paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs / Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs / Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs

Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Severe Paintball

Buy Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 5.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Available in a variety of colors
-Tougher shell to avoid breaks in high pressure guns
-Best recreational paint value on the market
-Gauranteed quality and performance
Product Availability 
The Severe Paintball Storm Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
GIZMO8Z Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used every type of paint in the severe line, as well as countless other brands.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Limited Edition Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Chrome Planet Eclipse NEXUS Upgrade Kit, Red KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, 14" DYE Boomy, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank W/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover.
Recommended
Barrels:
This stuff seems to shoot well through my SP progressive, SP AA as well as my DYE Ultralite and Boomstick barrels.
Strengths: ~Great Price.
~Thick Shell.
~Okay Fill.
Weaknesses: ~Some Balls Out Of Round.
~Shell May Be Too Thick.
Review: I work at Rush Paintball in Poughkeepsie, NY and we use this paint, as well as Severe Hurricane as our main field paint. Although we do carry some more expensive, top of the line paints, we mostly sell this because most of the players who play with us cant afford the high priced stuff, or really can't tell the difference between the expensive paints and the cheap paints ... they just want to ball.

PROS:
~Great Price. We sell this stuff rather cheap, and our customers love us for it.
~Thick Shell. This paint stands up to high pressure markers as well as abusive newbs.
~Okay Fill. The fill seems to be okay, although not fantastic, it does the job. Our refs can spot hits before they're fully wiped away.

CONS:
~Some Balls Out Of Round. Some of these balls may have a dimple, but they're cheap, so I've come to acept this. In addition, the dimples and such I see on these are nothing compared to other brands of paint.
~Shell May Be Too Thick. Some times people get bounces and what not off of things that shouldnt warrent a bounce.
Conclusion: Over all, this paint is awesome for the player on a budget, or a player who hasn't yet decided if they want to spend $$ on a mid to high end marker. We use this paint because it doesn't break often in our rentals, plus its good enough to keep our customers happy.

For the price, this paint rocks!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Borden Baller Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
White Box
Marker Setup: 2K6 Octane Orange Shocker, V3 Stinger Bolt, S-P Freak back 12"stiffi tip, 5000psi dynaflow tank/reg.
Recommended
Barrels:
Haven't found one!
Strengths: Guess it's cheap in stores.
Weaknesses: Shells split, balls are dimpled and not round or consistant in size.
Review: Well my local field switched to these crumby paintballs, I guess because they are supper cheap and the field price is $80 per case so they're more than doubling there cost, about 3 months ago. Since they switched to this paint I've never used my swab so much. This stuff bites! The only markers that seem to not have as many problems with it are the kids with spyder victors...My shocker shreds this stuff other guys with evo's, timmy's, ions, A5's, even 98's are having problems. It just makes for bad moral on the field. How do you size paint when every 4th or 5th ball is a different caliber? And the accuracy is not more than 30'. But after enough complaints to the staff, they are finally dropping this garbage and going with XO's spectrum! Thank the Lord!!!
Conclusion: Stay away!!! unless you just can't afford better.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike the snipe Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A5
20 inch barrel
E-grip
richochet hopper
expansion chamber

stock victor 2 woo! yeah!
Recommended
Barrels:
A pretty dam good barrel, these balls chop like mad and there dimpled like crazy and dont shoot straight
Strengths: If your looking for really bad balls..... this is your product
Weaknesses: Chop like mad, dimpled like crazy , don't shoot straight and expensive for quality.
Review: Ive had about 3 boxes of this paint.
The first one wasn't too bad, i only chopped about a hundred balls, and that's pretty good for this paint. The second box i had i left it in my room for 1 day, and none of them shot even close to a straight line, they chopped like mad and some of them even blew up after they left the barrel because they had a tiny hole in them that sprayed paint.
The third time i had this box it was even worse! I probably had about 300 good balls that shot relatively straight, (remember i have a 20 inch barrel), and its the very first time iv ever chopped a ball in the cyclone feed, well actually i chopped like 20 of these balls that day and also my cyclone kept jamming them because the balls were oval shaped.
Conclusion: Never ever even think of looking at this paint! its not worth it! Maybe if this was 20 $$ for 2000 then i might think of throwing a box of this at somebody, really hard... like.... really hard.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goodlookin001 Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Premiums, Torq's
Marker Setup: Spyder e99 avant, empire reloader hopper, java feedneck, empire twisted barrel....nothin too special, lol.
Recommended
Barrels:
N/A
Strengths: Hard Shell, Thick fill, good color paint, Durable, hurts like hell
Weaknesses: Maybe a bit TOO thick of a shell?, a few balls out of round...
Review: I was a little aprehensive to buy this paint as it was pretty inexpensive....and i have noticed that you often get what you pay for. However, i took the gamble knowing that the reviews on their other balls were fairly decent and was pleasantly surprised. They do not chop easily, for the most part, they break on impact (surprised me for how thick they are), and they fly straight....even with my stock barrel! There's somethin to be said for that.....
Conclusion: All in all, i would recommend this paint to someone who is looking for something fairly inexpensive, good quality, and durable. It is a very good practice ball. Im giving it a nine for value and performance, but its not deserving of a 10 because i dont think it is tournament grade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Big ball
Monsterballs
Tippmann
Zap
Scorch
Marker Setup: look at profile
Recommended
Barrels:
medeium sized bore .688-.691
Strengths: Good visible paint
Dose not chop
Accurate
No curve
No dents
Weaknesses: sometimes dose not break on impact
Price
Review: These are pretty good paintballs. They don't curve, are very accurate, and don't chop! Also, they are very visible and hare hard to wipe off! Sometimes they don't break on impact but that happens with all paint balls. The only problem with these are that it is almost $50.00 for a case of 2000 at my local paintball shop!! Which i think is overpriced. I can get paintballs just as good for about $25.00! Also, these paintballs are not made in the usa so they might not be arruratly made.
Conclusion: So these are generally good paintballs. Not much to say about them.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 1:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Mighty Oak Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus comp edge, marbs, diablo heat
Marker Setup: ACI assasin with a custom barrel, comp air tank, VL revvy w/ a 6 arm propeller
Strengths: Thick fill.
Weaknesses: Chopped/exploded balls galore
Review: I picked up a case of these yesterday, used them today, and I must say they are pure garbage. Every fourth or fifth ball chopped or exploded in my barrel. In one game I had to field strip and clean my marker 6 times!!! Other players in my group tried them and had the same experience, even with 500-600 dollar markers and ricochet apache hoppers. I went through about 600 and gave up. Once I switched to a buddy's diablo heat balls I had no problems.
Conclusion: I don't know if I got a bad case or not, but others at the field today told me they had no good experiences with these balls either. Spend a couple more bucks and get better balls, you may regret it if you don't.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 4:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therealmr Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hurricane
Marbs
Zap chronic
Zap sport
others
Recommended
Barrels:
.690-.692
Strengths: Cheap - 40$ / 2000
Little breaks
OK fill
Weaknesses: Not round all the time
Review: This paint isn't the best, but I do believe it is the best 40$ paint that you can get. Hurricane, Storm's bigger brother, I have had many problems with, and it costs 45$ a case. For 5 dollars less, you can get a much more consistant shell, better color, and less breaks. The only weakness to this product is the 'not-so-quite-round' shell that comes with it. Most of them are, but some of them can get pretty not-so-round =)
Conclusion: For the price, a great buy. Oh yeah, and did I mention the really thick shell? Yeah... it breaks just as much as other shells, but hurts a lot more. Oh well... hope they brought a 2nd shirt
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 7th, 2006 at 5:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toddh Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Diablo Dusk, Evil, you name it. And other severe produducts.
Marker Setup: 03 autococker , 14" Wgp barrel, WGP ventury bolt. I use Co2 and HPA tanks with this marker. and it shoots well with both systems.
Recommended
Barrels:
no recommendations
Strengths: good breakage at mid to long distance
low price!
Weaknesses: none. For a ball at this retail level
Review: My friends and I have spent a lot of time playing this year. This Product has been trouble free and accurate to shoot. For the price we are getting the paint its a no brainer. I used paint that costs around $70 a case, and I cant really seem to tell an honest difference from there premium paint to the Severe Sport/Rec paint.
Conclusion: Spend less shoot more. Severe Storm paint rocks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thermalGoggles Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Smart Parts Linear 14"
Q-Loader
Walther 37mm red dot
Recommended
Barrels:
Stock BT-4
Smart Parts Linear 14"
Strengths: Consistent
Strong but not too strong
Weaknesses: Not great for cold temperatures
Review: This paint worked very well for me when I used it during warm days. Tempuratures between 20 degrees celsius and 5 degrees celsius (68F-41F) this paint performed very well. I noticed minimal curving on the fly and I was able to hit my targets with minimal effort. I had no chops at all with my BT-4 with this paint at all after five times out playing with it. Although I do not generally throw a lot of paint, I threw enough to realize its reliability.

I had about 250 balls left just recently and decided to use them for play in weather that was between -10 and 0 degrees celsius (32F-14F). The balls were okay until they got cold. When that happened they began to break in my barrel. They also started to curve at about 20 meters (65 feet) out from the barrel. Not only that, they would actually ismply break in mid air (as related to me by one of my targets that saw a ball coming for him, and then was relieved when it broke in mid air and fell to the ground at his feet). Finally, when I reloaded, popping in my next q-pod, the balls were so brittle that they just collapsed in the feed hose. That was the end of my day.

Although I shot maybe 30-50 balls during gameplay, I ended up using about 200... I do like this ball and will use it agian, but not in cold weather! It is recommended to all who play woods, and rec ball for sure!
Conclusion: I recommend this ball for all woodsball and recball players. It is reasonably priced, and reasonably accurate. Although I would not recommend it for cold weather conditions!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dinos66 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Cyclone
RP Scherer Allstar
Severe Tempest
Red Legion Platinum
PCS Combat Jungle Camo
TC BlackBox
Tomahawk Competition, Classic, Winter
Marker Setup: ION
Redz Pepperstickz 6 Piece Barrel Kit
Dye Hyper 3 Inline Regulator
Ricochet Apache hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Redz Pepperstickz .693 bore. The larger the better.
Strengths: They are very cheap.
Weaknesses: Diameter is very inconsistent.
Lots of breakage both ingame and on delivery.
Poor flight behavior.
Review: I've had ball breakage in the past but this was somehting new for me. Not only did 1.5 boxes out of 3 come in with broken paint, the bags that weren't damaged had balls with very inconsistent bore size. Then i found out that the storm model comes out from the factory like this. Their flight behavior was really bad and 1/10 balls would break in my ION which normally doesn't have any breakage.
Anyway, if you're going to buy severe paint, put some extra money and buy the cyclone model; it is faaaaar better than this s...t. Actually it's the best paint i've ever tried. Now, how come severe makes the cyclone paint and this storm type of s...t i've no idea.
Bottom line: Don't buy this STORM model.
Conclusion: Do not buy under any circumstance. They are the worst paint i've ever tried. The only good thing about them is that they're cheap.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media