paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Intimidator / Empire Intimidator / Empire Intimidator / Empire Intimidator

Empire Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Intimidator
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Empire Paintball's newest hot product. Their Intimidator is state of the art with a new board that is even faster than any WAS board, and new internals for better consistancy and lower pressure operational. This is truely a new generation of paintball markers.
Product Availability 
The Empire Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Bloencustoms Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many other electros including angels, shockers, eblades, T1, etc...
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
Halo B with Victory Board, Rip Drive
68/4500 screw-in tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP reg
Stiffer ball detents (if used with a halo)
Strengths: Stunning Looks, Blistering Speed, Tourney Legal, A true professional marker
Weaknesses: Price, Price, Price, repair parts difficult to get, Price, LCD window fogs up
Review: [[EDIT----UPDATE]]

At the time of the original review, the Frenzy 116 board was tournament legal. As of now, the rules have changed and are different depanding on what league you play in. New Timmys will be shipping with software that has tourney modes for each league.

After having used the marker for several months, I felt it was time to update my review. I am still completely satisfied with the marker. So far after three months of use, I can only remember one occasion that I chopped a ball, and that was due to dead batteries in my hopper. I have since added a Stiffi Switch barrel kit, and I experience excellent accuracy. On the indoor speedball field where I usually play, I can consistantly keep all of the shots in a head sized area on the opposite side of the field. I fixed the LCD window situation by adding a pair of Hybrid "contract killer" grip panels to replace the cut-up stock ones. Additionally, I added a CP magnet upgrade to the trigger, which helps the tigger to return more reliably and allows for tension adjustment.
Also, I modified the body and ASA by tapping out the ASA mounting hole ofr a setscrew, and tapping the ASA to accept an autococker hose barb. I can now remove the ASA without removing the hose barb first (like the Alias, A-Bomb, etc). Since I play indoors, there is no sand, mud, or dirt to get in the marker and foul things up. As a result, the internals have suffered no appreciable wear beyond that which had occurred before I bought it.

Some things I'd like to see changed (on all intimidators) are:

(hose barbs) Make them standared 10/32 threads, stainless. The brass m3 barbs are fragile and snap off easily.

(screws) The clamshell and eye cover screws are prone to rusting, make them stainless

(LCD) Give it a backlight, it's hard to see in low light.

(manual) I want a new manual for each version of the timmy, not one manual from a few years ago that's supposed to apply to all of them, and doesn't reflect changes from one series to the next.

Overall, these are minor gripes, and they haven't diminished my appreciation for this marker.

I was interested to discover that different series of intimidators use different feedneck threading. The Empire uses Autococker STO feedneck threads. The Alias and newer versions use proprietary timmy threading.

That's all for now. I'll update again if I notice anything worth sharing.

[[END OF EDIT]]

Well, I told myself I'd never write one of those useless gushing reviews that completely praise a marker and leave objectivity at the door, so I'll try really hard not to do so. I have been wanting to add an Intimidator to my collection for a long time, and today, the opportunity presented itself. A slightly used Empire Timmy became available, and after a quick trade, it came into my possession.
To be fair, it must be noted that this marker was not stock as it comes from Empire. I replaced the bolt (which shows some wear, as does the inside of the breech), inline regulator (with a CP), and the previous owner had installed a CP ball bearing trigger.
I immediately disassembled the entire marker upon arriving home from the trade, to clean and inspect everything. On the surface, it was in good condition with only moderate wear in the breech. First, I removed the grip panels. The previous owner had cut the window out of the left grip panel, because he complained that it made it difficult to see the LCD screen. I was delighted to discover that the actual clamshell panel had a second plastic window beneath the 45 grip panel, which adds a second layer of protection against a hit.
The vinyl hose connecting the solenoid to the ram sleeve and vertical ASA was difficult to remove, and the position of the hose barb on the ASA makes removing it from the main body complicated. (Timmy owners everywhere can attest to this, so it's par for the course.) I was surprised to see that the ram sleeve itself was part of the valve assembly. The cup seal, or "poppet", seals directly against a raised circle on the face of the ram sleeve. Since the sleeve is aluminum, this could cause it to wear faster, but only time will tell.
I was also pleased that the marker came with a locking feed neck, an adjustable ram cap, and plenty of room for fat fingers in the trigger guard.
After completely disassembling everything but the LPR, (I'll do that some other time), I put it all back together and headed for the field.
The first thing to do was get it chronographed. For the first time in a very long time, I was able to take a newly rebuilt marker into the chrono station, make one quick adjustment to the velocity and be finished after 5 or six shots. Already, the grin was beginning to spread across my face. After my first game, I was an absolute Cheshire cat.
I don't know how this marker passes the robot, but it's tournament legal in 50 states. I couldn't believe the incredible rate of fire spewing forth from my quivering hands. Balls belted out the barrel in a furious race to be the first to end it's existence as a greasy splash of color on my helpless opponents. This thing performs better than anything I have shot in the four or so years I have been involved in paintball. As an anodizer, I have had the opportunity to work on almost everything, but this is something special.
When I first laid eyes on the first generation classic Timmys, I thought they were grotesque looking with the dual front regs and the Frankenstein hand grip. The latest generation of Intimidators leave their humble beginnings in the dust, and offer a vivid palette of bold milling and anodizing. The Empire Timmy has an aggresive look with sharp angles and lots of material removed. The Empire logo features prominently in the milling and give the marker a unique "toothy" look.
On the downside, I have heard that the cloudiness in the LCD widows of the grips is a common problem. Also, the gauge could have been a micro gauge. The stock bolt and the inside of the breech suffer a lot of wear (probably due to playing outdoors on sandy fields). With the CP trigger installed, the marker has significant mechanical trigger bounce. The Frenzy board will pass a robot, but I clocked myself at 10 BPS with the air off, and 15 BPS while dry firing with the air on. BIG difference, but it's all mechanical, and therefore can be tuned out.
Conclusion: So, in conlusion? I absolutely love it. My next marker will be an Alias when I can afford it. The Empire will make a killer backup marker. For the time being, I am still glowing with the memory of it's outstanding performance on the field earlier today. I'm not anyone special, not a pro player or anything, so my word may not hold as much weight, but to use the cliche "take my word for it" this marker is an excellent choice. If you can somehow come up with the exorbitant price for one of these babies, you won't be let down. I give it a nine, because it didn't come with a swimsuit model in the box that was trained to bring me beer and fill my pods. Best marker I've ever shot, bar none.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 26th, 2005 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

dillon3 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
bob long defiant 2
Marker Setup: 05 empire timmmy(pipe barrel kit, critical trigger, shocktech bolt, contract killer grips, and cp on/off)
Recommended
Upgrades:
>trigger
>barrel
Strengths: >Looks great
>Very fast
>Accurate
>Gas efficint
>Very light
Weaknesses: >price
>LCD foges up
Review: This gun is awsome it has got to be the best gun ive ever owned or shot.Some problems ive had are,the LCD sometimes you cant read it and If you play tourneys the trigger bounce may be a problem for you. The first thing you should get is a critical trigger. I was shooting 11BPS before i got mine and now i am ripping 13-14BPS.
Conclusion: In conclusion i really like it. It is unlike any other gun i have used before. I would recomend this 2 anyone getting serious into paintball if they have the $
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrooper5 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gz Timmy
2K5 Lasoya Timmy
Marker Setup: Always Changing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Trigger(preferance)
Vp Delrin Pistons
PBK hard detents
Strengths: Strong out of the box
Fast
Light
Simple Design
Weaknesses: Milling design may not fufill some\
2k2 style eye covers
2k2 style lpr
Frame
Review: This is an Intimidator, simple, fast and operating well out of the box. The empire is a mix between a 2k2 and an alias, really. It has qualities of both styles. the frame is what makes it so tempting, it enables the user to upgrade to infamous tadao, an excellent upgrade. While the frame changes the internal electronics from 2k2's I believe it is flawed, there is not enought space. I had major pneumatice hose rubbing issues, along with pinched hoses. The lack of space caused this, along with the crtical trigger.

The gun itself is well built and works well, it shoots just as fast an any other intimidaotr model. I the frame issue is the only downside to these newer alias models. The frame also has grooves in the back that rubbed up on my hand-no biggie. the gun is comfortable to shoot and the regs are excellent, needing dow33/55 every few weeks. Keep good care of it and it will serve you well. Most of the BL guns now ship with older 2k2 manuals. Be sure to brush yourself up on the newer updates to the Intimidator.

The stock detents are ok, but they can cause double feeding and eventually wear down. I enjoyed my Empire, it felt good and preformed well. I recomend it to anyone.
Conclusion: I see these guns as near equals to the Alias'. The Empire is a solid choice that preforms well and looks just as great as the next model. No gun is perfect so i give it a 9, needs some imporvement, but is still better than some other choice out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eightballcoby Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other Timmys. Matrix LCD, Viking, Excalibar, Angel.
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader B, Apok 2k 64ci 4.5k psi tank. CP Bearing Stick Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP Bearing Stick Trigger, New Reg, Upgrade Board, ball detents, slotted bolt, barrel.
Strengths: ROF, Look (muy bueno!), user friendly, eyes.
Weaknesses: Ball detents are weak, Reg postion, Expensive, Stock trigger, stock barrel is one piece.
Review: Strengths:
-
-Out of the box, with no trigger job, it shot great. I got up to 13 bps.
-Obviously if you are spending $1,200 + and you buying a timmy, thats unacceptable.
-Dont bother fiddling with the stock trigger, (will explain why in Weaknesses) and just buy a bearing trigger for a smoother pull. I bought a CP and it gave me an extra 4 bps just in simulate mode.
-The gun looks awesome. I think it's one of the sweetest timmy's Ive seen.
-The lcd menu is easy to use and if you go on PBNation you can find some suggestions for different settings for the dwell, bip, debounce, etc.
-Features also a Competion mode that you need to disassemble the trigger frame for to activate. Basically dont worry about this if you are a kid with rich parents and you buy (i.e. have your parents buy for you) high-end guns and only play rec-ball, no offense.
-Having eyes is great. Almost impossible to chop. You can set a delay for the eyes to.

Weaknesses:
-No manual with the gun. Oh wait except the manual for a 2002 timmy. No help there though. Go to PBNation to get tips on anything you need. Its there just search for it.
-First weakness, price obviously, but who cares about money ;).
-The reg set up is funky for me. The guage is on the left side of the gun rather than the right. Im planning on swapping the huge ashcroft guage with a smaller one for comfort.
-The regulator that comes with the gun as the gas input on the side of the reg. Personally I like mine on the bottom cause the side of the reg is where my left hand goes. Again CP comes to the rescue in this case with a reg that has the input on the bottom. A lot more comfy in my opinion.
-On my Matrix I used my E Reloader B on full speed and the ball detents were like Gandolf on that stone bridge in the Fellowship of the Ring, "Ball you shall not PASS!" However, the ball detents on this timmy are like "Umm ball please dont go by, please?" Ya the E Reloader B on full speed will make the gun double feed a lot. Turn down the setting to the lowest speed, which still is pretty fast and you should be set. If that works try setting it to the next speed (second fastest). Perhaps consider a Halo B if you are still in the market for a loader.
-The stock trigger had a lot of side to side play on my timmy. However get a bearing trigger for it and it will shoot like a dream. I just walk the side of my trigger and its sweet. The CP bearing stick triggers are nice and cheap. From their website, I think like $35.
-The barrel isnt a weakness its just basic. It comes with a one piece barrel. Although if you got one you like and its cocker threaded, swap it on to this gun and give it a go.

Updated Reviews:
Go to pbkingdom.com to get stronger ball detents or criticalpaintball.com to get theres which consist of 3 different hardnesses. Also, with this upgrade, definitely look into a slotted bolt. Combined with the ball detents i just mentioned, you will not double feed, and you can put your loader at full speed. The empire reloader at speed 2 lets my gun shoot at 17 bps with the eyes on. So upgrading your ball detents and bolt are a must!

After putting a CP reg and barrel on, the gun is flawless. Upgrading the board to 127 for less than $50 is worth it if you are playing PSP rule tournaments. Just send your board to blast and they do the rest. When they got my board that i sent them, they were able to upgrade the software and ship it out the same day! Very much worth it. Upgrading the board gave me another bps in semi. Upgrading the board will give you full auto, ramping, 3 round burst, and obviously true semi. Also you have the PSP feature for capping the marker at 15bps.
This is a great timmy to start with if your new to them. It is a great buy and
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is a great buy. Some of the stuff needs to upgraded and such. Mine came with a Frenzy 116 board. If you call up BLAST, and send them your board and $40 dollars, they will upgrade it to 127 which includes stuff like ramping (which i believe is after 10bps, it increases the rof by like 60%), full auto i think, 3 round burst i think, and you have the capping feature, PSP for one requires guns to be capped at 15 bps, but allows some of the above feature.
I would give this gun something between a 9 and a 9.5 just because of some of the hassel stuff I went through (ball detents, manual, trigger)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 23rd, 2005 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Scottc1988 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ Timmy - Def not is good, not as much trigger
Marker Setup: Empire Intimidator, Scepter Barrel System, Shocktech On/Off, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off, Tank, Definately a barrel, the stock barrel isn't too great.
Strengths: Fast, Trig Bounce, Light, Nice Milling
Weaknesses: 2K3 Internals, Trig Bounce
Review: This gun is amazing, it has got to be the best gun ive EVER shot, i've been using it for a while now.

Some problems ive had though, are some consistancy problems, the LCD sometimes doesn't work right, the eyes become loose occasionally, I had to tape them down. If you play tourneys, the trigger bounce may be a problem for you.

Its got real nice trigger bounce, it shoots real fast, easy to rip on, awesome milling job.

Definately get this gun, but if you cant come up with the extra cash, go with the Alias, as its got the new 2k4 internals. If money is no object, definately take this gun.
Conclusion: Awesome Gun, get it. Fast, Trigger Bounce, Easy to rip, awesome milling.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zerobubba Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse
angel
shocker 03
mini-block autococker
gz timmy
Marker Setup: ULE X-mag
45/3000 tank
14" freak
Empire ReLoader-B
Recommended
Upgrades:
what for?
other than a new barrel
Strengths: fast, light, cool milling
Weaknesses: too fast, higher paint bill, mega bounce, the big hole it leaves
Review: My boss brought this new toy into work and let everyone try it out. This thing is super fast. I got 17-18 bps on ther first try, normaly i can only get 12-13 bps on other guns. A major problem with this thing is that it has a wicked bounce. I fired a few times and stopped but the thing just kept on going. It kept going for atleast 3-5 minutes! I don't know if its just my boss's gun or if its a major problem.
Conclusion: Overall, its a nice gun. Very impressive. If you can afford one, by all means get it and hope that the bounce problem has been fixed and be ready for the big hole it leaves in your wallet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

paintbala5 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm6, e-cocker, promaster etc
Marker Setup: 05 empire timmy
ultralite barrel
cp reg
cp trigger
ndz rail ndz on/off
new volumizer
twist lock feedneck
eigenram

back up promaster
ndz rail on/off combo
freak jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cp reg
Ultralite barrel
Its all preference really
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well i picked up the setup above without the on/off for $310. first thing i noticed was it looked amazing. with the ultralite barrel on it it was the most accurate gun ive ever shot before. this thing is incredibly fast too. i can walk this thing about 16-17bps without even thinking about it. the trigger pull is extremly light on it. this is also efficient too. i shot probably like 6 hoppers and 7 pods before refilling again. as for the weaknesses when i tested it it had a couple of chops in it witch it kind of annoying but i didnt care too much because of the price. if u ever get enough money for one you should buy it and u wont be dissapointed with it.
Conclusion: Amazing...................
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 14th, 2006 at 10:01 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Insanepain Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark
2k2
Marker Setup: Dark timmy
tadao m3
45 ci 4500 psi
halo
DYE UL14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
fast hopper
HPA
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Manufacturer
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an Intimidator, simple, fast and operating well out of the box. The empire is a mix between a 2k2 and an alias, really. It has qualities of both styles. the frame is what makes it so tempting, it enables the user to upgrade to infamous tadao, an excellent upgrade. While the frame changes the internal electronics from 2k2's space. I had major pinching of hoses.

I have been wanting to add an Intimidator to my collection for a long time, and today, the opportunity presented itself. A slightly used Empire Timmy became available, and after a quick trade, it came into my possession.
To be fair, it must be noted that this marker was not stock as it comes from Empire. I replaced the bolt (which shows some wear, as does the inside of the breech), and the previous owner had installed a CP ball bearing trigger.
I immediately disassembled the entire marker upon arriving home from the trade, to clean and inspect everything. On the surface, it was in good condition with only moderate wear in the breech. First, I removed the grip panels. The previous owner had cut the window out of the left grip panel, because he complained that it made it difficult to see the LCD screen. I was delighted to discover that the actual clamshell panel had a second plastic window beneath the 45 grip panel, which adds a second layer of protection against a hit.
Conclusion: I absolutely love it. My next marker will be a Dark timmy when I can afford it. The Empire will make a killer backup marker. For the time being, I am still glowing with the memory of it's outstanding performance on the field earlier today. I'm not anyone special, not a pro player or anything, so my word may not hold as much weight, but to use the cliche "take my word for it" this marker is an excellent choice. If you can somehow come up with the exorbitant price for one of these babies, you won't be let down. I give it a nine, because it didn't come with a swimsuit model in the box that was trained to bring me beer and fill my pods. Best marker I've ever shot, bar none.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phil8888 Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Matrix, Bushmaster, Eblade Cocker, Classic Timmy, DM4
Marker Setup: Alias
68/45 Crossfire tank
empire barrell kit
Egg w/ z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
I havent done anything with mine yet, other than the barrell
Strengths: Fast and accurate as hell
Weaknesses: i havent found any yet
Review: I love this gun. The only gun I've had any real experience with that even comes close is the DM4 (which is always freakin amazing).

I've played with it a few times now and it has yet to let me down. Only time I chopped paint was when i was messing around without the eyes on. In fact I played earlier today and shot about a case and a half and had zero breaks. I love it!
Conclusion: Buy one, you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media