paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt

Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $38

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This new trick accessory from JCS is a red anodized aluminum power tube and front bolt. Replace the plastic components in the A-5 with our precision machined aircraft aluminum power tube. Enjoy our tight fitting front velocity screw design... securely holds that front velocity screw tight!
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
knightedwarrior Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ RT,flatline,16"armson stealth,bipod,2X trigger,palmer stabilizer w/ gauge,macroline,lapco longforegrip, ASR-1 raised sight rail W/ lapco offset sight mount W/ BSA 30mm red dot sight & 12X40mm scope,redhot powertube & superflybolt, 6+1w/ remote, M4 collapsable stock
Strengths: Excellent Fit
Smooth reaction
Weaknesses: Small Noise increace (not bad for laying down cover fire though)
Review: The power tube adds a much better response than the stock tube. It seems to give better reaction with my RT and I have even got up to 13BPS out of the RT. I use the product with the superfly bolt and it is amazing. It is also interesting to see people's reactions when they see the internals. The velocity screw holds a tighter fit and makes for a very secure screw. The extra noise is very prominent with a short barrel and a stock barrel but is not very important with a long barrel, with the armson stealth, it gives out an impressive cannon like sound that with the RT going, can be really intimidating and fun to watch others duck really fast when you open up.
Conclusion: A great product and can be installed in seconds by just field stripping it. With a shochtech superfly bolt or even the bolt that comes with it, it is an affordable but worthwhile investment. PLus who else you know has Red internals? hot!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Armando Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt, Dead-On Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, BP-JCS Red Hot Power Tube, Pro Team F/X Sniper Stock, Smart Parts All-American 14", Flatline, E-Grip, Madman Spring Kit (Very Light Trigger Pull), Lapco Red Dot Sight (Yes i actually use this), and of course Evil Paint
Strengths: - Quality Aircraft Aluminum
- Greatly Increases accuracy
Weaknesses: - Increased Noise (not huge, however)
Review: I first test this new bolt out on my A-5 when my friend was having with his SPyder Imagine and asked me to try and figure out why he got a weird trajectory. He was using the stock barrel at the time so I assumed it was the barrel like most people would. To my surprise I screwed the barrel onto my A-5 with Lapco Spyder-to-A-5 and the damn thing shot as accurate as an autococker. I did not believe it. A stock Spyder barrel shooting like that? I think it changed my mind about buying a $100 barrel. I put on the stock A-5 bolt and it shot terribly. I know Spyder has an option of an upgraded bolt so by the end of the day he was convinced. The new bolt worked great, and the JCS Red Hot Power tube is sick.
Conclusion: Most barrels will see an amazing performance increase. However, this does not include the flatline as you can read in the review below me. This is due to the fact that the Flatline's gain in distance is lost through accuracy by a turbulent backspin.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Schatten529 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Power Tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A 5
- JCS Red Hot Power Tube
- Madd Mann Spring Kit
Tippmann E Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
Tippmann Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel (14 inch)
Core Remote Line connected to PMI 68ci 3000psi HPA
OpsGear folding G36 stock
Strengths: Velocity adjustment screw stays put
Looks Cool
Durable
Weaknesses: Increased noise level
Review: I bought this part early on when I was using CO2 on my A5 and didnít want to worry about my stock power tube cracking. Since then (and rather quickly thereafter) I upgraded to HPA. No matter what you run with this power tube it will still look cool (when you take it out), be more durable, and the nylon insert will hold the velocity adjustment screw in place (I havenít had to re-adjust my screw yet). The only downfall to this P/T is the increased noise. Bad if youíre a stealthy type but could add a little intimidation factor to the mix for medium/heavy gunners.

The real question is whether or not this P/T adds any additional benefit to the mix beyond those Iíve just mentioned for the price.

Increase in Accuracy?

I did some bench testing between the two power tubes (Red Hot & stock) and didnít find any difference in my accuracy. I even used both the stock and the new bolt that comes with the Red Hot Power Tube to make sure the bolt didnít affect anything. Everything else was kept the same: barrel, velocity, paint, etc. I canít say for certain that this power tube doesnít increase accuracy for some set upsÖbut it didnít do anything for mine.

Increase in Efficiency (air usage)?

I havenít done any scientific testing by any means, but I didnít find a noticeable increase in air usage efficiency. Again I kept everything the same except the power tubes while playing for a day. Both power tubes used about the same amount of air off my tank gauge while ripping through 500 balls. I only say about the same amount because the marks and needles on these gauges donít give precise pressure (within 100psi would probably be generous). As I mentioned above in the accuracy section; it didnít noticeably improve my efficiency but I wouldnít rule out it helping other set ups.
Conclusion: If you run and plan on running CO2 for some time you probably want this power tube. The best feature it has for the non-CO2 user is having your velocity adjustment screw stay put. You could also simply apply some of the silicone/rubber compound out there to your velo screw and use it with your stock power tube for the same result and save yourself some money. If I could do it all over Iíd probably buy the Red Hot Power Tube againÖbut itíd be after I bought other stuff first.

My rating isn't based on product quality but on price versus benefit.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmishWarlord Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RT, Big Shot 7.5, F/X Sniper stock, DOA vertical adapter, DOA bullet drop, DOA grip adapter, CMI Regex regulator, Red Hot Power tube and bolt, Pure Energy 48cu 3K# HP tank.
Strengths: More durable then the stock plastic bolt.
Weaknesses: The power tube and bolt increase the report of the A5 when you shoot.
Review: This bolt and Power tube kit was very easy to instal and has been performing very well. The other team will definitely know that they are being shot at because this bolt kit makes the A5 even louder when it fires. Bad for stealth, good for intimidating suppressive fire.
The power tube and bolt kit slide right in the gun. Fit is very nice and there wasn't any funny tricks to getting it installed. The Nylon insert is good insurance against loosing your front velocity screw during a game.
Conclusion: Get it so you wont have to worry about losing your front velocity screw or a split plastic power tube in game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

UMP45 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Power Tube
Marker Setup: A5, Lapco dual trigger (mech), trigger job (mirror polished sear, ot mod, slack mod)
12" Lapco Bigshot, Lapco drop foward and adapter, 20oz CO2
Palmer Stabilizer (male)
Pro Team Hyperstar bolt

ICD BKO 2004
14" Lapco SnapShot
Palmer Mini Rock
VL Evolution II hopper
PE 68ci 4500psi

Strengths: Looks cool
Well made
Vel adjust screw is nice and snug
Weaknesses: Doesn't do much
Review: I really don't think it does much except that it made it louder. Made my tombstone leak a little. Tippmann tech recommended against using it because they don't think it does much to the marker.

I took it off and the leak stopped. It was leaking enough for the gun to burp every 5 or 6 shots. It never did that before so I am assuming that the PT was the cause.

My Pro Team bolt has a better seal on the stock PT over the JCS one.
I think that money would be better spent on a dual trigger, drop foward, .nice dinner.

The snug vel adj screw is a nice feature though. But you can get that same effect using some silicone sold at auto parts stores. Buy the one for filling cracks on windsheilds. Put some on the threads, screw it in, let it dry and you're set. It will have more resistance on it and won't back out or in.

More than usual blue loctite works well too.
Conclusion: It is made very nice and if your local store has a good return policy, its worth a try if you are itching to spend some money.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

van_gogh Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Power Tube
Marker Setup: A-5 with Flatline, Tippmann expansion chamber, JCS rear velocity adjuster, R2000 Regulator
Strengths: Durablity over stock power tube.
Weaknesses: Insignificant improvement, increase in noise
Review: This power tube is really nice looking. It sets your A-5 from everyone else. It doesn't make any significant improvement in terms of performance. It seems a little louder than stock power tube. Installation is a breeze, just slides right in, and no need to split the gun in halves. Well, in my case, I polished the inside of the gun before I used the power tube. I did this by splitting the gun, removed everything, and put the halves back together. I used a 1/4" wooden dow of approximately 14" wrapped in cotton ball and over wrapped with fine steel wool. Afterward, I oiled the gun and put everything back.
Conclusion: Get it if your stock power tube crack edor if you just have money to let loose.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Elfasto Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing aftermarket, just the stock Tippmann Parts.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Smart Parts Progressive 20" barrel
Collapsable CAR Stock
Lapco offset sight rail
TASCO 4X32 scope
Strengths: Aluminum construction.
Hexagon bolt had much better fit tolerances than the stock bolt.
Weaknesses: Price vs. Benefit (none)
It made my marker sputter, fart around, chop balls, etc.
Review: I purchased this item in the belief that it would make my A5 a little bit better on air usage.

How wrong I was.

Right from the first shot, the marker would not chrono past 220, the cyclone feed would work erratically, it chopped a couple of balls right inside hopper (never did that with the stock parts), and for some reason it used more air than the stock powertube and bolt. Also the gas adjustment on the side of the powertube was looser than heck. It leaked more gas than my old 1980 Chevy 1/2 tonne.

The only plus is that the hexagon bolt that came with the powertube actually fits pretty good over the JCS and the stock powertube. Not as good as a Shocktek Delrin bolt with the extra o-ring, but much better than the stock bolt.
Conclusion: I'm giving this a 2 out of 10.
Reason: Price, and the fact that it made my up until now flawless A5 into a big nasty fart cannon.

To be totally fair, I'll give the bolt a 6, only because it fits the stock powertube very well.
The Powertube, a big FAT 0
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 4:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock powertube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Polished Internals
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi Compressed Air
Palmer's Stabilizer
SpecOps A-5A2 Stock
Kingman Java Remote Coil
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt
Strengths: Strength, Durability, keeps velocity screw nice and snug.
Weaknesses: None, did not notice increase in noise.
Review: I got this when I found my stock powertube cracked after a day of play. I immediately ordered this for 30 bucks with R/T hole. I put it in and have seen no decrease or increase in accuracy, consistency or noise, but it has given me the peace of mind to know that yet another piece of my A-5 is sturdy and will last. I just need to get a metal cyclone housing, grip and cocking handle and I'm set. :)

It accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do, do NOT expect any increase in accuracy or performance, many front bolts and powertubes have been tested and do not operate better than stock. This product is really only for strength.

P.S. I do like the new front bolt that comes with it though. It is a bit snugger to the powertube (not snug, snugger) and the curved face of the front bolt might cradle paintballs more and decrease paint breakage.
Conclusion: I would recommend that you get this if you want to forestall any problems, or if your powertube cracks. It seems quite sturdy and I am satisfied with this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tydo Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Powertube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, WAS E Trigger, Cyclone Feed W. Squishy Paddles, JSC Red Hot Powertube, Ak-47 Shroud/mag/stock.
Strengths: -20% lighter than stock tube
-Metal is more durable...i guess?
Weaknesses: -LOUDER
-Waste If 40$
Review: Bought it, installed it, noticed abosolutely no difference except....the marker went from: pop, pop, pop TO BANG BANG BANG. Made me way easier to pick out and identify. Plus i chopped balls with it where i almost never have before. Good if you want the intimidation factor of a loud marker
Conclusion: Would NOT recomend this to anyone, totaly a waste unless somehow you broke your old powertube? In that case...re buy a stock one!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Howitzer Bolt
JCS Red Hot Powertube
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Lighter
Stronger
BRIGHT RED! thats pretty cool
Weaknesses: Pricey, especially in Canada
Review: Good replacement powertube for the A-5's stock plastic powertube. Bright Red colour adds colour to your internals. If used with the Howitzer bolt it looks awsome, really somthing to wow your friends with when you open the marker up. But as to it's performance, it is lighter, and keeps your velocity screw tight. This is great for people who have problems with their velocity screws loosening, as mine did.
On top of all this, with the howitzer bolt, your internals go from white to yellow to bright orange to bright red ..... looks awsome and peforms as advertised
Conclusion: Great way to upgrade your gun and peforms as advertised
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media