paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle / Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle / Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle / Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle

Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 188
Average Rating: 6.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $189

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Silver Eagle Raptor is an all metal semi-auto marker. The Silver Eagle Raptor is similar to the Green Raptor in design, but has a longer ported barrel which is quieter and more acurate, and comes with a bottom line installed. Just like the Green Raptor, the SIlver Eagle Raptor offers faster firing rates, a more comfortable grip, and is upgradable.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
James5mith Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years24 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II, Talon, Mayhem EC, Spyder TL Plus
Marker Setup: Mayhem EC stock configuration
Recommended
Upgrades:
The aftermarket barrell from Brass eagle, or one of the others available online at any of the major sites. I'm partial to 32º stuff, but there are quite a few choices out there (surprisingly).
Strengths: - The gun shoots fairly straight after upgrading to the aftermarket barrell.
- Range is about average.
- Rate of fire is decent, but like all guns, will chop paint if you go faster than your loader will feed.
- Durable solid aluminum block construction.
- Loose enough tolerances to allow use of pretty much any paint.

>>Mocking the gun<<
- It's shiny, and might scare someone.
- If you get lost, you could use it as a signal mirror. ;)
- In CQB situations, makes a great club.
Weaknesses: - Solid aluminum block may be sturdy, but is also heavy (in comparison to other guns in it's class. Yes, it has a class of some kind.)
- Chops paint when you try and prove how fast you can pull the trigger.
- Loose tolerances lead to decreased accuracy.

>>Mocking the Gun<<
- It's shiny, and might blind you.
- It's Brass Eagle. Sure they are the most sold gun in the world, but that's because they sell cheap piece-of-junk guns that anyone can afford.
Conclusion: Decent beginners gun to be sure. But for the price of the gun and the upgrade barrell, nowadays you could be in a lower end Spyder from Kingman. Also I don't even know if this gun is made anymore. My friend loves his though. With the right upgrades, it's a decent enough gun that can see you through while you are saving up for a better gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Romulus1 Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other brass eagles, tippman, spyder
Marker Setup: Raptor Silver Eagle
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel and expansion chamber, works better wit this stuff, but i dun have it yet. Tried a friends gun.
Strengths: Its great, i dun know wut u guys do with it, how did u break it 30-40 times, i use it ever weekend for the past 2 years and it didnt even break once. You must be stupid to break its 30-40 times wut do u do, smach it against a tree. Its one of the most accurate guns ive ever seen, the trigger is nice its a great gun it works like anyother and there is absolutly nothin wrong wit it
Weaknesses: nothing is wrong wit it. Never Broke, never failed, no balls broken. Out of the 29 kids i play wit it is the only gun that still has not broken!!
Conclusion: its good gun. works for me. I still do know how u broke it so much and why u think it sux, cuz it works perfectly for me!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon,stingray,and a crappy blade. They are pretty good guns but i like the raptor because its like the best one around here, except my friend has a tippmann
Marker Setup: i have a simple little piece of metal my dad made that can turn it to a full automatic
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel
Strengths: well i mean all markers are bad but i mean this is all around good, looks good, and does a very good job for me, i have had it for 2 years and nobody thought it was good at first and since then they loved it
Weaknesses: to bright, and jams, and busts the paintballs in the barrel, does mess up the laser when one of the paintballs bust
Conclusion: its all around good except for that it jams probably 2 times out of 200, it kicks butt around here and looks good doin it, and my friends like it and that i have had it for about 2 years and really hasnt messed up
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Raptomatic Tuesday, August 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM-68, Point Zero model 83, Spyder compact 2000
Marker Setup: The later version of the Silver Eagle, with the double trigger and bottomline set-up. I've got 2 aftermarket barrels, a remote, modified bolt and some major custom cosmetic milling. I run this thing remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on what you want to do with it. The stock barrel is quite good, especially when polished. You might want to get a bottomline if you don't have one already, and perhaps an expansion chamber or remote.
Strengths: Well, for one thing it is durable. The design is tough, so it can withstand play. It is made 99%% out of metal, which gives it a good heft, and makes it feel very professionally made. It looks pretty nice, and you can make it look even better with some imagination. I love the chrome!!! I have no idea why people see it as a disadvantage. There's lots of guns that are chrome so give the raptor a break. It's not as if your purple and pink spyders (lol) blend in any better, hmmm?

It's got some pretty decent cycling rates that can allow rapid fire. The double trigger helps, because the pull is stiff and very short. Put a revvy on if you want to really kick it, or else you'll probably chop paintballs.

The raptor also has triple sight rails. I think they're kinda useless for me, but if you want to get creative you can mount things on the sides and top of the reciever.
Weaknesses: Well, it gets ridiculed. A lot. I guess it earned a bad reputation in the earlier models, which were way less consistent. They had bad connection pins and bad valves, even though both problems have been fixed in the newer versions.

Another bad thing about the raptor is the screws in the grip frame. You gotta watch out for them and make sure they are tightened all the way, or the marker will not cycle properly and will most likely jackhammer. Just remember to put all the parts together snugly and you will have no problem with it!
Conclusion: A good gun that few people respect. It's a very capable underdog, and many are modified to be great performers. It has had some quirks in the past, but now that they're fixed the raptor has become a pleasure for me to use. It is the only paintball gun that I would not ever trade away, because of the mods and time I've put into customizing my own.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burnout59 Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder S.E., TL+, tippmanns, pirannas, cockers etc.
Marker Setup: spyder classic 6 stage expansion chamber, 14 in cp barrel, quick strip shocktech bolt, thumb velocity adjuster, double trigger, low pressure, 20 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, expantion chamber, bolt, thumb velocity adjuster.
Strengths: the trigger pull is shorter that what i first expected and the stock barrel surprised me in accuracy, the shots and velocity were consistant, it also has a good solid feeling in your hands it doesnt feel like it is about to fall apart, very durable and reliable gun



Weaknesses: the trigger is a bit tough, but the lenght more than makes up for that.
people say it is heavy, but in the middle of a game of speedball no one who can lift more tha a cheeseburger would even notice.
Conclusion: people assume too much about brass eagle but i think that they designed an exellent gun for a VERY modest price i would say that this gun would be worthy of a main or backup thank you for hearing my opinion : )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bmw82000 Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, piranha, spyder sonic
Marker Setup: Raptor Silver Eagle, Expansion Chamber w/ 12oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Expansion Chamber, Grips (if you can find them).
Strengths: 1) durable.
2) Rather cheap
3) nice design.
Weaknesses: 1) extremely SHINY.
2) Rather Heavy.
3) Noisy.
4) Hardly any upgrades to buy.
Review: Unlike spyders and piranha's there are almost no upgrades for brass ealge products period. The only thing I could find for my gun was an expasion chamber and a new barrel (and other stuff like drop forwards that would look stupid on a raptor). Brass eagle has also been known to be cheap and low in quality by many people.
Conclusion: Overall, I think this is a descent gun for a beginner. For only a little bit more money, you can get buy a better gun such as a Tippmann, Shutter, or an Extra. When I first got my Raptor, it worked well. However, after using a few times, the connecting pin split in half. It also started to leak air out the barrel?!?. Instead of putting more money into it, I bought an AMG LCD. I would recommend getting a Tippmann 98 Custom over a Raptor. My friend has a tippmann and he hasn't had any problems with it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Molot Wednesday, July 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, after this i went for an A-5
Marker Setup: A-5 Tippmann with a RT, 12 inch g36 barrel from opsgear, with a rifle stock, remote and a 45mm red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dont put anymore monye into this, sell it while you can and get something does does nto have Brass Eagle on the side of it.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: ok, back in the day when I started playing paintball and I was a clueless newbie I got my dad to bring one of these from the US. I was really happy since this was like 7 years ago and on my field there were few markers with 45 grips and double triggers, and it looked really cool compared to other low end markers and the rental markers. As a newbie I never really felt that I had a bad marker, only trully bad thing is that althoguht it is supposed to be able to shoot 10 bps if ypou try to you will cho like crazy, you need a better hopper. I was really happy for a couple of months, then I moved to Argentina and I stopped playing paintball for about 6 years. When I started playng again I pulled out my old Raptor and took it to the field. At some moment in the last 6 years it had broken so I was unable to use it, so I rented a 2007 spyder and noticed that the rental spyder was quite better than what I remebered from my raptor, this I confirmed when I got my raptor fixed and used it. Then I was sure that this marker deserved no money to invest on it, so I put it in a box in the back of my closet and got an A-5. If you find a a used silver raptor for under 45 dollars and you really dont wanna spend anymore money than that than go ahead buy it, I mean it will shoot paint and will be good enought for a newbie. But if you got anymore cash to spend than get any other marker, dont get anything that says Brass Eagle down the side
Conclusion: Get something else unless you can get it for really cheap and dont really care about having a crappy marker
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Farsight Tuesday, August 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98, Spyders, autocockers. Those In comparison to this product… well all of the others are more expensive, for a good reason you get more for your money. Although this gun can compete against other semi autos with a good player behind it.
Marker Setup: Model 98 with 6-stage ACI expansion chamber, Full Boar shadow rear cocking, Flatline barrel system. Model 98 with 14-inch DYE Xcel barrel, Lapco rear velocity adjuster, drop forward, response trigger, HALO feed system. Stock Silver Eagle Raptor.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Find a way to put a front handel on the gun.
Strengths: If you are lucky you can find it cheap. I got one for 39.99

Solid and nearly no way to break the outer casing.

Can compete with other more advanced semi markers.

looks cool.

Accurate.

When tested with 100 paintballs not a single one broke.

Good balance

Great safety button

Easy disassembly
Weaknesses: Pretty heavy

awkward to hold due to lack of front handle

can't look strait down the top of the sight rail, the ball feeder is stuck right in the way.

Very loud.

The chrome may look cool but is too flashy for hiding.
Conclusion: The only reason why I bought this gun is because I got it cheap. We bought a case of paint (PMI) and every 3rd ball broke on us, it was the worst paint that we ever used. Upon returning the remains of the balls I had an in store credit for $30.00. I put this credit towards this gun (39.99) so we can have extra people come up with us paintballing. So basically I paid $10.40 for this gun. I would like it a lot better if it had better sighting and a handel. It's worth the money as a back up or extra gun, if you can pick one up for under $50.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Plavis Thursday, July 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Primary -Spyder aggressor/ benchmark 45 frame/dye stickiy/aci bottom line/ pmi gas tru expansion chamber/ dye excel barrel/ crossman laser.

Side Arm- pt extreme. Stock

Back up – Raptor silver edge- stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe new barrel -not too important. Gun is pretty good stock for the not so serious player
Strengths: I picked up this gun refurbushed for $40. – for a $40 gun it is excelent. I’m not too big into paintball, and this makes for a great back up. Hell, my grips cost ½ of what I paid for this thing! Great marker if you’re just getting into the game. I wouldn’t suggest going to high up and pricey in the raptor family however (raptor extreme - $150) This gun shoots like a $50 marker, and I would think that other raptors do also. For the money however, it works.
Weaknesses: Well this gun isn’t tourney grade for sure. It’s louder than a cannon, has some pretty nasty kickback, and doesn’t shoot very straight over 20 ft. (thus why I suggested a barrel upgrade) –this could be the fact that I purchased a refrubrished raptor, but something tells me they’re pretty much all the same.
Conclusion: Don’t spend too much money on it. Definetly do not spend $100 on this gun. I am a big fan of the spyder compact for $65 if you want to go in that price range. Get the refurb model. Something tells me it’s not too diferent from the regular. Solid metal marker for a beginner, and hopefully will keep some of you away from talons, or blades. Rates a 9 for a solid cheep marker, that is ½ way respectable on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:22 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tipman model 98, the tipman doesn't chomp as many balls and is a bit more accurate
Marker Setup: stock Raptor siver eagle
***squeegee***
Recommended
Upgrades:
im looking at the thumb velocity adjuster, save myself some grief on the field...
one damn good squeegee
Strengths: fast firing, fairly accurate... hits within a 2 foot square at 70 feet (provided you are a good shot and the guns properly adjusted)
Weaknesses: if your not using good paint it will chop it toa messy paste, with good paint I made 70 rounds without any brakage. the velocity is hard to get right, once you chop paint you better have a squegee or you cant hit the broad side of a barn (goes from a 2 foot square at 70 feet to a 15/20 foot hit area... if the paint doesnt burst)
Conclusion: good gun but buy the good stuff when it comes to paint... or carry a squeegee and make sure your in a damn good hiding spot.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media