paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Quadra / JT Quadra / JT Quadra / JT Quadra

JT Quadra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Quadra

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Quadra
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 6.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newest marker offerings from JT™ are here for 2004! Our top of the line begins with the Quadra™ marker. This fully programmable electronic marker has it all...an information center with High-Definition, Organic Light-Emitting Diode (OLED) Display Screen, Omni-Pressure™ (300-800 P.S.I.) Operating system (CO2/N2), Quadra-Vision™ (Count 'em, FOUR) Electronic Monitoring System coupled with our very own Delrin™ Anti-Chop Bolt. Dual, Adjustable Ball Stops, TriTouch™ (three-way) Adjustable Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, the one and only Gorilla Grip™ Self-Sizing Vertical Feed Port, PowerTransfer™ Bottom-Line, High-Voltage (9.6V) Nickel Metal Hydride (rechargeable battery), Fully-Adjustable Foregrip Regulator and Custom Aluminum Grip Frame and Valve-Spring with Dwell Adjustment making this the "Bling-Bling Marker Thing" for 2004. Exclusively designed by our JT™ Team for amateurs to tournament players. To be the best you have to BEAT the best!
Product Availability 
The JT Quadra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
WoWurPro Tuesday, December 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98, A-5
Marker Setup: quadra with lucky 15 barrel
evo2 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
all u need is an evo2 or halo and a nice barrel
Strengths: Look below
Weaknesses: Look below
Review: ok so please if u have only tested this gun and never actually played with this gun for more than 2 games judge it so fast. Once u get a new barrel for it, its awesome u cannot believe how many people at my local feild ask me who im sponsored by its crazy. ( sometimes i get tired of them asking what kind of gun it is) i swear to u this gun is awesome and dosnt break easily if takin care of. This is definately a good gun for someone who has experience but dosnt have the $ to go out and buy a $800 or $1000 gun. it will only cost u $500 to get this gun on steroids.

this gun is awesome just try it for more than a couple games and believe me you will like it
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun for a mid experienced player who dose not have all the $$$ to buy a $800-1000 gun all u need is an awesome barrel for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

codekevin0403 Saturday, March 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 2005 Freestyle Pro
Halo B w/ rip drive
max-flo w/ 68 ci 4500 tank
Predator Board w/ 2005 settings
Evil Pipe kit

03 Shocker
Nerve Board
Check-it low rise
Max-flo w/ 68ci 4500 tank
Halo B w/ rip drive
Full Freak Set
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you really need something get a new barrel
Strengths: I guess you can brag about 4 eyes...
Weaknesses: Looks
Reliability
Overpriced
One of the worst stock barrels i've ever seen
Review: Ok, i have nothing against JT and there products, but i have to tell you this thing really stinks. I shot a target at our local paintball field, no wind-stock barrel, and at 50 feet away, shooting 10 balls, the spread was 16 inches!!! That might not be extremely bad, but compared to the other guys i was messing around with, it stunk! One of them was running a 98 custom with a 14 inch xcel barrel and co2, and he got better than me when i was using a 400 dollar gun and nitro. Which brings me to the other point of it being overpriced. maybe 150 more dollars and you'd have a sweet 2004 freestyle stock, which is one of the best guns in my opinion. Or even some guns that cost less, like the wrath or ion or even the tes are better. (yes i know the tes doesn't have eyes) I mean 400 dollars for an unproven paintball gun just seems way out there. And the reliability sucks. I played for a game with this thing, and the next game i played, the first shot, something broke. The problem was, it wasn't my gun and i couldn't find what was screwed up on it, so i played the whole day until it seemed like the gun completely feel apart.
Conclusion: Don't buy it cuz it's not reliable, has horrible accuracy stock, and is overpriced. If you have a spare 400 dollars lying around, have a nice paintball gun already, and just want something to fill a space, buy this, so they don't have to see it shoot and you can just tell them about the four eyes. I give it a 2 just because it HAS four eyes and i guess that's cool.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

PB_Matty Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Spyders, E-spyders and Clones ~ Generally slower, less stylish, no eyes stock
Mech Cockers ~ Lots slower, slightly less kick, no eyes stock
ION ~ Less kick, same speed, feels cheaper, eyes not as good (Stock)
Ebladed Cocker ~ More or less the sam speed, little bit less kick, eyes not as good
CYP Nemesis Timmy Clone ~ Faster, less kick
My Sweet 05'd Species ~ Faster, Much less kick thanks to Eigenram, lighter and lower profile
Marker Setup: 05'd Species Timmy
Assassins Frame, Tadao m5, Evil Detonator, Trinity Block, Alias LPR, RMR Killstick, RMR Lockdown, FBM Delrin Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Will update, but safe to say:
Fast Loader
Barrel
HPA ~ But not as much of a necessity as with other guns
Reg
Strengths: Looks
Comfort
Speed
Chop-Free
Trigger
Weaknesses: $400 price tag is ridiculous
Kick
Review: First off, I have just recently acquired this marker and will be updating this review as I get chances to use it more. This is more or less my initial impression plus some thoughts that I have aquired from using a Protium.

Ok so I have had nothing but good experience with using my brother's Protium on several occasions, so I have been a little incredulous at the horrible reviews and just general distaste that the forums have shown for Quadra. I happened across a deal on Ebay and picked this one up as an open box return with less than 200 shots on the counter and all of it's componenets and accesories in as new condition for $113 + shipping.

Opened up the box and everything looks good, whether or not you like the styling it is still one of the nicest milled blowbacks ever. I was surprised that the grip frame wasn't more closely color matched to the rest body of the gun, and think that if you are making a "highish-end" blowback you need to pay attention to such things.

The frame itself is much nicer than any other e-blowback I have shot, it is nice to not have the typical Spyder box frame or the plastic PMI ones. I do wish the trigger frame were more squarish as the bottom sort of comes to a point and can be detrimental to fast fingers. This gun came out kind of before the Ramping explosion so it does not have any modes besides Semi. In hindsight you could say that it should have it, but it wasn't in too many peoples heads at the time of production. The 3 place switch is nice as it allows you to change between eye on/ gun on, eye off/gun on, and gun off.

The trigger is reminiscent of a Timmy, 3 adjustment screws that serve the same purpose as do the ones on a timmy. Pull is short and lighter than a stock E-spyder by far. The switch could be a tad lighter, but you should certainly be able to walk it with ease. I'd guess it to be about 80 grams, with a 25 you'd probably get kicked out a lot for excessive bounce. My advice (what i've done on both this and the Protium): take out the spring and adjust the trigger for as little forward and backwards movement as possible. If you need more help than that to shoot fast you have problems.

The Omni pressure system is a nice touch and should help with fine-tuning in my quest to make this a LP/low-kick blowback.

Even if your eyes crap out, there is no way you should be chopping paint with this gun. It has a very lightweight JAM style bolt that will alow you to stick your finger down the chamber and fire. You'd have to be using the most brittle paint ever to chop a ball. This is kind of a bit redundant, but it seems like JT was trying to idiot proof the gun so that people didn't totally soak the eyes and make a mess of things.

*sigh* why oh why do we have a stock spyder piece of LEAD striker in this thing???

Can't make much comment on the REG...probably good for higher pressure or co2 operation. It'll be replaced with a Torpedo shortly.

Barrel doesn't look bad...would have rather 3 backs than 3 fronts, but I'll admit that this gun was probably mostly marketed on the basis of looks rather than performance.




Airing it up....with co2 initially....Hmmm
No leaks, cycles fine with eyes off, doesn't cycle with eyes on (that's a good sign). Take outside with a bag of paint. 1 barrel break, no chops, shot to shot accuracy is pretty darn good at lower rates of fire. I can definitely see that kick would be a factor if you were trying to hold down a lane as a back player. Speed is great...I am pretty darn sure that this thing will hit a 15 bps cap and then some.

So far it seems like it should be a good back up gun to a nice electro. As far a accuracy, a good reg and barrel should take care of any issues. Shouldn't be any less reliable than any other E-spyder or clone. As stated even if the eyes crapped out you still have pretty good anti-chop. I will work to see what I can do abou the kick.
Conclusion: Certainly JT did not address blowbacks short comings enough with this gun to warrant a $400 price tag. That being said this (upon initial impression) is probably one of (if not) the nicest blowbacks available, and as such if you can get it at a comparable price to other top of the line blowbacks (under $200) you have a reasonably good deal.

At my price I would give it a 10, at $400 a 7, but for a fair market value price of somewhere under 200 I'll give is a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

monkeywitagunn Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp outkast, 98 custom, spyder compact, others
Marker Setup: Wgp autococker nightkast....a worrblade trigger, halo b hopper,dye boomstick barrell, crossfire n2
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVLution 2
Strengths: 4 Eyes, reliable, accurate, low maintenance
Weaknesses: None that i came across yet
Review: Ive had the gun for about 2 months now and used it alot. I would say its really reliable. the retail price is around $450 but i bought it at actionvillage.com for $169.....the gun looks cool and shoots hard and accurate....not one ball got chopped. i bought an egg to replace my halo b....i had to sand the feedneck a little to get it too fit but other than then that its a good setup....i really recommend this gun...if you are going to buy this gun, buy it at ACTIONVILLAGE.COM..........all the other websites are selling them from $300-$400
Conclusion: This gun is great for people who have no patience for high-end electronic markers liek me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

aquardiente Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have an Ion, LCD Angel, System X Autococker, Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: I bought this gun for my dad so it was stock.
Evo Hopper
Java 88 4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i really dont know because i gave it back 3 days after i got the gun.
Strengths: Nothing
Everything on the Marker was horrible
Weaknesses: Price expensive
eyes suck
Barrel
Rer
hard to clean
Review: This gun is by far the worst gun i have ever shot. Even worst then my brother's spyder victor. The body was awkward i did not like it. I shot this gun maybe 30 times in my back yard with eyes on shooting midnite paint that was 3 days old and it chopped maybe 10 balls. Plus after it chopped the 1st one the eyes became dirty so it just kept on chopping.
Conclusion: This marker is worst than any spyder i have ever shot even with the eyes. It still chops and the eyes are hard to clean. Dont spend any money on this gun. All JT products are horrible. I recommend gettting an ion, they rip and they are not that expensive. I am going to give it a 1 out of 10 because they gun was just horrible. Then i tried to see if i could fix it, so i called JT and their customer service was abismal. So i gave the piece of Junk back.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

rrpntballer Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose Reincarnation 2
useless piranha(starter)
JT Protium
Marker Setup: 14 inch razzor barrel, eggy 3, 3000psi nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
good hopper such as Halo or eggy
Strengths: reliable
fast
looks cool
not too expensive on www.actionvillage.com
LCD screen
4 eyes
Weaknesses: The stock barrel(s)
The rechargeable 9 volt
Review: The Jt quadra is a great gun. It is reliable and fast. This gun is NOT $400 !
If u go to www.actionvillage.com it is about $150. The QUADRA has 4 eyes in it, you are never going to chop. Thr gun has 2 modes: live eyes and no eyes.
With the stock barrel it is not accurate but with a new barrel it is pretty accurate.
Conclusion: You should definetly try out this gun. It is worth the money. If u buy it on www.actionvillage.com they will have it the cheapest.
this is a great gun. it is reliable
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ripp1971 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Timmy Bushmaster Promaster Shocker ets ets
Marker Setup: Quadra & J&J edge barrel set
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off asa for tank
Strengths: Eyes, on gun dwell setting, nice look and feel for the marker, anti chop bolt
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
Review: This marker out of the box got my attention, had a good feel like it did not feel cheap. I was impressed with the rate of fire after doing some tweaking on the adjustable trigger.
The eyes worked real well I did not chop a ball.
The barrel set was cool and a nice feature to see can mix and match 2 piece barrels.
All in all a good buy for someone looking to get a marker that has EYES
and well worth the price. I got mine on ebay for less than 100$ brand new in the box.

***********************UPDATE*************************

Just wanted to update everyone on this marker........

I am still happy with it and this marker has not broken one single ball.

I did however remove the rechargeable battery and replace it with a duracell ultra.
the rechargeable did not seem to last even an entire day and would go dead just sitting in my gear bag...Other than that it has been a great marker..
Conclusion: Buy this marker even if its just for a back up its worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 19th, 2007 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

7seven Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c with flat line
Marker Setup: halo hopper
dye throttle
some drop foreward
Recommended
Upgrades:
triigger job
lots of time tinkering
fast hopper if you do a good job with the trigger
Strengths: Fast, this gun is very capable of ripping
Weaknesses: Well mine came broken( not sure if thats dick's fault of jt's)
Review: Well, I bought mine for 400. it was worth about 2 dollars. it didn't work at all, but think is because dick's sporting goods sucks. after owning this thing for a while i have noticed that thing is like a baby. when you first get a baby it doesn't do much. as it grows up it can walk, then it can walk faster. as you raise it, it will start to show cool attributes. if u treat it like crap then i wont work for you. it took me half a year to turn this thing from a gun that made fat chicks look hot, to a complete machine. i can tell you that my Quadra is a very respected gun at my field ( because of me)
Conclusion: Dont get one, its just not worth it. i give it a 2, but i give mine a 9. e-mail me at sevenrd7@aol.com for some tips to fine tune them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

juswojo Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders and clones - Shutter, Compact2000, Imagine, etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
At least Agitating hopper
HPA
New grips - stock didn't fit right
Strengths: Lower operation pressure than Spyders - Running at 300 psi
Spyder threads
Weaknesses: Loud
Heavier than most Spyders
Lack of ROF options - only semi
minimal upgrade options
Review: Had an aging Spyder that needed to be replaced, and found this at my local pro shop. I bought this marker for under $100 on clearance. Got home and couldn't wait to start playin. Pulled it out of the box, oiled it, aired it up and away I went. Thought I would give the stock barrels a try and was not impressed at all. Quickly pulled out the old boomstick and haven't used those stock things since. The eyes only work when they want to but if you have at least an agitating hopper like a revy, shouldn't have any problems with them off. It was a little on the heavy side after attaching the air tank, but unless you have little girly arms you shouldn't have a problem with that either. Not a bad marker for what I paid, but not even close to worth the msrp of $400 (Are the people at JT serious???)
Conclusion: If you are a fan of blow-back markers and can find one of these for cheap, I would give it a try, otherwise don't waste your time. I have moved on to better markers and gave this to my younger cousin as his first paintball marker. My final rating is based on the fact that I found this marker for under $100 or it would have been rated lower.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p.a.i.n.t.balla Friday, June 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanns
spyders
shockers
Marker Setup: stock Jt Quadra
hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the jt gun i reccomend a barrel, feedneck, bolt,board.
Strengths: Screen on board is cool
Grips have a nice design
Weaknesses: The gun is unaccurate
Trigger frame is small
Barrel is not great
Pretty dang heavy
Review: Ok, before critisizing my review so far. It is beacue of the experience that i had with this gun that make me say this. i will tell the story about me and the jt. First of all i like the jt products but their guns failed. I bought this gun from actionvillage and got it put in some air first thing it leaked under the regulator. I then fixed this pretty easy but i was kind of mad. It shot about a hopper the next day. i decided to go to the field and really test this thing out. When i got to the field i put air in and shot a few got all set and the velocity was not constant and i got fsd and balls sinking. I was so mad and just decided to have the people at the field check it to see if it was a bad one. I left it there to get fixed and got it the next week to go play. It worked good for one game and got the air filled then the bolt would not cock back. I mean it would not cock back. I had 4 different people pulling this thing and pushing and pressing. I was pissed so i opened it up and everything looked fine. It was so weird. fired it up played a round and it was good. THen i sware to this sounds like such a lie but it is not. The guauge would go from green to yellow back and forth and i would get dry shots.
Finally i said forget this gun. Gave it to the field for 20$
Conclusion: dont buy. I had many problems and was disappointed after all the other great products from jt.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media