paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking

AKA Viking Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Viking

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Viking
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 94
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $810

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same side, dual ball detent
3/8's of a pound lighter than the '03
Shorter profile
SCM comes standard
Relocated on/off switch
Shorter bolt
Bodies are milled for eye wiring
WAS Equalizer Board
Humphrey Solenoids (commonly referred to as the "new" solenoids)
Type 3 "Hard" anodizing in a matte (dust) finish
Double grip with Blade trigger
AKA low-rise
Factory Warranty
Product Availability 
The AKA Viking is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Los Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months61 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED
Mamba Angel IR3
C&C Angel
Angel Speed
Marker Setup: AKA Viking with WAS and eyes
2003 Conquest
Dye Ultralite
CCM no rise
Dye grips
blah, blah, blah
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. If you have an older Viking, maybe the SCM. I had the SCM and went back to the stock LPR. Works great with the stock LPR.
Strengths: Efficiency. It also has great anodizing. You really have to try to scratch the marker.
Weaknesses: I think it is plain looking in comparison to the Angel.
Review: I was very skeptical about switching to the Viking. I loved all of my Angels. I reall liked the speed. But going to the feild a few times when the compressor wasnt' working made me have to leave the games earlier due to lack of air. That isn't fun. I noticed all of the AKA markers were still going strong with their air efficiency.

I did have a few problems in the beginning due to the SCM breaking in. I think the one I received was defective. Currently I have the stock LPR and I have no problems. I also went with the Ultralites over the stock barrel. The stock is fine, but I like the Ultralites. I would also reccomend getting a clamping no rise or low rise form CCM.

For the price, the value, and the end result,... the Viking is the way to go. It rips with the WAS board, it feels great while running, it's low pressure and efficient. The new anodizing is excellent.

Get the eyes.

Conclusion: I have been using my Viking for a few months now and love it. I will not go back to WDP. It straight rips.

If this review was helpful, please take the time to indicate that on the review page. I hope this helps you make a decision. At any rate, whatever you choose. Play hard and have fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 30th, 2003 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jpapalsmurfb Saturday, September 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippmann model 98.
-Autococker: Range, accuracy... maintenance. Mine broke down constantly.
-Model 98: Speed, price, reliability.
Marker Setup: Indigo hard anodized viking. System X drop forward and Extreme Rage timer grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing for performance. A wide array of barrels is always nice. The stock barrel is great, but finding a paint match for it can be difficult at times.
Strengths: What isn't. This gun incorporates the pros of every paintball marker made. Speed, distance, consistancy, accuracy, durability and a decent price to boot. Playing with this gun, I had no problem matching the speed or distance of any gun out on the field, including cockers and angels.

--Quality and included features.
The quality of this gun is incredible. Out of the box it just feels solid, like it was lovingly crafted and nothing was forgotten. It includes a bag, Javelin barrel, barrel condom and configuration software/manual on floppy.

--Trigger.
The trigger is very nice. Some have complained about the inward slope of the bottom of the trigger, but I find I have no problem pulling good strings of paint regardless of the design. The trigger is adjustable in possibly more ways than you need. I have it set up to be very short, and walking my fingers to get off long strings is neither difficult or tiring.

--Accuracy and range.
The accuracy rivals that of cockers, and is definately as good as an angel. Range is just as good. I came from using a broken cocker most games, before that a tippmann, and the range and trajectory of this gun are excellent. Well suited to both front player and back. For anybody that worries that the open bolt design of this marker may cause an arcing of paint when firing, don't worry. The paint flies like darts, with a great deal of distance and flat trajectory that is rivaled only by an excalibur.

--Battery.
Battery life is great, my viking is still going strong after shooting 5 cases through it. When it dies, just swap in a new 9 volt. No worrying about chargers or proprietary batteries.
Weaknesses: There is only one thing that slightly bugs me about the marker, and that is the lack of a computer syncing cable to connect the viking to the computer to make firing/dwell changes.

A low pressure reg tool is needed to lower the front reg pressure, and is also not included.

I cannot blame AKA too strongly for either of these however, because out of the box the viking performs great, and these tools should only be required by advanced users who wish to tweak their gun to the fullest.
Conclusion: A great gun for a great price. No gun that I can think of rivals the price to performance ratio of this marker, perhaps with the exception of the bushmaster BKO. It shoots great out of the box, and is just a lot of fun to play with, without the worry of running around with a delicate gun that you feel like you'll break if you look at it wrong.

One last note. There is a lot of misconception about the break in period of the viking. The viking is made with very tight tolerances, and is tuned accordingly. After a dozen or so cases (or equivelent shots) run through the marker, these tolerances are relaxed slightly, and can allow for a greater rate of fire, and the lowering of the front low pressure regulator. The plus to this is having the bolt handle the paint at a lower pressure, eliminating bolt chops. This break in isn't needed before playing with the marker, and just gradually happens as you play more and more with it. The only time I've bolt chopped with this marker anyway is because my hopper couldn't keep up.

This gun is a well crafted professional tool, and will give you years of performance, and all the gun you could need.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Monday, May 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hard to say, it has alot of good propertys that derive from a variety of markers. I'll say its fast like an angel, and accurite like a cocker.
Marker Setup: AKA Viking w/ Blade Trigger, Smartparts Teardrop Barrel (temp.), Crossfire Fiberwrapped 45/4500 Nitro, EVOII
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blade Trigger - The flat model of trigger, very easy to walk.
Barrel - The stock javalin barrel isnt horrible don't get me wrong, but there is better.
Fast Loader - EVOII or Halo B's are required to shoot these, they are VERY fast.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Low Pressure
Volume
Distance
Price
Weight
Anodizing
Uniqueness
R&R
Weaknesses: Availability
Consistancy
Review: Goods:

Speed- This thing is really fast, after some trigger adjustments (which were easy by the way, no where near as hard as to adjust as an angels trigger) this thing was VERY fast and easy to walk. Especialy with the blade trigger
Accuracy- The accuracy even with the stock barrel is much like a cockers. Alot of this is because the viking uses cocker parts that AKA makes anyway. Also because its low pressure. Slap a boomstick on this and you won't need anything else.
Low Pressure- LIke I said, its low low LOW pressure. I get about 900 shots off of my 45/4500 filled up to about 4000. Very impressive.
Volume- Low pressure so its very quiet, with just about any barrel. Another thing about noise is that the balls sound very weird when they fly. You know how you can almost hear balls go through the air? Well this one sounds very unique on its shots, just thought I'd add that.
Distance- Great distance, lands about 5-15 feet below my friends cockers distance. That is very impressive.
Price- For a gun that shoots as fast as an angel, and as accurite as a cocker, this is a steal. Only 800 at retail price is a luxury.
Weight- Some people think the unmilled versions are heavy but their really not. Their actually quite light.
Anodizing The hard black anodizing that AKA does on these markers is awesome. Feels exactly like my 9mm does, and has the same properties too. Never scratches so its easy to keep it in great shape.
Uniqueness- You won't beleive how many people ask me if I'm using an angel, because when they see it shoot their amazed. When I walk off the feild they realize its a viking, its a great feeling.
Rugged and Reliable- This marker will rarly break down. When you first grap hold of it you will honestly gasp at how rugged it feels.

Bads:

Availability- Great marker, but hard to get new. AKA is dishing out as many as they can without sacrificing the quality. Their doing a great job so far!
Consistancy Somtimes on mine the consistancy isnt all that great, it is probably due to my barrel, and the paint I use. Theres only a 5 increase or decrease so its nothing terrible.



Side Notes + Information on marker:

There is a break in time on this marker. Brand new it will still perform fantastic, but after about 20 cases you will actually be able to lower the pressure on your marker. I wouldn't do this unsupervied though, try to get a techie to look at it and see if its ready.

Stock its capped at 12.9 balls per second. If you want you can get it reprogramed.

Alot of the marker is volume. There are two canisters that the pnuematics are housed in. One contains the Pnuematics regulator, 5way, valve hammer and all that. But there is ALOT of volume left over inbetween all that. This is a reason why it is very low pressure.

AKA is a great company and produce fine markers. You will be satisfied with this marker. They are dedicated to their customers and will always help you with whatever you need.

My final note is that the consitancy on these markers are probably very good. I know the sidewinder regulators have a great reputation and offer great consistancy. I baught my viking used. I'm not sure whats up with my regulator but I'm going to send it to AKA. After then, I'll spend some time at the chrono and fill all of you in on how it works.
Conclusion: I would recommend anyone who needs a nice, fast, accurite, tournament ready marker to anyone who wants to play seriously at a fair price. This is a great marker, good luck finding them though! Last time I checked there was a 2 week wait time on them. Its worth it.

_Mark - Your freak barrel guy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 18th, 2003 at 10:13 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP 2K3 Angel LCD LE
Vapor B2K
Kingman Spyder Shutter
WGP Karnivor with E2 EclipseBlade
Evil Omen
AGD Emag
AKA Excalibur
Marker Setup: JMJ Crusader Viking, WAS, Eyes, Freak, Razor Blade Trigger, MacDev Conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anti-Chop eyes, barrel
Strengths: Accurate shooting platform
Exceptionally efficient
Consistent
Fast
Quiet
Very little maintenance needed
Weaknesses: Stock Vikings aren't going to win any beauty contests.
Review: I have to preface this review by stating that the 2 bad reviews below are a waste of space and clearly aren't well-thought-out. They may represent anomalies in the quality of the Viking (which is very high), but they are just as likely to be the result of "L33T Skillz Roxorz Blah Blah" newbs/kids who could screw up a Tippy in under 5 seconds.

I bought a 2K3 Angel LCD LE because I wanted a fast, accurate marker that I didn't have to worry about breaking down. Needless to say, I was wrong. I did a lot of research, and got a Viking to replace it, and I couldn't be happier with it. I will address each strength/weakness in turn:

STRENGTHS:

1. Accurate shooting platform

This marker is very consistent with very little blowback, and fits well in your hands. Because of these factors, with a good barrel/paint match, it is very easy to put your shots where you want them, and to do it repeatedly. It is almost as easy to be accurate with this marker as my 'cocker and my Shoebox Shocker; however, when trying to achieve the high rates of fire the Viking allows, my accuracy declines somewhat. This is more a factor of my skill with the marker than the marker itself. 'Course, when sprayin'-an-prayin', accuracy takes a back seat.

2. Exceptionally efficient

AKA actually underreports the efficiency of the Viking; they claim 1800 balls per 68/4500 fill; I get over 2k with the Javelin barrel on. That 's a case per fill, people! 'Nuff said.

3. Consistent

+/- 3 over the Chron; VERY consistent. See Accuracy, above.

4. Fast

I don't have a good trigger finger, but I can get this marker ripping. With the WAS board and no eyes, it is capped at 13 bps, but I never EVER broke a ball. With the eyes in, the marker never chops, even at the unlimited speed the WAS board offers. I had to jack up the debounce because of the near-automatic firing rates I was getting. I was able to get it to hit 13 bps reliably, and that is with my old, slow fingers. I've seen others get higher ROF out of my Crusader.

5. Quiet

The stock Javelin barrel is good, but has very little porting, making it louder than heavily ported barrels (i.e. Freak, Boomy). The Viking is on the quiet side of normal with the Javelin on; but with a Freak on, it's very quiet. Not as quiet as my Shoebox Shocker, but close. I like a quiet marker, so this is good in my book.

6. Very little maintenance needed

After a day of play, all you have to do is wipe it down, oil it up and put it away. They say this about Angels and some other markers, but I've found that not to be true. This marker? It's true. I have verified my experience with it by reviewing a LOT of posts from owners in various forums.

I will say that there is some initial maintenance; you have to go through about 10 cases before the LPR settles in, and then send it back to AKA to be reset. Normally, I like a marker I can tweak myself, but I kind of like AKA's approach - if I can't tweak it, I can't break it. It does show that AKA is committed to providing excellent customer service.

7. Customer Service

AKA seems committed to customer service; I've never needed any work on this marker, so I am reporting the experiences of others,here.

WEAKNESSES

1. Appearance

The stock marker is somewhat bland; doesn't compete with Angels or tricked-out 'cockers. However, the after-market Vikings have some beautiful millwork on them; check out the Immortal and the Crusader Vikings. Mean-lookin' critters, if I do say so myself.

EDITS

1-26-05 I have edited this review to reflect the comparison between my Crusader Viking and my E2 Karnivor. The Karni edges out the Crusader for a 10; it's lighter, faster, almost as efficient and almost as reliable. Most importantly, the Karni makes it easy for me to hit speeds I've never been able to hit before; posted my first 17BPS on the E2 Karnivor. I will NEVER be able to hit that speed on the Viking, not because it cannot go that fast, but because the design of the E2 makes it easier for me to reach that speed. The Viking is no longer produced, and you can find good used Vikes for $600 (stock) -$1000 (aftermarket) fairly easily. The Viking's lower price, reliability and ease of use make it the best "entry level" tournament marker out there, and will make it a great backup as well.
Conclusion: There is no real down side to this marker. It's accurate, fast, efficient, quiet, consistent and low-maintenance, and backed by a great company. The ONLY possible down sides are that you have to send it back once to get the LPR reset, and that people who base their self-worth on how cool their marker looks won't get the stock Vikings.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 6:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tommi Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED with Cyclone Anti-chop
Angel IR3
Angel LCD with Cyclone Anti-chop
AKA Viking 03 with custom anti-chop-board
Marker Setup: AKA Viking 04
Custom eyes
Evo2
JT barrel
Centerflag preset HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes is must. Better barrel recommended.
Strengths: low cost, very efficient, low maintenance, FAST and most of all looks ugly
Weaknesses: New ball-detents is a good idea, but not implementerd perfectly.
Review: I have used AKA viking 03 for this season and liked it a lot. When I got this 04 model I was exited to see the effects of evolution.

Truly the only major change, to start with, is the ball-detents. The dual-system works nicely with the anti-chop eye and make it easier to use force-feed loaders. On the other hand the ball-detents are way below standard AKA guality. I propably cutomize my marker by changing them to angel-style ball-detents.

Geometry and balance is great. Weight is no problem and low kick produces good accuracy. Viking is FAST and one can use a really small bottle with its level of gas efficiency. New blade trigger is a lot better than the one in older Vikings
Conclusion: This is a marker that gives a fantastic value for money. It has everything one could ask for a tournament marker.

Viking 04 is better than the older ones. It is one of the best markers out there. Not perfect, but excellent
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Eyecare Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many, from AM Illusion and Carter Buzzard to Eclipse Shocker (old style), Timmy Classic (upgraded), FFLE Autococker, etc. You can view some of them here: (just cut and past the link)
http://community.webshots.com/album/75671561Qqiivm
Marker Setup: Current primary marker is an '04 Viking
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed
Strengths: Shoots fast, accurate, easy to maintain, rugged
Weaknesses: Price. Even used models don't decrease much in value.(Might also be a strength)
Review: AKA makes great products. Their Excalibur /Viking line are in my view one of the finest examples of marker engineering and performance in the non-rotary valve style of guns (most guns aside from new Shockers and Matricies). AKA has always promoted function over form, an although you can get customized (milling and special anodizing) Vikings you can't re-anodize these once they've been anodized without affecting their tolerance. The construction, engineering, everything is all first rate.

The '04 Viking was the last of the breed (after SP started suing everyone for electronic triggers) and incorporates a number of improvements over earlier models to include eyes, WAS board (or alternate), and the SCM (Soda Can Mod - essentially an inline LPR). I've been using an souped up Timmy Classic (all the important things like LP mod, WAS board, PBK bolt and detents, larger barbs and hoses, carbon fiber Techna-Trigger, reverse polarity magnets, etc.) for quite some time now and am quite happy with it. I just thought it was time to try something new. As I've been looking at the '04 Viking for quite some time, I passed over getting a new Shocker or DM5, which were my alternates.

First impressions:
I was somewhat impressed by how well these Vikings held their value over the years. Any other gun decreases dramatically in price but this one hasn't. Perhaps it's because of it's relative rarity, or high quality, or performance , or all of the above. The one I got (used) is the stock black "04 model with the SCM and MiteyMax (volumizer), a custom JMJ trigger and a WAS with the latest software revision. The dwell had also been upped to 10ms. It has two side-by-side detents on the left side of the chamber and a low rise clamping feedneck.

Setup:
Well, the 9 volt battery was already in place. I had to read the manual on how to set the WAS using the trigger as the Viking has no LCD. This is really simple to do and I didn't have to adjust anything aside from putting the eyes in the "Forced" mode. If you've used any gun with a WAS board before this is simple. I took the bolt out and reset it. The trigger isn't as easy to adjust as on a Timmy. It's more like an Angel in this regard. I replaced the trigger return spring that the former owner had taken out as I like a bit more tension on my trigger. Everything seemed to be in good order.

Performance:
All in all, nothing fancy in the milling/color department but this was expected. So let's go to where the money is: how does it shoot? Very well, thank you. I can shoot this significantly faster than my Timmy (and my Timmy is not slow). The trigger is almost too sensitive. Of course I can adjust this but it's so much fun shooting ropes. And more importantly, it shoots where you aim it. It's fairly consistent at the chrono; +/- 5, but I was using old balls from last season so it might be better with fresher balls. No breaks using a Halo-B/rip drive.

Ball breaks:
Well, I haven't had one yet so I broke one on purpose in the chamber to see what happens. It seems to clear fairly well but I'd still use a squeegee on the field if I have the time. The eyes didn't seem affected, even with the fairly thick Chronic paint I used. Some paint residue leaked out of the eye cover. This probably implies there's a small leak where the eyes or detents go in the body but it didn't sem to affect performance in any way. Cleaning on the field is fairly easy. You can slip the bolt out and run a swab straight through. Off field cleaning , especially where removing the eye cover on the ball detent side is a bit more complex. Actually it's easy to do but be careful not to lose the ball detent compression springs. I lost one while I was checking out my gun and had to jury rig one out of an old ball-point pen spring. It still works though.

Options/Upgrades:
The bad news is that as a low volume gun there really aren't a whole lot of upgrades available for your Viking. The good news is that it really doesn't need any. I already mentioned the MiteyMax and JMJ trigger on mine. Not sure if the clamping low-rise is a standard feature or not. Not sure if mine has an SCM 2 or 3 either but this can be upgraded. You have an option between the WAS and Pandora boards I believe. The Pandora has some automatic modes I think. (Not that you'll need it with this gun.) An enthusiast may want to switch the Sidewinder for a 2-liter or 2-liter plus as it's supposed to be the best reg available (performance wise, not looks again) but if you do you'll have to shoot half a case of paint to break it in properly. You can also get a "quad detent" setup but this involves sending your gun back to drilling and eye cover modification. I really haven't seen a need for this yet. I also noticed a quad detent tuning kit so I presume you can adjust the tension of your detents if needed.

Service/Support:
I can't comment on this as I haven't had to use it yet. AKA is known to stand behind their products but they are a small family operation so results may vary depending on how busy they are. Probably best to call them if you have questions first.

Conclusion: BLUF: (bottom line up front)
If this gun doesn't work for you then it's probably not the gun.

I rarely give 10s but the '04 Viking is a great gun and arguably the best of this breed. Reliable, easy to maintain, accurate, efficient, shoots very fast. What more can you expect? Meets all my expectations and more. Get one while you still can.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 3:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptballer45 Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Angels
Various Timmies
DM4
Karnivor
System X NME (Just got this one)
Marker Setup: Bone stock 03 Half Milled Viking with WAS board and EYES.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Do not mess with it, TRUST ME. I love to tinker with and upgrade my guns more than anyone, but do not touch a stock Viking. There is really no need to at all.
Strengths: THE MOST RELIABLE PAINTBALL GUN I HAVE EVER OWNED. Fast, Accurate, Hassle Free.
Weaknesses: Some will say it is heavy and ugly. They do not make Vikings anymore.
Review: Wow where do even begin? I have used them all. In fact my team was just sponsored by System X and we are now shooting their new NME marker. Well after just over a month, I finally had to put the NME back into the case and break out the Viking. To give you an idea how highly I think of the viking, I will actually be using it over the NME this weekend at the NPPL in Huntington Beach (we are Division 1 and will be playing Pros!!) The Viking is just that good. There is a reason I have kept it for over 1.5 years.

I hate working on guns, techin them, trying to fix them, etc. I used my Viking for over 1.5 years, every Saturday, WITH NOT ONE SINGLE PROBLEM. NONE. ZERO. This is no exaggeration either. Most ballers in Vegas know me and the Viking and can attest to the fact that I never break down. I turn it on, play all day, turn it off. Thats it. None of this taking it apart every month to clean and relube everything. This is in Vegas where it is super dusty too. On top of that, I have never, ever, chopped a ball. My friends with Timmies always seem chop, but not me. I can't stress enough how tough and reliable these are. Just put a little AKA oil on the bolt and in the bottom line, and you are good to go. I am the only one on the team who has never had their gun go down.

Accuracy is as good as any gun. In fact, just yesterday, after my NME went down and I'd finally had enough, we broke out the Viking and had a little shoot off. It consistently out shot 4 NME's in terms of accuracy. We were all shooting .689 ultralights, with the exact same paint. We shot targets at long ranges and short ranges. I easily hit water bottles with the first or second shot, while they usually needed 4-5 shots. The viking can hang with any gun in terms of accuracy.

Gas consumption. Nothing to worry about. Fill up to 4500 and you should get just about a case of paintballs before you refill. One of the most efficient guns out there.

Speed. The Viking can again hang with any single paintball gun made, period, end of story. Don't believe me? Jim Drew, the make of the WAS board, plays on our team, and you should see him shoot his Viking. WOW. Look for him at tournaments and you will stop wondering if the Viking is fast. By the way, he also owns pretty much every top end marker made, yet he always seems to be shooting the Viking. The Viking will shoot as fast as your loader will feed.

Consistency. With good paint, over the last year, my viking has averaged +- 5 fps. I set it at 280 when I first got it, and have never really needed to do much adjustments. If I do, it is not even 1/8th of a turn. My chrono procedure goes something like this. Turn gun on, shoot several balls just to settle it, shoot three times over chrono, turn gun off, go play. Gone are they days when I spent 500 rounds just trying to get a gun chrono'd (Although they may be back now that I have the NME -but that's a whole different review).

OK, so it is clear i like the Viking, but it has to have weaknesses right? Well, I think the main weakness is they are ugly as sin. Most look like big black blocks. Even the custom Vikings do not even come close in terms of looks to say a stock DM4. If you are the type of player that needs a pretty gun, stop reading right now and move on to another gun quickly, because they Viking won't be winning any beauty contest. Some say they are heavy. I have not really noticed this. I personally don't think this is an issue.

If you want to focus on playing paintball, and not worrying about a gun, this is for you. With a Viking, you can play as rough as you want, and it will keep going. It is super reliable, ultra fast, extremely accurate.......and ugly as hell. The pro's outweigh the cons for me.

Oh ya, thank Smart Parts for suing AKA and making them stop producing the Viking. I always make sure to stop by their display and let them know I do not appreciate them and what they did to AKA.

Conclusion: Again, I love my Viking. In fact, I like it so much I'm going to buy a second one while I still can. The prices have really started to shoot up as more and more players realize what a great gun it is.

Think about it - here is a gun that always works, is as fast as any other gun, accurate, effecient, etc. What more can you ask for? And you still can get great Vikings for $850. Compare that to most new guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccrnnr9 Tuesday, November 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP vision impulse
2k2 fly angel
BM2k
Almost every spyder on the market
Black draguns, tippmanns, etc etc.
Marker Setup: 2k2 AKA Viking (#67)
CP red flame drop with on/off
10in dye boomstick (ss back)
aka javelin stock barrel(12in)
run on 68/4500 crossfire(red reg-800psi)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new trigger...the low rise is fugly, but allows you to tuck in lower...its all personal preference!
Strengths: This is a very smooth gun with a very smooth trigger! The trigger is 3-way adjustable(I think). I actually like the stock setting of the trigger, so I have not adjusted it! The trigger is a bit controversial, because of the fact that it is plastic and tilted a bit backwards. I know alot of people like the triggers to be straight up and down, but I like the feel of this trigger! I had a 2k2 vision impulse and had to sell it for money to buy a car, now Im back in the game with this sweet peice of machinery. I would definately try to find a way to shoot this gun before you buy it! The trigger feels almost like a bushy trigger, except with no slop. I dont like stick or clade triggers, so I will stick with the stock...its fine for me! The plastic actually seems to make the gun easier to fire fast, because it is soooo light! I love it!
The effeciency of this gun is unbeleivable! I get over 1300 shots on my 68/4500! When you get the gun, turn the bolt around backwards and you will find and dry fire about 4000-6000 shots to get it broken in...turning the bolt around backwards will just give it better effiency!
The bolt design is another plus of the gun! It is hrad to explain, but the bolt slides straight in, then tilts to the left of the body, and clicks right into the hammer...unlike imps or bushies, there is no way to have the pin miss and not engage the hammer...this makes the gun easy to clean if you get a ball brak in the middle of the game! Just run a straight shot squegge through thw whol top chamber, and you will be good to go!
The sidewinder(the strock reg on the viking) is a great reg...I still cant decide if I like it as much as the max flo(definately more confortable than the MF) but its definately good! The bottom of the reg and can turn 360* enabling you to attach the hose and fittings anyway you want! This is just one of the many ways that AKA has thought out and gone above and beyond the limits!
The stock barrel is very effecient, the only prob is that mine is a very thin bore...I got a dye boomstick with mone, and it can shoot almost any paint well!
The body is sooo sturdy, yet twice as light as my impulse(keep in mind, the imp had the horizontal MF, so that made it more heavy, but still this is one freakin lightgun). The anno is very thick, and milling although basic is done very well. No burrs or mistakes on milling from the factory! Lastly, it has a life time warranty! You cant beat that! AKA is probably the best company in pb...wdp is awesome too!
I think those are all of the goods...NOW TO THE BAD!!!!
Weaknesses: Scared you didnt I? Thought I was going to rant and rave about the badness after I told you all those good things...well you are wrong!
The only thing I dislike is the Low rise vet feed, it looks ugly, and is very wide making hopper fits tough...I had to put a couple wraps of electrical tape around the neck of my revy to get it to fit..I am getting an evo2, and I hear the necks on those is very large, so maybe they will fot perfectly!
The trigger, although great for me is not for everyone! AKA and a couple other companies offer aftermarket triggers(30-40$ range i think!)...I dont see the need for one, but maybe you will!
I guess the body is a litlle wide, but it feels much more sturdy than any gun ive used! Keep in mind every gun has at least one downside!
Conclusion: Man this is sweet! Ive always been a fan of quality not quantity, and this is what this is! AKA takes their time to make your gun...(i dont even think that more than 700 have been made!) I like the fact that when I go to the feild everybody is alweays asking "hey whats that?" "Thats sweet!" "You only paid 750$ for that??!!" "Man I should get one of those instead of an angel, impulse, etc." (disclaimer, I love angels, but they are too common for me!...I like being original! You should give this gun a try...definately worth your money!

P.S. the aka forum on pbnation.com is now the officail forum for aka! (this is what aka will refer you to for help) many aka techs frequently visit these forums!

P.P.S.
I have never given any other gun a 10! Even when I had my vision imp, I gave it a 9!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lopez17 Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, Angels, Excaliburs, Ego's etc. The open bolt markers shoot about the same as the Viking since the design is similar, however being that the cycling speed of a 5 year old marker is at or above other markers, the Viking is certainly unique
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire with a PMI Pure Energy Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you have an older viking I recommend having eyes put into it. The tadao board or WAS 2.0 boards will enable the marker to shoot/cycle faster than the stock Nelson board or the Pandora board. Beyond that, the only upgrades are aesthetics or personal preference. If the weight is an issue you can always have DC mill it for you.
Strengths: Fast, Consistent Shooting with highly customized features.
Weaknesses: At this point, the weight and the lack of a snazzy look.
Review: I obtained an 04 Viking and have shot several other 02-04 Vikings. These markers are and were the fastest, most consistent markers on the planet. The sidewinders that they come with are the best regs on the market, surpassed only by AKA's 2-Liters. These markers are nearly 4 years old but are still some of the best on the market. It's not uncommon for people to get nearly a case off a 68/4500 fill. The machining/milling on the marker is so precise that the marker operates efficiently with minimal maintenance required.

With many aftermarket parts to choose from including Tadao boards, JMJ triggers, feednecks and barrels, Viking markers are just beasts on the field. They have a durable Type 3 anno to protect against nicks and incidental damage. DC offers milling to lighten up the weight as well. All in all a fantastic marker...especially with Used prices being in the 300-400 dollar range now.
Conclusion: Fantastic marker to pick up and can be used as a primary marker or a back up whip. It's efficient, lightning fast, customizable and even after 4 years is one of the top markers on the planet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost271 Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'98 HSW Shocker S/F - SLOW compared to the Viking and has more more kick than the Vike. Accurate, Accurate, Accurate.
Angel Speed - My Viking is easier to walk and as fast if not faster.
E-Oracle - Nice marker to shoot but not used to the 'feel' of the cocking being done by electronics. These things rip but not as fast as viking.

Marker Setup: '04 Immortal Viking
48/3000 Pure Energy
Full Freak Kit, Switch Kit
Apache Ricochette Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit
Strengths: FAST !!!!!!!!
Reliable
Next to no maintanence
Quiet
Light
Weaknesses: Break in period for reg.
Review: Let me start by saying that I have been playing this sport for the past 14 years, and have been following its evolution for 18; ever since I bought the first issue of APG back in 1986. I have seen the electro revolution take off and the advancements made in this area sky rocket. I had researched on a daily basis all I could on the latest guns for almost the last 2 years because I wanted a new tourney level marker that could meet all the criteria I desired. I believe I have found that marker.

Well I got my marker from OTE about a month ago. The milling is sweet ass and makes the gun nice and light. Only 25 '04 Immortals were made, and only 5 in my color. This made my purchase a good investment on the rarity alone. I was trying to decide between the Viking, DM4, DYE Matrix, Cyborg, X-Mag,and Fastback Racegun.

I have played several games with this gun and am pretty impressed thus far. I have only shot 2 types of paint with this and I will say right now that the case of RPS Premium I shot was S**T. My balls were all over the place with this paint. The other kind I used was Midnight, and that shot alot better but still not as nice as I would have liked. I am going to buy a case of BLAZE next time and will update when I've done that.

There is supposed to be a break in period with this reg and the marker as a whole. I figure the reg will settle in after another few cases. Right now I am getting fluctuations of +/- 7 fps. Myself and others have attributed this to the poor and inconsistant sizes of the paint I have been using. Again I will do a better test with the Blaze sometime this month. I will use both my closed bolt '98 Shocker and the Viking with the same barrel and insert and see what sort of differances there are.

The efficiency is amazing. Out of my tank I am getting just over 1/2 a case. Pretty damn good in my books !!

This gun RIPS ROPES !!!!!!!! I mean I had never walked a trigger before and this thing is soooo easy to. The Pandora board is top notch. Adjustments are done via the trigger and/or cable link. Everything from debounce,dwell,eyes, and bps can be set. There are also some presets that can be used depending on the type of loader you are using.

The extent of maintanence is this. Oil the bolt, and but a few drops into your ASA before screwing in your tank. Thats it. Done.

These guns feel solid and indestructible. I would recommend a viking to anyone who wants reliability, low maintanence, insane rates of fire, and a top end tourny marker.

Buy yourself one before they're all gone.

*Edit - UpDate Nov.29 '05*

I figured I'd go ahead and give a recent update since I've had the gun for over a year now. This gun impresses me more and more every time I use her. I have played a full-time season of weekly practices and monthly tournaments in the great northwest over here, and the marker continues to perform better than anything I've seen on the field. Especially with all the rain we get here, I see Timmies, shockers and DMs crapping out from the moisture all the time, but my Viking has had no problems. My last review my concern was consistancy. This is no longer an issue as the reg has broken in now and it is the norm to get +/- 2 fps at the chrono. The only other gun on the market that has stolen my heart has been the Matrix family. Between the two, I can fire my viking faster, and it seems I can one-ball a 3" wide post in the ground repeatedly at 70ft more consistantly than the DM4. However; once i start to really let lose with the viking I do find that it starts to kick a lot more than the DM. I like the DM4 more for the reason that I feel less recoil when ripping ropes with it and I like the trajectory more with the spool valved gun. About two weeks ago I also measured and weighed my Immortal with the Dm4. With regs, on/off, and barrels, they both weighed exactly the same. Also IIRC the viking was about 1/2" smaller in height and length.
In summary, these are the only two markers I feel confident taking on the field. But let it be known that when I get my DM4/5, it will be my backup to the viking.


I would like to up my previous rating of a 9 to a 10. I was concerned that maybe I should have bought a DM4 instead........not anymore. You couldn't pry my Viking from my hands now. If you see one of these markers on the field, they will sell themselves.

Conclusion: I think I've said all that there is. I am going to give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 at 3:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media