paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Psycho Ballistics Superbolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Superbolt
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Another great Psycho Ballistics pro-marker! Available in Beadblasted Silver, Black and Blue.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Superbolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
JoshGrrrr Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP cockers, Custom Freeflow cocker
Marker Setup: Stock Psychoballistics Superbolt, 68/3000 crossfire, 12v xboard revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, 3-way, bolt mod
Strengths: Price
Weight
Milling and Anno
Weaknesses: Leaky 3-way.
Bolt
Review: I see a lot of people talking down on this gun without ever having tried it. I could have very well been one of them. When a marker comes out that is identical to a high end marker, only made by a less respectable company , that can be expected. I was definately surprised when I got the gun. The milling is probably some of the sexiest you can get. The anno was flawless as well.

Out of the box it shot like crap. I think that is why this gun has gotten some bad reviews. People who know jack about cockers get one and if it doesn't shoot perfectly right out of the box they assume its crap. After I sat and tinkered with it for a few hours it shoots great. I have the trigger pull down to about 2mm. I have it pinching paint instead of chopping. And, it is getting average or above efficiency. It shoots just as well as my freeflow or my WGP did. Very underrated gun.

The twist lock bolt is nice, but I think that is the key weakness on this gun. It is a nice stock bolt. But I prefer a nylatron or delrin bolt to prevent unneccessary wear to the inside of the gun. Due to the twist lock bolt aftermarket bolts for this gun are impossible to find. So you are either stuck with the stock bolt, or you have to get the back block drilled. (If anyone knows of an aftermarket bolt for this gun please let me know)

Everyone knows that this gun looks almost exactly like the Dye reflex. Everyone assumes that the pneus are crap though. It is my understanding that this gun and pneus are still made at Dyes plant using the exact same machinery used to make the ultralights. Only the milling was changed, and only a little. The LPR and RAM are as good as any. The 3-way can be a hard to keep from leaking. I'm sure I could just change the o-rings out and have it working fine, but I'm sure it wouldn't be long before it was leaking again. I am changing it to a Palmer's Quickswitch.

One other complaint is that the stock barrel had a few rough places inside. It looked as if it hadn't been polished at all. It shot surprisingly well though.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this product. Don't listen to all the BS hype spread by people who have never even tried the gun. Unfortunately, BS hype like that is what fuels the paintball business. I am reccomending this marker to anyone who wants a nice cheap cocker. If you know nothing of cockers skip it. If you can time it and fine tune it, you will absolutely love this gun. I would love to give this gun a 10. In every catagory it has earned a perfect score in my opinion. But, due to being stuck with the stock aluminum bolt, it's getting a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

Jish Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autocockers
Dragunfly Mech
Marker Setup: Psycho Superbolt
-Macroline Setup
-32* Universal Drop Foward
-Psycho Universal Reg.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg, Drop foward, Macoline, or steelbraid hose if u prefer.
Strengths: Accuracy
Power
Good looking
Weaknesses: Leaky
Review: When i first got this bad boy i immediatly put the whole drop, macroline and reg setup on it so i coulkd time it. it was actually very well timed out of the box.. i was impressed.

i gasses it up and saw that it needed some work because, like ive read, there was a leaky front block. so i took it all apart... put teflon all over, tightned it greatly.. now there is a not leak.. its rele quite effortless..

i advise u to take it apart to get a feel for how it works so u no the problems wen they come up.. and wen u kno summin is wrong.. u can just fix it fast and get back in the game.. bueno

you need to tinker with it like usual, and iom sure most of you dont likt to hear it, but if u just do a bit of research on how to time it, and fix gas leaks than u really will have one he\ of a gun.

my favorite part about this gun is... u can get it for 200-300 bux,, and its practically the same thing as the dye ultrlite... except it doesnt have that weird lazer pointer on it... but n e way. at one point this marker from dye was 1300 buckaroos... so i tell ppl its a dye ultralite and it was 1300 bux n they get a stiffy like no other.

also this gun is a head turner at feilds.
Conclusion: IM giving it a 10 of 10 evenm thought it leaks because not all cockers work perfect when youy first get them. if u like to work on ur marker and perfect it like i do to your own liking, than this one is greay. all you rele need to is seal and tighten everything and time it ans you have a great.

get it now... like... order on within the next 5 minutes...if u dont...then ill igve u 10 minutes.. PEACE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Mindjob Monday, June 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, STO, Black Magic
Marker Setup: Superbolt w/ palmer front end, micro rock
Freak Barrel
Centerflag 45/88
Halo B
wgp ergo reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
ANY other aftermarket pneumatics
I chose a Palmer quick pro set w/micro rock
JB weld or similar to hold feed neck securly in place
Strengths: Light, sexy, fast and accurate when working properly.
Weaknesses: Poor craftsmanship, lack of support from P.B. Non-compatability of aftermarket parts
Review: Small, light and sexy. Quality anno job. A Dye ultra-lite knock off. Milling is very nice, even though you can see how the milling on the body and block do not match.

I purchased this as a project gun, and boy did I get my wish. When this thing arrived, as soon as I put a reg and bottomline on and gassed it up, it blew all of the lp hoses. After trial and error, I realized that the stock LPR did NOTHING. I took it apart and comapred it to my brothers Dye (which is identical), only to see that nothing obvously wrong with it. I also noticed that the 3-way was binding. This turned out to be due to a rough surface inside. I have no idea what this was from. I ended up calling Palmer's Pursuit shop and ordered a whole new front block kit. About 5 minutes after I was up and running, the main valve seal let go. I purchases a Bob Long power valve, only to find out that it didnt fit into the body. My solution was to use a spare VM68 valve seal that I had laying around in conjunction with the stock valve body. That, and a lighter valve spring and the valve issues were settled.

So yesterday I finally got the chance to play with this monstrocity, and it shot great. All of the B.S. i went through with it seemed to have paid off. Several experinced cocker users tried it out and were all equally impressed with it.

Unfortunately, my good fortune did not last.

When I took it home to clean it, the spring loaded ball that is in the rear of the bolt which is part of the twist lock, came flying out. After crawling around on my floor looking for the srping and ball, I found that the hole where the little ball sits was now too big. The darn thing just rolled right out. Since I can't just slap an aftermarket bolt in this thing, I got creative, and reduced the size of the hole with a ball-end allen key and hammer. The only thing that worries me about that little repair is weather or not it will hold up.

Conclusion: Is it worth it? I don't know. I was planning on e-blading this sucker, but now I am concerned that it will just fall apart on me. As far as how it shoots - I was loving it. It is comprable to most of the other high end cocker clones. I wam wondering if maybe i just got a lemon and that the Psychobalistics people were all just hung over on a Monday morning when they made this one.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kylegoddy Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WPG black magic autococker
Marker Setup: Superbolt cocker
dye sticky grip
psycho-ballistic roller sear
psycho-ballistic reg
nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Roller Sear
Fast fast loader
Nitro setup
body anodize
Strengths: EXTREMELY LIGHT
EXTREMELY ACCURATE
easy to dismantle
Weaknesses: factory paint job comes off easily if not careful
Review: Okay, besides losing a couple of pounds in body weight, Psychoballistics (P.B) has done an incredible milling job on the gun as well. The gun is also the most accurate gun out of the box I have ever seen. At 60 yards, I was hitting a target consistently that had the diameter of about 4 inches... which is incredible. My friend ( a former U.S. Marine) was hitting guide wire to a telephone pole at about 100 yards... I kid you not.

The only beef I had with the gun is that the trigger pull was a little bit heavy, but it was easily fixed with a roller sear and some tweaking... now it's as smooth as butter and very light.

I would also like to point out that the body's paint job ( as with about any stock paintjob) can come off easily if you are really rough with the gun, I would reccomend getting it anodized to give it not only a great paint job with its cool body, but to protect it as well.

Conclusion: Great gun, I tip my hat to P.B. for this awesome design of a cocker.

P.S. The gun comes with a killer case to protect your gun and your barrell, which is seriously awesome as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

CrazyDriver84 Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of other cockers: Black Magics both new and old, freeflow cockers, trilogies, sto's, oracles, you name a name a cocker I have shot it.
Marker Setup: Black Pyscho Ballistics Superbolt
Black E2
Black Dye UL
Black Air America Mesiah
Black NDZ on/off rail
Black Belsales ram w/ QEV's
Black Palmer Rock
Black CCM Feedneck
Custom Bolt
Smoke Halo
PE 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
A spring kit- lightens the trigger pull and gains some efficiency and consistency
All the pnuematics- the stock pnuematics will work fine, but I wanted better ones.
Clamping Feedneck
barrel, stock one shoots pretty well though

Obvioulsy you need a reg and an asa.
Strengths: PRICE!!!!!!!! I got mine for $115 shipped.
Weaknesses: No reg and asa.
Review: This is a great project gun, or even a good gun to just set up and go shoot as is. I bought it as a project gun, but I built it in phases. First I bought the gun,Mesiah reg, asa, a shocktech spring kit, and the CCM clamping feedneck. I set it up and shot it with all stock pnuematics and barrel. It shot very well for a pretty much stock gun. Then I changed the pnuematics and installed the E2 and it flies.

When I first got it setting it up was fairly easy. The timing fell right to place and it shot very well with the stock parts. The LPR did crap out on me though after shooting the gun 6 times. It would have been a simple repair, but I decided to just replace it. It is a great gun to build up over time and it takes an Eblade very well. Mine will shoot an easy 20 bps.

I have no complaints and this gun has never let me down.
Conclusion: All and All it is recball gun or a project gun. I would recomend it to anyone who is decent with cockers. It is a cheap alternative to more expensive cockers that performs as well or better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JiuJitsu500 Monday, February 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shot other cockers, and worked a lot with WGP's older stuff, like the Karnivor. I'm no Cocker pro, however.
Marker Setup: Custom ION - Virtue, TechT iFit, etc... TONS of upgrades, barely an ion anymore.
'09 Spyder Pilot - Low Pressure Mod, CP reg, J&J S2... sweet little spyder.
PB Superbolt - Backup/anything but speedball marker. FANTASTIC with a few mods.
Recommended
Upgrades:
4-way and coupler, good reg and air supply. Boring kit for smaller paint. Nothing else needed.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Quiet, Easy to Maintain, Tough.
Weaknesses: Bad design for 4-way (too big, not reliable). Annodizing. Feed Neck.
Review: Out of the box this thing shot like crap, and leaked everywhere. However, I bought mine new (being a few years old "new") and expected more having shot other Dye/WGP stuff a ton. But, giving it the benefit of the doubt, I got a new 4-way (which sucks on this marker) and coupler, and a new LPR because my main spring was a ball of rust (due to age, not design). Needs a beaver tail as well.

So, all new stuff installed, re-timed and trigger lightened and shortened, this thing has been a dream ever since. Sexy as hell, fast if you short-time it and lighten everything (and add a roller sear), and definately accurate. Since paint is getting smaller, I'd get a new barrel kit or the Tech-T iFit (love it). Also, add a clamping feedneck.

I don't need to say much I think, pnues were fine but old, so I replaced the LPR and 4-way. After the roller sear and timing it like a boss, this thing has stood up to hell and back over the past month or so, never ONCE busting any o-ring, or breaking anyhting, regardless of age.

Thus far, this thing is a hoss, 9 easy. It's made in the dye plants too, and the barrel it comes with are inter-changable with the Ultra-Lite, as are some of the internals. This thing has a TON of Dye in it and once you get it going, it shows.

Simply put, replace the 4-way and feed neck, and throw on a good barrel to match your paint, and time it. After that, this has kept up with the best of them for me...
Conclusion: Fantastic Autococker I think. I'm no pro of course, but I do know a lot about this style of marker and have used them plenty. This thing is a hoss.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvolutionXCaptn Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Outkast and Vertical
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics SuperBolt(Black)
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator(Black)
Check It Sports Drop Forward On/Off(Black)
Speed Ball Barrel
Triggar Job
Loc-Tite Vert Feed(Black)
ShockTech Bomb 3 Way(Black)
ShockTech Hoses(Black)
ShockTech Ram
ShockTech Mini Cocker Actuator Rod and Base
Dye Throttle 70/4500
Halo TSA Back Man
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything I have and an E-Blade and Eye.
Cant get the barrel i have because they're were only 1 of 10. But something like a Freak or Boomstick
Strengths: Accuracy is Almost to Perfection.
Air Efficiency is Really Good.
Really Light.
Low Profile.
Weaknesses: Not a real cocker but damn close man, and maybe better.
Review: When i first got this gun, I was like this gun is gonna suck. But dude i was wrong. This is the best autococker ive shot. Although it doesnt have an eblade it will soon. But is is really the baddest cocker ive shot in a while. After putting the upgradeson it it was better by alot.
Conclusion: I definately reccommend this gun to anybody thats wants a good gun. I use it and i have my own team and i have no problem hitting people on the otherside of the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nectias Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Right Feed Autococker
WGP Black Magic Autococker
Marker Setup: Psycho Balistics Superbolt Autococker
with Halo B
Black Magic HPR
PMI Mini Drop and Phat On/Off
68/4500psi crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, 3-way and Ram
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Light as a feather
Weaknesses: triggers sear is to tall
Review: The marker is great for the price. There are a few things that are wrong with it but given the price i cannot camplain. First off the sear is to tall and so far i have not found a way to adjust it so the sear chatches on the back of the hammer making it impossible to adjust the hammer lug. No matter what you do to it you can't change where it chatches.without sanding down the sear or doing somehting extream like that. But on the good side the marker is light very light!!! The entire cocker is a clone of the DYE Ultralight. But the parts aren't as good.

Overall the marker is nice and accurate out of the box. you can get a decent amount of speed out of it and its very consistant on my set up the velocity jumps 5fps at most in either direction.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to any player that would like to try out a cocker. Its better than a stock WGP and cost about the same depending on where ya get it from. Just keep in mind the gun does not come timed so be prepared to put some work into it when you first get it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

speedy2k4 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle, 04 cocker, reflex, custom cockers, dm4, species, speed, impy's
Marker Setup: Stock superbolt, wdp minireg, evo2, 70/45 crossfire lp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good, small reg
Strengths: Perfect accuracy, very low price, very upgradeable, air efficiant, light, compact, fun to shoot
Weaknesses: Takes some getting used to, needs a good setup job
Review: This gun has the potential to be an amzing gun. the more you know about cockers, the better you can make this work. i know them inside and out, and i can shoot this at 6bps ball on ball from long distance. if you can set it up perfectly, you won't short stroke it and it will never let you down. i loved it
Conclusion: So nice for the price buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

williillii Tuesday, November 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2003 Vert feed Autococker. Shot great out of the box. Much better choice for a first cocker
Marker Setup: Eclipse Blade hinge frame $125
Maddman spring kit (light valve, light hammer) $12
Freeflow heavy tungsten hammer $40
generic drop forward/asa
macroline kit $15
ANS GenX2 inline regulator w/Dye gauge $15
ANS Ram $15
ANS Jackhammer II LPR $15
Dye Boomstick 12'' .691 w/diy wedgits lol $90
Pure Energy 68/45 HP $70 after hydro test
Empire Reloader B $40
=total of $437
Recommended
Upgrades:
At a minimum, I would suggest a new ram. After that, trigger frame, then a maybe a 3 way depending on how leaky the stock one is. Mine was fine.
Strengths: Cheap, lightweight, attractive milling, nice case.
Weaknesses: Pneumatics are iffy, trigger frame is too small IMO
Review: First Impressions : I payed $70 shipped to my door for a brand new Superbolt with drop forward, asa, and a PMI regulator. It comes in a case which is nice, but as soon as you screw a regulator (not to mention drop forward) onto the gun it no longer fits in the case. Like others have said, the annodizing is pretty bad. It doesn't come off with a fingernail or anything, but be careful if you don't like scratches. The milling looks pretty nice however, and it is significantly lighter than my 03 WGP piece.

Construction: I took the trigger frame off before I even dry fired it. lol. The "thin" frame might be nice for people with tiny hands, but it is basically a really low quality dye hinge knockoff. I had a real dye hinge and sold it after playing one game with it, so this one is definitely not for me either. It is probably the worst part of the gun IMO.

The pneumatics, like everyone says, are pretty crappy as well. However, everyone is knocking on the 3-way first. On my gun anyway, the RAM was actually the biggest turd on the front block. When you tighten it down it doesn't even face the right way, and the tolerances are so bad that unless its fully tightened down it leaks. But then it faces the wrong way, and if you even poke it it leaks, plus its hideous. After o-ring replacement it still leaks and binds, so it had to go. The LPR is actually 'OK'. It is just really hard to turn when the gun is gassed up, and you have greasy paintball-hands. And its also hideous, but at least it works. The three way on the other hand is probably the best part on the front block. It is smooth, short, and feels pretty solid compared to the ram and the LPR. The only downside is it uses non-standard o-rings, and theyre already starting to crack after a case of paint and another case-worth of dry-firing. I don't know where to get this o-ring and they only supplied 1 extra with the gun so I will probably just reluctantly replace this with an orracle or shocktech part before it goes out on me.

As far as internals go, not much to say. The hammer has a recess in the back where the springs goes, making it use a longer hammer spring than a normal cocker. The valve tube in mine was also very tight, and required about 5 minutes of beating it on the ground to get the valve to drop out. The valve-body itself looks like it flows as well as some aftermarket valves (my evil valve looked to have less flow actually) but the valve-stem is not the best. It appears to be a rubber cup seal glued to the metal stem. So we'll see how long that lasts.

As for the rest of the gun, the twist lock bolt is actually kinda cool, Im still debating on getting a sanchez machine delrin bolt, or just halfblocking this thing. The feedneck is a bit small (diameter) and tall...p-block is neat if you don't care about delrin back blocks, it comes with a nice looking cocking rod and chrome ball detent, and the barrel is actually decent if you can find some .693 paint,

Conclusion: Ok, so in summary: If you are buying this gun to take out of the box, gas up and play, DONT DO IT. You will spend the whole first day of play trying to get your gun to shoot/not leak.

Now having said that, if you are like me and always wanted a fully upped Dye Reflex and don't want to break the bank, then these are a good purchase as a pre-milled mini cocker body. Just realize that you might have to replace most of the parts before you have a reliable, smoothly operating cocker.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media