paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs BKO / Indian Creek Designs BKO / Indian Creek Designs BKO / Indian Creek Designs BKO

Indian Creek Designs BKO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs BKO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs BKO
[ View Photos (50) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 334
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BKO is a quality marking instrument specially designed to meet the needs of the professional style tournament player. Made from only the highest quality materials and parts, the BKO provides the user with a precision engineered marker.

Features:

True electropnuematic operation, 18 bps
Machined from solid aircraft-grade aluminium
Hard anodized to military specifications, even the internal parts
Uses single 9 volt battery
No-tool field stripping
Low-pressure operation (200 - 300 psi)
Secondary regulator with gauge for precise velocity control
Does NOT include bottomline or hose setup (must be purchased seperately)
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs BKO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
camokazicapt Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months96 of 114 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2K3 cocker
Marker Setup: 2003 ICD BKO red with 32* flame drop forward, 12vlt revy, and a 68ci pmi nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a very fast loader, a cp reg
Strengths: 2.2 pounds, 22 ball per sec board., accurate, CHEAP, consistant, stock derlin bolt.
Weaknesses: Stock inline reg
Review: I find that to give some one an actual idea of how well a gun performs, the gun needs to be compared to another preferably in its own class/price range. So i will be comparing the 2003 BKO to the 2003 WGP Autococker. Now, before i start understand that both guns are very good and made with great quality, but these guns have some points that the other is stronger in and vise versa. As for the accuracy of the BKO i must say it is absolutely great, defiantly in the area of the 2003 cocker , however since the cocker uses a closed bolt system it is slightly more accurate than the BKO. Rate of fire is one of the points that the BKO has ,not only cockers, but many other guns beat with a board capable 22 balls per second (however the selinod is capped at 17-18). another thing while on the subject of the trigger frame/pull is that with cockers a person has to worry about "short stroking" the gun(short stroking is easlily over come with some practice) ,this is not the case with the BKO since the BKO is fully electronic there are no worries about short stroking of any kind. The weights of these two guns are extremely light, but the 2003 BKO is lighter than the 2003 cocker. Finally the biggest difference in these two guns is how hard the price tag hits your wallet at current online prices 2003 WGP cockers are at $350.00 and the current price of a 2003 BKO online is at $260.00 a $90.00 price difference.
Conclusion: my final conclusion on this gun is that overall it is great definitely on the level of cockers and more.
the thing is though once you arrive at the level where you want a gun of this class and are considering getting a cocker or a BKO it comes down to what you are more comfortable with so i would recommend playing or testing each kind before i bought a gun........ personally i had my hopes set on a cocker ....until i played with one... i just didn't like it so i got a BKO and i love it ...... it really comes down to what you are more comfortable with. Over all the gun is near every thing a player could ask for at its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 7th, 2005 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
49 Comments - Add Comment

Hellbore Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months46 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black BKO, 2003 body with O-ring detent and diamond milling
PDS (Paint Detection System, 2-sided anti-chop eye)
Full Freak barrel system
Vapor valve
Vaporworks FMD
Palmer's Micro-Rock
Palmer's Stabilizer
Zenitram Z-Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed, but you'll buy them anyway because it is fun to upgrade :)
Strengths: Small, light, fast, consistent, reliably, quiet, you name it
Weaknesses: If you outshoot your hopper, you can chop balls.
Review: I had my doubts when I ordered my BKO. I was worried that at such a low price, they would have to cut corners to save money. Well, when it arrived and I shot it, my worries faded away. This marker shoots great, and it is now the lightest marker I own. It feels great in my hands and is a joy to play with! I finally have a marker I can just pull out and play with and know I will get high performance and reliability combined with simplicity and rugged design. Thank you ICD! My other markers are probably going to be sold now :)
Conclusion: Bottom line, this marker has everything you need in an electropneumatic marker. What is amazing is the price! For under 300 dollars you get performance that rivals that of the most expensive markers out there. This is the first paintgun I have seen on the market that is affordable enough to make sense for a recball and woods player who doesn't want to spend much money, yet high enough performance for a tourney player. This paintball gun covers all the bases! It's a do-it-all marker!

At this low price, you might worry about whether people will think it is cool. Let me tell you, you don't have to worry about that! I have some very rare and unusual custom paintball guns, and sometimes they attract attention. However, whenever I have my BKO with me, nobody cares about any of the other guns, they just want to see the BKO, test-fire it, hold it, touch it, taste it, hug it, etc... This just might be the first affordable paintball gun that is respected like an expensive gun!

Anyway, I've shot a lot of paintball guns, and none strike me as being significantly better than the BKO. The only guns I've liked better have been WAY more expensive, and the difference was not enough to justify the price difference. Honesly, all hype aside, once you get into high-performance electros, they all perform pretty close. So, I'm going to have to give this product a 10, because it's hard to imagine how you could get such performance for such a low price! Let's call it the Best Bargain in Paintball!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

wayfst Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99, Spyder TL plus, 2003 Autococker vert feed.
Marker Setup: 2003 Blue ICD BKO, All American barrel front, Freak Back, Cross Fire 68/4500 N2, Halo B Hopper, NW 5" drop forward w on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs compressed air and a fast hopper. I've Heard nothing but great things about all the vapor upgrades for this gun.
Strengths: Very fast, Light, Quiet Great quality, Awesome accuracy.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've used many guns in the past few years and nothing comes close to the BKO. It's light weight, it is almost silent, my hopper is louder than the gun. I just bought a 2003 vert feed Autococker and my son got the BKO. I used his gun one time in the back yard and could not believe how great the gun was. I sold my Autococker and bought one the next day. The BKO is extremely accurate, you can fire an unlimited string of paint and they almost all land on top of one another. I initially didn't look at the BKO because it was so much cheaper than the other markers in it's class but don't make the same mistake. This gun compares to any I have ever shot, angels, cockers impulse. It is absolutely amazing.
Conclusion: If your looking for a new paintball marker this is the one to get. If someone says something negative about this marker they either haven't used it or they got very unlucky and used one that was damaged. ICD also has great customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bko999 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years36 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about tested or played with every gun
Marker Setup: 2002 black Bushmaster BKO
Macdev 2004 Gladiator reg.
Zenitram 45 magnetic trigger frame
88 4500 Center Flag
Vapor Choas chip ---20+bps baby!
Dye sticky 3's
System x cradle
HALO B w/z code
St!ffi 14"
Shocktech04' bolt
AKALMP Tornado valve
AKALMP BKO mightey max volumizer
Dye mini gauges
Zenitram asa front block
Palmer Micro-rock lpr regulator
j&j Edge barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel---motorized hopper, you will chop like theres no tommarrow otherwise---
bko mighty max, high flowing valve
Strengths: Amazing speed
ACCURACY
durability---great for the hardcore woodsball plyr
quietness
Weaknesses: gun needs improvent to meet high standards
Review: Well I know I am posting a review on a 2002 bko in a 2004 bko forum, but the only reason I am doing this is simply because no one will read this in the 2002 bko old forum. Besides, the 02' and 04' bko are exactly the same, except for the stock reg, board/chip, and trigger frame. The internals of both are identical and work the same. I have also used a 04' bko ne wayz....

Gun--Well out of the box it comes with a 11 inch barrel and it is kinda crappy as far as accuracy goes (but you can expect that from almost all gun manufacturers). The entire gun alone weighs 2.2 pounds, so it is feather light. The stock bolt is delrin, very important under high R.O.F., a metal one will chew up and scar ur inside of the gun. You can quick strip the bolt with the pull pin, very cool. By doing this you can actually squggie the entire gun from the barrel tip and through the back of the gun. The new board/chip on the 04' is set to 18bps so u wont need a new chip, this thing already can rip. You can either fan the trigger or walk it (either way ur gunna send strings of paint at the opponent :-D ). The 02' was slow @ 10bps; thats why I got the choas chip. The milling on all stock bkos on any model is simple, unless u get it custom orderd/milled. You use the lpr for velocity adjustments and the Hpr reg for imput pressure and also to adjust the "volume" of air used to shoot the paintball. With the tornado valve and mighty max volumizer, i get over 2,500 out of my 88 4500 with just the right lpr / hpr adjustin!!

Performance---WOW! This gun may not look like much, but it is ACCURATE. With the right paint to barrel match, and a good barrel (dye, st!ffi, j&j, some 32 degress), you will be putting paintballs right on top of one another form up to 50-55yrds, no joking. The gun setup I have from the volumizer, valve, and hpr, get me +/-1over the crono. People I play with either want me on there team, or want to out number me if i am on the opposing team (striking FEAR ;-D )... The gun is super guiet, I send paintballs whizn' over peoples heads on purpose to mess with them, and then shoot them. Its helarious to watch them get panicky when they cant tell where its comin from in woodsball. Not to mention I play with some pretty expierenced guys with 1000+$$ guns. I have had many cases where I put 10,000+balls through my gun from a heavy day of woodsball playin, and when I check my gun @ the end of the day it is still +/-1over the crono, jst the way I left it....
After I installed my chipp its clear to me that you cant use the gun to its full potential w/o an egg2 or a HALO B, so plan on envesting into it............ I prefer speed ball, hyper ball, when u run around fast in a wharehouse w/bunkers, whatever the hell u wanna call it :-). This gun seems at home here. Its funny to see people wanna hold, fire, and look at my gun when a the guy witha 1000$ autocoker is standing right next to me. With the accuracy u can muster out of this gun, you can send paint where ever u want, at a foot, through a small hole, at a hopper, (preferably someones head ;-D) wherever.

BOTTOMLINE--- Get this gun, with the right upgrades, proper adjustments, and some one whoes not a retard working it, it can become awsome. I would take this gun (one thats got the proper uprades/adjustin) over an angel any day
Nice Job Indian Creek Designs

ANYone who owns a bushmaster needs to go to tantrumpaintball.com. They have replacment parts, upgrades, and a very knowledgeable staff. Need a solenoid cause' ur dumb and blew it out by using Co2? Dont call ICD, get it at tantrumpaintball!!!
Conclusion: ----GET IT----cheap @ 279 if u shop online, if u have questions/comments just post a comment
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
127 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Kitty Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Millenium, Electronic Spyders and such.
Marker Setup: Silver BKO
Blue Sticky 3's
Silver Dead On Pro Blade Drop Forward
68/4500 Warped Sportz
Blue and Silver 2 Piece Custom Products
Silver Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Eggy 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg maybe, new barrel, NO CO2!, drop forward and a fast hopper.
Strengths: -Stock Delrin bolt
-True electro design
-Lightweight
-Battery efficient
-Fast, with 3-point trigger adjustment
-Balanced well
-Excellent Price!
Weaknesses: Ummmmm...
Stickys don't fit right.
Annnnnnd...
barrel is 11 inches which is kind of weird
Review: Not much more to say than what I put in the Good and Bad. It's a good second or third gun, for someone whos trying to get a little more competitively in on the sport. Buy it if you fit this description. There is no other gun like this.
Conclusion: Excellent gun. Sorry but I really know nothing bad about this gun. It is reliable and performs well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
32 Comments - Add Comment

bonuram71 Monday, April 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter
Marker Setup: BKO
CP one piece 12"
AKA mighty max
MAC DEV red valve
BOB LONG torpedo reg
TANTRUM chaos chip
SHOCKTECH drop w/on-off asa
DYE stickies
PE 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, stock is OK for a while but you know.
High flowing reg if you have the money, if not stock is OK.
Stock, the BKO shoots very fast but it can really rip with the Tantrum chip installed!!
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, consistency, lot's of upgrades
Weaknesses: Some people have a hard time setting the regs (read and understand the manual)
Review: Probably the best 280.00 I'll ever spend. You get your moneys worth on this one!
Just make sure you get a fast loader and don't have blow back or you will be spending alot of time cleaning this baby out!! For the price I don't think anything out on the market can compare to this bad boy!! It's low pressure out of the box and this thing is quite compared to a lot of other markers.

Conclusion: I like my BKO, it feels good to shoot and I even like the play in the trigger. Very accurate and consistent even more consistent with the proper upgrades. Truly a poor mans angel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

07goober Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
no markers I've owned compare to the bko, but I've seen a stock impulse and it preforms similar to the bko but for $120 more.
Marker Setup: silver 2004 bko
dual high presure regs (read review, its explaned there)
Black magic hpr and palmers inline stabilizer
soon I'll have a freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel with adjustible bore size- simply more accurate than a fixed bore barrel when using different brands of paint.
Halo B, maybe a vapor valve and blind bolt
Strengths: FAST- 18BPS
Pretty consistent
wieghs 2.2 lbs
looks
Price- around $320
Weaknesses: Detent realy sucks with halo b
no dwell adjustment
Review: Let me explain the thing with the 2 high pressure regs. I use co2, which you all no sucks compared to nitro. Thing is I cant get nitro filled in my area, and co2 is cheaper, considering I already had the tank when I got my BKO. So, in order to avoid damage to the marker I got a $5 anti siphon tube for my tank. Then, to improve upon co2's terrible consistency I bought an inline palmers stabilizer and connected it to my bottom line. I keep the palmers set at about 500 psi, and use the black magic reg as a normal hpr. By doing this my consistency is pretty good, great when compared to regular co2 setups but still not quite as good a nitro, but close.
As for the gun, its SWEET! it is very fast, so you'll need either a z-board egg or halo b. the trigger is very adjustable (3 way plus 3 different pivot points) and the frame is really comfortable. The stock barrel is like any other, it works. I recommend a barrel kit so you can maintain the best paint to bore ratio ( and therefore the best accuracy) when using different brands of paint. Of the stuff I've used, PMI big ball seemed to work the best with the stock barrel. The best thing about the BKO is the price- $320 for a high quality electro is a great deal.
Weaknesses- The thing that bugs me the most is the ball detent: its not a ball detent. Its an oring detent, and there is only one of them. 2 oring detents would prevent force feed double feeds, but there's only 1, and my halo double feed all the time. I found a SOLUTION: go to ace hardware, buy some orings of different sizes, and use one of them instead of the stock oring.
The only other weakness I've found is that there is no dwell adjustment. In order to shoot around 295 fps, I have the hpr (the black magic, the palmers stays at 500 all the time) set at 250 and the lpr set around, say 95 psi? there is no guage for the lpr so its an estimate, but its supposed to run at 90 psi, and I have mine 1/4 turn further than were 90 should be. This leads to ball breakage do to the higher than normal pressure. This normally would be corrected by increasing the dwell time (and lowering the pressure), but you can't do this on the bko like you can other guns. My solution to this will be the OTB blind bolt when it comes out and eventually a vapor valve to lower the pressure. I'm not sure, but it may be possible to get a chaos board and adjust the dwell using it.
Conclusion: If your thinking about buying a BKO, stop. Just go out and buy one. It is deffinitly the best value for the money. Its a very reliable gun- won't let you down if you take care of it. I give it a 9 out of 10 because of the lack of dwell adjustment. the oring detent was an easy, 29 cent fix.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NKP82 Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Marker Setup: ICD Bushmaster 2002 BK0
> Freak Barrel System (SS Back, 12" Freak Front, 3 Inserts)
>14" J&J Performance Ceramic
> Dye Stickies (Two Pieces)
> MacDev Red Valve
> AKA Sidewinder Regulator
> Phat Performance Flame Drop
> Phat Performance ASA On/Off
> VL 12v Revolution w/ X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel System or All American/Teardrop barrel
Evolution II
Macro Line Kit
Drop Forward
ASA On/Off
HPA or N2 system
Strengths: Responsive, Light, Inexpensive, tourney grade
Weaknesses: Regulator is loose(easily tightened though) and very sensitive to dirt getting inside
Review: Very nice marker for an serious rec player who need to be on par with the high end markers but does not have the money to spend on high end markers. Very good entry level marker for a new tourney player (me), it has a high rof, very responsive trigger, and is a very tight gun except for its height. It takes some time to get to know the marker, but that is a given with most high end markers IMHO. I have out shot the VL Revolution 12v with X-Board on many occasions, I suggest a revy with a high feed rate. Also because it is a open bolt marker, it tends to blow paintballs back up into the hopper when the hopper is running low, this increases the probability of chopping greatly. That is easily fixed with a hopper that is either a force feed or a switch that is used to trigger the paddles. The trigger is incredibly responsive, putting it on the level with the other competition grade markers, you can get it to the point where you really don't pull the trigger, it is more of a tap. If you set the trigger to a certain sweet spot, the marker will fire either in burst or full auto, that is because the trigger mechanism is really sensitive.

The BK0 has two regs on it, one is to drop the operating pressure down to the level where the LPR can operate efficiently. The primary reg should be set to 250-275, it run the best in that pressure range. The LPR is what sets the velocity, it takes a while to get it right, but once you have it in the right spot you don't have to adjust it often. As with most electro pneumatics, it is designed to run on either HPA and/or N2 systems, not CO2, the site highly recommends that you don't run CO2 through the marker as you might damage the solenoid valve (i believe that warranty says they won't repair, and/or replace the valve if it was damaged by the use of CO2). If you do run CO2 through the BK0 you should have an anti-sihphon tube on the CO2 bottle, and a reg like the Palmer Stabilizer that can with stand CO2, don't, but I high suggest that you don't use CO2 on this gun. All in all, the BK0 is an excellent marker for the serious rec play and/or starting tourn play
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker to any body who wants a good entry level tourney gun or serious rec player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 12th, 2003 at 11:08 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Disturbedatda50 Saturday, March 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A tricked out 2k3 autococker, an i like my bko better =)
Marker Setup: 2k3 red BKO, 10in bommy, tko drop, vapor valve, vapor bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
A vapor bolt, to solve blowback, a vapor valve to lowwer pressure
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Easy to clean and use
Accurate
Weaknesses: has bad blowback stock, vapor bolt will fix
Review: I really like this, i would suggest this marker to anyone, a n00b or a turny player. This is fast, easy to maintain, easy to adjust, accurate, fast, and fast. I like this more than my cocker, its just as accurate (with the right paint to barrel match) and WAY faster
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, it is well worth the small price u pay.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vincib Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra sup'ed up. I can tell you the spyder was more reliable.
Marker Setup: 2k3 BKO, Sidewinder, Mitey Max, Vapor valve, vapor bolt, 2k3 Chaos board, Zenitram ASA, palmers Micro rock lpr, J&J Edge kit, CIP speedy d/f.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont reccomend any of them unless the stock ones don't work. After all I've put in it I would've rather just bought a AKA Viking already stock with good parts.
Strengths: The body is constructed tough. Has a good stock barrel. Simple Use. Semi Only.
Weaknesses: .see below
Review: From the factory had a cup seal leak. Had to install a vapor valve to stop the leak after several phone calls with ICD, telling me to hit it with a hammer (wtf), Then I approached the chopping problem, the delrin bolt was way to small for the bore of the hole in the body, so I had so much blowback that the pressure was busting balls way up into a HaloB. Fixed that with a Vapor bolt. Had horrible consistency problems the pressure would never stay the same,, same thing several conversation with ICD,, I bought a AKA Sidewinder reg, that problem was fixed,, then the selonoid starts leaking,, ICD says tighten the screws,, I did, still leaked, I ended up having to put some automotive gasket sealant to permanantly seal the selonoid to ram to make it stop leaking. The the lpr regulator starts overpressurising spuraticaly causing bleed off from the selonoid,, on the phone again with ICD,,again cleaning lubing doing all they said ,, still having the problem,, broke down and bought a Zenitram ASA with Palmer's Micro Rock regulator
I think I said it all above,,, buy a AKA Viking. Something bothers me when you spend this kind of money and the company you bought it from knows these issues are there and they're only response is for me to send it in. I would have has to send it in three or four times. At 25 bucks a time thats a hundred on shipping and lost time. I forgot to mention that the battery plug connection pulled apart, I had to solder a new one from radio shack on it cause the ones from the factory are thin , flimsy and overall crap.
Conclusion: I don't reccommend this product. I would find a better product.. I like AKA, they seem to have better Quality Control and use tighter tolerances on ther markers.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media