paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop / Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop / Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop / Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop

Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Fireball Mountain

Buy Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Stiletto Drop is a new powerhouse in the world of drop forwards. The Stiletto drops the front of the tank down and forward, kicking the back of the tank up, allowing for a more natural, ergonomic feel increasing trigger pull speed and comfort, and at the same time, lowering your hopper profile and tension on the wrist. Try one today. Feel the difference of FBM...customize your game.

Already have a drop you love and don't want to part with it, but want the sexiness of the Stiletto? Try a Power angel adapter block from FBM to get the same feel from an existing drop.
Product Availability 
The Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dewbiedew0 Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Universal Drop Forward
Marker Setup: ANS Gx-3
Stock Front Block
Stiletto Drop Forward with FBM On/Off
FBM Back Block with FBM Delrin Mercury Bolt
Empire Reloader
3a Paintball KO Barrel Kit
Strengths: Angles the tank to a more ergonomically correct position for fireing
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This drop forward angles the tank upwards so while you're looking down the barrel to aim (for newer vertical feeds) the tank will fit comfortably against your shoulders. This allows you to sit and aim at a bunker where you know someone is for an extended period of time in a long game without getting tired.

The dropfoward itself is a tad pricey, at 35$ for only the drop itself. But you can get a very good ASA On/Off in a package for 45$, saving 15$.

Overall I'd rate this product a 10. Its the first angled dropfoward I've seen and I love it on my gun.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this item for any woodsball player who tend to play lengthy games. I had tried other dropfowards. The Universal one moved the tank very far forward, forcing you to carry the load of the gun with your hands and other ones placed the gun higher and at a less comfortable height to look down the barrel.

*Edit* After using this product for another 3 months, I've noticed that with masks with nose guards that stick out more you tend to have less room. I've had to adjust the way i hold my gun but no biggie.

For 45$ for the combo its definately worth it. It's improved my snap shooting and steadied my aim.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 20th, 2004 at 10:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dj_Decipher Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Dead-On Drop Forward
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 5.0
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 Tank
Palmer Stabillizer (w/ PHAT mini 700psi gauge)
RMR Killstick Delrin Bolt
Halo Reloader B (w/ RIP drive & Z-board)
Trinity Assault 15-degree (inward) ASA block
JT 14" Two-piece Barrel
Fireball Mountain Stiletto Drop
Kingman ESP Frame w/ Rocking Trigger
Strengths: Great balancing of weight.
Weaknesses: It may look a little awkward
Review: The main strength is that you'll find the angling of this drop will disperse the weight of the gun more evenly - especially with a 20oz tank. By slightly angling the tank up into your shoulder, also makes a nice stock position as well as eliminating a bottom-heavy gun.

Also this drop forward has a rail mount as well!! You can make one sleek looking setup with this drop.

I've got a lot of skeptical looks and comments but once it's assembled and in your hands, you'll be smiling :)
Conclusion: If you find your arm getting a little tired in a game, get this drop. It'll relieve a bit of that discomfort, provide better handling, and if you have a DYE ASA rail mount, you now have one stylish-looking drop!!

Be creative with your ASAs, but try choosing one that's slim in profile (don't use a duckbill...it looks AWFUL, lol). On that note, using it with a 15* inward ASA block, almost completes a 90* angle with that of your reg and tank - absolutely mint!!

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 24th, 2005 at 1:27 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

byrothegyro Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ANS drop on the GenX series.
Stock drop on the Spyder E-99 Advant
Marker Setup: GenX-3 autococker with custom blue silver flame ano!
-3ds 3rd genaration air-o bolt
-AIM regulator
-AIM battle axe 45 grip trigger frame
-ANS front pneumatics
-Stilleto drop
-fireball mountians back block
-J&J Edge barrel system
-Empire re-loader
-68/3000 Nitro Duck tank
Strengths: -Tucks tank up at an angle
-COOOOOOOL!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: -None!
Review: Its a great drop that angles the tank up a little bit. This allows you to hold the tank in the crook of your shoulder a little easier and also reduces your profile. You can keep your arm tucked in instead of hanging out in the open. It is a little short, so for those of you who want something a little longer, I'd recomend the thorn drop made by Fireball Mountain. They are a great company, another option would be to buy their power wedge? or whatever they call it that will angle the tank up for you.
Conclusion: Get it you'll love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deckerv Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
FBM Power Angle, regular drops, uni-mounts
Marker Setup: Silver Rat-CP reg, ND Internals, SP delrin bolt, ND LPR kit, ND Detents, Hybrid feedneck, Stiletto Drop, CP on/off, WAS, Rat hole SS, silver I-Frame, NDZ 15* block
Strengths: Moves the tank forward and up... love it!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I use this with a 2k5 CP on/off on my Rat. I used the power angle before on this marker with a unimount, and thought if the tank was brought forward a bit more and angled, it would be perfect, so I tried this combo. The drop itself is very sturdy and well made. I'm going to get another one for my other Impulse. It puts the tank in the right position, plus it moves it more forward. I can really tuck in tight now, unlike the uni-mount that pushes the marker out further.
Conclusion: Oh yeah I'd recommend this drop.. It's sturdy and great looking too! Mine's the version like the one in the pic here... not like the one on their website with the spreading rail. Mine has 2 grub screws that screw down into the asa.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattyp151 Wednesday, July 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP Lightning Drop - does the same job of dropping the tank, just not the same manner as the Stiletto
Unimount - Stiletto balances the gun more and makes it easier to keep that elbow tucked
Marker Setup: Eforce
Dye Ultralite 12"
Evlution II Z-Board
Crossfire 47/3000
FBM Stiletto
Shocktech Volumizer
Turbo Valve
Evil Detonator
Boss Bolt
Boss Blade
Boss High Flow Valve Pin
WGP Unimount
Strengths: Angling allows to keep elbow in tight
Comfortably rests tank on shoulder
Sharp looking
Unique
Weaknesses: Well, chrome was hard to come by, other than that, nothing
Review: I purchased this drop after seeing that I wasnt a fan of the way my on/off sat on my Lightning Drop by CP. I was in the market for a new one and came across a recommendation online claiming that "the FBM Stiletto is the best drop on the market."

Having no idea what the Stiletto was, I looked up some reviews on it and some basic info on what made it so special and different from other drops. The look of it is cool right off the bat. It can give you gun a very sharp, unique look, seeing as I've never seen any of them around except on my gun.

The functionality of the drop was the real selling point for me. I'm a rather tall (6-2), lanky (185 lbs) player and tend to have a body part sticking out and get pegged there during games. Foot, calf, elbow, you name it. However, I had noticed that since adding the Lightning drop, I had been gettin tagged in the elbow more often. The Stiletto appeared to stop this from the reviews I read. Since adding it, I have yet to get hit in the elbow and can almost hide my entire arm behind my marker. Even turning my wrist to walk to the trigger doesn't crank up my wrist as much anymore. Also, the kick is easier to control on my blowback because I can pin my gun very snug against my shoulder.

It definitely gave me an easier time walking the trigger, and coupled with my Boss Blade have made my gun very easy to cap out the board. After adding those two pieces, I'm very excited to see what this is like with the T-Board.
Conclusion: If you use drops, and are looking to get a new one, looking to be different, or try a new idea, then definitely give the Stiletto a try. You won't be disappointed.

Right now, you can buy the Stiletto/ASA combo for 44 bucks and save about 20 by buying them together.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EmptySkuLL Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several different drops, none really compare to this as the upward angle is unique.
Marker Setup: Dye DM5
Dye Throttle 71/4500
Empire Reloader B
SM-1 Orbium3 Kit
Orange S.A.M. DM5 Bolt
FBM Stiletto Drop
FBM Delrin Blade Trigger
FBM Clamping QR Feed
Advantage Virtue DM5

Eclipse Ego
Crossfire 68/4500 red
Empire Reloader B
Stiffi Switch
Ego Dart Bolt
FBM Stiletto Drop
V .17 board (Ego).
Strengths: Well made
Comfortable position
Reduces profile
Perfect shoulder rest, frees trigger hand for faster walking.
Weaknesses: May have trouble mounting certain ASA's (see review.)
Review: I purchased 2 of these drops, one for each of my markers.

After hours of searching online to find a straight drop forward with no downward angle that could clear a nitro tank setup, I stumbled on this drop and it looked like exactly what I wanted. I didn't want a drop that angled downward because I hate having my elbow cocked out (been tagged there a few times,) so I was looking for a straight drop because I like using the butt of the tank as a shoulder stock. Problem was, most of the straight drops that I looked at seemed to be engineered for skinny CO2 tanks and it didn't seem (to me anyways, but I could be wrong) that it would clear a fat Nitro tank. Anyhow, I just happened to stumble across Fireball Mountains website and saw this thing and fell in love with it on the spot. Just what i was looking for, lets me rest the tank on my shoulder AND drops the whole marker setup down for a lower profile.

Ordering from their website was fast and simple, no problems. Order arrived in 4 days.

The fit on my DM5 was perfect, no tweaking or new macroline needed, straight bolt in, removed the ASA, screwed in the drop, remount the ASA, done. Friggin love it! Angles the tank up to rest on your shoulder, while bringing the whole marker & hopper setup downward (fewer hopper hits!) Moves the balance point of the marker setup forward to keep it more centrally balanced, although its not perfectly balanced its much better than stock (anything helps with these fat heavy nitro tanks.) Actually the balance is sort of a moot point now as you can rest the tank on your shoulder and free up your trigger hand to walk the trigger faster using your fingertips than you could by having to support the marker with a death grip with your bottom 2 fingers and thumb.

The fit on the Ego was a little of a challenge. The fit to the bottom of the marker was perfect, straight bolt on, no problems. The problem started with the rail end. The ASA included with the Ego (the OOPS) has this funky inward and upward curve on the mounting rail towards the back of the unit, the rail doesn't go all the way from front to back (Ego owners will know what im talking about.) I had to do a little grinding on the drop itself, almost 3/8 inch at the back to get it to match up to the Ego ASA. So I get the back to fit, then look and the front of the drop rail sticks out too far and interferes with the OOPS knob, more grinding, about 1/8 inch on the front this time to clear the knob. Ok, so now everything fits, except the macroline.... too short. New macroline. After all that, the drop fits perfectly and feels just like the drop on my DM5.

If you have an Ego, I would recommend that you buy the stiletto drop with the built in ASA. If you cant live without your Ego OOPS ASA and you have access to a bench grinder and have a little grinding skill you should be fine too. Third option is to use another ASA, the Dye ASA that comes with the DM5 can be purchased separately and fit perfectly on the bottom of the stiletto.

I don't believe that the problem was with the FBM drop though, I think that this problem was specific to the Eclipse OOPS ASA. Other ASA's shouldn't have this problem. Any ASA that has rail cuts that go completely from front to back should fit fine. The design of the rail on the FBM drop is great, actually its long and affords you more options on weather you want the ASA further forward or backward.
Conclusion: The only real downfall I can see is that with the way the tank is angled your ASA becomes the lowest point on your marker setup, if you're not careful you could bang your ASA on the ground if you're diving or crawling (maybe that's not a downfall though, last time I checked ASA's were cheaper than Nitro tanks.)

I recommend this drop to anyone that wants to reduce the profile of their marker setup. Also recommend this to anybody who likes resting their tank on their shoulder. The angle of the tank is perfect for this. Anybody with a DM5 should get this drop, it balances the marker and makes it easier to get ropes walking the trigger. Also recommend for anybody with an Ego, if you're willing to do some work. If not, just buy the stiletto with the built in ASA. Innovative product. Try one you'll love it. I give this product a 10 even though I had trouble with mounting the EGO ASA, it wasn't really their fault though. They were thoughtful enough to have an alternate product that could handle such problems.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JMWPainter Tuesday, April 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have tried many other drops but never liked any so I never bought them because they drop the tank but raise the loader, so I've done without.
Marker Setup: 04 Black Impulse with a shocktech bolt, Black CP front reg and the rest is all Blue NDZ upgrades & parts.
Strengths: It angles the tank in a better position than other drops.
Weaknesses: No other styles, sizes, or colors.
Idiots tease you; fear of change.
Review: This drop puts the tank downward and at an angle so the bottom of the tank is pointed up at you bringing the entire marker closer to you without bringing your loader and marker any higher.

Other drops drop the tank but if you still put the tank on your shoulder like the stock of a gun it doesn't drop anything. It actually raises everything making you a taller target with your hooper/loader sticking out even higher than it was. Yes, you can adjust the way you play but you have to or else you'll get paint in the face.

This concept actually does what it says. It drops your entire marker and brings the marker closer to you without any "side effects".
Conclusion: If you are trying to play tight to the wall, this is the perfect drop. The concept is out of the box not to be different but to be right. It is a different concept because everyone else does it wrong and copes with it.

This concept actually does what it says. It drops your entire marker and brings the marker closer to you without any "side effects".
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gwapingn8 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: 2005 custom made syndicate autococker
empire reloader
stilletto drop forward with new designz on/off
twisted bolt
14 smart parts progressive barell
68/4500 Pure Energy N2
Strengths: Strength, angle, dependibility, etc.
Weaknesses: Maybe a bit pricey, need to buy an on/off
Review: if you haven't bough one of these, i suggest you should.
it gives your game a whole new different angle.

and when i mean by ANGLE.

it gives you advantage,
makes your marker a bit more compact.
and takes away some weight from the back of your marker.
the drop forward angles your tank to about 30 degress up, decreasing
the weight of the back of your marker (because of the tank) i use a 68/4500.

and the angle gives you a more lighter and more easier way of manuevering
your way around terrains and things.

test it, i'm sure you will love it... just take a look at what people rated this product here
in PB.... almost everyone gave it 10. so that should speak for itself.
Conclusion: BUY BUY BUY!!!
it is a great addition to your marker!
and need i say that it is also compatible
with tippman products without the use of an adaptor.
just find yourself a great on/off to pair it with, and you are set to rock!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lt. Newbie Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
They have a power angle if you don't want their exact drop.
Marker Setup: omen 2.0
egg II
smart parts Q-Lock feedneck
stiletto drop forward
PMI 88/4.5k carbon fiber
J&J edge elite barrel kit
Strengths: Lowers and angles tank.
Weaknesses: None that I can see.
Review: I really like the drop forward. It's different than most of the same of the mill drops. My gun isn't back heavy like it was with the bottomline. Very easy to install and everything is included. Just make sure you have an allen wrench set. Also make sure your hose is long enough or have a macro kit or another line so when you install it you won't have to worry about length. I lost about 3 inches from the back with this drop. My gun is so short that it's amazing.
Conclusion: I love this drop. It's great looking. It keeps your ASA very snug. It shortens your gun length. It's a great product and I highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drg Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Duckbill ASAs
Various drops and vertical ASAs
Marker Setup: Mini Turtle cocker w/E1, 14" Evil Pipe, 68/45 Crossfire
Bushmaster SI 14"
Sidekick Stock
Strengths: Performance/design
Weaknesses: Quality control
Review: I like this drop a lot. It's not like the others.

The innovative design concept employed by this product really does work. It's tight, versatile and even a bit stylish. I find it comfortable and it addresses the added vertical profile "problem" most anti-drop folks have. In fact you can lower your gun's profile, all while still keeping the tank cradled on your arm for maximum comfort.

My issue with this product was quality control. I had a possible issue with the dovetail and a definite issue with the threading in one of the holes meant for the set screws (binding in both). I managed to make it all work with some force, though, so I have a working drop and am pleased with it. Seems like most other reviewers didn't have these issues, so I could have got a bad one. I have no reason to believe FBM would not have warrantied the part; they seem to be an efficient and responsive business.
Conclusion: Highly recommended for people who like drops but want extra comfort and versatility. Even anti-drop folks should give one a feel, it might just change their minds. -1 point for quality control issue for a final rating of 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media