paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Valve Kit / Evil Valve Kit / Evil Valve Kit / Evil Valve Kit / Evil Valve Kit

Evil Valve Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Valve Kit

Paintball Spyder Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Valve Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What can I say about this? It is the single most efficient valve ever created by humankind. It is actually up for a 1st place blue ribbon prize at the 2nd grade Northside school for the limbless invention convention festival. Sweet.
Product Availability 
The Evil Valve Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
yo soy el warg Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None exactly similar; However, I have used the New Designz HP valve assembly, which didn't fit my needs (WILL NOT SEAL UNDER 300 PSI) so I modded that and then bought the Evil Valve Kit.
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo with FBM Locking feedneck, Powerlyte Speedline, Shocktech Supafly bolt, Evil Valve Kit w/VL valve stem; NO LEAKS!, 32 degrees springs, Twisted Volumizer, CCM reg, Polished Hammer (did it myself; dremel owns) Custom Products rail and On/Off with a Crossfire 45/3000 tank. Oh, and the revvy, of course.
Strengths: Low pressure, efficient (with right parts-see review.)
Overall Nice design.
Weaknesses: -THE STOCK VALVE STEM = TRASH
-The valve screw on Piranha's has to be modded.
Review: Ok, first of all out of the box this valve is rather impressive. The design on the new gen. for a cup seat is rather ingenious; a beveled ring instead of a lip that sticks out. This provides for high flow and awesome efficiency, and there is a small hole on the hammer side that provides air flow for recocking. Very nice as well. Both of these components contribute to why this valve is such an incredible air saver; however, there are a few key problems that MUST be fixed:
1. So you bought the valve; good choice, but first thing you must do is this: take that black excuse for a cup seal/valve stem and throw it away if you're running LP. HP, then it's not a problem. Don't worry, I'll explain where to get a sealing stem/cup seal later.
2. If you have a Piranha, you must either take your valve screw and sand it down / use a dremel to grind it down until it will fit the SMALLER hole on the Evil Valve. This way, the air flow will be greater going into the bolt because it is going through the larger hole. If you don't want to do this, however, I believe that Spyder valve screws actually have this smaller valve screw that will fit the Piranha threads. I'm not sure, but the valve screw off my old Genie (Spyder Clone) fit perfect, but I modded the Piranha valve screw to get a perfect seal against the valve body.

THE MAIN PROBLEM: The Valve stem and Cup seal Assembly SUCK. Here's what you do:
Either go to www.bosspaintballproducts.com (previously RJskateworks.com) and purchase his softer cup seal for Evil Valves. I have never personally used this product, but RJ's products are all designed by RJ and are rumored to be the best. Also, if you are using an E-Piranha, pick up one of his Blade triggers as well. Very nice. FBM also has a nice blade for E-Piranhas. Anyway, the second solution that you have is to go to your local pro shop and ask if they have a STOCK cup seal/valve stem assembly for a VIEWLOADER TRIAD or any other viewloader guns. These work PERFECT and are even slotted on one end to get more air flow to the hammer. I personally use this method because I had a VL Triad sitting around and the Evil Valve Stem assembly fit and worked perfect in the Triad.
Conclusion: There you have it. Main Modifications: Throw away valve stem, get VL triad stock valve stem or go to www.bosspaintballproducts.com and buy his softer cup seal for evil valves, and if you're using a Piranha mod the valve screw so it fits the smaller hole. After this, I was able to lower my psi from 300 to 210-Extreme improvement, saved me 100 more shots on my 47/3k.

After those simple modifications, this valve is AWESOME.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 10th, 2006 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeK NeaK Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, first upgraded valve
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
14" Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Pro Team Products Entruder expansion Chamber
Evil Valve Kit
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
20 oz Co2

2005 Autococker Trilogy Pro
Custom Products Flame Drop Forward
Smart Parts On/Off
14" Evil Pipe Kit
Dye Stickey 3 Grips
88 ci 4500 psi Carbon Fiber PMI Pure Energy HPA
Strengths: Quiets the marker, and that is all i can think of for now
Weaknesses: Mine leaked from the second i installed it!
Review: I cannot fully rate this product, but i have used my friends in a spyder and it worked great, i just got a bad one. It quiets the marker down a lot, you get way more shots per fill and you get better accuracy/consistency. I got mine in and could not wait to install it, very easy to install by the way, just fits right in the chamber. I installed it and connected the Co2 and bam, a leak, i called PMI and the customer service is A+. They sent me a new valve pin and it still leaked. So i sent the valve off to them to see what the problem is and when i get it back i will update this review, but again i am rating it on how well it performed in my friends marker and it does exactly what it suppose to. I just got a bad one, it happens all of the time, Evil makes exceptional products and some times things happen and you get a bad product, but customer service makes up for it 10 fold. That's my two cents.
Conclusion: This product is great, the one i got just had a defect, so go buy this it does basicly the same as the tornado valve, but half the price and Evil/PMI has excellent support for their products.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newrising Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder valves
Marker Setup: e1 naughty dog orracle autococker
custom products reg
dye boomstick
check it unimount on/off

BACKUP
spyder electra
evil valve kit
custom products reg
maddman spring kit
Strengths: Iproved airflow
Lower operating pressure
Less kick
Weaknesses: Valve pin and cup seal seem cheap but get the job done
Review: well i bought into the hype off the spyder electra with rocking trigger. i thought it would be nice and i would also have a back up for my cocker. the first time i took it out this thing kicked just as bad as an imaagine. i guess i had high hopes for kingmans high priced gun. once you hit about 8-9 bps its is almost impossible to keep a tight grouping. well next time i made it into my local proshop i decided to look at parts for my new toy. i wanted to get the ndz hp valve but the shop didnt have then the guy behind the counter reaches down and pulls this out. i figured its worth a try so i got that and a spring kit. i got home took the stock valve out, and then generously oiled the evil valve i slid it in pushing it from the back forward with a wooden down. now heres the first problem not a big deal though the valve screw that came wuth the kit didnt fit the electra body. no big deal i just used the stock one. now heres were things really got messed up. The stock valve has an indent in the back and the evil valve doesnt. i didn't notice that until it was in the gun. so i go to put the vlve pin in. it doesnt slide right in like normal. so i put a little bit of lube on it and tried again still doesnt go. now this is partially user error and part evils fault. i grab the hammer and begin to pound it in. that didn't work right away so i looked at the situation and calmed down a little. i unscrewed the valve screw pushed the valve forward just a sliver. and then put the valve pin in. i then pushed the valve back in place and screwed it in problem solved and everything still lined up. Now here is were it gets good seriously. i take the valve pin/cup seal and attach the spring to it. it slides right down into the valve and i reattach my VA. get the gun back together and know for the moment of truth i take my Co2 screw it in and put the gun up to my ear. no leaks. o yeah and i for got to mention i put a medium spring and turned my velocity know out about 1/4 or less. so i take it out side and begin to shoot it a miracle a spyder with absolutely no kick. it increased the accuracy at least 80% ( i don't really know im just guessin).
Conclusion: I dint have the leaking problem some people had. It does quiet the gun and increase the effeciency i get at least 14-1500 shots if my 20 oz. The only problem i have with it is I think that Evil should look at how the stock valves were made and fix the problem with the notch in the back. also not make there valve pin out of plastic. But i think it was made this way to reduce weight. I give it an 8 because it most defiantly get the job done but there is room for improvement.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rbequest Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI turbo valve = much better w/ less problems
Marker Setup: black mamba proto matrix
lucky bolt kit
virtue board
ccm feedneck
CP venom trigger
hybrid rail w/ 06 proto airport
CCM stiffi carbon fiber barrel kit
diamond empire reloader B
71/45 dye throttle
Strengths: It doesn't do anything it is suppose to
smart design if it worked
Weaknesses: Leaks no matter how much work
pretty much everything
Review: I played back at the time, and I was looking to get more shots out of my 88/45, so I decided to pick this up. I got it for just under $30 at the time, which was a little much, but I didn't care as long as it did it's job. I dissassembled my piranha EVO and installed it. I was all ready to compare it to the stock valve, but I couldn't get it to stop leaking, no matter what I did. Several days and god knows how many air fills later, I gave up and decided to call it a FAILURE. So, I was out $30 and had nothing to show for it. If it did all of the things it claimed without leaking, it might be a good upgrade, but I would definetely not recommend this to anybody.
Conclusion: It did nothing but leak, and it cost too much. It was definetely a downgrade for my marker.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

madoxpaintball Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Valve
turbo valve
Marker Setup: 04 Imagine
Aim 6 pc barrel
C5 Dytrix bolt
C5 HPA system
High power inline reg
turbo valve
spring kit
wgp flame drop
Strengths: Very quiet
Very efficient
Weaknesses: design follow through
(explained below)
No instructions
Review: At first I was about to jump on the flame this peice of junk band wagon. I put it in and had nothing but an air leak. Not a small air leak, I loud hisssssss! I did eventually get it to work though. Now my Imagine is so smooth and quiet and efficient! I love it!

Here is how I got it to work.

First I took off the front o-ring that came with it and replaced it with one of the clear replacement o-rings that go on my HPA tank. It's just slightly bigger. Then I took out that spring that came with it, and used the lightest spring from my 32 degree spring kit.

It was an improvement, but still leaked.

After comparing it to my stock valve I noticed that the back of my stock valve was beveled around the outer edge. So I took my orbital sander and beveled the outside edge of my evil valve( VERY CAREFULLY).

Another improvement, but still was leaking.

Then I just decided to turn down my reg to 300 psi. I had been running around 500 psi

Now I could hear just barely a whisper if I put the feed neck to my ear. Even a brand new stock valve will whisper a little until you use it enough that it seats itself properly.

One thing I think people need to know about low pressure is that it takes more than a valve to have a low pressure gun. You have to have a high flow asa. You have to have an LP regulator. You have to have an LP chamber. You have to have a high flow bolt. You will need a spring kit. Compressed air is beneficial. And a barrel set is also not a bad idea. The thing that is different about the Evil valve compared to other valves is that it creates higher flow through timing instead of just making bigger openings for air to go through. It is noticeably quieter than other valves, and I think it improves the accuracy as well. The concept and design of this thing is genius. The design and production follow through was incompetent. what a shame.
Conclusion: This would have been a 10 if I hadn't had to do the finishing work on it But I am going to give this a generous 7. When they get some design follow through I will give it a 10.
Since it now performs like a 10 for me.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

projectl Saturday, April 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker sto and automag
Marker Setup: spyder fenix, ans reg. gen x II, dye boomstick, 16 degrees assault block, FBM stiletto drop forward, ana on/off, dye sticky grips, macro lines, 32 degrees spring kit, (evil valve)
Strengths: None, holes are to small to consider "high flow"
Weaknesses: Leaks like a mofo, hissssssssssssss
Review: I got the same part number because my friend and I ordered the same valve but his looks like the original and mine looks the same although my valve doesn't have a lip that sticks out like his. Anyways his leaks as well, Ive tried using teflon tape, grease, lubed it, electric tape as a gasket, gasket makers, rubber band, paper gasket, balloon pieces, etc... Nothing works the hammers design sucks, it doesn't create a tight seal. I honestly can not recommend this valve. I will try the aka tornado valve next to try to see if that works. I guess you get what you pay for. 15 bucks worth
Conclusion: ill try aka's valve and give a comment on that one, but read this before you buy cause either way i got a diffrent design than my friend who has a fenix as well, and again nothing worked and his orange cup seal busted. Buy at your own risked You have been warned!!! I would give it a 0-10 but Im forced to leave a 1
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Whi86tey Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder shuter, 14" old school one piece all-american barrel, old school smart parts expansion chamber, custom beaver tail and wood grips, custom trigger and trigger pull, evil delrin bolt and evil valve (best combination I've ever used), customized classic VL200 hopper, multiple spring kits
Strengths: awesome low pressure capabilities, much quieter, improves accuracy (less paintball deformation), awesome w/evil bolt
Weaknesses: factory spring a little too soft, one piece plastic pin and cup seal (wear out?)
Review: This valve is awesome because it makes your gun so much quieter. I can hear the paintball whizzing away from me over the sound of the gun firing. My gun is always the quietest on the field, and it is much quieter than my friend's minimag. People are always are surprised when they get hit by me cause they never hear the ball coming. They will get hit right in the face and think that they were long balled, that is until they see me come out like 30' away from them in a woods ball game. They will say "holy crap, I had no idea where that came from" or "where the hell were you?!" This valve also works awesome with the evil delrin bolt; the two are actually designed to be used with one another. The air flow holes in each are set up to match each other for best air efficiency. It took me a while to find the best operating pressure for my gun which is at 400 psi. With this setup I'm able to shoot about 1600 rounds before my 20oz co2 tank goes empty. Just awesome. Lower operating pressure also improves your accuracy because there is less deformation of the paintball as its fired. I've noticed improved accuracy with many different brands of paint. I suggest a slightly stiffer spring than the one that comes with it because it doesn't close the valve fast enough, which is a waste of air. My only concern is the plastic cup seal and pin wearing out over time.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone wanting better air efficiency, a much more quieter gun, and better accuracy. Everyone desires all three of these qualities so everyone should get one! I'd give it a 10, but i'm going with a 9 because of the possibility that the pin might wear out, and the spring that comes with it wasn't the best for my gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skitsowithtazer Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
standard valve
Marker Setup: spyder shutter, system x expansion chamber, 18" freak 3 piece, viewloader revolution electric hopper, 12 oz co2 tank w/ on/off valve, and evil valve
Strengths: easy to install, greatly increases air efficiency
Weaknesses: plastic valve pin
Review: i love this thing, i used to have to refill my tank at least once during my eight hour play day, but after i bought it, i could go a full day without having to refill my 12 oz tank. on top of that, my gun is super quiet now, i can actually hear the metal clanking together in my gun, instead of the loud co2 burst. and considering how loud spyders usually are, that was a great improvement. i cant praise this valve enough, it rules.
Conclusion: it makes your gun more air efficient and a lot quieter.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Matt in AZ Thursday, November 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many different markers over the last 12 years.
Marker Setup: Currently, an E-99 Avant with CP feed neck, reg and on/off. Phat drop and shocktech bolt. Pure energy HPA and several barrels.

Also, 98 custom with all the extras including laser for scenario play.

Taking a break from my Automags which are my long time favs.
Strengths: Design idea.?.
Weaknesses: Key weakness? It doesn't fit...
Review: This valve may fit in the shutter but it absolutely doesn't fit in the E-99. The Evil valve body is noticeably longer than the stock valve which results in not enough space between the valve screw hole and pressed in pin in the marker body. The valve screw cannot go into the valve.

That's as far as the test went. I guess I'll have to try some other valves to complete my Spyder project.
Conclusion: If you buy this valve for your Spyder, keep the receipt. Chances are pretty good you'll be returning it without firing a shot.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DixonNxn Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD
48cu 3000psi Pure Energy
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
16' Dye Boomstick
Physcoballistics Bullet Drop Forward
Spring Kit
Evil Valve Kit
Empire Reloader
Strengths: Low Pressure
Lighter Spring
Quiets Gun
Weaknesses: Hasn't worked properly for me
Review: Im not totally sure if im judgeing this valve correctly because ive only had it for a few weeks...once ive used it more and have more extensive use ill write another review.
But for now ill give u what i got ...this valve isnt to much diffrent from stock besides the lighter spring and the plastic pin(plastic pin?) it seems to have made little diffrence in the sound of my gun ..but enough to notice ..this could also be becuase i havent put on my regulator yet. You will see a diffrence because the low pressure ...u will loose some fps and may need to turn up velocity if u dont have a reg.
The reason i dont think it has been working for me is b/c its a low pressure valve and i havent changed the o-rings to softer ones ..this means that b/c its low pressure if i have hard o-rings they will not seal correctly...once i change this and test a few more times i will write another review.

DO NOT DECIDE TO BUY ONE ON THIS REVIEW !!!
Conclusion: I'd say this valve does what its supposed to (lower the operating pressure of the gun ..and have sufficent airflow so far, but i havent put on my reg so well see)...but until i fix my problem thats all i can give u
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2004 at 9:31 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media