paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II / Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II / Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II / Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II / Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II

Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II

Paintball Custom 98 Cocking Kits

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the new and improved Rocket Cock II. Quick and easy installation; does not require you to open the gun. This new design has reinforced mounting holes to eliminate breakage, an anti-movement securing latch to eliminate unnecessary travel, and is made out of a much stronger and durable glass-fiber filled composite material to make this an almost indestructible item
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Rocket Cock II is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Stan_the_HitMan Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rocket cock 1
Marker Setup: Pro-Team m98 sniper
Ricochet AK hopper
Evil Death hold grips
ROcket cock 2
M16 raise forward sight
sling
Zeus G2
Dye sticky 3 grips
Pmi Trracer with forward cocking handle grip.
Dye invision 03 mask
Rps Advantage Jersey
Strengths: Keeps undesired things out of your gun
makes bolt more consistent
new improved design
Weaknesses: Name
price
moderatly bulky
Review: I just got this yesterday and tried to put it on my gun, no good, the flatline shroud was in the way, so I got a knife and cut the flatline shroud and then it fit.

First of all this will make your gun a rear cocker
I guess that part just depends if you want to cock your gun form the side or back but it isn’t that important unless you have a stock, i have a collapsible stock, it came with a big metal ring on the exterior threads, this big metal ring prevented the rocket cock from going on, so I had two choices; remove the metal ring, or remove the stock….guess which one I picked.
So after the ring was gone and the shroud was cut I could finally put on my rocket cock 2.

Installation was a breeze, and compared to the first rocket cock that you had to open your gun up for to remove the cocking knob it is as easy as throwing a stick at a rock and saying “look, I made a rock-stick!”

Cocking was not a problem unless you have a stock as I was saying, it makes it so you cant put your fingers through the cocking ring, but you can always just grab the base where it connects to the cocking rod and pull it back, no big deal.

One thing that isn’t really a problem is it sticks out a little more than an inch from your gun, but it makes up for that with an aero dynamic design.

Rocket cock 2 will decrease your markers volume...a little bit...

Another advantage to the rocket cock 2 is it is made out of a better more rugged fiberglass-like material, so no more plastic shattering in cold weather.

It does not affect the speed of your gun unless you go down to a micro measurement by saying it reduces air pressure resistance, but it isn’t noticeable.

At higher Rates of fire (10-16) the rocket cock 2 will cause more shoot down if your gun isn't oiled properly ( you will get shoot down at that speed anyway if your gun isn't oiled enough but the rocket cock will increase the chances.)

The best thing about the deal is it makes your gun covered bolt (not closed bolt) action giving you 2 major advantages;
1) Your gun will be easier to keep clean, and sand will no longer be the anti Christ.
2) Your gun will have no external moving pieces making sure your bolt does not do any undesired or over movements.

The only two bad things about this is its name (rocket cock) and the price (up to 50 Canadian)

It can be found at most pro shops for around 20-40 bucks, and on EBay for as little as $10.
Conclusion: All and all I give it a 9, but just because i hit everything that could possibly go wrong with it (flatline shroud and stock) but if i had neither of these i would give it a 10, and since the majority of people have neither i will give it a 10 for them and because it has made so many improvements over its predecessor.
I highly recomend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 27th, 2005 at 6:40 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

kruelness Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver (M-4 Mock up to be)
-Collapsible Stock
-GTA Double Trigger
-3pt. tactical sling
-Vl Revi
-DOP Rocket Cock II
-GTA expansion chamber
-Response trigger
-J&J performance Ceramic

-32 Degrees
* Remote
* 4+1 Belt
* Gloves
-JT Masks *2
-VL elbow and hoppers *2
Strengths: Makes Gun quieter
Keeps gun clean
looks great
Weaknesses: Price
Have to mod if using stock
Review: This is a definite MUST if you have a Tippmann 98, Custom or not. Personally it is one of the greatest add-on's I have place om my beautiful marker.

Yes it is plastic but it is very strong and light I. I have read reviews and this was a major "Must buy" because I like to play scenario games and bush ball. It keeps our gun clean and if you have ever got shot from the side you know what a POS this gun is to strip and how we would all much rather play than fix, although tippy is known for their 98's to be able to keep on playing when loaded with sand well all like to take care of our guns , I hope.

It does make your gun about 75% more quiet at the bolt which is nice, The more silent the better. Also having no external moving parts is a definite advantage, unless you are a autococker fan , then you wouldn't be reading this probably.

There are, however, some disadvantages.

First, having a Tippmann Collapsible CAR stock and the Rocket Cock II.
There is a ring on the front of the stock to keep it tight and to prevent it the stock from sliding around in circles. The problem?? Well be it that the add on is suppose to be flush against the gun and the pull lever is completely flush thus rubbing against the ring which is fairly wider than the gun... RUBBING. This = not cool.Before modding u cant even cock the bloody thing. I took the pull lever and sanded it down along with the ring. It is better to sand down the ring more than the plastic or obvious reasons. The ring has to be sanded all around and made vastly thinner. After about an hour of screwing around it works with very little rubbing.

Second, Having a flatline with a shroud, metal.
I do not personally have one but I know about the problems that become of this combination. You have to mod either the shroud or the add-on or both to get it working but apparently it doesn't take much and is allot easier than what I had to do.

All in all I am keeping this Rocket Cock II and will never get rid of it, unless the come out with a III and fixed these problems. If you have a flatinline or a stock don't worry about the modding , get some rough grit sandpaper 80 or rougher and hav some fun. If you have both well I really pity you and let me know how fun it is to mod that.
Conclusion: Must buy.
If you have a Rocket Cock II with either a Collapsable Stock or a Flatiline shroud happy modding.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 11:51 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

SDrandal Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98
rocket cock 2
12 inch lapco bigshot
20 oz and a 9 oz tank
Strengths: cheap
easy install
keeps your gun clean
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I got this becuase it looked like a slick and neat upgrade also it fits the regular model 98 that i still use. Plus it was cheap as hell so price wasn't a problem. The thing is nice becuase it keeps dirt and other junk out of your model 98 so its very usefull if your the type that gets always is prone and gets dirty alot. Also its a very useful item incase you somehow get shot in that area of your marker. You don't have to be an expert airsmith or whatever to install this, if you can take apart your gun you can install this.
Conclusion: Get it if your one of those who tends to play in the dirty/messy areas of the feilds. Plus its easy to install and cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sarge12 Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Smart Parts 14" All-American Barrel
32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward
Wild Viper Double Trigger & Guard
Dye Sticky 3's
DOP Rocket Cock II
Macroline Setup
Strengths: Great Looking. Cheap, Keeps the dirt and paint out of the marker.
Weaknesses: None
Review: i recently got the DOP Rocket Cock II and ever since i put it on ive gotten no dirt or paint inside my marker. It's made out of tougher plastic then the first Rocket Cock so it won't break as easily. Intallation is really easy. Just screw in the bolts and you're set. Looks great but even better on a silver tippmann. I strongly advise getting the product
Conclusion: If you're worried about getting dirt and paint inside your Tippmann (and you will of u play alot) then get the this product. It looks great and does it's job very well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BattleHazard Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: black 98c
DOP Universal Drop Forward
DOP Rocket COck II
DOP 2x trigger
14inch SP progressive barrel
small mods
Strengths: easy install
works perfectly
reinforced screw holes
looks good
does its job
CHEAP!!!!
Weaknesses: not any Key weakness, small gap at the front (electical tape fix)
Review: Well, its pretty simple. You take out the two screws from the gun, put the rocket cock over the slot, and screw in the new screws. DONE! It looks better now that it has the angles, it is only $14 and it does its job perfectly, no dirt or anything gets inside the cocking slot once you put tape at the front gap, wich is so small the tape gets pressed down when put there, so u dont even need to do it.
Conclusion: To put it simply, the Rocket Cock II does what it says, it keeps out the dirt and paint from the cocking slot, you dont hear the rear bolt as much now, so the dominant noise it made at the barrel, not the bolt. Its easy to install, and is cheap. There is no reason for any woodsball player to not have this, it does everything you could want and more. I am the first person in my group of paintballing friend to have it, and there is already 2 people who have ordered them. No weaknesses and a great price, so why not get it. It is worth well over the $14 that it costs, so it is a must Have. I give it a 10 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LaXisStillBttr Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Car stock, Flatline, Dye 45 grip panels, GTA expansion chamber, Dead on Power tube and bolt, and some custom mods.
Strengths: -Does it's job
-Looks good
Weaknesses: -Flatline shroud + Rocket cock = small problem
Review: The Rocket Cock 2 does it's job. Paint Spray, dirt, and everything else are kept away from the internals. Despite what others say, it does match the stock 98 paint job. The only problem I had with it was that I had to modify my flatline shroud to put the rocket cock on. (It only took about 5 mintues and was no big deal).
Conclusion: Tired of playing woodsball and getting gunk in your marker? Tired of cleaning paint off of your internals? Get this product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular cocking knob, which hits your mask alot when you fire it close to your face and doesnt keep debris out.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster and Tippmann expansion chamber.
Strengths: Protects the side opening from the elements, no more protruding knob.
Weaknesses: Sometimes theres a recocking problem, not as fast to cock as the knob was.
Review: I had a problem that everytime I would hold the gun close to the right side of my face the knob would strike my mask and sometimes prevent it from cycling and I would have to cock it again. Ive never had any dirt or paint or anything like that enter the gun in the opening, but its good to cover it just incase it does happen. The real reason I got it was just to keep the knob from hitting against my mask or against an object, like the side of a bunker or tree that you might be resting the gun against as you shoot and the knob would hit it in its cycling and would stop the gun from working, forcing you to sometimes have to recock it. However, Ive noticed that under a high rate of fire I do have some recocking issues every 200 shots or so. I do not know what the reason for it is. There are two most likely theories I have come up with. 1. The knob, if you remove the rubber peice that is over the cocking knob, which is required to install this upgrade, then you will notice that it has a checkered surface. This creates friction during the cycling against the plastic on the Rocket Cock and might slow it down just enough so that it does not cycle fully and does not catch the sear and you are forced to recock the gun. 2. The gun freezes up just a little more than before because some of the liquid C02 does not leave the gun from the opening that the Rocket Cock system now covers, making more ice around the hammer and freezing the hammer in place. Forcing you to recock in order to unstuck the hammer from the ice crystals that have formed around it. Other than the recocking issue, which I plan to fix with an anti-syphon tube in my tank, the Rocket Cock 2 is pretty durable and covers the exposed opening very well. When you get it, it will come with two new longer screws that replaces the two screws that are used to hold the rear of the gun together. That will give you two extra new screws that are convenient in case you loose any other two from the rest of the gun. The Rocket Cock 2 fits perfectly on the 98 Custom, almost as though Tippmann themselves made it, and holds solidly in place. It looks very nice and after the installation you no longer have any outside moving parts during the cycling as you fire your gun. If possibility number two is not the reason of the recocking issue, then I will get a dremel and remove the checkered surface of the knob to make the surface of the knob smooth to stop the friction, smoothining the cycle rate to reduce or completely stop the recocking issue. If you have a Flatline Barrel system, be prepared to trim off a small peice of plastic from the shroud if you want both to fit on your gun, because the top of the Rocket Cock 2 will over lap the side of the shroud a little bit.
Conclusion: I recommend this product if you want to protect your gun from debris, or if you want a rear cocking style which is what this cocking system does in a way. It makes the cocking to the left, rear of the gun. And still allows you to have stocks, rear velocity adjusters and other accessories that would normally not be able to be there because of a rear cocking system. I got mine for $15 plus $5 shipping.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 8th, 2005 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pez69 Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann C98
Double trigger
Raised Sight
12' Progressive Barrel
Custom Paint Job
Strengths: Covers Bolt
Easy To Install
Easy To Use
Weaknesses: Can be some work to install properly
Review: Very good product. First time using my C98 i got a lot of paint in the bolt, a real pain to clean. This completely prevents that. and the handle doesn't move when firing. Only thing i had trouble with is the installation. If you don't get it right it can be hard to pull and cock the bolt but if put in right it slides smoothly
Conclusion: A must get to cover the bolt
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viper118 Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 98C with D.O.P. Double trigger, GTA X-chamber, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Custom Proseal, Response Trigger, 14 Stiffi Carbon Fiber Barrell, Rocket Cock II, Remote system.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This thing is cool, Its a nice little "Bolt On" upgrade for the 98C. I have heard that it makes the gun quiter, It maybe did a little bit but not THAT much. It also made it a really cool way to cock the gun. Also if your in tight places you don't have to worry about the hammer pull hitting you anywhere as it is not encased by this. Installation took less than 5 mins, you don't even need to take your gun to halves. Just remove 2 screws, place this over the slot, tighten the new included screws down...it's done. Its that simple. It's perfect for woodsballers or people who play where they can get alot of crud in their gun. and for less than 20 bucks shipped off ebay you can't beat it.
Conclusion: I would surely buy this product agian. It's a light addon and it gives your gun a cool look. While also giving you a really cool way to cock it. Keeps crud out and saves you from having to replace internals due to mud tearing the inside of your gun up. I will give it a 9 because Nothin is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Happy Face : ) Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Ricochet AK
Flatline Barrel
Rocket Cock II
Remote Line
16 0z. Co2
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths

No Moving Parts
This covers the cocking knob so there are no moving parts on the outside of the gun.

Keeps Stuff Out
First game I played with the Rocket Cock was a speedball game. My friend lit me up shot me in the leg, arm, remote and right hand. The Rocket Cock kept out all of the paint that hit the gun.

Quiets the Gun
It doesn't do much, but it still did. I have a Flatline and with the lack of porting, it makes the gun really loud, the Rocket Cock did quiet the gun a little.

Installation
Incredibly easy to install. You have to remove two of the reciever bolts put the new cocking knob on, then the little cover. It takes 2 minutes at the most.


Weaknesses

Not Compatible with Flatline Shroud
The Flatline shroud conflicts with the rocket cock and I had to carve a bit out of the shroud so the shroud would fit.

Price
The MSRP on this thing is like $25

Conclusion: I would recommend it if you can find it cheap enough, otherwise it isnt an important upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media