paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System / Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System / Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System

Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Poison Products

Buy Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
After four years of research and development, Poison Products is proud to introduce the Poison Arrow barrel system. The most advance barrel system in the world. Each set is carefully crafted from solid 6061 heat-treated aircraft aluminum and solid surgical stainless steel. At the heart of the Poison Arrows set's accuracy is its ability to remove broken paintball debris. It is the only paintball barrel system in the world that can be tuned to fit each marker perfectly. In laboratory testing the Poison Arrow shot 90% of 500 shots at 100' into a 6" circle.
Product Availability 
The Poison Products Poison Arrow Barrel System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DragunMaster21 Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Ultralite, Pipe - All not as accurate
Marker Setup: Custom Cocker on an AIM21 Body
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything as long as it isn't super small *cough Hellfire cough*
Strengths: Great Construction
Dead-On Accurate
Kinda Cool
Weaknesses: None other than price, but you get what you pay for.
Review: I was recently at the PSP Chicago Open and I came across a new product called the "Poison Arrow" barrel system. The basic concept behind this is that you never have to squeeqie your barrel again because of a self-cleaning technique. Made of T6 6061 Aluminum, these things are literally bomb proof, but we will get to that a little later.

Now, I know we have all seen these barrels advertised before, with the "self cleaning", so I inquired about this to the sales man, who also happened to be the creator of the barrel. He told me that the first and most important part of accuracy, is a good seal inside the breech. Most two piece barrels fit into the breech and never form a proper seal. On the table at the booth, there was a cut away version of an Autococker with the Poison Arrow and a Freak Barrel next to it. When you screwed in the Freak, there was about 3 millimeters between the back of the barrel and the furthest point the bolt reached. Then the Poison Arrow was placed on; there were a couple of millimeters, but with a twist of the front of the barrel, the insert moved back to form a perfect seal in the breech. By doing this, there is a better fit for the paint and less turbulence during acceleration. The next thing I was informed of was that the squeegee action was performed by a tight paint fit. In a good paint to barrel match-up, you should have to push the paint thru, not blow it. With this tight fit, the next ball after a broken one will push the debris out of the acceleration tube and out.

Most studies have found that a paintball reaches its fastest point 5-6 inches into the barrel, so each insert is 5 inches long, and then the silencing part of the barrel takes over. Available front ends were 14, 12, and 9 inches. The inside diameter of each of them is .710, a HUGE diameter where the ball will never touch. On the 12 and 14-inch fronts, there is a special sleeve designed to clean paint even more efficiently. How it works is if there are shell fragments that were not blown totally away, you slide a sleeve forward and reveal several large slots in the barrel. 3 or 4 more shots later, slide it back, and continue letting off ropes of paint. One more beautiful thing about those slots are that they do not effect velocity when open, so have no fear when the ref comes over to do an on field chrono.

Testing on this barrel was so extensive, that they even blew one up. They packed it with the powder found in Dynamite, I forget the exact name, and "blew" it up. I say that because it didn't actually explode, but remained intact and still shot perfectly. Another "test" was performed by having large players stick the barrel in the ground, running full force, and do end-overs. Heck, even the case is sturdy. You can toss it out of a car at 35 MPH and only pop a lock. Try that with any other barrel case.

Now for the good part, the testing. We took the barrel over to the shooting range and loaded my Autococker up with new Worr paint. The .688 insert was used and shot at different distances. All shot groupings were tight even at the 100+ foot range. Then the seller made an odd request and told me to break paint. So I stuck the barrel into the ground and fired of 15 shots. Now, hopefully this would never happen in a tourney, but after shooting this barrel, I wouldn't care. I slid the sleeve forward and shot 4 times, moved it back, and shot another 20 balls, with 98% of the original accuracy.
Conclusion: After all I have seen, I am selling my Freak, and buying this. Visit their web site at www.smootherthanglass.com and order one today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wastedwalrus Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite, Flatline, Stock Barrels, tested some smart parts, etc.
Marker Setup: Markers---

2001 LCD Cobra Mamba Angel
13" Poison Arrow Barrel
Reloader B / Egg w/ Y-Board
Crossfire .68, 3000 PSI
Shocktech Drop Forward
A4 Soft-Faced Bolt
Check-It Lowrise Feed

Tippman A-5
E-Grip
JCS Duel Trigger
Dye 14" Ultralite Barrel w/ Black Dust Tip.
Front Grip Extension
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that fits.
Strengths: Self-Cleaning, Tough Build, Accuracy, Distance, Inserts, Customer Service.
Weaknesses: Price for most people, however I got mine used. Weight.
Review: Build-
The first thing you notice is the build of this barrel. Amazing. I feel like I could run it over with a car and it'd still be as perfect as it always is. Poison products chooses the best materials for this awesome barrel.

Accuracy-
Amazing accuracy. The barrel's materials, precision build, and advanced performance make it on of, if not the, most accurate barrels I've ever shot.

Distance-
Great distance. Not much different than any other barrel (excluding flatline and twister).

"Paint Shedding Technique"-
This is what makes the Poison Arrow truly what it is. This advanced and efficient way to clean out ball chops and other debris works just as advertised.

Inserts-
The inserts are extremely accurate and smooth. The only downside is that there are only 4 inserts to choose from.

Price-
Unbelievable quality doesn't come cheap people! Don't be hesitant, it may be very expensive but you'll get your money's worth.

Weight-
After using ultralites for a long time, the weight was somewhat of an adjustment. Don't worry though, I'm not saying the barrel is really heavy, I'm merely saying it's slightly heavier than some other barrels. No big deal.

Customer Service-
Poison Products has the best customer service of any paintball company out there. I called to buy another insert and they were as nice as possible and even asked for my opinion on the barrel! They actually care what you have to say!
Conclusion: One of the best barrels you can possibly purchase. I strongly reccommend this to anyone, Angel LCD shooters especially (just seems to be a perfect match).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 16th, 2004 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arch_angel_207 Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About every barrel/barrel kit over 100$
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils Or Marbalizers Are the only paint I use.
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: Well this barrel performs up to its no squegee standard.

Strengths-
No Squegee
Accurate
OK Distance
Pretty Light

Weaknesses-
Price Is the #1 weakness
If you have to be critical it could be better looking but only if You care about cosmetics

I used it in a 5by5 tourny on a Sup Air field it performed good no chops thats about it
Conclusion: Overall if you got the money you should buy this this is one of the best barrels I have ever used. I used it in a tourny and jus in the back of the yard
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mewmew Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner, longbow, boomstick
Marker Setup: Orracle with free flow ram with QEV's
Recommended
Paintballs:
most good quality paint
Strengths: Very well made
Durable
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: Doesn't clear paint always
Not any more accurate than other high quality barrels
Review: Ok, I bought this barrel for my Orracle because of all the awesome reviews on here. When I first got it I realized that a few more inserts would be awesome, the inserts that come with it fit most decent quality paint, but sometimes 3 inserts just insn't enough if you go to alot of different fields and have to use alot of different paint. The first thing I noticed was the fact this is a very loud barrel, this isnt a really big deal but I know alot of people like a nice and quiet barrel. The build quality is awesome and this barrel looks VERY duable which is a major plus. When using the barrel I had a few breaks(perhaps do to poor paint) and have had quite a few chances to test out the self cleaning feature. I will tell you this, after only a few breaks I always use a squeegy now. I find it faster to use a squeegy and fire one or two shots and have a nice and clean barrel than to use the nasty self cleaning feature and shoot 10-15 to clean out the barrel and then half the time not have it work and shoot balls that curve all over the place. I have used alot of different paint and on several occasions a squeegy is really the only way to clean the barrel out enough to get 95-100% accuracy back. The barrel is nice, without a doubt, but its no more accurate than any other high quality set with good matching paint, and anyone that says elsewise is just trying to justify for spending $300 on this set to be honest. I also had a problem with this barrel comming undone after playing with it and had to constantly keep it tightly screwed in so it didnt break paint when it would come unscrewed, I haven't had this problem with any other barrel.
Conclusion: For $300 you get 3 inserts that fit most quality paint but not all, good accuracy, and a self cleaning system that I can't say I am too happy with, and 3 tips. The craftsmanship is second to none and I really do think its the finest barrel ever made as far as the quality goes, but it really doesn't make up for the fact its no more accurate than any other barrel and if you truly want to clean a break out you might as well bring a squeegy with you. The backing out problem was a minor problem that was easily fixed by constantly making sure it was tight. Overall I can't recomend this barrel to anyone and would just save your money and go with something else. 5 may seem low but is Average, and that is really all I can see giving this barrel at this price.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 at 6:27 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

duke_00 Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak, evil, boomy, ultralite, stock, etc
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much any kind due to the different sizes
Strengths: accurate
pretty light
looks cool
dif. bore sizes is nice
Weaknesses: little hard to maintain
look at review
Review: overall, this is a fantastic barrel kit! it is so very accurate, fairly light, and it looks very slick. this barrel kit is a little difficult to maintain, and is a little on the expensive side. although this barrel is on the expensive side, you are payin for a HIGH QUALITY AMERICAN MADE PRODUCT.
Conclusion: get this barrel kit. do not buy SP. this is truly a very high quality product that was made right here in the good ole U S of A
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ry_dogg68 Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Dye Ultralight, WDP Infinity, Evil Pipe.
Marker Setup: Angel Speed, Poison Arrow Pro Kit, 3A 91cu. 4500, soft nose bolt, Check it Uni-mount, etc...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, its a multi bore kit.
Strengths: -Multiple inserts
-Very well built
-Super Accurate
-Clears paint without a squegee
Weaknesses: -Not the most silent
-Bit on the pricey side
Review: I was very impressed with this kit! It does excatly what its advertised to do. It is the best barrel in the world right now, and probably will continue to be forever. It shoots unbelievable darts. The insert honing puts even a boomstick to shame (and I am a Dye fan). It also clears paint out with just a couple shots. I stuffed 5 balls in the insert just to see if it could. With in 5 shots, I was holding a 6" pattern at 50 feet (and that was with cheap pratice paint). So throw your squegee's away cause you wont need them anymore. While the guy in the bunker in front of you is shooting curve balls at you because he broke, you can snap him on your 1st shot.
Conclusion: I love it! I will continue to hype it up, cause it meets or exceeds expectations. Go buy this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PlayaSx1 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite, Dye Boomstick, Freak Barrel System
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly, Poison Arrow Pro Barrel Set, 4500psi 68cu carbon fiber tank, egg w/Zboard
Strengths: -ACCURATE
-PRECISE
-LIGHT
-NO SQUEEGE NEEDED
-4 MICRON FINSH!
-look at review
Weaknesses: -UGLY
-COMPLICATED
-PRICE
-Look at review
Review: -This is THE BEST barrel set i have ever used. If you have a Freak barrel system, like i used to, trust me, switch to this barrel set. Its Lighter , more Durable (the insert and the barrel itself), scratch resistant, and a lot more Smoother than the Freak barrel system. I wouldn't trade this barrel set with any other barrel or barrel set, it is simply that good. It uses solid 6061 heat-treated aircraft aluminum gun drilled and micro-honed not once, but twice to ensure a perfect finish, and it uses Surgical Stainless steel to keep that nice 4 micron finish(it also helps with the scratch resistance). I ran two cases of paint going at about 18 balls per second and didnt even break a ball! The bad part about this gun is that its ugly! its also more complicated because of the no-squeege use( barrel cleanse itself out). And one more thing which is important, The Inserts are not as tight as the freak but still performs better (go figure). Oh and the price ranges anywhere from $165-$319...ouch.
Conclusion: This is one of the best products out there, a little bit on the expensive side but well worth it. I recommend this to all paintball players, even the pros
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbAddictWI Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP, Dye, Mac Dev, and Smart Parts barrels
Marker Setup: 2004 ICD B2K PDS(red to black fade), cp grip reg, bonbrake bolt, mac dev red valve, chaos board, dye barrel kit, cp micro drop, icd custom feed neck, zenitram 15 degrees asa, aka soda can 2 lpr, halo b, 68-4500 crossfire tank 450psi preset
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any mid to high end paint
Strengths: Accurate
light for having stainless inserts
good quality
Weaknesses: Ugly
very loud
does not clean very well
Very expensive
Review: Unfortunate for me this is not the best barrel on the market.
the one thing i did like about but am finding out does not that big of deal is that the inserts meet the breach. the barrel was pretty light for having stainless steel inserts. the two things that really made me hate this barrel kit, one was it did not clean any where near how they said it did. i heard so may stories about how you can break and break, it could be one ball or ten balls, open the porting and fire 3-5 time and you get 90-95% accuracy. im here to say the is bull. just like any other barrel, when you break you paint goes all over the place(and yes i did match the paint to the barrel properly). it does not clean any better then any other high end barrel out there. the second thing i did not like was this thing makes you gun sound like a cannon, it is so load. now i know some people think a load gun means nothing when everyone is shooting, but having a marker that makes more noise that a real gun gives your position away, especially if you try to bunker someone(i guess only woods ball players thinks this is not important). as for accuracy, its accurate but for almost $300 it sure is not amazing, it defiantly not more accurate then your high end barrels.
its not worth the money, its no better then any other barrel, and it does not clean well.
the only guns i see it on and the only people that say they like it use angles and cockers, even though they barrel is available for other guns, plus a lot of markers use cocker thread. over priced and over talked product.
Conclusion: Well since i don't have a cocker or an angle, which seems to be the only two guns that anyone likes this barrel for(at least the people i have talked to). i don't think the barrel suck horribly but i don't think it works as well as it is talked up about, my advise would be try it before you buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

prowlernj666 Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Titanium Longbow, Ultralite, E-pipe, J&J Barrels, Boomsticks and STO aka Kaner barrel system
Marker Setup: -DM4 Limited Edition (polished blue)
-AdvantagePB Virtue chip
-CP Reg
-CP rolling trigger
-Hybrid Clamping neck
-Unimount ASA

-DM3 w/ tadao V.5 Musashi 3 software
-CP snatch grip
-CP roller Trigger
-PBC LPR
-CP inline reg
-CCM lowrise clamping neck


Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Weight and Loudness
Review: The barrel has the same concept as the Freak barrel system with the insert bors. My friend was putting it to the test and I watched it and thought it was a tippmann at first but no it couldn't be, he uses a ICD Freestyle; the barrel is very very veryyy loud. not only loud but heavy. however, one thing I liked it very much about the barrel was the accuracy, it was amazing. Still, it does not compensate for the loudness and heaviness of the barrel.
One thing I haven't tested yet about the barrel is the capability of self-cleaning after a break in the barrel. Shoot a few rounds and the barrel is clean. From experience I can say that's kinda hard to believe but they infasize it with this system. It may be true and it may not, but in my opinion nothing beats a good old squeege.

The barrel was tested using an ICD Freestyle, DM3 and a DM4.
Conclusion: Overpriced for a accurate but heavy and loud barrel. Once they work on the loudness and heaviness of the barrel, but until then I think you could get better
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Som3 Dud3 Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is quite like this...
Marker Setup: Custom cocker, too lazy to list ups...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mid-Large bore paint, because it only has as low as .686 inserts.
Strengths: Unique
Accurate
Shoots through breaks well
Excellent tolerances
Extremely hard to get barrel breaks
Weaknesses: Some consider it ugly
Expensive(unless used)
Only 4 inserts
Kinda heavy
Loud
Review: First off, I do not think it is right to spend $300 on a barrel kit, so if you are considering buying this kit new, just buy something else. I got a full kit for $80, with 4 inserts (.686, .688, .690, and .692) and 12" and 14" tips. I first took it out to shoot, and was impressed by it's accuracy. Next I tried to get a barrel break to see how effective it actually was for shooting through breaks. Well, I tried Evil, a very brittle paint, in my .686 insert. Needless to say I couldn't get a barrel break no matter what I tried. During a game I finally got a barrel break. Just sliding the porting cover and keep shooting, problem solved. Now, it isn't quite as good as actually squeegeeing your barrel, but it is a lot faster. I got around 70% of my accuracy back, compared to around 80 to 90% for squeegeeing the barrel out, depending on how good I do. Overall I am very happy with this barrel, and I love it when people just look at my barrel and are like: "What the heck is that?!"
Conclusion: These are extremely nice kits if you can find a used one and are in need of a barrel kit, I'd say this is the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media