paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel

Dye Excel Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Excel Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Excel Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 252
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It's aluminum and comes in 12 " and 14". Colors: black, red, silver, and blue
Product Availability 
The Dye Excel Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bsherry05 Sunday, July 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop used by friend
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 Custom, DYE Excel barrel, 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi brand
Strengths: very accurate, very quiet, doesn't chop paint
Weaknesses: i couldn't find any
Review: I think the DYE Excel barrel is a great buy, especially if you want a good priced barrel. I have a couple friends who think their barrels are better, but i disagree. Especially better than the Teardrop. I haven't used it in the cold yet but im sure it will work perfect.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel, i would choose it over the teardrop any day
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 6th, 2003 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alpha20 Saturday, June 19th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
98 Custom Flatline
Marker Setup: FRONT GUN: Spyder E99 Avant- New Bolt, Scope, Bipod, 14" Dye Xcel, tactical flashlight.

REAR GUN: Tippmann 98 Custom- CAR-15 Stock, Laser Scope, Flatline Barrel System
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Big-Bore type paintballs, and obviously, NOT BRASS EAGLE.
Strengths: Looks good, extremely quiet, easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Sometimes hooks, scratches easily.
Review: This is a good starter barrel for the intermediate to advanced player, who likes having a quiet, reliable barrel. When I used this on my E99 Avant, it was a huge change from the stock barrel, which is useless. Where I play, however, is very woodsy and we play at longer ranges: I use a Tippmann 98 Custom with a stock, scope and flatline for long range, and carry the spyder on my back as a close range weapon. At extreme ranges, the barrel is not that accurate and tends to hook. I used mine effectively in CQB (Close Quarter Battle) where range was less than 80 feet. Over that range, I would usually pull out my flatline 98C to do the job. This barrel does nothing outstanding, except for the looks and the sound, but it doesn't do anything badly, either. It is the middle of the pack, which is what you should expect from a barrel like this for $50.
Conclusion: Again, this is a middle-ranged product, and it is excellent in areas less than 80 feet. You should plan, however, to get a better barrel for more extreme ranges. (You can tell I'm an offensive sniper, not really a trigger happy Rambo... lol) This is a good barrel for starters and intermediates and even advanced players like myself who need a good, cheap, reliable barrel for CQB.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

JoeyB Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, black drop forward, 32 degrees grip, dark blue paint job, lapco barrel adapter(spyder-model98), dye xcel barrel, double trigger with guard, and a 9 volt Viewloader hopper with Xboard.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Dusk
Strengths: - Not loud
- Nice appearance
- Seemed like it improved distance
-Accurate
Weaknesses: - None with the 75 rounds I shot, but ball breakage could still come.
Review: There is nothing much more to say. It is quieter than what I hear from my friends barrels, it gave me a feel of more distance, and when I was shooting outside, I never missed my target. I haven't had experience with more expensive barrels so I can't see what should be improved with this one. Maybe just be alittle quieter, but how quiet can a barrel get?
Conclusion: If you don't want to spend $95 on a boomstick, but still want one of the quietest, and most accurate barrels with a low price, get the Xcel. I got a used one from a friend for $20!!! I will give this barrel a 8.6 cause nothing is perfect.(Rounded to a 9)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

laxnhockey16 Saturday, March 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick, all american
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ response trigger, psycho ballistics drop forward, 14" dye excel, 12 volt revolution hopper w/ x-board, aci 6 stage expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Rps or Diablo
Strengths: -very quiet compared to other barrels i have used
-almost as accurate as the boomstick ( if u are aiming right u will hit the target)
-not very expensive ( got mine for $30 on ebay)
-lightweight
-looks cool
Weaknesses: -chips if u drop it or hit it on a rock or hard surface ( but so does every barrel)
-nothing else really
Conclusion: -great barrel...if u dont want to spend the big bucks to get a boomstick like me then just get the Excel...almost as accurate...its quieter...and an all around good barrel for ne level player
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperBeaner Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2-piece barrel, stock compact barrel, 32* Nite Stik barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact deluxe,
WGP chrome trigger frame,
Empire Reloader hopper,
Shocktech drop forward
32* on/off ASA
System X spiral expansion chamber
2 different barrels
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Premium, good paint/bore match, Diablo(all), yet I don't like it too much, it does fine
Strengths: Looks very sweet, good aim, blah blah blah
Weaknesses: not too many, 14" is a gas hog, should have gotten the 12" model instead
Review: It's a great barrel at a great price, not as expensive as Dye's boomsticks, but still quit accurate. I haven't broken paint in the barrel, though I have chopped 3 balls, but that's what the reloader is for now. The accuracy is decent from 40 feet and closer (I could tag the same point on a spool with 10 shots, with only a light deviation, due to the spyder kick. Accuracy is still good past 40 feet, except for windy days for obvious reasons (paint, not bullets, light as dime, yet not as expensive).
The price now is about the same as the CP-one piece, J&J ceramic, and some 32* barrels, good stuff with all, great in some.
Conclusion: Dye Excel, well trusted company, wouldn't steer you wrong and quite inexpensive. Buy for your blowbacks and even cockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

bigkahuna123 Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None So Far
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, W/ 14inch Dye Excel Barrel, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap Tournament Series Works Very nicely shoots very straight and far w/ barrel.
Zap Torks, Big Balls, Marbs, Zap Spank, JT really any paint works pretty frikin nicely with this barrel.
Strengths: This barrel makes the A5 a lot quiter than the stock barrel. *good for woods
Weaknesses: NONE AT ALL
Review: This barrel makes the A5 a lot quiter than the stock barrel. *good for woods play* Shoots extremly straight, and far, you dont even have to take the time to aim i was picking things off at about 150 feet away with hardly any aiming. I Just bought this barrel today, and tested it out just 20 minutes ago, i definitly cant wait to this friday to kick some a$$ my friend bought this barrel too. If you want a very accurate and pretty quite barrel buy this barrel, trust me you will like it. Its a great deal for the price!
Conclusion: WHAT ARE YOU STILL DOING READING THIS GO, YEA GO NOW, AND GET THE BARREL ALREADY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Ultralite, Freak Jr and Full kits, J&J ceramic barrels, 32 degrees whisper
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Autococker
- Too Many Upgrades To List
2004 Angel Speed
- Dye Ultralite 12 inch
- Green Halo B
- 68/3000 HPA Crossfire for the Cocker, and 68/45000 Crossfire LP for Angel
Spyder E-99 Avant (My last resort marker)
- Stock, I dont use this one at all anymore
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most Paints do fine with it, however I find that RPS premium paints, Marbs, Midnight and even Worr Paint will do just fine.
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Looks decent
Good Porting
Weaknesses: I dont like the flared out end
Review: I was looking for a new barrel for my autococker and I asked the local shop for any suggestions. After hearing how great boomsticks and whispers were, I felt like I wanted to give something else a try. I was told to give the Excel a shot, so I did. I think that of all the barrels I have tried/owned, this is one of the best. The reason why I can say that is because I stuck with this one for the autococker after putting the others through their paces. The first thing about this barrel is the price. Its dirt cheap because they run around 40 bucks but they perform like a 100 dollar one. They are very accurate on the field and they are very quiet in my experience, people have come to me after a game and told me that they could only here the back block moving. There are a ton of great barrels but you can't go wrong with this one, no way.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel for the price, I dont think you can find anything better at $40 than this, so give it a shot, you wont be sorry. 10/10 rating!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elementsk8r Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: e-99
20 oz co2
evo2
14 in dye xcel barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil or rps
Strengths: kinda accurate looks good. lots of porting. shoots far. i shot it with evil paint and all day it was shooting across the small fields on the big fields it was goin a lil past the 50. cheap price i got mine for 40 dollars
Weaknesses: the ports are hard to clean. but just take some water and that should do it.
Conclusion: good barrel for the money. prety accurate if you have the right paint just like all other barrels. i give it a 9 beacuse evil is really the only paint that works well in the barrel and were i go evil is 67 bux. if you use cheap no name paint then it probably isnt goin very far
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JayWalker98 Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees quiet riot
model98 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
12'' Dye Excel
32 degrees flame drop forward
Lots of home mods
20oz tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything thats not brass eagle, I use inferno.
Strengths: VERY accurate.
Pretty cheap
SEXY
Quiet
Its made by Dye, can it get any better?
Weaknesses: None that I have found
Review: Ok, first off, this barrel is VERY accurate. I just got it today, and went out back and shot about a hopper of paint through it. From about 35 yards away, I was getting 3-5 inch groups. Also, I know it costs around $50 regularly, but i got mine, brand new, off EBAY! for $20. Id have to say this was the best thing I have bought for $20 ever. Now, for looks. This barrel looks SO awesome on my model 98. I know looks dont really affect performance, but hey, you dont want some ugly beast hanging on the end of your gun. The porting in this barrel really helps with the amount of noise made. I went out back to shoot, and my mom who was right out front, didnt know I was shooting it. I believe this is a VERY nice barrel, and is definitely worth the money I payed for it. And finally, its made by Dye, the company who makes some of the best paintball equipment available.

I havent gotten to play any games with this barrel yet, but as soon as i do, i will add to this review.

EDIT: ok, went last weekend and the weekend before that and i cant tell you enough how great this barrel is. very little ball breakage and it was still extreemly accurate with the deformed field paint. its a little shiny in the woods but i dont play woods that much so i guess it dont matter. again, very quiet. if im having a shootout with someone in one end of the woods the people on the other team will just think their team mate is wasting paint (ie: few people heard me shooting). the barrel doesnt scrath easily at all and its very easy to clean. during the last time i played, im able to say that my gun was probably the most accurate one there thanks to my barrel. DYE RULES.
Conclusion: This barrel is definitely worth the price, and is available for a wide variety of paintball markers. Its Quiet, Accurate, Looks nice, and very good quality. I would say, if you are in the market for a new barrel, take a good look at this one. Its worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shimboodo Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II stock barrel-my goodness what a crappy barrel. I dont think it was even 8 inches long!

Spyder Rodeo stock barrel-pretty good for a stock barrel. 12 inches
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II Stock w/ normal 200 rd hopper

Spyder Rodeo w/ 14' Dye Excel Barrel w/ normal 200 rd hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint. I have only used about four kinds, and they all work well:
Blue Streak (wal-mart special)
Afterburner (wal-mart special)
Zap Sport Series
Zap Spank (very good! Mine has pink fill so it is demoralizing/
Strengths: Accuracy, quiet, looks kool on a rodeo
Weaknesses: takes up a bit more co2 than my other barrels
Review: This is a good barrel. It is alot more accurate than my other barrels and some that i've just tried out. It is also pretty damned quiet. and it looks good. a black barrel with a green rodeo make my gun look awsome. the only bad thing is that it takes up a bit more co2 than i would have liked. also, it is annoying to clean cause you gotta pull a squeegee through, clean it, blow on the holes to get the paint in the holes out, then repeat. but i guess you gotta do this with almost all barrels with alot of holes in it
Conclusion: get it if you have a tight budget and dont want to spend maor than $50 on a barrel that you heard is "the best". just get this one. and not a J&J. those arent as good and only a little bit cheaper
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 19th, 2004 at 9:41 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media