paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SleepCurent Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, Jt n-vader
Marker Setup: Mars Evo Gold, 20 oz tank, Evlution II hopper
Strengths: It's very streamline, increadable lens, nie fit, price is perfect in my opionion
Weaknesses: none that I have seen so far.
Review: This product is extreamly streamline in apperance and fits snuggly to my head. The Lens on this mask is incredable! It's very ddifficult to distinguish between the lens and your normal vision (nearly impossible). I used the mask without an anti-fog liquid and it still barely fogged. It cleared once i had finished exhaling allmost immediatly. The lens feature is very nice. It pops out with a turn of a switch for easy cleaning. However, it makes me uncomfortable that it comes out so easily.
Conclusion: I would strogly recomend this mask! It's way better then the Invision and costs less. The lens will blow your mind. The field of vision is outstanding and the fit it has on ur head holds firm and allows no movement or a risk of falling off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Tolgak Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Panoram: Came with my 98 Custom) Worst mask that I've ever tried on. I'm disappointed in you Scott...

Tested: DYE Invision, JT nVader, V-Force Shield
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Flatline and Homemade Stock
A-5 with Rt and LAPCO Bigshot
Coming soon: PGP
Strengths: Clear lens
Rubber visor and lower mask
Full face coverage
More in Review
Weaknesses: Just a bit on the heavy side.
Not the most compact mask.
Review: I bought this mask a while ago because my Winchester mask was poo. I have to say that the Switch is the greatest mask that I've ever used. In my first game with it, it performed better than I expected.

The lens is so clear that it feels like there's no lens at all. And it doesn't fog (unless it's really hot and humid like it always is here in Florida. The lens area is separated on the bottom from the lower part by foam. Removing it is so simple a 2 year old can do it. First you raise the visor. Then you twist the goggle strap connections forward and pull them out. Then the frame around the lens opens like it's on a hinge and the lens just pops out. The lens that comes with it is thermal.

The foam is heavenly. You can tighten the strap so that it's snug, but the foam is still able to contract like it's a spring and soften even the hardest blows. It also has foam on the ears.

The strap is also very smooth and I would imagine that it would be comfortable even for a bald guy.

Paint bounces off the rubber parts away from the user. It covers below your chin.

Breathing in is very easy. Breathing out is not as good but it's better than in every other mask. In the POS Winchester mask, even though it was very open on the sides and had large holes, you still couldn't breathe.

Looks: On the outside it has a very smooth look. Very few sharp corners. If you thought the pictures looked good, go to a proshop and see it in person, it's awesome.

The only weaknesses are that it's just a bit heavier than normal, and it's not very compact. It doesn't matter to me though, I play mostly woods.
Conclusion: I think this is one of the best masks out there. At most major online stores right now, it's about $64, a great price for the newer players, yet good enough for the pros.

Definately look into this or the V-Force Shield of you want the best mask for a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

methayne902 Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray Goggle, nVader
Marker Setup: -Spyder Imagine
-14 inch 32* quiet riot barrel
-20 oz co2
Strengths: -Clear Viewing
-No sight obstructions caused by mask
-Single Lense Thermal
Weaknesses: -You see your reflection in your lense but you get used to it
Review: About 12 of my friends and I had decided to go paintballing over the weekend because none of us had been paintballing in a while. I pulled out my awsome PMI X-Ray goggles walked back into the woods and put em on, just to make sure everything was ok with them. While walking around with the mask on I ran into about 3 trees because of the fogging and the wierd residue that had somehow built up on the inside of my lense. I began researching a new pair of goggles to buy and I came upon this pair. I dont know why but it just caught my eye. I went down to the local pro shop and tried one on, after about three minuites I had forgetten I was wearing them. I knew I had to buy them. I played in rain on a 50* day, and rain on a 90* day, and I had almost no fogging problems at all. Then one day, there was no wind, the humidity was HUGE, and the temperature was around 90*. I went outside and had no fogging problems for about 30 minuites. I would reccomend these goggles to anyone who asked me what mask they should buy, they protect your face well while still causing bounces, plus the lense is outstanding. I love just laughing at my friends who cant see because of fogging.This mask increased my preformance 300%.

--Scores--
-View:10
-Fogging:9
-Weight:8
-Protection:8
-Bounces:8

Total Score: 45/50 or 9/10
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product to anyone who wants to buy a new mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

DarkeWolf Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
various v-force masks- armor, profiler, and a rental.
Marker Setup: what difference does it make? this is a review for a mask
Strengths: Comfort, Protection, Anti-fog, Field-of-view
Weaknesses: Re-assembly, Foam, Cost
Review: This is a review of the Proto Switch FS (Full Sport) masks, not the lower priced, lower value EL (Entry Level) mask.
The Highest selling point of the Switch, is the way that the lenses are changed. I gotta say, that yes...they are VERY easy to take out. And they stay together very well, with no worries of them coming apart in the middle of a game.
*Putting them back together, is a bit of work, till you get used to how to do it. You've got to get that curved retaining peg in there just so, at just the right angle, and then push down; to get outside frame back into place PROPERLY. So that it fits the way that it is supposed to, and not be loose against the lenses. And the locking pieces, attached to the straps, take some breaking in before they will go back into place without feeling like you are forcing them in.
Some people say that this is a big mask. Its not that bad. It doesnt get in my way, when I shoot...at all.
*It stays put, and is comfortable. I've put this thing on and moved in just about every way possible that I can think of, and when I've got the strap tightened correctly, it does NOT move. I moshed with this thing on, and it barely traveled. With some other masks that I've worn, I was constantly moving them around on my face, trying to find a spot where they were comfortable. This mask only takes an adjustment or two and then hey...its good.
*Now...the BIG question. Does it Fog? I put this thing to what I consider an extreme test. I put it on a maniquin head, put it on a stool beside the bathtub, and took a REALLY hot shower. I had it as hot as I could stand it.
When I got outta the shower, the whole room was steamed up. the mirror, the chrome railings, and the chrome trim. everything. EXCEPT this mask.
Before I even grabbed a towel to dry off, I pulled it off the head, and put it on. The outside lense instantly fogged up. I'm not sure if I was surprised or not, since this thing had been subject to a LOT of moisture and humidity.
I grabbed a towel and wiped it off. One swipe, and it was all gone. That cheered me up somewhat. Still wearing it, I toweled off, and came back into my room. 10 minutes later, it still hasnt fogged back up. Inside, or out. I was impressed.
*Field of view- its pretty good. I can see to the side, ALMOST to the edge of my peripheral vision.
*Protection- I've got a long jaw. I've been hit in the jaw once, wearing the v-force profiler. The Switch comes down far enough past my face at the bottom that I'd have to have my head tilted to get shot in the face. And the sides fully protect the ears, and quite a bit of the sides of the head, and even parts of the back of the head.
*strap- the strap stays put when I put it on. It doesnt come loose, like some of them do, and have to re-tighten the strap, once you've got the mask on.
* I've got four piercings in my left ear. Every time I would put on the rental vforce, it would snag my ear. I had to pull the sides out quite a ways to get it not to catch on an earring. And then, I'd have to tighten it back up once I had it on, because the strap would come loose. This Switch is pretty much just like putting on a hat. I just put it on. No fuss with my ears. The foam there is comfortable too.

-Now for the bad-

*Even when fully put back together, the lenses dont look quite right. You can see where the spacer is, between the lenses. Makes it look kinda cheap. But I guess if you play outdoors a lot you could get smoked or mirrored lenses.
*The foam is kinda scratchy at first, if you've got sensitive skin. But after its been worn a few times, and "broken in" then it doesnt bother at all.
*Putting it back together the first few times, until you get used to it, is a chore.
*While they don't scratch up really bad, I've got a few scratches on them, that I dont think should be there, so I'm gonna say that the lenses are made up of a slighly soft plastic.
Conclusion: All around, if I was going to buy another mask, I'd buy another one of these. I dont like the v-force masks because of how they leave parts of the face exposed. And how I am constantly adjusting them. This one stays in place, and is really hard to fog up.
Its a great mask, and I like it a lot.
I'm giving it an 8, because learning to put it back together correctly, is a pain. Till you learn how to do it. And to me, the lenses could be made to be a little more scratch resistant. Even tho they aren't bad. And because there is just a very very slight gap between the frame that holds the lenses in place and the lenses at the very bottom. Even when put on correctly.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 11th, 2005 at 8:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red600 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Uvex and green mask, Jt Whipper, JT X fire, Vents Rage, JT Spectra
Marker Setup: VSC CCI Phantom & 10" Boomstick
Strengths: Excellent lens clarity, comes stock with a no-fog lense, simple and quick lense change
Weaknesses: Foam is too porous and plastic feeling
Review: I purchased the switch mask on a whim even though my JT Spectra system is still in great shape. I've always wanted a quick lens change system for when I get gogged. Changing the lenses on older masks always ended up with me cussing and with sore fingers. With the switch, it's a simple matter of twisting a pair of retainers and popping out the lens. Very simple, quick, and secure.

The switch looks great and has excellent clarity. I sweat like crazy and the lens has never fogged on me despite the humid climate.

One complaint I do have about the switch is the foam. The foam is very plastic feeling, for lack of better words. Not plush at all like the JT or vents line. I also had problems with sweat dripping into my eyes and even onto the inner lens because the foam could not hold or redirect the sweat, a problem i have never encountered with either my JTs or my Vents.
Conclusion: The switch is an excellent system. Looks great, protects well without being overly bulky, comes stock with a no fog lens, and has a quick and easy lens changing system. The feel of the foam is purely subjective and the sweat problem can be solved with a simple headband. Overall a great system that I wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

the butcher Friday, September 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nforcer Thermal - Great mask, but can not compare to the Switch.
Scott Mask - The one that comes with the model 98 kit, not on the same level as the Switch.
Jt Flex IZE - Great mask, but can't compare to the Switch.
Strengths: -Lens Change
-Flex Rubber
-Thermal Lens
-Comfort
-Style
Weaknesses: - None
Review: The number one complaint with older masks is the difficulty in changing the lens. This can be a safety hazard because players sometimes will not properly clean or replace their lens because they want to avoid the hassle. Luckily JT's Axiom or FX-10 and the Proto Switch both have innovative new lens change systems. The Proto system is incredibly easy and secure, just because its quick change don't think it isn't as strong or offers less protection. You can take it out and get it back in in less than a minute without risking damage to the body or lens of the mask from pushing and pulling like you do with older goggle systems.

Also the mask looks COOL, comes in Black, Grey, Olive, Red, Blue or Yellow. It offers the flex rubber lower, which trades protection (you may take the occasional shot to the mouth neck or jaw) for a chance to bounce paint.

The Lens on the Proto does very well against fog, and has great peripheral vision. No Complaints here.

The mask is very comfortable. Some people say its heavy, I say those people are girlie-men! It is a solidly built mask but is not too heavy, and if your really concerned go to to your local proshop and try it on. You should be doing that anyway. Unless you have a err...uniquely shaped head the proto will hold tight to your face even while running and being shot. The foam feels great too.
Conclusion: Get it, you wont be sorry. Quick Change Lens, Looks Sweet, Comfortable it deserves a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 30th, 2004 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigfootimp Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
If you can think of it I have probably tried it.
Strengths: Excellent Vision, Very comfortable, hard to fog , great coverage
Weaknesses: Chin strap, not designed for use with glasses
Review: My profiler was recently stolen so I needed a new mask and couldn't wait for another profiler to come in so my local proshop manager shows me this mask. Cheaper than the profiler, about the same size, a little heavier (like that even matters on a mask), but kind of the same concept...a smaller profile with maximum field and clarity of vision. So I bought it and tried it out.

I was a little skeptical at first because I loved the comfort, clarity, field of vision and lack of fogging that I had come to expect from my profiler and didn't want to waste my money on a mask that I had never tried or seen anybody in the area use and for all I knew was no better than brass eagle. When I first tried it on though I felt bad about even thinking about comparing it to a brass eagle mask. The comfort was great extremely close to the comfort of the profiler. I also thought that the field of vision would be smaller due to the smaller lens but I was exceedingly surprised at the field of vision. The mask doesn't obstruct a person's peripheral vision at all. Also it is easier to hear with this mask on that any other mask that I have ever used.

The proto is also hard to fog. This is because of the dual lens that it utilizes. It isn't anything new on the market but this one works very well. Also the lens is kind of hard to remove at first and it takes some practice putting it back into the mask but once you get the hang of it is is almost as easy as the profiler.

Now the bad. I guess some time recently some of the mask manufacturers decided that a chin strap should be a feature on their mask and while I can understand how some people find them more appealing I personally don't care for them. This one comes with a pad on it to add comfort to the old choker but I still don't like it. Well I know some of you are thinking why not just take it off of the mask? The problem with that is that you cannot do it without altering the strap or part of the mask itself. Not really a big deal but I do not care to alter my masks in any way that is not part of an "optional feature" like a visor. But that is just me. Also I wear contacts but sometimes I have to wear my glasses and this really stinks. I tried the mask on with my glasses and as with any other mask system my glasses fogged right up. But extremely fast. This was the only other drawback because with my profiler I could wear my glasses for at least 5 games before the would fog up. While reading the manual to review the lens removal feature I stumbled across these bold letters that, in summary, said not intended for use with glasses. I kind of thought it was funny but figure that the manufacturer must have some reason for having it in the manual so I thought that I would mention it in the review.
Conclusion: All in all I find this mask surprisingly well designed and it gave great performance. None of the cons are large enough to even degrade this product and I would recommend it to anyone who asked me. I have to give this product a 10 out of 10 because it is really that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Fragmasta_Fong Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-JT Spectra
-Flex 7
-V-force Profiler
-V-force Armor
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5 with R/T
-Double Trigger
-Lapco Bigshot
-Palmers Stab.
-Stock with RVA
-Remote Line
Strengths: -Flexible
-Good for shouting
-Looks alright
-Quick change lens
Weaknesses: -Internal reflection
-Lens (The glue in it to be specific)
Review: Well this being my first mask I was pretty happy with it to begin with. It hardly ever fogged, and had pretty good field of vision. But a few weeks ago during a game, it started fogging and not just a little but it was serious blinding fog. So I managed to find my way back to the staging area and low and behold the lens had come adrift from itself. The foam didnt want to stick back, and it had serious fog in between.

So I borrowed a spectra for the past few weeks, and have been reading up on this whole lens problem. Some people have been saying that it was a bad batch, but just last weekend my friend who has the same goggle as me fogged like hell. The first it had ever happened to him. We took them apart and his lens had seperated too. Now since he got his at a different time than me (4 months later and different source) I doubted that these were of the same batch.

Edit 24/06/06
I got round to fixin my lens this weekend with some clear flexi silicon:- Dried it in the hotwater cupboard, then went around most of the lens foam with the silicon and clamped it down with rubber clamps. Its preddy damn well stuck now and have tested it. I will be going for a game next week and it should hopefully not fog.

Edit...Again 4/8/06
The silicon fix did a good job to temp fix the lens till I bought a new lens, got me one of those fancy fade ones and it works a treat. More info found was that it would appear to be a bad batch, so the probb'os fixed and I am pleased to say works how it should. And I am updating my rating from 5 to 8.
Conclusion: The mask itself is preddy damn alright, a little more expensive than some of the other goggles in its area. I ended up getting one of the bad lenses from the faulty batch, which was a real pain, but have bought a new lens and I am pleased to say is working well. No more fog – YAY!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 4:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fishballer06 Tuesday, July 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce - Profiler, Armor, Vantage, vantage and armor aren't very comfy but are nice for the price, the profiler is just too small for comfort
Brass Eagle cheapy - brass eagle need I say more, my first mask
JT- lots of them, don't like the look of them
Dye Invision- nice looking but hard to change and and clean
Marker Setup: 03 Black BKO
AA barrel with freak front
25 g switch
Gothic Bolt Pin Black
CCM Black/Blue feedneck
and more coming

Eforce EXT Pro Piranha with ups too
Strengths: Nice looks
Cheap compared to others
Easy lense change
Durable
Easy to clean
Super Comfy
Weaknesses: Can be hard to snap back together at first
Review: I love this mask, my whole team uses them, they look great, their so easy to change lenses, they are the most comfortable mask I've ever worn, you can clean the venting in them easy, they come completly apart which helps in cleaning, you can hear very good through them, you can also talk well through them, I recommend them to anyone
Conclusion: If your looking for a great upper end mask, buy this one, invisions and profilers are not near as nice as this mask
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rouge Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra w/ fan - Still got fogged up
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Proteam Intruder Foregrip - 8" Lapco Big Shot Barrel - 3000psi 72 cu Compressed Air Tank
Strengths: - Comfortable
- Never fogged
- Easy to replace lens
- Kewl looking (Especially the Red)
Weaknesses: -Lens not as easy to replace as i would have thought
Review: This mask is extremely comfortable nice amount of foam to soften the hits, easier to replace the lens then JTs but not as easy as it sounds you got to turn the knobs a 1/4 of a turn then pull them all the way out then you have detached the lens frame from the straps then you must remove the lens frame form the goggles and now they are out, these goggle have never ever fogged up on me and i've played in many conditions and they've never even started to fog even during night at 24hour scenario games. I'de have to wait for all my friends to wipe their goggles clean at every rest stop, but not me i was ready ot play the whole ti me with clear vision
Conclusion: These all the best goggle i've ever owned if your gonna buy a new set of goggles and are not worrying about the price to protect your face then i would defiantly go with these or the V-Force Morphs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media