paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud / Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud / Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud / Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud

Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This black anodized aluminum shroud is an upgrade to the plastic flatline shroud. The shroud offers increased durability, without adding extra weight. Kit includes metal shroud only. Flatline Barrel not included.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Metal Flatline Shroud is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Spencer_Kaul Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
-Flatline Barrel
-double trigger
-9oz CO2 (Getting an HPA soon)
-Drop Forward adapter (coming soon)
Strengths: Looks better than plastic protect barrel reduces breakage when fired upon
Weaknesses: cost...
Review: Looks better than plastic..., help protect barrel... seems to reduce paintball breakage

cost... is a bit overboard

Good stuff here, if you got money to burn-go for it I think that they should make it be a liitle bit cheaper because, after all, it is just a piece of metal
Conclusion: goood work tippmann i think anyone could use this product of they got some cash
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swishidge Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
plastic shroud- broke the first time I used it
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel w/metal shroud
commando stock
20 oz CO2
Strengths: Durable and looks cool
Weaknesses: Cost, I had to grind it down to get it to fit.
Review: The only bad thing is the cost. Some people complain about the weight, but really, you don't notice it. I don't how my plastic shroud broke, but it did and that really pissed me off. I cant fix it because of the break, so I had to get the metal one. When I got it, I then had to grind it to make it fit. Maybe it was just mine, but it really sucked having to grind it down. Once I got it to fit it was cool, and since then it hasn't messed up on me yet
Conclusion: Get it if you have the money but if your plastic one hasn't broken or anything like that, don't, its not worth it. Maybe it was just the place I ordered from, but expect to have to do some grinding on the shroud to get it to fit. I'm not giving it a lower grade because of the quality, but because of the difficulty of getting it to work.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blitz_240sx Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Flatline plastic shroud
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, Response Trigger, Low Pressure Kit with beaver tail, Palmer Fatty Regulator, Lapco Direct Feed, Lapco Drop Forward, Q-Loader, Flatline with metal shroud, 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber 12" barrel
Strengths: Looks Great
Button used to open breach can be used like a shotgun sight
Weaknesses: Cost
Had to grind to fit
Review: Finally got it in the mail the other day. It comes with 5 parts, if you count the nut and bolt used to hold it on separately. Even though it came with no instructions, it only took me about a minute to figure out how it went together. A little Dremel usage was required to make it fit, but it didn't bother me, it only took a couple of seconds to file down around the breach area to get the Lapco Direct Feed to fit right. If your using the stock feed, you might not have an issue with it. After I put the barrel in, I noticed that the shroud looked a little crooked. After fine tuning the adjustment of the barrel using the tick mark I use to align it, the shroud looked fine. So I guess you could use this to verify that your barrel is on straight, since any off camber will make the shroud look wavy. The button in the middle of the barrel used to open the breach can also be used like a shotgun sight (single bead at the end of the barrel), however I'm going to drill a few holes and mount a Weaver base so I can try out a BSA red dot sight. I tried using it on the plastic shroud and the weight of the sight warped the plastic. The metal shroud is very sturdy, especially if you only grind off just enough metal to get it to fit really snug. I'm confident the shroud will hold up just fine with the sight on it.
Conclusion: This is a very sturdy shroud that will stand up to a lot of abuse. If you have problems getting the Flatline to line up, this shroud could help you out. The cost is going down (I bought mine for $40 shipped) so that won't really be an issue anymore. I'm giving it a 10 even though a little modification was required. A little Dremel work never hurt anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eyesbleedclear Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Original flatline shroud
Marker Setup: 98c
expension chamber
responce trigger
double trigger
stock
scope
cmi 21" qb barrel
flatline
titanium teflon powertube
Strengths: Looks beter than plastic
Weaknesses: No scope groves not secure attachment makes harder to fiels strip marker
Review: I got it and it is just a bent piece of metal that uses the rear sight to attach very hard to put on and harder to get off way to expencive for what it is and i don't even use a shroud with my flatline anymore also it came with no directions on how to atach it
Conclusion: Unless you need a shroud for your flatline and don't mind the lack of sights i guess it should last longer than the plastic one
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 20th, 2004 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

b_r_e_t_t_g Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
plastic flatline shroud
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline w/ metal shroud
16 inch CMI Tru-Flite barrel
GTA expansion chamber
DOP rear velocity adjuster
Starr fire bolt
Strengths: Metal construction
Weaknesses: Really shiny for woodland play
Hard to fit first time
Review: Nice upgrade for the flatline. My old flaline shroud (plastic) cracked so I decided to get this one. Metal shroud stays straight unlike plastic one where there was a bend in it. There are no grooves for a sight rail or red dot scope. Getting the barell to line up is easier, and the gun just seems more stable.
Conclusion: If you have the money or need a new shroud this is the product to buy. only flaw is the lack of grooves for sights or red dot scopes. this would be a 9.4 in my book.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98 c sniper 88 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
plastic shroud
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
expansion chamber
sks scope/ on custom rail
jet city stock
flatline with metal shroud
sling
pen spring mod
Strengths: Stiff.
Strait.
Looks cool if you care.
Weaknesses: Needs a little grinding.
Exposes barrel.
Does not have scope rail.
Review: When i got this i tried to put it on the gun but it didn't fit so i had to grind it. be care full not to over do it. I wanted a scope rail so i bought a weaver mount and a metal ( L ) shape bar. I taped the bar and mounted the mount. than drilled and riveted the bar on to the shroud and put a scope on.
Conclusion: it a good product it does the job. I only have 2 concerns the grinding which im ok with and it does not have scope rail, but you can put one on. also check out my picture i will put 12345 under it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

motopsycho650 Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, plastic Flatline shroud.
Marker Setup: 1 - '00 Model 98, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, Flatline Barrel, Metal Flateline Stroud, Hyperstar Front Bolt, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock.

2 - '02 98 Custom, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, 16" Tippmann Werks or 14" Boss Progressive Barrel, Super-Fly Front Bolt, Response Trigger, Double Trigger, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock.
Strengths: It's metal, which is not as flexible as the plastic. Looks cool.
Weaknesses: No sight rail. No built it sites of any kind. Hopper button is tricky.
Review: I bought the metal shroud because I always had issues getting the flatline barrel perfectly centered to the gun. Anyone that plays with the flatline knows, if the barrel was not installed straight, every ball shot spins off weird.

I thought the install was easy. The little button included to drop your hopper is not actually attached to the shroud requiring that you install the shroud with the gun upside down. Once it's in, and the shroud is bolted at the rear of the gun, you should be ok.

When installing the barrel it's self, it was much easier to keep the barrel lined up straight. Actually, since the shroud is so solid, you really can't install the barrel crooked.

I did not notice any other changes besides looks, and ease of installing the barrel straight.

I guess Tippmann has discontinued this shroud. Too bad, it worked for what I wanted.
Conclusion: If you don't use a site, or site rail. If you don't use the rifle style front grip of the plastic shroud. And finally, if you are sick of the flatline being installed crooked, try to find this shroud, it works great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media