paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Gloves / Proto Gloves / Proto Gloves / Proto Gloves

Proto Gloves Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Gloves

Paintball Gloves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Gloves
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
An absolute must for the game. The only way to play at your best is to know you're protected, and the 2004 Proto Glove has got your back. No-seam microfiber palm gives the best in protection from the elements and durability. The internal padded palm only adds to the long life span and your comfort level. Compression form molding not only makes these gloves some of the best looking, but it's also been known to get a bounce or two. Microinjection logos keep each one of your itchy trigger fingers tickling the trigger with the greatest of ease.
Product Availability 
The Proto Gloves are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Altitude - 6N Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gardening, hunting, and snowboarding gloves, Armor half-finger gloves
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse
Fully upgraded by Shocktech
(bolt, trigger, hammer, valve, regulator, backcap, feedneck, dropforward)
Dye sticky grips
Air America 68ci/4500psi
Revy 12V
JT harness

Zeus pistol
Tippman A5 (for the woods)

Other stuff, too much
Strengths: FIT
Looks
QUALITY
Functionality
Protection
Weaknesses: Not the best grip, but if your marker has decent grips it's ok
Review: Ok, so I got these shipped in, opened the box, and I was happily suprised. I had the impression they'd be thin and cheap. I tried them on and just felt like shooting someone (in the paintball way of course), they just feel good, not tight, not loose, just "right". They weren't hot, they had a nice feel to them, not sticky or anything.

The PADDING! Ok, so it's not layered on like Dye C4s, but instead it has rubber pads across the fingers small enough to not mess with flexibility, but big enough that paintballs can't fit between them and hurt you. CUZ THAT HURTS! If you get a finger shot good luck trying to walk your trigger or hold that marker. The back of the hand is well done with a nice breathable mesh layer and foam padding that works just dandy.

The grip on the front has been debated, it's a sorta synthetic leather, but what leather feels like on the inside, slightly drier and rougher. Alot like a tough suede. It has a lot of stitching across it for some extra grip and it all works well. Unless ur handle is polished steel without grips you're not dropping anything unless you have the muscles of an infant. In which case they don't make gloves that small.

The glove will flex around pretty good, better than alot, while keeping it's form-fitting shape. The velcro closure has come under some criticism, it doesn't LOOK like it fits right, but it's never popped open or come loose. Finally the material on the thumb came in handy for wiping splatter on ur lens, ur thumb will get wet from paint tho, cuz it's not waterproof there.
Conclusion: High quality, good price, a little hard to find, but worth it. If you don't want to mess with ur game, but you do want to protect your hands against damage. Buy them over the others, NEVER buy Angel gloves (WDP), they're pathetic. These are a happy medium allowing acual protection (Evil rallys offer none) without sacrificing flexibility and breathability (Dye C4s are thick and hot). Nothings perfect, but some things are better than the rest.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bounusball75 Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire grips gloves
dye gloves
Marker Setup: 2004 black imp
ndz stubby bolt
all- a 14 in.
strange ram and hammer assembly
red halo b
68/3000 nitro duck
Strengths: Comfy
padded
Weaknesses: Ummm??? hey are gloves
Review: These are pretty nice gloves. THe padding is really nice, I got these gloves and the first thing I did was gut the fingers of the index and middle finger. I shoot much slower if U don't do this don't ask me why. I like the gloves but I really love my gripz gloves. These are pretty decent, I don't think I got a bounce like with my empire gloves. Good overall
Conclusion: Good gloves
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gatorpv18 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SP ION, Freak Kit, Halo TSA, Evil Detonator Reg, Crossfire 68/45
Strengths: Good protection
Weaknesses: They bleed black all over your hands
Review: I like the gloves alot. Good grip, good protection, sharp appearance. Only problem is the bleed black each week. I've tried washing them several times with no luck. I live and play in Florida, where the humidity is very high. Therefore, my hands get sweaty. However none of my friends have this problem with their gloves (empire, dye c5, etc). I think they'd be great for someone playing up north in the fall.
Conclusion: Wouldn't recommend them for the deep south. its like a sauna, and it takes a ton of scrubbing to get the black off your hands.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mace12211 Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raven
Marker Setup: EVO (gold to black), EVLution II loader, 47 ci 3000 psi crossfire hpa tank
Strengths: Comfortable
Looks
Great protection
Weaknesses: No removable trigger fingers
Review: I really like my new Protos. They are comfortable. You can hardly notice when you take a hit to these. They look really cool. They are also rugged. The fingers are easy to move, so they don't get in the way too much for shooting. I really don't have much more to say about these gloves because they are just gloves. They are nice, but a little pricey.
Conclusion: I like them, you should too. Offers great protection. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speedster37 Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none first pair of gloves ive had
Marker Setup: VL Orion
45/45 samrt parts bottle with crossfire reg
gravity hopper (havin an egg ... about to buy a new gun thank god)
Strengths: -Comfortable
-Great protection
-Easy movement for easy firing
-Good grip
-Durable
Weaknesses: I dont really see any
Review: All in all these are great gloves theyre very comfy and well padded.... took a shot in the hand and barely felt it but along with those things they are flexible and i dont fell like they hold me back from shooting as fast as i can i was shooting my friends tippy with them on and i had no problems walking it
Conclusion: I would recommend these gloves to anyone they r great gloves made by a great company u really cant go wrong buying these
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

squee44 Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Really crappy fingerless gloves... dont remember their brand
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" PMI Razzor barrel
12volt revvy
Strengths: Lets your fingers move freely, breathes, causes bounces, cheap
Weaknesses: Bleeds
Review: These gloves are great! They do a great job protecting your hand! It's not thick to the point where you can't tell if you were hit of not, but they are not too skinny so it hurts like crazy when you get hit in the hand. I have had many bounces on these gloves and they hold up well when supermaning. I love these gloves and you should get a pair too! They do bleed... quite a bit... My hands generally were black/blood colors from the paint and color dye in the gloves, but thats just easy to wash off.
Conclusion: Really comfortable and strong. A definite buy if your low on money or just want to protect your hands!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Thursday, November 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye C4
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ACI Zero Gravity
Flatline
E-grip
Ricochet R5
JCS Duel Trigger
CenterFlag reg.
DOP Front Grip
DOP RVA
Strengths: Very comfortable
Good protection
Durability is great
Price is reasonable

Weaknesses: Trigger fingers don't have feel pads.
Review: These gloves are very nice. I always have been a fan of Proto gear and these gloves are doing the job for me. Maybe the best feature is the comfort level. You will hardly know that you're wearing them, and they don't impede your fingers from doing their job. The protection is excellent; the thick padding really helps keep your hands from hurting too much from a paintball hit. So far the durability is excellent. They hardly look used, and there is no fraying our tearing on any of the threads. The price isn't too bad considering the quality you receive. They also look nice, and they compliment the rest of my gear well. The main, well, weakness I guess is that the trigger fingers don't have any feel enhancement like the Dye C4. It's not that big of a deal though. Another thing I've noticed is that your hands get stained black from the inside of the glove. I don't know how it's happening, but it goes away quickly.
Conclusion: Definitely not perfect, but great nonetheless. I recommend Proto gloves.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick311 Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees half- finger gloves
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Timmy Silver/Black Sleeve
Function Trigger
Lucky 15 Barrel
Crossfire 68/45 LP
Empire Reloader B Diamond Clear
Eclipse on/off
Strengths: Looks cool, comfortable, nice padding
Weaknesses: Kind of hot, but thats what you get when you wear gloves in summer
Review: So I got these gloves today at my local shop, and all they had were XL's. I tried them on and they fit though, I thought I would have needed the large ones. I immediately put them on for the drive home to get a feel of them. Real comfortable, looks awesome and Im not worried about them falling apart because the are Proto. I did cut the top half of the trigger fingers off, and it is kind of early to see if they will fray, but as of yet there are no problems. After I got home I went out and shot my gun with them on and it feels real good. A lot better than those crappy 32 Degrees ones. They were too bulky and got in the way. I can tell they will keep my hands pretty safe. Not too much hurts more than getting shot on the hand on a cold winter day. Or even a hot summer day.
Conclusion: Bottom line, go buy em. Unless you have to have the fancy Dye ones.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NMballer Friday, July 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT's
Empire Grind
Marker Setup: 05 Angel Speed w/ G7 eyes, Halo B, 68/3000 Crossfire tank
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: None that i can think of
Review: Comfort: I'm only going off of what i've used here so i can't say how they compare to other gloves. These gloves are very comfortable. They are pretty much as comfortable as the Empire Grinds but without sacrificing any protection.
Protection: Of all the gloves that i've used these have the most protection. I have taken shots to the hands with these on and felt no pain whatsoever. Unlike the Grinds that don't have much protection. But the padding, etc., do not inhibite movement at all.
Quality: The quality of these gloves is amazing. Unlike my JT's they aren't falling apart after a few months of use. I've clipped off the first half of the fingers and they aren't unraveling or falling apart at all.
Conclusion: These are by far the best gloves i've used. well worth the price. Proto makes great gear/apparel. i definitly recommend them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ocfighter Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The really cheap jt gloves you can get in wal-mart
Marker Setup: blue icon-e with check it clamp feed, anti-chop bolt, some tight barrel that i dont know what company its from, and a 20 oz co2 bottle, and a check it trigger, o ya and an extreme rage electric hopper
Strengths: Good pading on fingers, easy to move fingers
Weaknesses: Nothin, just dont cut off the fingers, cause they start to wear out faster
Review: These are great gloves i can slide all i want and my hands dont get skinned up at all, i got shot in the fingers with these things, and they didnt even sting. i remember getting shot with out gloves and it felt like i sprained my finger. i havnt used anything beter yet, so if i were you i would go out and ask people to try on there gloves if you dont believe me that these are the best.
Conclusion: Get them they are the best, the paddings great , and there comfterble
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media