
Efficency - This is one gas saving barrel. it isn't heavily ported like the Dye or Smart Parts are. This allows you to run a lower pressure while maintaining the same volume of gas spent thus you can drain your tank more, equaling more shots.
Self Cleaning - This barrel handles breaks MUCH better than the heavily ported ones. It can even blow out almost all of the left over paint still in the barrel. I rarely get breaks but when i do i'm glad i have this barrel handy, i dont' even carry a squeegie anymore in tournaments.
Weaknesses: Not much choice in color or length. I personally wanted a 12 inch but others may want a slightly longer barrel. Its tight bore limits its use to only small to smaller medium paints. I have had some great experiences with 32 degree's team colors paint as long as its not more than 4 months old. Not too strong, mine has a ding on it which actually left a very small imprint on the inside of the barrel but it hasn't affected my shooting accuracy at all yet.
Conclusion: Its great for the money, its self cleaning, its light, efficient and accurate what more could u want out of a 50 dollar barrel?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peacock103 Monday, September 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels
Marker Setup: tippmann pro/cabrine with lapco autospirit 12" and remote line.
Recommended
Paintballs:
nelson anarchy
Strengths: small bore (high quality paint)
durable
good looking
accurate, you can land ball on top of ball if your steady
pretty good distance
cheap
no ball breaks
consistent
Weaknesses: if a ball breaks in ur hopper and gets paint all over inside your barrel wont be accurate at all because it will only go straight about 20 feet and than curve like crazy its kinda cool if ur just goofing around. aluminium (which isnt always bad), and thats all I can think of.
Conclusion: The best barrel for the price, deadly accurate when combined with the tippmann pro/carbine. This barrel just doesnt make you good or great. You do need skills like with any paintball gun or barrel. The products help but you need to think when your out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Streaks Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American (16"), DYE Stainless (12") Smarts Parts Big Daddy (12")
Marker Setup: Mostly stock '01 'cocker, ANS front reg, 9v revy, Crossfire 47ci HPA on a bottom line...

*updated*

'01 'cocker
ANS front reg.
AKALMP Tornado Valve
heavy hammer (forget the brand)
Madman spring kit
AKALMP Sidewinder inline reg.
(by the time you read this..AKALMP Lightning Bolt and a MacDev front end kit)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Either Marballizer or their kin. I also have had good performance from the PMI Premium stuff (I just dig the blue and orange shells better ; ) The new Diablo works well also.

*no update to that*
Strengths: Accurate
Excellent finish
Mirror like hone job
Isn't as well known
CHEAP
Good looks

Weaknesses: Needs more selection in regard to finishes (polished metal or chrome for example)
Becoming popular
Review: With my setup dialed in and humidity low. I can nail the 175' plate at my field's range with ease on a consistant basis (about 7 out of 10 shots). I can hit the 200' plate about 4 out of 10 times but mostly the poor accuracy is due to my tendancy to let the marker drift when I squeeze the trigger or that I'm getting shakey or something : )

When you read the other reviews saying how this barrel isn't any good. You must bear in mind their experience in years and the products they've used. My bet would be on the fact that they didn't have a good paint to barrel match which is vital to ANY barrel's performance.

The damn thing just rocks. Period. Buy it, throw some marbs or all-stars in it and your golden.
Conclusion: BUY this baby! I've been in the sport sense '85 and it's the best barrel I've used thus far. Mind you, I also can't afford the big end stuff so I haven't used EVERY one out there, but enough to know what I'm talking about : ) I gave it a 9 because it didn't come with any beer or naked chicks *grin*


peace

PBREVIEW - The 15 word limit on the key points isn't cool guys.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VSCStocker Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot. Same barrel just different bore size.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
Lapco Autospirit and 14" CCI Nickel Barrel
Clear stock parts
Rear gauge installation
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers, All-Stars, El Tigres. Anything with a .687 bore size.
Strengths: Very Accurate. Just like the Bigshot.
Weaknesses: A little loud. Gets dirty fairly easily.
Review: People complain that this barrel does not shoot large paint well. Well duh, the bore size is only .687. Get the Bigshot for large paint. They are the same barrell!!! The Barrel is extremely accurate with the right size paint. Why the autospirit has a lower rating than the bigshot is beyond me.

With playing stock class. I can't afford to miss shots. Thats why I use the lapco autospirit.

It's more accurate than the CCI barrels. They now make them for the phantom!
Conclusion: Go spend 100 dollars on a autospirit and a bigshot and have all your paint sizes taken care of. The barrel will not miss without with your help and the right size paint. Any barrel is accurate with the CORRECT PAINT MATCH. Will not shoot any other barrels than lapco.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

COCKER_JUNKIE Saturday, June 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ss lapco bigshot on my 98c bigshot on my friends cocker.
Marker Setup: 2k2 red cocker 12 volt revy x board (pre brass eagle), red psycho ballistics pro drop forward, shocktech bomb 3-way, kapp fat ram, palmers stabilizer, jackal 15* asa, lapco autospirit, eclipse blade trigger frame and a dye izon sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs and allstars shoot less than 3 inch groupings at 50 ft as tested 10 minutes using bench mount. bigball is to big for autospirit shoots the same grouping as above in bigshot.
Strengths: light, extremely accurate, i think it looks pimp, super smooth bore, inexpensive.
Weaknesses: works best with small paint, will not shoot clean must squeegee, not super quiet.
Review: I love this barrel i always use marbs and allstars so im set for 3 inch groupings at 50 ft and i dont know if its the barrel fit but i shoot 270 fps at 240 psi with no low pressure upgrades using stock valve and spring and i think it might be the paint/bore match. i bought one for my 98 custom and I bout one for my cocker which is awesome cause ill be able to use it on my akalmp viking soon to come. for the money i think there isnt a better barrel if you dont chop. i never really get barrel breaks only breech so it isnt the barrel causing the breaks. buy this barrel for all your guns use marbs or allstars no crappy paint or large bore paint.
Conclusion: buy because its a sniper barrel, 1 shot kill, my friends know it because they are on the receiving end. oh and its not too long.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ACtournyguy Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco bigshot, stock barrel
Marker Setup: 2k2 Blue A/c
Aluminum slider frame, Lapco autospirit, Blue kapp fat ram, Blue kapp rhino reg, Black STO 3-way (best found for sealling at lp), Front expansion chamber, Clear kapp hose, AA Vigulanti in-line, Kapp gauge, Slide check, Quick disconnect, Drop Zone 3 cradle, AA 68ci 4500psi Raptor REX, Dye black stickys, Smoke loc socs, and Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI evil or other small bore
Strengths: Accurate and i think it looks awsome with the autococker in the middle rasied hump. Its acurrate and has great distance and it never breaks paint unless you use to big of a ball and in compresses it but i have both a autospirit and a bigshot its the perfect combination. And you can pick on up for 50 bucks.
Weaknesses: nothing just a little loud and has minial porting but is fine.
Conclusion: Great products again buy lapco. they make the best barrels period yeah a freak may be adjustable buy you can get a autospirit and a bigshot for 100 bucks nd shoot almost any paint .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Assasins
Custom Products 1-Piece
Deadlywind Fibur
Dye Boomstick
Dye Ultralite
WGP Kaner
Lucky Un1tec
MacDev Matchstik
Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass
Planet Eclipse Shaft
Powerlyte Scepter 2000 Series
Proto 1 and 2-piece
Smart Parts All American
Sly Equipment Dual-Carbon
Smart Parts Aluminum Freak Kit
Stiffi
Stock EGO Barrel
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Superstock
+ CCM 45 Auto Trigger Frame & Pump Kit
+ WGP Karnivore Regulator
+ Lapco Autospirit Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Probably anything up to .690
Strengths: Shoots well through breaks
Smooth finish
Hard Anodized
Well Made
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None
Review: As you can see from the list above, I've tried a lot of barrels. What I noticed different in this barrel was the inner finish. This barrel was completely mirror smooth. No concentric circles down the barrel, no lines going down, no variations in anodizaion. It was completely and perfectly mirror smooth.

When I switched to pump play, I started out with a 2000 Series Powerlyte barrel kit because of a paintball test done by Mann on PBNation. It was a decent kit, but it did not play very well through breaks. I was also getting tired of sizing paint.

Looking for a better barrel, I purchased a Palmers Pursuit Shop brass barrel. It was .685, no wedgits, no porting, and 12" long. Over the chrono, it was very consistent. However, it did not do too well with breaks.

Next, I tried a .693 Stiffi barrel, using electrical tape to prevent roll outs. It did better than the previous two when breaks occured, but breaks happened often.

After more research, I found the Lapco barrels. I read how they were made differently than most other barrels, and decided to get one myself after reading a review on PPS brass barrels vs Lapco.

I purchased the Lapco Autospirit, which is .687. I chose the Autospirit in anticipation of shooting Dynasty Paint. I had emailed GAP, and asked about the boresize. They recomended a .687 barrel to avoid roll-out.

For my test, I used 3 month old WPN Elixir. At the chrono, speeds were almost as consistent as the PPS brass. Accuracy was very straight up and down. During a day of play, I went through about 400 rounds. It performed very consistently just like at the chrono. I had one break, but only knew about it when I went to put on my barrel cover. So, I took a few shots to check it out, and I was impressed when most of the shots went straight with only slight curve balls every few shots. None of the barrels I have ever tried (see the list above) performed this well.

Cleaning was easy. Just one pull through with a pull-through squeege-swab tool and it was mirror finish clean again. Porting was easily wiped clean with a soft cloth.
Conclusion: If you own a cocker, or closed bolt marker, I highly recommended this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 6th, 2008 at 4:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann barrel (WAY worse)
SmartParts Pogressive (worse)
stock spyder barrels (worse)
flatline barrel (better range, worse accuracy)
Marker Setup: -98 custom
-lapco autospirit 12"
-Polished internals and Pen spring mod
Recommended
Paintballs:
tested with walmart paint and marbs, anything to to big (under .688)
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Weight
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Porting is hard to clean
Review: To start off the lapco autospirit barrel is a great addition to the tippmann 98c.

PROS:

Accuracy- This barrel is really accurate! Tested from 50í and could hit the same spot over and over and over (within maybe 8-10Ē grouping (sorry Iím Canadian, not great with imperial measurement)).

Fireís straight, no hooks or curves

Looks really cool, has a nice finish.

No breaks, put 200 rounds through fireing as fast as I could and didnít break 1! Only time I had a ball break was when I ran out of CO2 and the gun misfired (the bolt didnít catch).

CONS:

Loud, loud, loud! This thing sounds like a cannon when you fire it. This is because the porting is at the very end of the barrel. Not to much of a big deal for me, but some may mind.

Hard to clean- found the porting to be really hard to clean after a ball break. Paint gets stuck in the holes.
Conclusion: BUY IT! Great barrel for small-med bore paint! Will never let you down. I give it an 8 because the porting it hard to clean and its a little bit on the loud side. Accuracy is great and its is light.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media