paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite HeadShield Mask / JT Elite HeadShield Mask / JT Elite HeadShield Mask

JT Elite HeadShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite HeadShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite HeadShield Mask
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 184
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first paintball mask with full head protection as well as face/ear protection.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite HeadShield Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Menohl Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott vectre (Came with my Tippmann 98 Custom)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Full Head Protection
Better Chin and Throat Protection
Great Field of View
Weaknesses: The goggle foam could be of a better quality, but its not that bad really.
Review: After buying the Tippmann 98 Custom Powerpack, I didn't feel i needed to buy a new mask because it came with the Scott vectre, i was wrong!!!

The Scott Vectre fogged considerably both for myself and a buddy, and we ended up having to rent masks from the field we were playing at. Also if you've never seen a Scott Vectre mask, it barely covers your chin when your mouth is closed, if you are talking and you take one to the lower face, you are getting it in the jaw.

As i was was walking around Wal-Mart one day to get some Blue Streak Paintballs (they rock, read my review on them if you want to know more) i came across this mask. I was quite interested in this mask because it was the first paintball mask that i'd seen that had full head coverage. I had to take it out of the box and put it on right there in the store. As soon as i put it on my head, i knew that i had to have this mask, not only did the top and back of my head now have protection, but the lower front portion went well below my chin to protect my jaw as well.

The 180* lens is also a big plus, the field of view is for lack of a better work, awesome. I had decided right then and there that i was buying this mask and finally looked at the price tag... $30 i couldn't believe it!!!

Less than a week later i was out at Mad Cow Paintball (Ceder Creek, Nebraska) to try it out. As soon as i pulled it out of my bag, all my friends started making fun of me calling me a wuss and saying that i was going to get way to hot in this mask, and that it would fog up real easy. Well after game one, when one of my paintballs landed directly on top of my buddy's head, he started singing a different tune.

As far as fogging, i only had one instance where the mask did fog up on me. In a woods course i had run all along one side of the woods to sneak up on the opposing team, and after 10 minutes of running me and my partner took up position behind a hill, and as soon as we stopped, my mask fogged on me, and i couldn't see a damn thing. Now i want to say that where we were hiding we had no wind in any direction and i was sweating my ass off from the run. As soon as i fell back into a slight clearing the wind whipped through my mask real fast and it unfogged. I never again for the rest of the day had a fogging problem.

I have purchased a Vortex Fan to combat the problem of the EXTREMELY RARE fogging when i'm sweating like fat albert on a tread mill, and will post my results of how it works when i test it in the field again.

UPDATE: I have now recieved my Vortex Fan and have used it out in the field, and it worked like a champ. It fits on this mask with no problems, i HIGHLY recommend getting it! For more info on the Vortex Fan, read my review of it under the mask accessories section

Newer Update: Since i live right next to Omaha Nebraska, its been getting really cold the further we get into winter, and the few times its been 35-40 I've been getting in a little paintball. Due to the weather my mask started to fog a little and the fan could not keep up with it, so... i bought a thermal lens for it and went out yesterday and played with the fan and the thermal lens in 33 degree outside temp, and the mask did not fog up on me 1 time!!! NOT ONCE!!! Everyone else i played with fogged horribly and even had to rent masks from the proshop because they had those crappy Scott Vectra's) If you want a cheaper alternative than the vortex fan, or have the fan and when its cold you still have some fogging issues, i seriously recommend getting a thermal lens.

As for durability, i took several shot throughout the day in the mask and the mask held up quite well. It took the complete shock of the paintball, and only allowed a slight amount of paint to follow through and actually splatter my head.

Conclusion: This mask is awesome, don't let people tell you that your a wuss for wearing it, just wait till they get cracked in the top of, or in the back of the head, and then ask them if they wished that they had this helmet. I guarantee you that they will say yes.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

JousterCM Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus - I felt naked.
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 in Gunmetal w/ Slayer Trigger
VL eVLution 2 w/ Z-Board
Crossfire LP on an Evil Universal
Strengths: Full protection
Secure fit
Comfortable
Weaknesses: You sort of give up on the whole concept of balls bouncing off your head.
Review: As I mentioned above, I've used a Proteus for quite some time, and was so disgusted with how often I was getting hit in the throat and the back of the head that I seriously considered getting out of paintball. Girls don't like to kiss paintball-shaped bruises on your neck, y'know?

So, I'm wandering through Wal-Mart, and--lo and behold!--my prayers have been answered. I picked it up immediately, and went out the next day to play some 'ball.

First things first--this mask fits like a glove. Its included chinstrap ensures that it stays on in the toughest of dives and slides, and the tensioned backplate is just the right shape for my head. JT gets a big thumbs up for nailing the ergonomics, spot-on!

Second, you gotta love the protection you get with this thing. You feel confident, even a little reckless, knowing that you can charge for the flag without having to be paranoid about someone stepping out behind you and "capping" you in the back of the head. The first day I had the headshield, I captured more flags than I have in my entire previous playing career. If you need a boost of confidence in your playing style--this mask is it.

Third, a note about fog. As with any mask, this one will fog. Furthermore, because it covers all of your head, you're going to heat it up a little faster than a normal mask. Now, admittedly, that's kind of nice in the winter games, but for summer, you're going to be getting some massive fogging. So, do yourself a favor and grab a thermal lens--you got a steal on the mask, somewhere between $20 and $40, when most masks retail for double that, at a minimum. I threw a Vortex on mine, as well, and I have never--never!--gotten any fog since I did that.

Finally, a note on hair. Because you can't access your hair when wearing the mask, it can be hard to keep hair out of the viewing area of the mask, which obviously reduces your vision. Thus, go out and buy a headband to keep your hair back (or shave your head, for the more adventurous).

The only other thing I have to say is in regard to some remarks I've gotten on the mask. People will occasionally be incredulous that someone with a top-notch Angel would allow himself to wander around with a Wal-Mart mask. Alternately, people will be very excited at seeing what they've been looking for for quite some time (as I would have been if someone had showed up at my field wearing one, rather than having seen it at Wal-Mart). In either case, the best advertising you can do for the mask is by showing them just how fearless it makes you.
Conclusion: Unless you enjoy pain or have some obsessive need to ensure that the stray headshot will always bounce, not break--buy it. Now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 5th, 2004 at 9:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Protects your hole head!
Weaknesses: Large profile, somewhat restrictive, lense is prone to fogging, warm.
Review: Well... after getting hit in the top of the head a few times, I decided it hurt enough to go that extra yard, and protect my fat head. This helmet sure does protect your head. Since I've got it, I've probably taken 30 balls to the head... this is also on account of it's large profile. But for outdoors, it's great. Because a paintball can come from any direction at any time, and it's usually nice and cool when in the bush. So fogging usually isn't a problem. But if your'e doing speedball, you need something else, with a lower profile, and more comfort. I recommend the Profiler, or Proteus.
Conclusion: Large and warm. But it protects where no other does. If you tend to whine and cry when taking one of the head, get this. Also great for bushball.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 9:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lion_47 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
PCS Folding stock
J&J 14in barrel
Strengths: 1. Full head protection
2. Looks
3. Fits well
4. Nice price
5. No fogging
Weaknesses: 1. Lens replacement
2. Foam is kinda scratchy
3. Fogging
Review: When i used my headshield it fit very snuggly and never slipped on me. I like the strap so that when you running there is almost no mask movement. Will fog if you have a single lens, because heat escapes upward, and the full head protection keeps that heat inside the mask. Easily fixed with a thermal lens, and for hardcore people who can't stand any fog get a thermal lens with a vortex II fan. I think the headshield has a very good look and gives you kind of a milsim look. Some people say it's to big but, it's up to you not the mask if you get hit, and when you do get hit its nice to have that full head protection, The price was very good when it's with the single lens, when you add a thermal lens and vortex II fan it gets more expensive. The foam can be scratchy, but hey if your playin paintball and you can get hit by paintballs you can handle some scratchy foam. The lens replacement is kinda tuff, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes much easier.
Conclusion: Now for speedball you definately don't want this mask, but for scenerio and woodsball it's very nice to have.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcya17 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other JT and Scott 1/2 to 3/4 face masks. there is no comparison to the headshield
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/DOP drop,DOP vert adapter, DOP X-Core exp chamber,32* Whisper 14"
Strengths: Outstanding protection, Excellent visibility, Comfortable. Headshots worries are over
Weaknesses: Can be difficult to don while wearing glasses, difficult to distingush headshots with tree limbs.
Review: I first started playing paintball in 1993, I would often wonder out loud after a headshot why no one made a helmet for paintball. Of course back then you hoped the ball broke when it smacked your melon because the bouncers always hurt more.

I'm glad somebody finally thought the same way I did.

All the guys I play with have played for a few years and when I showed up one day with it they were really impressed. No one picked on me, they know a good thing when they see it. Most of them have them on order or have them already.

I was shot in the back of the head as I was moving through some brush and I though it was a tree limb.

Conclusion: No it isn't too hot, It doesn't fog up and it isn't heavy and the price is right.

Buy one, you know you want to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Silverbolt Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: Full head coverage
Weaknesses: A little heavy
foam padding could be better
It can get a little hot inside
Review: I've played with a normal mask many times, and like them just fine. After some time, I needed to buy a new one and saw the full head helmet... tried it on and was suprised with the comfort, so I bought it. I had to modify the foam padding a little.. add a little extra here and there to make it fit just right. Now, it so comfortable that when I paintball.. I leave it on all day... even between rounds when I'm not playing. I remembered a few times that I got hit in the head and forehead... and many times on the edge of the mask/visor leaving a glob of paint in my hair... the helmet takes care of all that now. The helmet could get heavy though... thats the only problem which I feel is more than worth the it. I little added weight, but now I can laugh if I get shot in the head.

**Another thing I want to mention. If you purchase this product, you'll find a grey plastic shield insert on the backside of the mask. This sheild goes under the band, and rests on the back of your head... it does not go over the band. If you have over the band, it will be harder to put on... but if its under the band, then all you do is slide the back of your head against the plastic peice and slide the mask right on for a comfortable and snug fit.
Conclusion: Depending on the player, the added wieght of the helmet can be a burden. I really dont have a problem with it though... but some "weak necked" people might. I never had any other problems with it.. no fogging up, it fits snug and with a little work on the foam padding can be extremely comfortable. I was going to buy a regular mask so its not as hot and lighter.. but not anymore. After one full day of using it, I decided to just keep it for a while. I painted and camo'ed it up and soon to be adding Goggle Skinz to it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 27th, 2004 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

triggerhappymoo Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Alpha, V-force, a couple of Scott brand, Dye invision.
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose w/ 20oz CO2, Empire revolution or halo loader, Coiled remote, 4+1 ronin gear harness, Jt Elite full head system, and Jt sports comm system
Strengths: Full head protection, chin strap, 180* of vision, no more ouch.
Weaknesses: I have only heard the pins that keep it together can break, (not experienced myself)
Review: Vary nice I guarantee once you get hit in the back of the head or other unprotected area of your head you going to be at your local Wal-Mart staring face to face with one of these things and believe me I' ve been Known to take a hard hit for the team the kill the victory oh ya not much hurts in paintball beside the groin shot, the occasional high velocity head shot oh and the occasional bunkering from Five feet away but most of those are just your mind or your pride except for the first two those can hurt an in paintball today the whole way of evolving as a player is better guns that shoot faster and handle higher velocity with less ball chopping (breakage) in the gun so those high velocity Head shots are happening more ofter and the accuracy of paintball guns seems to be increasing with no true sign of slowing down so you should and I encourage you to seriously take a good look at this mask and for those of you wondering the mask does work and works quiet well with both the Jt sportz comm system and the Jt Vortex mask fan. I have only had trouble with the mask fogging over every no and then when your at a stand still for a while and of course just like any mask when it's raining nice and hard but even then it only usually happens when your facing the on coming drops of rain this is definitely a good thing to look for when selecting a mask if you live in an area the gets a decent amount of rain from time to time.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this mask to any one of all ages and believe me if you truly are a wussy ass it's not because you wear this mask. so toughen up suck it in but don't let people ruin your potential fun and/or day of victory by listening to them take about you and your equipment especially your mask or other safety Items and there is nothing wrong or wussyish about wanting to play the sport and still be able to reproduce some day so where those cups any way by the helmet it's vary worth the low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 30th, 2004 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

FuelFX47 Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT protus, Jt proflex
Marker Setup: 98 Custom. jj pro 1 barrel, 20oz Co2, 32 deg. remote.
(Mongoose 2 reincarnation on her way)
Strengths: Great if you have head problems. Graet protection. See well.
Weaknesses: Not for competition, balls will pop more. you need to sacrafice your head
Review: This is a good mask for if you have head problems or have had sugery, etc. But i recommend only wearing it if you have to. It looks cool i guess. You will definatly get hot in it too. I found it a little hard to breathe. I did enjoy the sense of security it provided though.
Conclusion: decent mask. not great. It has a little too much protection. If you feel that your better safe than sorry go ahead and buy.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BoogerTHEfantom Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Wal-mart JT masks
Marker Setup: Proto Rail (custom black/red) , Ignition 45/45, Vlocity Jr. (smoke), empire 14in. kit
(Silver) Traitor Series Hybrid Fusion and Evlution2 w/ board as backups
Strengths: Protects your noggin
Stays secure on your head
Weaknesses: You rarely get bouces.
Review: Well, I've had this masks since I started. Never bothered to get another mask, just decided to get a thermal lens for it. Other players have picked on me about it, I do play in the SCPFOA after all. I have just about broken down and bought a regular mask w/ thermal lens, but I'll keep it since other reviews say its OK to use a mask that covers the entire head. I rarely had a problem with it fogging up, but get a thermal lens just in case. I play more aggressive knowing that I'm protected, you probably will too.
Conclusion: I'd say get it so that you won't hesitate to bunker that last guy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VibroKatana Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott HotShot
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
13" Armson
Rocket Cock II
20oz CO2 w/ expansion chamber
Strengths: This mask protects all the sensitive areas of your head
Weaknesses: A slightly larger profile then my other mask
Review: I bought this mask, because #1 ive been shot in the back of the head, not fun at all and #2 because i didnt feel like paying 20 bucks to replace my thermal lens

This mask is awsome, rarely fogs up(even in our scorching 90+ degress high humidity florida weather), you get coverage all over, and doesnt move around like other masks

the mask presses against the back of the upper neck and the foam on the front and is secured in place by a chin strap, no more sliding masks, once its on it stays on

the field of veiw is great, if you dont have periphrial vision is paintball you are just waiting for somone to sneak up on you, and the mask has ample room for most glasses

soud acustics are almost as good as with the mask not on, but a little muffled

the foam is a little rough on the face, but you get used to it, i guess im just used to the soft foam in my scott goggles

the hundreds of vents keep this mask cool, but as with any mask you will notic a slight heat buildup
Conclusion: This mask is great, doesnt slide down on you, and rarely fogs up, and best of all protects you from extremely painful headshots

what else could you want?

this mask is available at some wal-marts for 30 bucks

good quality product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media