paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Pants / Proto Pants / Proto Pants / Proto Pants

Proto Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Pants
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
So you want a pant that can withstand the blast of a forty ton ballistic missle huh? Or maybe just a pant that will hold up to the rigors of a torturous tournament season? Well look no further. The 2004 Proto pant can last through this season and the next, and the next. With as many features and as much style as we have packed into this pant, you may wear it for the rest of your life.
Product Availability 
The Proto Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
xXblinkXegoXx Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye pants, JT pants.
Marker Setup: Gold 2k3 shocker, freak kit, aci bulldog 68 4500, halo b clear, HE bolt kit, dye sticky 4, dye tank cover.
Strengths: Very comfortable, EXTREMELY AJUSTABLE(+-about 8 sizes), padded in right places, looks, cheap.
Weaknesses: May want to get some knee pads, the dye slide on ones work very well.
Review: i bought these today, and ill tell you, these things are awesome for how much i got them for, 55 bux at my local proshop compared to the 68 buck dye hybrid pants, which are the same thing, but say dye on them. Very, very, very adjustable. if your still growing like me, these will last a very long time, they will grow with you because they adjust about 7-8 sizes, for that perfect fit. these pants are baggy which means hard to hit, because many of the balls will bounce off, and this is also a big + because they dont get tight when you kneel down, not even remotely. These are very ventalated, they have mesh on the inner thigh, and some on the outer, so you stay cool all day.
Conclusion: These pants are awesome, and coming from a name like dye, you can expect the full quality of their hybrid pants, but for a cheaper price, the only difference is the looks, which they both look very good. extremely durable, adjustable, and comfortable, and very funtional due to the many deep pockets available to carry tools, water, whatever you like. awesome product, dont be fooled, these ARE NOT knock offs, because they perform just as well as its parent product. These are the pants for you if you want cheap, just overall kick arse pants. Hope you make the right choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jwalk Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cargo Pants
Marker Setup: Imagine 04
Crossfire 68/3000
Strengths: Comfort, Tough, Keep you Cool, Stylish, Adjustible
Weaknesses: No Knee Padding........ummm................
Review: Wow, I got these for Christmas this year and they are abouluatly amazing! I tried them on and adjusted the size so that they were comfy.
The next weekend I went to the field to use them and I had absolutaly no problems what so ever they were fantastic! I got a good deal of breaks and they were very comfortable.
I then went again and this is when i had a problem. I went to slide into the tombstone and i bloodied my knees because there is no padding, and by the end of the day i couldnt even crawl in the snake they hurt so bad!!!
This is solved by getting some 04 proto pads which are about 20-35 dollars, or some Redz pad which are a little more expensive either way get some pads!!

Great Pants
Conclusion: Great Pants kept up with my standards and level of play, just need to get knee pads because they are lacking knee protection. Also there is some crotch protection!!! YEA
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

toomuchice Monday, January 17th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wdp Airtime
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05
68/ 4500 psi,
Evlution II w / Z Board
Proteus mask
Strengths: Looks nice, thats about it.
Weaknesses: You get very hot in the pants!!!!!
Uncomfortable
Review: I tried these pants on and used em for a day and wow! I got so hot in those pants,. they are the same material as snowboarding pants and have no way to vent hot air out of the pants. mobility was restricted in the pants as well. I do not recommend these pants to anyone.
Conclusion: These pants are uncomfortable, very hot inside, and made out of weak materials. I do not suggest these pants to anyone. i say just get good jeans or something, and get some good volleybol kneepads.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

zerobubba Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Soon to be Lasoya timmy
Strengths: Looks, durablility, roomy, lots of pockets
Weaknesses: none really
Review: These are my first pair of ballers pants and they are worth every penny. Lots of pockets to puts stuff in, and a convinent squeegie/barrel pocket that can save u in a heart beat. This things are very durable. I've taken spills, slides, and dives and hardly any wear on them.
Conclusion: For the money, these are a definite buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrigger666 Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
first paintball pants
Marker Setup: wgp 2k3 vf green
sp black 14" all american barrel
ans delrin bolt
ans rod
kapp delrin ball detent
halo b
ans back block
dye stickies 3
pure energy 3000 psi tank
planet eclipse dart lpr
Strengths: Confortable
Lots of pockets
Very protected
Looks good
Adjustable to fit waist and ankles
Weaknesses: Heard they are not good for sliding and you need knee pads
Review: I got these as an xmas gift and these are my first pair of paintball pants I have ever gotten. All I can say is these pants exceeded my expectations on what I thought they were goin to be like. I like how it is protected everywere ecspecially in the crouch region. There are lots of pockets so you can carry a lot of stuff. They are very confortable and are adjustable at the waists and ankles. These pants also look good with all the proto logos on them and designs. I dont know if this is true but I heard that the knee pads werent designed for sliding and stuff so you need to wear knee pads over them or the knee part will rip.
Conclusion: Overall these pants rock. Get them and you wont be dissapointed. I dont know about the whole knee pad thingy so ill give it a 10 anyways.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rebspaint326 Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye C4
Marker Setup: Red-Orange-Gold fade Orracle
E2
Crossfire 68/4500
Dye Cover
Q-Loader
Strengths: Slides great. Good pads. Very lightweight.
Weaknesses: None
Review: These pants are great and really put you at the top of your game. The two things I like the most about these pants are how well you can slide in them and the crotch pads work great. I honestly don't know anything bad I can say about it.
Conclusion: These pants really help your playing and look good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Irrelevant to pants and this review
Strengths: Fit, padding in crotch, looks, pockets, breaths well, adjustable.
Weaknesses: No knee padding, can tear if you slide on indoor carpet.
Review: I got these pants the other day and all I can say is that they fit nicely. They adjust very easily and very nicely.

Breakdown:

Looks: They look exactly like Dye(go figure they are made by them). Has PROTO down the sides of the legs.

Fit: Already said above they fit good and the fit is very adjustible.
There are ankle cuffs incase you want to pull them tighter around the bottom of your legs.

Padding: Has crotch adding. I can't thank them enough for putting this on there. However there is no knee padding, so you will want to invest into knee pads.

Vents: It breaths very well. I wore these to school and my legs were never hot. The vents are perfect, don't get cold and don't overheat.

Pockets: There are two BIG cargo pockets which are nice for carrying things or whatever onto the field. There is also two big side pockets like normal jeans. These pockets are very deep so you can again hold whatever items you may need. There is a last pocket if you will on the right leg for a squeegie or a straight shot.

Durability: They can and will tear if you slide on indoor carpetting. First it melts on the knees then later it just completely burns through. While this could be a downside, I didn't mind it much, but outdoors they last forever!

Conclusion: Great buy, cheaper than the 03 and 04 hybrids but are virtually the same. While some might want to buy knee pads. If you have knee pads on that are soft it takes longer for them to burn through. While the knees may not be as durable as I may want, that's just me being picky.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wasabi51989 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Cocker 04, stiffi 12 in. crossfire nitro 47 3000 revvy 12v. (yea, not so good...)
Strengths: Tough, durable, lots of pockets, confortable
Weaknesses: Squeegee pocket is a tad small. Pockets aren't secure enough
Review: I got these pants from a friend for $30 because they were used and he got some new ones. Although it was probably a ripoff for used pants, I was really impressed with the durability and comfort these pants provide.

Positive-
Comfortable
Durable
Loose when you need them to be
Tight when you need them to be
Adjustable waist and ankles
Enough pockets for everything you may carry with you
Cheap (last years model)

Negative-
Squeegee pocket is to short for a squeegee, to long for a front's barrel (12 inch)
Pockets aren't secure enough

I love these pants. The positives far outweigh the negatives, and definitely provide excellent protection for the price. So far I have only used them in woodsball (I'll be playing some speedball tomorrow with them though), but woodsball is more tough on pants anyways. I easily slid, sat, spun, ran, jogged, jumped, dived, sat on my side, butt, and knees, and the pants came out looking better than before. The weight for such pants was about average, but the squeegee pocket provides no use for me, (as mentioned before) and I lost twenty dollars out of one of the pockets. Besides that though, these pants are great.

Updated: Loved these pants, went speedballing on both Saturday and Thursday last week. When I was off the field it seemed they were really hot, but when I was playing, I didn't notice if it was too hot or not. The pants also took close shots with little or no bruise in the leg. Totally recommend them.
Conclusion: These are the pants for me, and if you don't mind having last year's model of pants, they're probably the ones for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 at 9:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Hybrid pants - no padding but built to last!
Empire Inverts (before Invert itself existed) - hated those pants; knee padding didn't even cover my knees when i knelt!
Marker Setup: ul'd DM5 w/ Critical trigger, Hybrid Hedlock, CP asa & EPEK flow plug.
CP 2-piece
Halo B
Crossy 68/45
Strengths: Simple design
Generous knee & crotch padding
Cargo pockets
Light
Weaknesses: Really "crispy"*
Could use more venting
Review: Bought these on sale years ago to replace my Dye Hybrids. The Dye pants were and are still in good shape but they have zero padding. The Protos have enough padding for my needs (crotch & knee - as a back player, i don't slide often).

However, i wasn't able to WEAR the Protos because the sizing is different than the Dye pants! The Dyes are large and fit up to 38 so i ordered large in Protos, thinking, as a branch of Dye, the sizing must be the same. Well, a large in Proto means about size 36. Bizarre. Anyway, about 2 yrs since, i've finally lost enough weight to fit into these things... and now they're a little loose. Nice.

Pants fit pretty well. They tighten similar to the Dye Hybrids, by adjusting velcro straps on the sides. Length is just right for me - don't even need to use the drawstring cords along the pant cuffs.

Padding around the knees is generous no matter where your knees are inside the pant leg. Same with the crotch padding - protect the boys no matter where they hang!

On the field, i've got plenty of maneuverability and they're pretty light pants. They are, however, not vented very well, so on some really hot days i can foresee these things coming off during lunch and the SECOND last game ends. But the trade-off is durability, and these pants feel durable. Did some scuffling around on mostly hard dirt at the local field and the pants still look new.

*Along the same token of durability, these pants are super "crisp." By that i mean they're somewhat stiff & make that shwoosh shwoosh sound when i walk. I imagine they'll soften up over time but it's both annoying and funny right now.
Conclusion: Good pants, i got these for a good price. But these are the 05 Protos so this review is somewhat pointless now.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Teams- Knee area more comfortable, but not as easy to run in.
Dye Hybrids- Exactly the same with the exception of a pad on the butt for your pack. I wish these proto's would have come with the pad, because it helped quite a bit.
Marker Setup: Black/Silver Virtue'd Alias
Halo B
68/45 PE

Strengths: Comfortable
Padded zipper area
cheap
durable
Weaknesses: No knee padding at all
Back of pants aren't padded
A little TOO baggy
Review: These pants are a pretty good buy if you can find some for cheap and don't mind wearing some older gear.

Padding: 3/10 There is no padding in the knees, only reinforced material. Its durable, but still doesn't save your knees from the hard ground. If you play indoors, I reccomend you wear knee pads. I play outdoors on usually-muddy fields, so they're perfect budget-pants for me. Luckily the zipper is padded, thats always a plus.

Price: 10/10 I bought a pair for $20. They're hard to find but if you can find some of these or Dye Hybrids at a store on clearance for this price, definately pick some up.

Style/Design: 7/10 They look fairly cool but they're just too baggy. I can understand wanting baggy pants for bounces, but these look kind of silly they're so poofy. Its extremely comfortable though. The design on the sides looks great, and the orange/reddish color is awesome. They're fairly durable pants, you shouldn't have a ripping problem.
Conclusion: If you're looking to find some older pants on clearance for cheap, look for these guys. Most shops/stores that still have them are asking under $30. Although I'd prefer '04 Dye Hybrids, these are about as good. If you're looking for the "Ultimate" pants to play hard tournament ball, these probably aren't the pants for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media