paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Racegun Products Halfblock / Racegun Products Halfblock / Racegun Products Halfblock / Racegun Products Halfblock

Racegun Products Halfblock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Racegun Products

Buy Racegun Products Halfblock

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Racegun Products Halfblock
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1395

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New ‘05 Halfblock from Racegun comes fully upgraded and ready to R.I.P.

Tournament Ready
Very Light weight & Fast with Closed bolt accuracy and distance
The best pneumatic parts in the industry ano’d to match.
MacDev Gladiator Inline Regulator
Chipley CCM Ram
Palmer’s Micro Rock LPR.
Adjustable Feed Tube
Delrin Bolt
Aluminum Pump Arm & IVG
Break Beam Eyes with Dual Ball Detents
Made in the USA

The new ‘05 Halfblocks are designed around the ’05 Race Grip from Racegun. It is even lighter and faster then last year’s model. The Body is custom milled from a solid block of Billet Aluminum. It is not a cut down Cocker body. The Feed tube is milled into the body so it can’t break loose. The adjustable feed tube is made to fit a Halo without alterations.
The options are almost limitless, talk to Tom at Race and see what he can do for you. The accuracy and reliablility of a cocker and speed that beats Angels and Timmy's.
Product Availability 
The Racegun Products Halfblock is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Amok B Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO Autococker
Smart Parts Shocker (2000)
Angel LCD (2000)
ANS Gxe Autococker with Racegun grip
Planet Eclipse Autococker (Directors Cut)
Marker Setup: Racegun Halfblock
Sanchez Machine SM-1 barrel kit
Palmer Micro Rock reg
Belsales 44 Magnum ram with Qev's (CP ram comes stock, but i changed it for the 44)
Mac Dev Gladiator inline reg
Mac Dev Conquest air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
It comes stock with a CP ram which is nice. But the 44 Mag from Belsales is better (no doubt).
Strengths: Light.
Small.
Fast.
Very stable shooting platform.
Cocker without backblock
Firmware up-loadable by user.
Weaknesses: WHAT??? Ok!!!

Autococker = Different working philosophy = Might unfase you a bit.
Review: Speed:
The name tells it all. Racegun.
The electronic grip took away the slower firing rates from the autococker body.
This gun IS fast.
I've placed a spring to give the trigger (there's a groove to keep the spring in place) a snappy feel.
Better use a force feed loader.
There's also a bearing roller trigger available for those who like no side-play at all on a trigger.


Hitting what you aim for:
This is the sum of a number of factors:
-The player. Well... that's up to you.
-Paint to barrel bore match. SM-1 kit takes care of it.
-Consistency. The main valve plus the spring set up work very well. The inline reg needs around a case of paint, 2000 balls, to be rock steady (I know this because i've placed a minigauge under the frontblock)
The end result is very very very nice.


Stability:
Less cocking mass (halfblocked remember ?).
The sear has a nice (and copyright) trick/gizmo to smooth the releasing of the hammer (a roller cage is dropped/tripped to release the hammer).
I've shot autocockers before, but the moving mass clanking inside, plus the back block hammering away near my face set me off. The Halfblock is very stable though. That's one thing i look for in a gun, and this one has it.


Handling:
The gun is light, small (the Reloader B looks big on top of it) and shooter friendly.


Manufacturer support:
Racegun is not the biggest company around. This means you are not just a number on their costumer care list, but also means they don't have the best reply time (manly because of in-house employee numbers i think). Their staff cares for you, they have a very helpful web forum, but some times you have to be patient.
They also attend some big tournaments (Europe and US)

Control:
The board is quite flexible. The settings are carried out thru a link port (via PC, laptop or Palm handheld). Firmware is free, updated regularly and up-loadable into the board thru the link (anyone can do it, anywhere).
The grip is standard 45 (nice when you have to choose grip covers).
The gun comes stock with nice break beam eyes.


Looks:
The halfblock shape stands out.
Anodize is well done.
No machining problems i've noticed.
Some guys say the feedneck looks to tall, but you need that free space to look thru and aim.
Conclusion: I've rated this a 10. You might get the idea (reading some of my one lines above) i'm pushing it. Hmm... after 11 months of using it (in the field it's my own skills holding me down, not the gun) and 3 re-readings of my own words... NOT!!!
There are good guns for less money but...
If you can afford this, and are not afraid to maintain your autococker, THIS IS A GREAT CHOICE.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 12th, 2005 at 10:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

racegun-baller Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
merlins, e-blades, protos, dm's, timmys, freestlyes
Marker Setup: i have an o5 raceguns red white and blue
a gen 2 freestyle with nox and he bolt
gen one inpulse
aka merlin form jmj concepts
Recommended
Upgrades:
hi flow mrico line, cp asa, and sidewinder reg
Strengths: Fast as hell, shoot great, looks great, feels great!!!
Weaknesses: Do not use if you are just starting out, for experinced players only!!!!!!!
Review: it is a great gun, shoot way fast and clean. the eyes dont work to good so play with them off....trust me it shoot way faster with out breaking paint. its easy to use but if you do something wrong it WILL BREAK. sometime it will break for mo reason. it is easy to clean. i got my to 19 bps. they are one of the fastest gun i have ever shoot if not the fastest. it just take alot of work to take care of.
Conclusion: Buy one if you want be keep in mind it can and will break, but when its working it will kill a s*** load of fools
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blindincolor Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nexus Cocker, E-bladed Super-stock, Racegun bump frame, Shocker, DM4, Angel.

I'm amazed by this gun, It's a cocker and even though I have had a thing against cockers it has had no problems, shoots faster than the timmys and trixes on my team and when comparing accuracy it shoots darts, ball on ball, especially with the race kit.
Marker Setup: Empire Halo
Crossfire 45/45
Check it Uni-mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing.
Strengths: Accurate, great range, fast, many modes, tiny.
Weaknesses: Back block set screw
High rise
Review: the gun easily outperforms my NME and the only problem I have has it loosing the bolt pin. It sometimes catches on my pocket so instead of being on my gun it ends up in my pocket. Whatever I fixed the problem.

The gun is extremely small and light, though there is a small amount of kick once you are used to it you can barely feel it.

set screw in back block must be lock tighted down.
Conclusion: great gun, it is very expensive but check out pbnation I got mine with a race kit for $940
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thegear Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eblade,Vikings and others
Marker Setup: HB
Conquest 88/45
Stiffie/Longbow/UL


Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
CCM No rise
Strengths: ROF
Lightwight
Reliable
Great Software options
Great Eyes
Weaknesses: Cannot be programmed through the grip, although they are working on a LCD option
Review: This gun completely fulfilled my expectations. The Support Racegun USA has given me has been nothing sort of amazing. Tom is a great guy to work with and always answered my emails quickly. The Gun itself was a marvel, shooting 20 BPS with no chops at all.

I have yet to have this gun go down on me that a little troubleshooting didnt fix (all were user errors)

I would recommend one to anybody wanting to get away from the timmie/trix following and have a better preforming gun
Conclusion: I would buy this marker again in a heartbeat. Well worth the price due to the customer service you recieve along with it.

I would give this a 10 if it came with some skills for me as well
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JordanLeyva Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Racegun HalfBlock with SM-1 Barrel Set, Vlocity with Select Force, AKA sidewinder Low Pressure Regulator, CP easy ON/OFF, PMI 68/4500 w/Centerflag reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST HOPPER
Strengths: FAST... LIGHT... SMALL... ACCURATE... B-E-A-UTIFUL... ZERO KICK(in my humbling opinion)
Weaknesses: RACEGUN USA went OUTTA BUSY NESS. still has support on there uk site though.
Review: this gun is awesome. programmable, light, fast, accurate, easy to clean. extremely rare, never seen another 'cept for one other HB.

for some odd reason, people keep on asking me if I play on a paintball team. LOL. just get out and stay out, no need for chit chat right?
Conclusion: Buy it, its a collectors item at worst, killer at best. Looks great, performs great. NO ONE WILL HAVE THEM in a few years, i'm going to keep mine as a back-up next year, and save it as the my first HIGH-END marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every paintball market that has been on the maket since 2000
Marker Setup: Nexus ego g4h
PM7
Pm5+ul
DM5+pred 10.0
Dark IR3 + pred 5.0
Tremor NXT
Camo Alias
Quest
AKA viking (about 10 of them)
Multiple ebales
Multiple mech cockers

I have way to many guns.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel Kit
Strengths: Size, speed, rechargeable battery, uniqeness.
Weaknesses: Cannot adjust hte marker through the gripframe
Review: So I have owned over 100 high end markers in my time, this is somewhere on my top 5 list of all time favorite markers. I picked it up when egos and dms ruled the fields. I always pride myself on shooting what no else shoots. This thing flat out mows. I have never shot a marker in semi that can do with this sucker does. It looks good, and is smaller then pretty much every other marker on the market in 2007. The one issue i have with the gun is that there is no way of programming the marker at the field unless you have a laptop and even then, many laptops do not have the correct port. (as i found out the hard way) :(

My top 5 list (no order)
JMJ factory 2004 viking
2004 bonebrake Viking
My original Abomb "Sexxxbomb"
Nasty SFT shocker + tonton frame+dynaty tadao

Conclusion: If you know what makes a cocker tick, buy. set up. take to field. add paint+air. then prepare to send lots of people to the dead box and when a kid asks what kid of ion it is just shoot him a few more times and tell the kid it is an autococker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haniousman12 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all sorts of 'cockers and i really do not like them but this one is by far the best one that ive ever tested
Marker Setup: SP Black ION
NDZ lo rise feedneck
NDZ blade trigger
NDZ detents
SP rail drop
CP on/off ASA
mods
Strengths: Small
the bolt is half the size
Good coustomer service
could use a smaller feedneck
Weaknesses: The kick (but you can get use to it)
Review: i only tested this marker at the XPSL event in corona CA. the owner and i went over to the chrono booth with the marker and there was a group of guys there who where chronoing their DM5's and martixes and he handed me the marker and i was hitting the cross peice everytime and they all looked up and said "what is that" the owner ha a great smile on his face and i was like "holy crap this gun is fast" i had fun shooting it. i do not like cockers becayse there bulky, they have alot of kick, and i just not a fan. the Raceguns are small, not long at all, and the kick is not as bad as some of the others.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this marker to anyone who wants a cocker and still wants a small marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchilde316 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS Raceframe on 02 WGP Black Magic (mine)
Eblade (tested)
04 Viking (tested)
03 Shocker (tested)
Marker Setup: 05 Racegun Halfblock
04 MacDev Conquest
Race SM-1 Barrel/7 inserts
Recommended
Upgrades:
*maybe* a shorter feedkneck.
Strengths: It's light, it's fast, it's pretty.
Weaknesses: My gun didn't work when I got it, had to return it
Review: Ok, I've been a fan of raceguns since I got my ANS frame in early 03. So when 05 rolled around and I started shopping for a new gun, I looked at the halfblocks. I've always thought they were pretty, and just looking at pictures of them you can tell they are really small, so I decided to go for it. I called Tom at Race US and he really helped me out, including cutting me a good deal on some other stuff I was interested in, and so I went ahead and went for it.

Unlike some people might tell you, I got my gun 7 days after I bought it. I've heard horror stories of weeks or months until it comes in, but I didn't have any problems with that.

I got it out, and messed with it some, gassed it up and it didn't fire. There was a problem with the seer catching and/or releasing. I'm not sure the issue was, but it seemed that I was among the first to discover a new overall issue that is now being corrected with the 05s. In any case, I shipped it back to them, on thier dime, and fixed it right up. Now, they are doing some tech work on my OTHER Race gun for me, getting it upgraded, so they haven't shipped it back to me but I've gotten multiple assurances that it's running perfect now, and they have offered to ship it to me but I asked them to ship both together.

What I do know is that it's light, the trigger is short and fast, it's pretty, and all the parts on it from Race are top quality. The customer service has been tip top, and they have done everything they could do to fix the problem I had with my gun. For me, the delay hasn't been a horrible issue, because I live in the midwest where the fields are just now opening after the winter.
Conclusion: I like it. I'm sure I'll be happy when it gets back this weekend. I wish it'd have worked when it came the first time, but since I already had a cocker with a race frame, I know what it'll do and who it'll work. If you want an autococker to be fast, but don't like who the eblade feels (which was my reason for the race in the first place) then this is the gun for you. I'm gonna give it a 7 right now, but that's just because I don't actually have it back yet and it didn't work when I got it. I'm sure I'll call it a 10 when I get it back this week!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bcox71 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2 Half Block race guns
Ex-Cal
E-Blade
CCM SS-25
Marker Setup: Excalibur, Eclipse on/off, J&J ceramic Edge kit
CCM SS25 , Hammerhead
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Customer Service Is TERRIBLE!!!!!!
Review: I have owned 2 of these markers for 6 months now, They have both been sent back 2 times now and I can still only put one working marker together useing both markers.
One marker has a bad board and still hasnt been fixed the other had bad eyes, the cocking rod connecting the back block has broken and the batter charging port dosent work.

I have been trying to contact Race gun USA for 3 months now and still have had no response what so ever.

It should tell you something when there tech support line is never answered and the mail box is always Full......
Conclusion: Would be a nice marker if they just had the support there.
This marker WILL break and I wish you luck getting it fixed.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jokerz Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nexus Autococker with Eblade 2
Turtle Autococker with Eblade 2
Marker Setup: 2005 RaceGun Halfblock
Pure Energy 4500 psi 68 cu tank
MacDev Gladiator Reg.
Race Barrel Kit
Planet Eclipse Nexus Upgrade Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Planet Eclipse Nexus Upgrade Kit
Eblade 2
Strengths: Light Weight and compact. Its an Autococker.Race barrel kit shoots darts!
Weaknesses: Markers should be tested before leaving RaceGun U.S.A.
Review: Well, I was really excited when my uncle received his marker. I sent my gun to get "Turtled" by Bob Long, while he decided to get a Halfblock 05 RaceGun. Anyway, it arrived 6 weeks after he ordered it (not bad considering Canada Customs). The first thing that was wrong was he had ordered the big bore Race Barrel kit and he was sent the small bore kit. (he had to order the big bore sleeves afterwards separately) no big deal just $45.00 more. We read the instructions setting up the gun on the included CD and charged the batttery for good measure. 30 minutes later we aired her up with a Halo and Midevil paint and headed for the back yard. He fired the first 10 shots only to find them dropping 30 feet infront of us. I checked the bolt, it was placed in upside down...honest mistake...it happens to the best of us. So the bolt was flipped over and he fired off another 10 shots, this time they went farther but there was still drop off. A quick check with a chrony showed the gun shooting 190 fps. We turned the IVG inward to increase the velocity after sweetspoting the reg. Still not much of a change -225 fps.
A quick call to RaceGun and we were told that the MacDev Reg needed 8000 shots to break in and that the mainspring was set for the use in California. After working on the velocity issue for 3 days, and at the advice of our teamates my uncle purchased a Nexus Upgrade Kit. Wow! what a difference. The gun started cycling a lot more smoother and faster with the Nexus Ram and QEVs . Low velocity was no longer a problem after the Rex Kit was installed.

Fine tuning the grip - Well the next step was to work on getting the grip programmed properly. We used the 5 minute timing guide (included with the RIP and Firmware software) only to find that the recommend values for the settings did not work. (lots of paint chopping and burping) Another call to RaceGun and we were told that the timing guide didn't work for the new Race Valve and we were given new settings to try. Our final settings are 6- 6- 1- 1- 17 and it seems to work. The gun shoots fast but I don't think it comes close to my E2. (For fun, we mounted my EBlade 2 on to the RaceGun with no eyes, setting on fast and he can dump a Halo full of paint in 10 seconds)

The following weekend we played in a small local tourny. The RaceGun performed well up until the middle of the final game. (8200 rounds and no breaks) My uncle was shooting down into his mirror bunker, he nailed the first guy behind the bunker but, when he went to go shoot the second guy his bolt shot back at him, hitting him in the goggles. The bolt pin had snapped in two pieces. Oh well at least we won.

We took some pictures of the pin and sent them to RaceGun and they have sent us two new pins free of charge. Maybe the gun is jinxed ?

Oh yeah, the Race Barrel Kit is awesome. It shoots straight and flat. Very accurate. It is easy to setup and the tool for barrel mounting and removal is ingenious!

Just an update (March 21st, 2005) : well the gun of doom has struck again...we played in a BIG GAME yesterday...the sear broke. My uncle is upset that his new marker is a piece of "junk" or should I say jinxed. I think he's serious about sending the grip back and slapping an EBLADE2 on the body. I'm changing my rating to a 5 out of 10.
Conclusion: Overall I think the RaceGun is a good marker. The customer service at RaceGun is exceptional...Thank You. However, I think care should be put into testing each marker before shipping would insure that RaceGun get their fair share of the market. I give it a 7 because I believe a high end marker should not require that much tinkering to get it going, but I respect the staff a RaceGunU.S. for their customer service. Would I buy this gun...no, NOT UNTIL THEY WORK ALL THE BUGS OUT....I honestley like the feel of the size of the grip (not large like the E2) but for me the trigger has too much side to side play . I find it to be a little sloppy and not very crisp. With the trigger filter on, the is no bounce at all, but I find shooting large volumes of paint a little difficult.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 at 1:14 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media