paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt / Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt / Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt / Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt / Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt

Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pro-Team Products

Buy Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Lightweight aircraft aluminum construction with anodized finish. Now available to fit the new "plastic" powertube. This high performance design helps improve the accuracy of your Model 98. The stock bolt forces the gas out thru 1 small opening directly behind the paintball. This design diffuses the gas so that it propels the paintball out uniformly. This should result in a more accurate shot.
Product Availability 
The Pro-Team Products Star Front Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Eladamri Friday, November 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock 98/A-5 bolt
Marker Setup: M98,dye Xcel, Double trigger, 5.5 inch drop forward, 9v revvy
2003 Vision Impulse, SP Freak, ND magnetic trigger, Tapeworm, Twister Feedneck
Strengths: It's not worse than the stock bolt.
Weaknesses: It's not any better than the stock bolt.
Review: Whether or not this product is worth the money seems to be a reoccurring question in the Tippmann marker forum here at Pbreview. I have shot a 98 with the hyperstar bolt side by side with a 98 with the stock bolt. There is no noticable difference. The upgrade sticky in the Tippmann forum also states that you will recieve no benefit from purchasing this bolt. Some markers such as spyders may benefit from an upgraded bolt, but not the Tippmanns. Don't buy into the hype, just keep your stock Tippmann bolt.

*Update - My reply to the "disputed" accuracy of my review can be found in the comments section. It is now March of 2007 and my opinion of aftermarket bolts for Tippmann markers has not changed. Please see my comment for a more in-depth discussion.
Conclusion: There is no reason to buy this bolt, save your money for a better upgrade. I'm rating this a 2 simply because it is not worse than stock bolt but it is a waste of money.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 7:04 am PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Kirk_Nelson Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: -A-5 / Psycho Ballistics A-5 Bolt / E-Grip / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / T6 Adjustable Stock/ Expansion Chamber.
-98C / Tippmann X-Chamber / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Progressive 16" dust black / Response Trigger / Empire Reloader B / Drop-Forward.
-DMC / Empire Reloader B / 68.4500 hpa tank.
Strengths: -Improvement overall
-Accurracy
-No ball breakage
Weaknesses: See review, can't explain in 15 words.
Review: So now to the review. My bolt was the first upgrade on my A-5 and my barrel was the last....but anyway. A.d.d....sry. I installed this bolt and took my gun out to my backyard and tested it. There was a noticable improvement over the stock bolt. I fell in love with it. It did sound a little different when I cocked it and fired when there was no air attached and that was the only thing but it did not affect the gun at all, I am a little picky and I just didn't like it.

I got this bolt about two weeks after I got the gun and before I got the bolt I shot about 500 rounds out my backyard and there were no breaks. It has been about 7 or so months since I have had the new bolt and I have shot about 12,000 rounds or so and I have never, I repeat never had a ball break and I was not using top of the line paint either. Wal-Mart paint, Big Ball and/or Super Swirl. I have also used Pro Ball and Ink'd. Still no breaks. I think this is a must and should be one of your first upgrades to an A-5 and/or 98C. It has the same affect on the 98C also, improved accurracy. Still that same sound though when cocked and no air attached but no biggie.

The bolt has a more cuped shape so it fits nicely around the ball. Before you install the new bolt take the stock bolt and the new one and place a paintball on both of the and you will see what I mean. I think that is waht leads to less/no ball breakages.
Conclusion: Great bolt and great improvement.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 21st, 2006 at 9:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agent smithh Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Star Front Bolt
Flatline Barrel
Compressed Air
Strengths: Air Consistancy = Consistance shots (especially needed for flatline barrel).
Weaknesses: I will post a response once I find one.
Review: I recomment this produce if you are using a flatline barrel on a tippmann a-5 or custom 98. I have tested it on both and have seen major improvements with my shooting consistancy.

Having a flatline barrel you notice the distance, but not accuracy. With this bolt air flow is more consistant.

Keep in mind my velocity is at 275 and I clean my barrel in hot water and use marballizer or evil paintballs recommended for flatlines.
Conclusion: this is a very good product for air consistancy. Recommend if using a flatline barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BC0 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Stock Front Bolts
Marker Setup: - tippmann A-5
- Lapco 8" bigshot
- Hyperstar Front bolt
Strengths: Much better accurracy, Price, Shot consisntancy
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I originally got this front bolt for my 98c wich I was using at the time. It worked wonders for that gun accurracy and consistancy. I knew when I purhased it, it was also compatable with the A-5. So i brought home my A-5 and wanted to see how it shot stocked out.... to tell the truth it wasn't very good so I went inside to put in the star bolt, took it back out and shot it again. It raised the accurracy I dont know how much.. (but it was a lot) and the consistancy by 75% out of the stock barrel.
Conclusion: Its cheap, effective, easy to obtain and put in. I would recommend the Hyperstar Front bolt to anybody with a M-98, 98c or A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer2387 Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolts
Marker Setup: A5
R/T
phyco bullistics star bolt
BT Apex
16in J & J
14in smartparts linear
Strengths: Made the a5 quiter, smother shot, 0 chops
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well i played all day with it and had no problems, i noticed it was alot quiter then the stock bolt. i also noticed that the over all shot consistancy was alot better also. i would have liked to have use better quality paintballs but i used walmart specials, monster ball, they did alright. i had not chops and no jams.
Conclusion: I will repost when i play again, the weather was ideal for playing today was about 70 and cloudy, no wind. i believe that this bolt fuctioned perfectly that it was the paintballs were what was affecting the actual accuracy of the gun, once i have more time with it i will be able to fully evaluate this bolt, it resieves a 9 for now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

budokaiboy Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt. The star bolt seems to give better groupings.
Marker Setup: A5 R/T
Strengths: Cheap. Increases accuracy.
Weaknesses: Seems to catch a bit on the power tube while the stock bolt moved smoothly.
Review: I just bought 2 of these for my A5's. I used a crossfire air bottle and a stock A5 barrel from about 20 yards away (I live in a city) I saw significantly better groupings. It was like adding a nice barrel. I've heard that there are ones that aren't the "Hyper-Star" bolt but a kock-off? My new bolt does catch a bit on the power tube. Could probably use a tiny bit of sanding but the gun functioned fine so I left it alone. I paid $20 for mine but I feel it was well worth it. You do have to split the A5 to put it in.
Conclusion: I would get it. It's and effective. I give it a 9 only because one of them (haven't installed the other one yet) had a rough spot on the inner diameter. And $20 for a plastic ring is a bit pricey.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Highrise Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the standard bolt
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, Empire Twister, CO2
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: Ok, this bolt is one of the best upgrades you can get for your A-5, hands down. For the price, you just can't beat it. On my Twister barrel, the consistancy of my accuracy rose 75%. On the flatline, my accuracy wasn't all that good, but I was using crappy paint, and we all know how picky the Flatline is when it comes to paint.
Conclusion: Buy it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cagg Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RT, remote line, starfire bolt
Strengths: -More accurate
-More consistant shots
-Price
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: this is probaly one of the best upgrades you can get for you gun for under 20 $. This bolt adds some accuracy. And improves you shot consistancy by alot. My gun (stock) shot within about 4-5 foot shot away consistancy, but after i got this bolt it narrowed down to about 1foot shot consistancy.
Conclusion: This is one of the best upgrades you can get for your gun for under 20 $
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

genovagen Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolts
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, 14" Empire twister barrel, lapco offset sight mount, red dot sight, expansion chamber,
Strengths: Consistancy, Accuracy, Not hard to install.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: i bought these because i wanted consistent shots and hoped that it would be better on grouping. I was right, i installed 3 of these all into tippmann A-5's and tested. first i tested with on gun installed with expansion chamber against stock with expansion chamber, i noticed that the grouping was quite a bit tighter at least 3 inches tighter that stock bolt, i could hit the same splat of a previous ball at about 60-80 feet away. in my opinion thats really good! after that distance of of course the ball starts loosing momentum and it hits right under the shot which is still good (aim up for longer distance ;) "woods ball only" ) then i tested against stock with no expansion chamber, of course the consistency went down and air consumption went up so really i think it needs a expansion chamber to work the best.
Conclusion: In conclusion i found that coupled with a expansion chamber the product excels, but i cant say it doesn't do what it advertises without a expansion chamber you just wont see a MAJOR differences and keep in mind that cheap balls no matter what good awesome stuff you put into your gun will just suck no matter what so if your going to buy cheap balls and expect this to matter don't (wild streak 's, anything brass eagle, anything under 30 bucks) but if you are a accuracy freak like me GET IT! it works! so i give this a 10, it does what it says for the a-5 nothing more nothing less.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5_headhunter69 Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal stock bolt
Marker Setup: tippman a5 with rt, star bolt, lapco universal mount with 32* universal drop, and dye 14 inch bommstick
Strengths: immproves accuracy, & consistancy , but dont forget the price price
Weaknesses: none
Review: well bascially tis product replaces the front normal round holed plastic front with a star shaped inner one, it allows for much better accuracy and belive me it does. now that i have a boomstick and this bolt my gun is sooo accurate. i mean really kickin, i hit a hole the size of a paintball on 4 th try , and every other shot was right around it. i can actually use the sight on a5 now (not a red dot but the one that is on the front of the gun.
Conclusion: i defineately would recomend getting a new barrel to increase ur accuracy first, but it still is worth every penny , i got mine at my local store ohio for 8 bucks
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media