paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan

Dye Invision Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Invision Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Invision Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a fan made for the Dye Invision to reduce fog on the lens. Like a personal ventilation system for your Invision, the Turbine Fan technology is a culmination of Dye's design efforts for perfect goggle circulation.

Features:

Turbo 9 accelerator blade which yields higher air flow volume while operating at a lower RPM resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life
Two speed operation ensures that you get the best results under any condition
High impact aircraft quality plastic resists breakage from close range shots
Foggy lenses are a thing of the past with the low profile Turbine Fan
Can be worn with or without a visor
Takes one AA battery (Included)
Installs in seconds
Product Availability 
The Dye Invision Turbine Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pm6825 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Response Trigger
Proteam M-4 FX Stock
Proteam ASR-1 Sight Rail
PMI Coiled Remote
Strengths: Clears glasses
2 Speeds
Looks Great
Fits Great
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I wear glasses, so a fan is an essential part of the game for me. I love the Dye Invision and because I followed the instructions on cleaning the lenses properly, it never fogs up. But my glasses do every once in a while. Before I had my Invision I used my JT Proteus II Mask with a JT fan built in. The JT setup was great, but when my girlfriend started playing with me and becoming interested in the game, it was time to pass down my 98 Custom w/ a Flatline barrel and my JT mask so that she didn't have to rent equipment.

The Invision Turbine Fan works great. It's easy to install (but if you install it wrong the fan will hit the mask so just use your brain to avoid this) and it really isn't loud. With the mask on the fan is definitely quieter then the JT fan. But the Invision turbine fan is definitely louder then the JT Fan from a 3rd person's perspective. I think it's because the tones of the two fans are completely different. The JT fan makes more a "EERRRRRRRRRR" where the Invision fan sounds like "TTSSSSSSSSS".

The best part about the Dye fan is that the "LOW" setting is nice and quiet so that you can easily hear and talk to people around you (the JT "LOW" setting is just as quiet). But if you need to de-fog fast, the HIGH setting will kill all the fog on my glasses in a matter of seconds. Not only that, but it keeps your face nice and cool. You can actually feel the wind from this fan.

I've heard that the Invision doesn't breathe well with the fan on. Other reviews have blown this out of proportion. It's not really a noticeable difference and is very subtle. The only bad part about this fan is that it is expensive. But you didn't buy an Invision to begin with if you're strapped for cash. Personally, Dye products are the absolute best products out there, and I'd rather spend the extra cash on quality and not have to worry about them breaking.
Conclusion: I'm giving the Invision Turbine Fan a 10 b/c it is a great addition to a great mask. It works perfectly, sounds nice, isn't too loud, and is just as good as the JT fan (which in my opinion is a flawless product). It is pricey, but it's worth it. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JEDerrick Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NA
Marker Setup: Black Karnivor w E2 Grip, Halo B w/Rip Drive, Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA, Evil Pipe Driver
Strengths: Easy To Install
Still Allows A Low Profile
Batteries Last A While
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Ok, first off I think it is best I explain something to those of you whom think this is a goggle air conditioning unit for your mask. It isn't nor will it come close to doing so. So with that out of the way!

Again, Dye has brought us another product that, I think this time doesn't live up to the hype that surrounds it. I have been a loyal fan of Dye products for years, yet this one here has me a little bummed.

Profile
What Dye has gone and down is create a low profile fan system for your mask that doesn't make you look as if you just installed a Pope Hat on top of your system. Not only does it allow for a low profile, but is does a great job of keeping with the overall design of the mask. So it looks as if it was built with the mask, and not some off the wall second thought that was slapped together. Also the top visor section of your Invision mask can still be used if wanted along side the fan.

Durability
Plain and simple, it can take a hit. The vented section that allows air to flow through is located on the inside portion of your mask. So if you happen to get hit dead center in that section I suggest, "You put your mask back on!" So you can rest easy knowing that your purchase can survive hit on the fan body.

Function
The fan does just what it says. It keeps your mask from fogging, or helps defog it once it has happened. The fan is loud to the user, but rest assured that the other team won't hear you during play. I know in a quite room you can hear it pretty well, but with all the action, screaming, and shooting you won't hear it at all. So in essence it is pretty soft while on. I mean come on, if you can't hear your teammate call out positions during a game, you won't hear this fan.

The fan has two speeds, low and high. Though I have only had to use the fan once, while owning it. Though I will say it worked just fine, and did keep my goggles from fogging up. My only gripe might be that Dye does such a good job of having lens that don't fog, that this might not be necessary for everyone. Yet then again, this depends on how much you sweat in relation to body heat inside your mask, where in the United States you play in relation to weather, and climate, and if you just want the extra security of knowing it is there if need be.

Battery Life
So far I would say in about of four hours bases off how much I have played while using the fan in game mind you. So on one battery it seems like a good deal. I will update later if I learn more about battery life.
Conclusion: A overall good product that isn't necessarily a mst buy. Though a product that does what it promises to do.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 15th, 2005 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

glockulator Friday, October 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none...but i'm looking!
Marker Setup: Trilogy with eggy2 & co2 with anti-siphon tubes(quite consistent)
Strengths: Gimme a minute, i'm thinking *jeopardy theme plays* sorry, nothing!
Weaknesses: Where do i begin?
Review: What a piece of junk.

1. noise:
everyone nearby knows when my fan is on and i always get comments on how loud it is.

2. defogs?
yeah, right! maybe you cannot be wearing your mask and glasses in order for this thing to defog your lenses, b/c that's what i have to do to get the condensation off my lenses; take this mask off!!

this fan doesn't circulate enough air to defog the windows on a hotwheel!!

3. price:
you pay more than $3 for this thing, then you (like me) are an idiot! $45+, dye is on some serious crack to charge that much for this piece of junk!
but, i was desperate, i needed it and they suckered me in. now mainly that's b/c the stores cannot keep JT fans on the shelf, they sell out so fast...should've been my first clue as to which fan to buy!!

4. construction:
cheap plastic with those cruddy little tiny screws that strip real easy if someone with man-strength tries to screw them in to close the battery compartment.


update: 10.2006 - can i LOWER my rating of this thing into the negative??
went to take this fan off my mask the other day after a game...yes, i still put the fan on there in the insane hope that somehow it will miraculously start working AS ADVERTISED. anyway, i pull it off my mask and *pop* there goes the impeller!! nice piece of junk dye, real nice. were i am man of anger, i'd have stomped that thing into the ground!

however, i am beginning to think that the ONLY way this thing has a rating higher than a "2" on this website is that dye has to be paying people to come on here and write positive reviews about their products. that is the only explanation for this piece of junk not being exposed as what it truly is!!
Conclusion: It should be criminal to make something this crappy and charge money for it!! dye makes a pretty good (expensive) mask, but this accessory has convinced me that my next mask will be from someone other than dye (ditto for barrels and anything else dye makes)
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 9:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shootinrooster Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
E-grip
etc.
Strengths: Easy to turn on and off
Easy Installation
Weaknesses: Still makes noise
Review: After getting my Dye Invisions I found that while they didn't fog, when I would sweat it would condense on the inside and start running down the lens. This fan gets rid of those water droplets in a hurry.
Since I play mostly Woods games and Scenario games, I often have my goggles on for hours at a time. And I sweat a lot when I am running around and this fan takes care of that.
The bad part is they still make some noise, but I can hear pretty well when they are set to the low setting. Also, you have to be right on top of them to hear it, so no one will find me by my fan alone until they get really close.
The on-off switch is easy to get to with a minimum of bumbling and is easy enough to operate even with gloves on.
Conclusion: I gave these a 9 because there is always room for improvement and quieter would be better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris Saunders Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT vortex
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor
evi-2 w/ z board
68/45 nitro duck x-stream w/ dead on drop
everything else stock
<(-_-<)
<(-_-)>
(>-_-)>
You can dance if you want to- you can leave your friends behind....
Cause if your friends don't dance, and if they don't dance, they're no friends of mine...
Strengths: Kills fog
protects my fragile little head
doesn't break when it gets shot
Weaknesses: trouble w/ blades (see review)



Review: When i first got this product i was amazed at how self explanitory all of it was. I mostly put it on my mask, and pushed down. No sanding, re-cocking, or dynamite. Although the last one would have been fun to experiment with....
My excitement died a little when i flipped the switch. It made a familiar grinding noise, like the squirrel lodged in my lawnmower, and then stopped. I cursed, took the fan off, then decided to while i was thinking about it, take the squirrel out of my mower. Then i examined the fan. The blades of the fan were lodged on the venting on top of my lense... I needed a spacer of some sort. So i gt the squirrel and...So i shoved a little piece of rolled up scotch tape between the soft thing my lense goes in (whatever that's called), and the fan, making sure not to jam the fan up with the tape. Then i turned the fan on, and it worked great... till it got shot. Then cleaning it was like pulling teeth...and i had to get more tape. wich was not in my usual took kit.
Conclusion: A good product, although the inconvienience of the tape may outweigh the benefits of the fan, cause honestly how often does an invision fog anyway? If you have the problen though, get it, and some scotch tape.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FireFox Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom fans
Marker Setup: Loaded Impulse with Freak
Strengths: Size
Quality
Weaknesses: Noise
Review: I once rigged a small fan with 9-volt battery in an old JT Flex 7. It worked fairly well, and was completely silent. This fan is called a "turbine" by Dye, and I think fitingly so. It's a tiny little fan in a tiny little banana shaped package powered by a single AAA battery. This little fan has two speeds. Either way, it spins pretty fast, and is thus...noisy. I've never heard JT's vortex fan, but I can't imagine anyone calling this thing "quiet." With my mask on, I can only stand to have the fan on for a minute or so to defog the mask.
That aside...
It does what it's supposed to do very well. The unit, which is completely flush with the Invision is light, solid, and fairly easy to activate on the field. There are two levels of height to the Invision visor, high and low. With the turbine in your mask, the visor can only be in the higher angle. Not a big deal, you probably shouldn't wear a visor anyway, easy target.

The fan spins in such a way to suck the air up from your your face and out above your forehead.
Conclusion: Noisy, pricey, but like the Kobra Khai gang said, "If a man can't see, he can't fight."

Worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 at 10:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SynjenX Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Trilogy pro cocker, Evil driver barrel, pmi pure energy 68 4500psi tank, empire reloader 2 hopper, shock tech drop forward.
Strengths: Keeps mask clear, removes fog.
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I bought this fan when i began to have problems with my Invision fogging (especially during woods games) and I am ever glad I did. The fan right on my mask with no problem and worked well since I cut it on, I've had the fan for about a year now and even though I only play about once a month for a couple hours at a time I just recently needed to change the battery.
Conclusion: This was a worth while purchase. Sure people complaine about the noise it makes when they are trying to hide in the woods, but honestly Dye doesn't really make products that are geared towards woodsball play. If someone is having problem with their invision fogging I highly recommend this fan.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Newbee4now Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tppmann a-5
Strengths: Clears up mask.
Weaknesses: Not water proof, quality, noise, price.
Review: It is a nice fan and a good adition to the goggles. I bought the goggles becuase they said they were fog free in the first place, boy was I wrong. Dye says they are not water proof. So if they get hit with water based paint..... It is noisy compared to what I thought it would be like. It seemes like a very cheap thing to make for the price they sell it at. But all in all, it does the job it was made to do and you can't expect a whole lot from a fan.
Conclusion: I would recomend everybody with a dye mask to get it. (if they fog). 8 only becuase of the small gripes.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mugen76 Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt fan
Marker Setup: dye matrix 03 lcd
Strengths: very sleek and great fit
Weaknesses: none that i can think of
Review: i've played 5-6 times already and haven't had the need to change the battery yet. i'm very pleased with this. not only will the gog not fog up anymore, but my mask looks cool doing it.

for those of you who remove the visor , this is a nice upgrade to make that mask look pretty again. function and form. great product by dye. the price wasn't that bad considering jt had fans that costed much much more when those came out.

get one and forget about a foggy mask!
Conclusion: invisions are the best mask out in the market now in my opinion. this new add on just makes it even better. get one. it's a great investment for functionality and form.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Old Chief Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT
Marker Setup: A5 w/E-Grip, flatline, red dot, drop forward, cammo'ed, & modified action (#1 gun) or;
98C, w/resp trigger, expansion, modified flatline, turbo-hopper, stock (cuctom SNIPER), cammo'ed, & modified action, (heavy backup gun) or;
98C w/16" CMI barrel, turbo-hopper, cammo'ed (light weight - long range gun)
Strengths: NOTHING - hard to mount, super difficult to replace batteries, ultra low air flow
Weaknesses: LOUD - very low air flow - needs mask mod. to improve
Review: This fan is the same as the JT just that both eyes get some very little air flow. It still sucks your hot moist forehead/face air and blows it onto your glasses/mask lens. You got to take your mask a part everytime you need to change the battery. If you wear contact lens it might help your inside mask face plate but forget it if you wear glasses!!! The fan CFM is way to low for any practical use with glasses.

I'm the old man x-Nam Vet and Sr. Engineer. All the current fan system that fit above the face mask are flawed as they take in your hot moist body heat and blow it upon my glasses & mask lens. They are all "LOUD" killing stealth sniper hearing/OPs. It is usually HOT/humid where I play and no matter what I do I'm plagued with severe mask/glasses condensation. No, low air volume fan works especially this one. All current fan systems stink as I suspect the designers do not where glasses just like I've found with mask makers.
Conclusion: Don't buy it you will be disappointed - but the best of any on the market today! They need to place the fan behind the users head (or on the belt - better) and use plastic >0.5" air-duct tubes attached to the head straps (to both sides) of the mask.This will remove most all the noise from near the face/ears. But you do not want to increase the rear weight on the head strap pulling the mask out of place on the users head. So place the battery in a belt pouch (allows for bigger 12V type battery) with an easy access 100% speep/powerd control (like a blower voltage potentiometer). Use a 2.5-3" BLOWER not a 1" mini-fan that has NO CFM - get >10CFM into the mask to each eye.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 6:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media