paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Scion Air / Evil Scion Air / Evil Scion Air

Evil Scion Air Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Scion Air

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Scion Air
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $360

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Evil Scion 5000 psi air system was designed to win. Using on the tanks regulator lighten up your gun and use your favorite gas-thru grip. Fewer parts means fewer problems and that means more games won.

Features:

Dove Tail System
Exceptionally strong and durable
Efficiency means longer fills, no more running out of air in a clutch
Operates at 100 - 550 psi
Bottle pressure and output pressure gauges
High and low pressure burst discs
Push button on and off
Product Availability 
The Evil Scion Air is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
eran361 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire-good set pressure
angel air-not a fast recharge rate
max flow good also but a little more price
aci bull dog 3 present, sucks
Marker Setup: Naughty Dogz Intimidator Black wit blue sleeve
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 45/45 low
Cp 2 piece barrel
Techna trigger sythe 2
Strengths: Recharge rate
5000psi
agustible output
cool lookin
Weaknesses: Price but this pretty cheap for a ajustible pressure
Heavy
leaking
Review: Evil Scion is an exelent product, it is in the cheaper range of ajustible outputs and it's proven one of the best. On the gear issue of paintball magizine they ran a series of tests on tanks and there recharge. Evil Scion had the best recharge of all the ajustible with 17ms and crossfire had the best of presents with 10ms. The Dye throttle had a recharge of 172ms. In my experience though it is super light and looks the tightest of any tank other than maybe the angel air tanks. Like any evil product it is almost entirely black with an evil logo on the tank and some nice milling on the regulator. Also it only comes in 5000psi which is the highest anyone will fill. Another good thing about this tank is there is only one option, cubic inch. So if you are looking on ebay you will not have to wieght a few months before you get the right auction. I know I had to with my evil pipe. It also will operate at pressure all the way down to 100psi. I had no breakin period problems like many other people say they had, maybe they got the first batch and there was a problem that they corrected with the second batch. My guages were perfect the entire time. I also like the on/off and it is not impossible to turn it on at 5000psi.

Edit Febuary 19th: I have had problems with the push pin leaking and there is so much locktite on the screws that I cant fix it. I dosnt leak that fast but I like to have a little fun in my back yard on weekdays so this is a problem for me. Also since I started playing front this tank is for to big for me and wieghs more than my marker does. I got a 45/45 cross fire low pressure now.
Conclusion: Overall it is a great product in its catagory and should seriosly be consitered if you have the money or have a black gun. PMI and Evil did a exelent job creating a tank that is good at recharge, wieght, looks, and affortabilty. I can not yet state its reliability becuase I have not owned it for that long. It gets a ten out of ten for being as close to perfect (nothing is) as possible, and for having been proved to be better than all other tank that are ajustible.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 7:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gadfly Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Maxflow, Dynaflow, Mac Dev Conquest
Marker Setup: Angel A4 Fly Black Dust
Smart Parts 2004 High Pressure Maxflow with 68/4500
Clear VL Evolution II with Z-board
Strengths: Cheap compare to other adjustable air systems. 5000 Psi.
Weaknesses: On/off is hard to push at 4000 PSI, cheaply copied manuals, bad quality, heavy
Review: I bought the Evil Scion 68/5000 system from Action Village two weeks ago. My first impression was the nice big box is came in, with very good plastic padding. Then I saw the cheap quality manual. It looked like some one just used a very cheap Xerox machine to copy from a copy. The pictures are so bad, you can barely make out anything.

After I had it filled, I started adjusting the output pressure. However, does not matter how high or low I adjust it, the gauge stayed at 450PSI. I brought it back to the store, and exchanged for another one. The other shrink wraped package also contained the cheap copied manual. However, after I filled it at the store, I was able to adjust the output pressure.

I took the tank to Challenge Park Extreme for the first test run. The output pressure was set to 350PSI, and I had 4000 PSI filled in the bottle. After boosted it to 4000PSI, I could not turn the air on. It was so tight, I had to use an adjustable wrench to push the pin. I noticed that once the pressure drop to around 3000PSI, the on/off can be adjusted by hand. But once it reach 4000PSI, you can forget it if you do not have a suitable tool.

After abouut 300 rounds, all of a sudden, my brand new Angel Fly was shooting every where. I looked at the output gauge on Scion, and it was all the way to the top. The pressure was set to 350PSI for output, and I have not changed it. I had to remove the tank for fear it would damage my marker.

After that, I brought the tank back to Action Village. They were nice enough to exchange it for something else. This time I picked a Smart Parts Maxflow 2004.
Conclusion: So far 0 out of 2 for my experience with Scion. They have some really bad quality control on this product. If yours work, great. If not, I would not recommend it.

On/off is VERY stiff once pressure go over 3500PSI. The rail is not the universal dove tail. Regulator and gauges are very poor quality.

I give this product a 3/10. Only because the nice package it came in, and nice big Evil logo on the tank.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Gary524 Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI, Crossfire, Mac Dev, 3A
Marker Setup: Angel Speed Silver Dust
Evil Scion 68/5000
14'' DYE Boomstick
Empire Reloader
Strengths: Very Consistent
Light for adjustable tank
Push button on/off
Evils customer service
Weaknesses: Push button on/off
Have to use Evil Rail.
See review for more.
Review: Okay, overall I think this is a pretty decent tank. I work at a pro shop that sells a ton of these and I have seen a few things wrong with them. The main one is the push button on/off. Some of these don't come assembled and lubed up correctly and if fill your tank and air up your gun, you can blow your o rings on the on off and then you gotta replace them. After seeing this happen to a couple of Scions We called Evil and they were awesome. We sent them the on/off assembly and they sent us out some new ones and extra o-rings. This problem can be prevented by lubing up the on/off button assembly before filling your tank. Takes about five minutes. The other thing I noticed was the gauges blow on these things pretty easy. Mine seem to be still working but a couple other guys that have them have had to replace both of theres after only a couple fills. The last bad thing which really isn't that bad is that your stuck with the rail it comes with. The rail I got with mine didn't seem to fit on to the Scion so I had to file down the rail in order for it to fit. Not really that big of a deal but for 350 bux I shouldn't have to scratch up my new stuff.

Now for the good stuff.

The consistency of this tank is unmatchable. I have used many air systems out there and none of them can touch the recharge rate of the Scion. Even with those crazy ass cheater modes that ramp your gun up to 30+ balls per second this tank showed no starving and absolutely no drop off. I run 300 psi out of mine and when I get rippin on my gun the needle stays right on the three hundred mark. The bottle also has a really nice finish to it to. Cant go wrong with something that says Evil on it right.

Conclusion: All in all I think these are pretty good tanks. I am happy with mine now that I have fixed the problems with it. The problems I have seen with them are only minor and if you lube up the on/off before use the tank should work pretty fine for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ef86 Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None!
Marker Setup: Speed Dust black, Evil scion, Freak barrel system, halo b
Strengths: Consistent, no drop off, reliable
Weaknesses: None
Review: My first day out with the scion was great. As soon as I got to the field I went to the crono to go adjust my tank and with a couple turns of the allen key I was ready to play. No leaks at all! No drop off I was shooting darts all day. Great tank better than anything ive tried and I've tried angel air's and max-flows everything Mac dev's.
Conclusion: BUY IT! You wont regret it. This is the best tank I have tried to date
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

pat123456 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have had a PMI Pure Energy screw in tank, some other screw in tank cant remember who made it, Air Gun Designs on gun system, and a Air America on gun system I would have to say the Evil Scion is the best setup I have ever owned and its reliable, easy to maintain, and easy to adjust the output pressure. Personally I think it is worth the price tag.
Marker Setup: Ive owned a Free Flow Autcocker, a Impulse, a Shocker, and a Angel LCD, I currently own a DYE DM4 that has all stock parts.
Strengths: Consistent, Light, Looks nice, Easy to maintain, and the on off pin is nice.
Weaknesses: None that I can think of
Review: The Evil Scion has no weaknesses that I can think of. It is reliable, light weight, looks good, and the on off pin is nice. It is easy to maintain and ajust the output pressure. On my tank the gauges are on opposite sides which doesnt really bother me. The Evil Scion air system is the best air system I have ever owned or used and it is extremly consistent. I didnt notice and ball drop off while playing with it.
Conclusion: The Evil Scion air system is lightweight, reliable, and the on off pin is nice. I highly recommend this tank over a Max-Flo just because I have friends that have had problems with their Max-Flo systems. This air system is worth the price tag. I hope this review has been helpful, if not please leave me feedback and or any questions you may have and I will try to answer them as best I can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jay5tt5 Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 70ci/4500 adj. Nitro Duck Tuff Skin 68ci/300 fixed.
Marker Setup: B2K with hella upgrades.
Strengths: low pressure, push button on/off, efficient, no drop-off, light weight.
Weaknesses: I would like the guages to be on the left side not the right. expensive.
Review: I'm running mine at 300psi (220 HPR 80 LPR) and had no drop off problems while using it on the field or while testing. I shoot anywhere from 15 to 25bps. There are no leaks. The push button design rocks! It is kinda hard to push in but that's to be expected so it doesn't turn off in the middle of play. The tank is very light and I like how the guages are spaced apart.
Conclusion: Buy this tank. It is very good looking and has very high performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ACDP Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 88 cu 3000 PSI tank, PMI 68 cu 4500 PSI tank
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Kit, 14 Inch Evil Pipe Kit, CP Stubby Reg, 45 ci Scion tank, Egg Loader
Strengths: Built-in Reg, Lightweight, Looks
Weaknesses: None that I can find
Review: *Looks*
Well, Ill start off saying that this tank looks great. It has the information, with the Evil Logo, and the word Evil spaced around it. Not to mention, its black. Most black tanks are steel, or some heavy metal. This tank looks smooth, nicely finished.

*Weight*
This has to be the lightest tank I have used. I'm using the smallest of them though, so its possible that the bigger tanks are heavier by a lot, but I doubt it. It will balance out your gun almost perfectly without a drop-forward.

*Regulator*
It comes built in with a regulator. This is a nice feature to have added. It can regulate pressures between 100 to 550 psi. Its very consistent, and is easily changed by taking an allen wrench and twisting within the front of the tank. With the inclusion of the reg. you can use a gas-thru grip, which is nice for people who like their custom grips.

*Consistency*
This tank is very air efficient. I have the smallest of the tank and I can get about 700 shots if I run it down to the wire. I usually fill at 500+ though. The reg. doesn't flux much, and your fps at the chrono will be stable.

Finally, the tank is 5000 PSI. It has an easy on/off pin to turn off the air from the reg. to the gun. It is very durable and lasts through a lot. It has two gauges, one for the reg. and one for the bottle pressure. It also has high and low pressure burst discs.
Conclusion: This is a great tank, and your not going to find better. The tank is light, consistent, has a built in reg. the on/off is easy, and it looks really nice. You should buy this tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CO2 tanks
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip
68/4500 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Strengths: Consistency
Reliability
Regulator
Weaknesses: Weight
Need to use Evil rail
Review: I got this tank already on my marker when I bought it, so I didnt have to worry about the installation features. I do know that you will most likely remove your markers regulator and put a Gas Thru grip, which costs money, so thats one point against it so far. The tank itself is quite heavy, I noticed a huge impact on my shocker. You also need to use the Evil rail, so it doesnt allow for many options with drops or other rails. The tank also does not come off of the rail, so you have to fill it by handing over your entire marker to get it filled. This is not a huge problem mind you, because most of the time you would have your marker with you anyways. The on/off can be somewhat difficult to press at high pressure, and it also needs to be oiled to work properly, so remember to maintain that along with your marker. The tank's regulator is incredibly easy to use, it has dials for the PSI as well as the air in your tank. The rail is very nice, and very comfortable. The fact that it has a regulator built in allows you to remove weight from the rest of your marker. The tank is incredibly consistent. Firing +/-18 BPS there is hardly any drop off. I have had no leaks from the tank whatsoever, and it has a firm design. I enjoy the fact that the tank is always attached to my marker, because I can never leave it behind or forget it, its one less thing to worry about. The regulator is top notch, I havent noticed any drop even at high rates of fire. The on/off works incredibly effectively. My friend has a tank with an on/off, and he hadnt used his marker for a couple weeks, and his tank had lost over 500 PSI when he picked it up again. I've left the Scion sitting for 3 weeks, my PSI hasn't dropped at all, its still the same as the day I finished firing it.

There are a fair amount of weaknesses noted with the Scion
However, the positives are not overly exerted in my review in an attempt to keep it unbiased. The tank works, and works well. The rail is nice, the regulator is flawless, dropoff doesnt exist, the on/off works effectively. The rail and tank are built to last, and I can't see anyone having any problem with them.

If you have the extra money to put at Gas Thru in, or if your marker doesnt have a regulator this tank is for you. If you need something lighter, or you want your markers regulator, rail, or drop, the Scion will not work for you look into a Crossfire.

I love my Scion, there is a lot of baggage that comes with it, but once its setup, it works and it works well and you will not be disappointed with it. Guarenteed.
Conclusion: The Scion is a great tank if your will to do some extra work to your marker to get everything running smoothly. The setup takes some time, but once complete its one of the better tanks out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WildCard38 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro Duck preset and adjustible tanks, Angel A.I.R., Pure Energy preset, Air America Armageddon, Smart Parts Max Flow.
Marker Setup: #1 - SFT Shocker, Evil Scion 68/5000, Empire Reloader B, TonTon Trigger Frame, Turbocharge bolt, CP regulator, NDZ detents, NDZ 15* ASA, NDZ HALO No-Rise feedneck, 16" All American Full Freak kit.

#2 Shocker SFT, Nitro Duck Adjustable 68/4500, Reloader B, Stinger Bolt, CP regulator, NDZ Detents, Check It clamping feedneck, 16" Freak
Strengths: Weight, size, push buton on/off
Weaknesses: Leaks, can't use aftermarket rails only.
Review: First off, I was impressed with the way this system functions. Mounted on my shocker, I get tight with the gun, but not too tight like I've had in the past. The regulator is easy to adjust along with turning on and off with just the simple push of a button. Even though Evil says you can use this as the only regulator in a setup, I choose to use it with a CP regulator also. I have the Scion set at 500psi and my CP set at 170psi which keeps me shooting in the high 260's. (I mainly play at an indoor field with a 275fps max)

Next, the problems I have with this tank. From the first time I played with it, I got a fill at the end of the day so I could still tweak my board setting later in the week for fine tuning. A 4500 fill on sunday night with the reg turned off, turned into a 1500 fill about 26 hours later. I asked a teammate that was using one also and he said his did the same thing. I went back to the shop that I bought it from and they said that was normal for a tank to slowly loose pressure, that it was a "safety precaution" with the air system. I asked another person that has a Scion and they said they have no problems like this with theirs. Also, over time I noticed that the adjusting cap on the front of the regulator where the adjusting screw is in has rusted inside the threads. So if you end up getting one of these, I recommend putting a thin layer of slick honey or some other lube to keep it from rusting. Finally, you can't use an aftermarket rail with this tank. I have yet to find one that fits the dove tail milled into this regulator. At least Evil gives you a rail that fits this tank. Even though it's basic and far from great, a little blue lock-tight goes a long way with this rail. All 3 screws (2 into the grip frame and one in the front locking the reg on the rail) should have some lock-tight placed on it. Remember to use BLUE and not RED or you will have a heck of a time trying to remove it later.
Conclusion: They say that nothing is perfect and this holds true with the Scion. I've learned to take the good with the bad, and the bad doesn't outweigh the good. The fact that the adjustment screw area is rusting out and the tank doesn't hold a fill doesn't over shadow the fact that this is a small, lightweight setup that is easy to use. Going by the checks and balances, I rate this system as a 7 because it's problems are strong enough not to rate it an 8, 9, or 10 but they are not strong enough to rate this system lower being that it is slightly above average.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cheech658 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bulldog-Good tank but has a few problems!
Marker Setup: Angel Speed,68 3000 Bulldog nitro tank,12" Dye Boomstick,3Sum Volumizers,Angel Soft Face Bolt,Twist-Lock Feedneck, Revolution 2 EGG.
Spyder Fenix,68 3000 Bulldof nitro tank, 14" Sanchez Machine barrel,12 Volt Revolution hopper,Shocktech bolt.
Strengths: Made well.Nice packaging.Great looks.Lightweight.
Weaknesses: Nothing really.Great tank.Need a cover.
Review: I used this tank on my angel speed and had no problems.There was no indication of shootdown at all during play.The tank is a good buy, has great performance, and looks great.Instructions are very helpful.The ones I got were not copied and were in color, unlike some other peopke.Nice packaging.I like this tank much better than my bulldog.The only problem is that if you dont use a tank cover it can chip.
Conclusion: If you want an adjustable, you should get the scion!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media