paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Tetra / JT Tetra / JT Tetra / JT Tetra

JT Tetra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Tetra

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Tetra
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newest marker offerings from JT™ are here for 2004! Our entry-level Tetra™ marker is designed to bring all the best features together for novice players to put into play. Information Center with Light-Emitting Diode (LED) Display Screen, Delrin™ Bolt with Quick-strip Pin, TriTouch™ (three-way) Adjustable Trigger, ColdFuzion™ Conversion Chamber (converts liquid CO2 to usable gas), the one and only Gorilla Grip™ Self-sizing Vertical Feed Port, High-Voltage (9.6V) Nickel Metal Hydride (rechargeable battery), Custom Aluminum Grip Frame. Giving you the tools you need and the quality you expect.
Product Availability 
The JT Tetra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
deathshead69 Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP autococker & spyder imagine
Both of these guns are completely different to the Tetra, the autococker is a much quieter marker and uses lower pressure so you can use more fragile balls in it, the spyder is a close match but I did'nt like the shape or pull of the trigger even after setting it up.
Marker Setup: JT Tetra with an armason stealth 16" barrel, planet eclipse drop forward and on/off valve with micro pipe and a pure air system, with an evolution II hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first to go was the standard barrel it was too short to have the range or accuracy,
got to have air it's more stable over the chrono than CO2 it also last's alot longer too.
the on/of was to stop the pressure held in the gun striping the threads on the drop forward!! as you try to remove the air bottle.
Strengths: consistent and efficient.
Accurate**
noise*
Quick strip.
Gorilla grip
Weaknesses: It can chop the occasional ball ( but not a big problem)***
not much else really.
Review: ** Really accurate after the armason barrel was fitted this also gave it the extra range!!
* I love the noise of this gun as I love to intimidate the opposition especially in a three man three team tourney!!
*** yes it can chop the occasional ball but the gun always fired through the breaks without a problem regaining it's accuracy within 3 balls max!
Only thing left to say is that on it's third outing we entered a national three man tourney and our team placed 3rd.
The marker performed without a problem all day with only a 5min clean up and a 30min lunch break in which to strip it down and clean it. I really enjoyed using this marker. All you need to do as with any marker strip it and clean it after every outing and it'll run like a dream all day long, Just remember guys you can buy the most expensive gun in the world but it won't win you any trophies if you can't shoot straight yourself!!!
(No offense intended).
Conclusion: For the money (if you shop around) you can't go far wrong with this marker, yes there are faster or more accurate markers out there but as an over all package it really is a good marker. It did'nt let me down and this reflects in it rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chrisfoshizzle Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
mongoose rencarnation, spyders, silver bullets
Marker Setup: tippman A5 w/ response and flat line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Riochet Apache electronic hopper, progressive barrel(has spyder threads)
Strengths: The speed of the gun and compactness.(Easy to move around in tight areas)
Weaknesses: A bit loud without elecric hopper chops while shooting fast. Also its only semi.
Review: This gun works beutifally. My father owns one and really enjoys it. With his set up it can easily keep up with the more expensive markers.(setup is recomended upgrades)It shoots astonishingly fast for a two hundred dollar gun. The few times ive used it i felt really mobile and it didnt get in the way at all. Another thing i forgot to mention in the weaknesses is that the stock barrel SUCKS. Curves as muck as rentals.
Conclusion: Overall i think this gun is great and would recomend it to anyone looking for a tournament entry level marker. I would give it a ten if the barrel didnt suck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtparker05 Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant and Pmi E-Force and the E-99 is the most similiar gun i haved used next to the Tetra
Marker Setup: JT Tetra
14" Smartparts Teardrop
12v Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Havent got any yet.
Strengths: After you get a better barrel on it, it is accurate.
Weaknesses: You chop a ball once if that every hopper.
Review: This is a good gun to start with and is accurate after you buy a new barrel. I have nothing bad to say about it. I really like the trigger pull, because you can adjust it. But this gun to me is an overall good gun. You never have to take the hopper off because you the peice you put the hopper on has a self seziing rubber that locks it in place and all you have to do is unscrew the peice and nerver take your hopper off again.
Conclusion: It is an overall good gun and i would recommend it if you are not looking to spend alot of money and want to get a good gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psandrakelly Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt 6.0
spyder x tra, rodeo, and e-99 avant
silver bullet
tippman 98 custom
vl orion
Marker Setup: jt 6.0
progressive
2kx loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
smart parts tear drop
Strengths: Faster than most autos, factory delrin bolt, easy field stripping.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: This is my sons marker and he loves it. with the tear drop upgrade, this thing rocks. super fast and extremely accurate. works great for all types of play. the marker is very durable and reliable. had one problem and it was user error. it does like to eat up the co2 but its worth it for what you get.
Conclusion: Buy this marker, its worth every penny. Worr has taken over JT for these models and you can tell. craftmanship is superior to most other markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oddjob1203 Friday, February 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Genesis
Marker Setup: VL Genesis, 200rnd hopper, stock barrel, 12 oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
If it doesn't come with get an electronic loader
Strengths: Accurate
Silent
Good co2 consumption
cool
Weaknesses: Sometimes i accedentally discharge on the field
Review: Although the barrel is short it is so accurate. When i shoot on accident its because i'm not use to electronic guns, but it fires really nice and easy. The one thing i wish this gun had was more firing capabilities. There is only a semi auto option, if there was at least a burst it would be a lot better.
Conclusion: A great entry level electronic gun that doesn't need major upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

vicious666 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
exccellarator 3.5 and 4.0, JT protium, spyder e-99, spyder fenix and the dragun t.e.s. (alot better)
Marker Setup: procarbine, 14" bigshot, houge grips, polished internals, air tipps hammer, silenced and polished back bolt, extensive trigger work, madd man springs, custom dragunov style stock, vertical adaptor and air tipps RVA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
After market barrel look for a quiet and realatively short barrel 8" to 12" halo or a revvy mabe a new board (dident like the choice whooops thers only one choice, SEMI) so yeah if that bothers you get a new board.
Strengths: Light and very adjustable trigger pull, vertical feed grip, good style, rate of fire, accurate.
Weaknesses: Its internals frequently, loud, stock barrel is bad, the surface is not milled.
Review: its a good gun if ur starting out but ud be better off getting bigger bro protium hes alot stronger. Also the protium dosent seem to have that jamming prob like little bro tetra. and the protium has multi mode board. but that comes with some xtra cost. Also the tetra is a bit co2 hungry but what electric isnt? shoot pretty good its consitancy is reliable because of the expantion chamber that comes with it. scince the bolt is delrin and the hammer is pretty light for standard its kick is more of a jitter but it does have a nasty habbit of throwing un spent air into the hopper causeing balls to not fully load causeing chops. a halo fixed that and we drilled a air vent in the side of our elbow to remedy this.
Conclusion: The excellarator series guns are much cheaper, less sexy..... but cheaper and have the same fireing characteristics
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sweetlax15 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS1
Marker Setup: Viewloader Eye Force
Crossfire 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel- this one is very short and when shooting fast, the paintballs curve badly
Strengths: Price
Shoots fast
Consistent
Gorilla Grip


Weaknesses: Curving
Can Chop
Review: The JT Tetra is a great gun. It is easy to shoot, and is pretty light. The 2 problems with this gun, is the stock barrel which curves BADLY. The other problem is that it can chop the paintball. It is not a big problem. In a match i might chop one. I recommend the origin Basic training paintball. They have a thick shell and will never chop. I got a new barrel on my gun and now it is amazing. It shoots extremely accurate now. I was playing a round of speedball and I got all of them out, EASY
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 at 7:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetippman123 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
BT double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure
Electric hopper
Strengths: Sweet looks
Good low end electric
Pretty quiet
Consistent shots
Weaknesses: Range isnt far
Kinda heavy
Semi auto
Review: Yesterday me and my friends went out to play and I used my buddy's Tetra for a couple of rounds. It shot fairly straight and consistent, but is didn't shoot very far. He had a longer barrel and a VL revolution (hopper worked ok), but it didnt really have the distance I like (remember I'm used to a flatline that shoots pretty far). I liked the speed of walking it, but when I'm running up it would be nice to have full auto to take my mind off of walking the trigger and let me focus on finding cover and dodging balls. It wasn't too loud, and it didn't give away my position as I flanked the other team. It is also very sexy! =-)
Conclusion: This is a good choice for a beginner, but isn't really a huge upgrade marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pro Rookie Monday, November 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun
Marker Setup: 03 Shocker w/ Evolve Bolt, Max-Flo, Halo.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Nitro.
Egg hopper.
Strengths: Unexpectedly fast.
Nice looking.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: The trigger is a little akward.
Review: I took this out to the field recently as a backup marker. A guy had his gun go down and I decided to let him borrow the Tetra for the afternoon. I had messed around with it some at home listening to the solenoid click. We put air to it and fired it. It shot a lot faster than anybody expected. It's no DM5 or Shocker, of course, but for the price I paid for it, WOW!. Didn't get to mess with it much more than that. The breaks between games ran a little long and I had to split.
Conclusion: These are a lot better than they seem. If you are looking for a nice priced starter or backup electro, then grab one of these. It's a Spyder clone, so it is easy to maintain as well. I got mine from Academy Sports & Outdoors for $100 on clearance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyline250 Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Rodeo with micro hose line and dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric Hopper
Strengths: Fast
Cool design
Quality built
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: This is a very fast gun for the price. This gun is very well built; it is very durable. The trigger on this gun is amazing. Also this gun comes very equiped for the price. The design of this gun is very cool looking. You might think about buying a new barrel because you have a lot of barrel chops.
Conclusion: Buy a new barrel with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2005 at 2:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media