paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004

Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The premier marker in paintball! Designed and built by Bob Long, a legend in the sport of competitive paintball. He sets strict build standards to insure the Empire Intimidator is one of the fastest and most accurate markers in the game. Extruded aircraft-grade aluminum bodies keep the Intimidator light and streamlined. Some of the most highly advanced circuit boards and sealed memory chips make up the Intimidator's internals, combined with a friction reducing micro switch trigger system, this marker is capable of over 20 BPS.

FEATURES:
- Used by Bob Long's Oakland Assassins/Oakland Empire! 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
- 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
- FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
- New look to the LPR system
- Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
- Grip features an integrated rail system
- Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
- Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
- Custom 14 inch barrel insures marksman's accuracy
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jester1 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ Timmy
Texas Storm
2k2 Timmy
La Soya TImmy
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
Empire Reloader B
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
68/45 PE tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Damn fast, Efficient, Accurate, Light weight, Low maintenance, New internals, Frenzy board
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing wrong with this gun!
Review: The gun was absolutely beautiful when I first saw it. I put on a HALO and an air system and took it outside to fire a few test rounds. Out of the box it was shooting 307. I made a small LPR adjustment and let her rip! Best gun out of the box I've ever shot in my 20 years of playing!

The new Frenzy board is fast (I hit between 16-18 consistently) and the new push buttons make it oh-so-much-better to use! The gun is much lighter than the previous versions of the Intimidator...the LPR housing is a nice improvement. I'll have to wait a month or two to see how the internals hold out, but I'm sure Bob did rigorous testing and they'll stand up to the abuse as he claims.

I was skeptical at first about the repositioning of the trigger, but my fears quickly vanished when I realized that they moved the grip forward, not the reg back, which actually made the gun more comfortable.

I don't have one single regret about buying this gun, worth every penny.

Conclusion: I have two slightly negative things to say about the gun.

1. The Empire is a bit expensive vs. the Alias (which I have also). The price difference is purely for the cosmetics. Get the Alias if you want the latest without the price tag.

2. No where have I read anything about this, but it's the only real functional complaint I have about the gun. For whatever reason, the Alias and the Empire have the LPR gauge on the left side of the gun vs the standard Timmy right side. I happen to put my thumb in that spot and find it uncomfortable having to put my thumb over it.

This gun rocks, HIGHLY recommend it if you have the money. It's the hottest ticket out there (along with the DM4)!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

pbstar787898 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ timmy, all types of autocockers, bushies, matrixs, dm4, shockers, angels
Marker Setup: Black/Blue fade 04 empire timmy, check it uni mount, 71ci dye throttel tank, 14in dye ultralight barrel, blue halo b, smoke 12v revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel and fast loader
Strengths: Compact
Light
Sexy looking
Fast
Easy to opperate
Weaknesses: Cosmetics (see review)
Review: First of all, I would like to say that I am a gun hore. I have shoot and owned almost every gun on the market worth buying, and with this marker I have decided to be faithful. Now it is not to say that this marker is perfect, like no spouse will be (bad analogy, I know) but it is better than most of the others.

This is a machine gun. It is very fast. It is light. I went from owning a stock cocker to a matrix (keep in mind I had a steal tank on these guns with a halo and a boom stick). Just about the heaviest marker set up in know to mankind. This would be a good front man gun because it is so light and compact.

I like the lcd display on this gun. Bob long did a good job on putting lcd with the frenzy because the WAS was confusing. It makes this gun that much esaer to opperate.

It is reliable. I don't like guns that you have to spend 30min each time you go out to play just to get the thing working. I want to gas it up and go. With this gun I gas it up and play with no problems. As I said, one of the perks with this spouse (sorry agian) is that there is little to no drama in the relationship.

Gas efficient. Timmies are known for there gas efficiency. This marker is very efficient. I don't have to worry about getting a bolt upgrade or any of that nonsence. There is little you can do to up the gas efficiency which is great for us that hate spending 200+ on ups.

It makes me feel special. Come on, its an empire! Who wouldn't feel special with one of these bad boys by your side. It in a sleek sexy marker. (One bad thing about the milling, it looks great from affar, but up close you can see that they did not do a good just with sanding the marker body down. It looks wrinkly almost. This is the only cosmetic flaw I could find.)

The BAD...the handle it up far in front of the body. This puts a lot of pressure in between my thumb and index finger. This is a pressure point and it hurts when I am laying back on the fire power. It can get annoying and make your hand sore if you don't play with her right. Thats the only thing I don't like about this gun.
Conclusion: If you have no budget go ahead and consider this marker, but if you want the lattest without taking out a loan, go with an alias. Sure this gun is great, but it is not for everybody (mainly those who are addicted to the sport, me, and those who grow money on trees). I am giving this gun a 9 because it is great, but I think it could use a little work on the milling and it is pricy.

One thing to consider is what type of gun do you want. Pretty much all high end guns perform the same, with little meaningless tweeks here and there. I am not going to say get this gun because not everyone may like it. I like the feel of timmies. There are a lot of good, cheeper guns out there on the market that perform the same. It is up to the you if you want this gun or not. Whatever gun you choose, get information on how it works, what problems it has, what matinance does it require? Be informed! Play the game and love it. This is a top quality gun, but most of all, just enjoy paintball!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 30th, 2006 at 8:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RemusR6 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, Intimidator 2K2, Dye Matrix, Impulse, Bushmaster, Lasoya Intimidator
Marker Setup: 2K4 Empire Intimidator, CP Vert Reg, Cp ball bearing trigger, magnet trigger return, Check It uni-mount, Crossfire 45/70 stubby LPR tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel set (Evil Pipe, JT 2 piece, or Sanchez SM1).
Strengths: +Fast
+Consistent
+Accurate
+Sexy
+Adjustability (everything is)
Weaknesses: -New (some bugs)
-Wrong owner's manual
Review: I bought this gun from a local store because I fell in-love with the style right off when I saw it hanging on the wall. The shop guys installed all the air parts, battery and all the things needed to run the marker. We looked at the manual to find out how to set up the board and found the manual was incorrect. Luckily the tech new what's the deal since it sets up much like the equalizer boards for the previous models. When I took it out to the field, it shot inconsistently. The velocity jumped up and down between 285 fps to 160 fps. I took the marker back and the techs found a faulty torpedo reg. They replaced it for free, but I decided to install a CP vertical regulator and it shoots better now. The next weekend, the marker wouldn't turn on. It turns out, the board burned out due to the screws pushing the batteries into the board. The techs told me that that burned the board. The shop replaced that board. The trigger on the board is very temperamental, so make sure that you adjust it properly, otherwise the marker shoots on full auto. After a week of working the trigger, it's now broken in and shoots correctly (finally). I shot it on the field with an Evil Pipe barrel set, a JT 2 piece and a Sanchez SM1 barrel. They all improved accuracy very considerably. The stock barrel (Bob Long Long Shot) was not as accurate as the others, especially the Evil Pipe set.
Conclusion: Like I said, the marker is new, so there are bugs that needs to be fixed. The only thing I was disappointed with was the incorrect owner's manual (it's hard to trouble-shoot if things don't look the same), otherwise, I'm a very happy customer and I personally recommend this marker to anyone any day of the week. This marker is tremendously fast and accurate, such a sweet gun. It's actually a 9.9 because nothing is perfect, but..... (fill in the blank)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DR_SHoCK Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All other Timmies. You can put a frenzy board in any Timmy. Once you've done that they're all pretty much the same.

Various other electros.
Marker Setup: Blue/Black fade Empire Intimidator, Freak barrel, Nitro Duck , Empire reloader.
2K3 Blue/Black Angel Speed, cosmetic upgrades from Warped Sportz, Trigger, preformance upgrades and tuning by Cobra Paintball.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the barrel. If your experienced enough to reasonably own this marker you should know by now that all stock barrels suck. !!DUH!!
Get a carbon fiber trigger or just a regular CP bearing trigger. The stock one sucks.
Strengths: Light , fast, accurate
Frenzy Board
Milling and Ano
Weaknesses: Milling and Ano
Trigger sucks
Way too $$ for the quality that you're getting.
Review: I'm just going to say what I don't like about the gun because, really, its perfect except for:

I donno. Maybe I was swept away by the idea of owning a shiny new object but now that I've owned this gun for a few months I'm starting to wonder what the heck I was thinking. Even with its debounce turned way up it will still tend to bounce balls because the trigger likes to stick.

(UPDATE) After installing a CP bearing trigger and a mag mod everying is working out wonderfully. No bounce with Db set on 10 and Mb set on 0. Turns out the problem, after I finally looked at it closely from a first time battery change, has to do with the milling in the frame itself. The "curve" on the back of the stock trigger (and the CP one, for that matter) WILL GET STUCK in the frame during rapid fire unless trigger travel is very carefully adjusted. In my case, even the stock trigger stuck no matter what I did (the CP seems to have a shallower curve to it and worked great for me).

Ano and milling quality is pretty from a distance, but get close and take a look at it and you'll be dissapointed. After three weekends out I already have bear metal showing around the front reg, barrel, feed neck, etc. I called BLAST, National Paintball (where I got the gun) and Empire to complain and guess what? Nobody cares. At least I got coustomer service from BLAST when I owned a Dragon Timmy.

Also the milling job is poor. You can plainly see many of the router marks in the big X on the sides of the gun. Those are suppose to be sanded and polished out before ano. I've seen three other Empires, not including this one, all with the same cosmetic flaw. I guess they just come that way.

(UPDATE) Ano keeps wearing hard although still not noticable from a distance. I play at dirt and grass fields so there is really no excuse for this.

Oh, and make sure the eyes are always clean. If they aren't you'll chop lotsa paint.

(UPDATE) With new trigger and settings in place I'm chopping much less paint. But out of three cases I'll still chop about 10 balls (usually one after the other because the eyes aren't clean.)

(UPDATE) Battery life on these things is amazing! If you buy good quality 9V batteries you can play FOREVER! Its the only Electro I own (vintage or otherwise) that I'm comfortable taking to a field without a spare battery (or charger in some cases) on hand.... Now if only the Empire reloder was like this...
Conclusion: Gun shoots wonderfully but the body is crap. Get any other Timmy and just put a Frenzy board, magnetic trigger mod and new trigger in it and you should be reasonably happy. (I STILL STAND BY THE ABOVE EVEN AFTER UPDATES) Also, for you nonTimmy folk, just get an Angel A4 or Speed and have Cobra paintball do some trigger mods to it. That way you can have something that both looks pretty and shoots as good as it looks. I've heard too many reliability complaints with the Alias's or else I'd be looking to trade for one of those right now. I'm giving the Empire a 7 because although its an excellent gun mechanically for what you pay you should be getting both form and function. (UPDATE, Now an 8 because it shoots like no other... But there's still the price and the ano job in mind).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at 2:56 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Hazard Man Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Shocker 2k3
ANS GXE
All sorts of timmys, angels, matix's etc,
DM4, everyone thinks its the best, but trust me, after this, nothing sofar is better than the empire or alias timmy.
Marker Setup: MAIN- Black to Red fade EMPIRE intimidator w/ 7 piece EMPIRE barrel set, 32* mini drop w/ on and off etc.

BACK UP GUN-Smart Parts Shocker Vision 2K3, with vertical Max-Flo regulator, Smart Valve with on/off, Blade trigger, Smart Parts Twister feed top, smart parts mini drop, EVOlution II hopper with Z-Board, FREAK barrel set, 68cu/4500 PSI Pure Energy carbon fiber wrapped nitro tank, V-Force PROfiler mask, Animal Paintball custom team jersey etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, probably the empire barrel set.
Strengths: Everything, reg, accuracy, efficiency, SPEED (Frenzy)
Weaknesses: Possibly cost, but hey, you get your moneys worth.
Review: This gun is amazing, I bought a brand new shocker 2k3 vision, and 3 weeks later got this baby. The milling is so awesome, and speed, looks, efficency, and everything else possible is amazing with this marker. I still have yet to find something week about it. The reg with this gun is extremely good, and the gun can operate on a bit lower than 75-70 psi, which is extremely good.
Nothing can compare to the eyes on this gun, it is the best sofar, speed and the frenzy board make this unbeatable.
its not a must, but I reccomend a new barrel, mostly I reccomend the 7 piece empire set. Any more questions or w/e post a comment or w/e.
Conclusion: Get this gun, you will be satisfied, I will elaborate on this review when I get more experience, but untill then, theres nothing wrong with it, DM4? meh, empire or alias timmy if you ask me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 3rd, 2004 at 10:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empiretimmy15 Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most high end guns
Marker Setup: empire red to black fade, hydrid clamp feed, contract killer grips, cp rail and on/off, empire 7 piece barrel kit, swoop trigger, crossfire 68/4500 tank, and empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper like the empire reloader b
Strengths: -Fast
-Accurate
-Light
-Efficient
Weaknesses: None that I have had
Review: The only upgrades i would recomend getting would be a really fast hopper and a barrel kit. i no it is alittle on the expensive side but it is worth every penny i paid for it, if you are going to buy it i recomend you have some experience with fast electric guns.
Conclusion: This gun rips it is the fastest and most accurate gun I have ever used. This thing shoots ropes and as long as i have had mine i have never chopped a ball using good paint, not kickin or walmart paint. If anyone is lookin for high end gun that shoots fast i would tell you to go get a empire timmy right now it rips
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

speedy2k4 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about everything
Marker Setup: yellow black empire, 70/45 crossfire lp, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel probably
Strengths: Speed, weight, looks
Weaknesses: Not too much except $$$$$
Review: Just like all the new timmi's, this one is great, but it is so much $$$. It is basically an alias with an empire symbol. shoots just the same, and feels about the same. it looks different and costs more. that's really about it. i'm not sure if the look is worth $150 more than an alias, especially when an alias looks pretty sweet.
Conclusion: If you really like how it looks and have alot of $ then go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedballSniper Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blowbacks... not as good for many reasons
Shocker... IMO a little better than the timmy, although it'a harder on gas.
Marker Setup: Black '05 Empire Intimidator
Hybrid Hyper flow kit (stainless steel barbs)
Redz Pepper Stickz barrel kit
Hybrid Rail, '06 1/4 turn on/off, Lady grips
70/45 Throttle
Reloader B guts with black Suicide Shell
Shocktech Torpedo Piston
Virtue Board
Shocktech Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, Fast hopper, any aftermarket parts
Strengths: Extremely consistent
Light
Looks Stunning
Fast
Low Pressure
Gas efficient
Weaknesses: Pricey
Anno job scratches easily
Pain to replace broken barbs
Review: I got this gun for $800 from a friend, and it came with an All American. I went out to shoot it, and was amazed at how quiet it was, despite only shooting one out of 30 pulls. Opened her up, and found a lot of paint inside of it. Cleaned it all out, even around the hoses, and tried again. 3 words... OH MY GOD! No noticeable kick, just this quiet "blook, blook" sound.

She shot 300 fps at 150 psi, with a perfect bore fit, 70ish psi operating pressure. Over the crono, I got 299 299 298 299. I almost came. If women were paintball guns, the most beautiful ones would be intimidators. Also, the low psi is so gentle on balls, I could shoot in freezing weather with bronze, whereas my electra couldn't get a shot off in one piece, a most admirable quality. Only a truly deformed ball could break in this gun. (or the hotbox that made soup in this gun before I got it...a horrible batch)

The gun is very ergonomically designed. It feels so nice in your hands, and there is no screw sticking out behind the grip to rub at your thumb like so many other guns. It's easy to field strip if you do get a break. Just pull the bolt up and out, swab, replace, continue kicking ass. Which brings me to the intimidation factor of this gun among regular players... they aren't called intimidators for nothing. I can happily play with tourney guys now, having one of the best technological advantages. {{Edit: Was at a team practise today, kicked some serious ass, only lost 2 out of 11 games (gun malfunctions). Got 2-3 kills/game, whereas I'd be lucky to get one kill playing the same guys with my spyder. Is it the timmy??}}

The stock board has Dwell, Eye Mode, BIP, Bolt, Timer, Debounce and Mechanical Bounce settings. The trigger, although it might just be a freak occurance, is, IMO the best in the world. When using your left hand to shoot, it's a beast. I can hit 18 walking it my special way, and 21 using my secret method. Why's it so special? You can hit it from the side, and almost completely from behind, and it still shoots. No bounce though.

Recent Edit: Threw a Virtue board in, and this thing just rips. It'll max out a reloader B with no shootdown or anything, no breaks with cheap paint, and extreme consistency and accuracy. Be careful that you don't overlube the internals, or you get some annoying first shot drop off. The bolt wil cycle once or twice, pushing paint into the barrel, and then it will shoot, either firing all the balls out of breaking them in the barrel.
Conclusion: This gun rules. Consistent, fast, light, sexy, all that good stuff. If you buy it, you'll be 100% satisfied until some new gun system is developed. For all your paintball satisfaction needs, get an Intimidator. Timmeh!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 6th, 2006 at 8:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Downfall08 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker- haha....compare it to a timmy
trix- nice. would be my second choice of guns
angel- meh. hate the feel
vike- yuck. i kept hearing all these great things but it didnt deliver
imp- much better than i though it would be but doesnt hold a candle
Marker Setup: Empire timmy
crossfire 68/45
matching uni
revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger
slotted bolt
hard detents if using a halo
adj. ram cap
Strengths: Fast
effecient
consistent
secksie
light
EMPIRE LOGO!
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
lcd window on grips must be removed
Review: Oh what can i say about this gun. Its a timmy so expect good things. Its very hot, comfortable, balanced, extremely fast, effecient, consisten, all the things you could want from a high end gun. First time out i could easily hit 14 in sim mode. With some effort i can hit 15 but since thats the cap in sim and i only have a revvy, thats all i can shoot. I shot a full hopper through it using my revvy and there were no chops while unloading the hopper. I wanted to save the air for the morning but i just couldnt help draining the tank. This thing is fun to shoot. Its incredibly balanced and the frame is ultra comfy

The only real weakness of this gun is the stock trigger. The little lip at the bottom makes it kinda hard to walk unless ur holding it at your hip. While holding it at normal "stance" i can only hit 11 with my right hand. Another small gripe is the clody lcd window but that can be dealt with in a couple of minutes with a razor
Conclusion: If you have the money, get one. It wont dissappoint the least bit. The milling will set your timmy apart in the crowd from the storm of aliases and it will shoot just as nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empire timmy Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias timmy
a bomb timmy
all sorts of timmies really
Marker Setup: 2k5 empire timmy
127 frenzy infamous board
evil pipe kit
cp rail
and cp unimount
stock torpedo reg
shocktech bolt
contract killa grips
cp roller bearing trigger
mini bob long gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger and a evil pipe kit
Strengths: Very fast
sexy milling
will never chop with right paint
70 - 75 psi
Weaknesses: Manual and thats about it.
Review: This marker is awesome i got this gun with a 116 frenzy
and the gun absouletly rips 16 balls per second easy with
now ball bounce. With its 70-75 psi it can shoot alot
of balls with a tank wether you have a 3000psi steel tank or a
68 4500. I have also found the torpedo reg to shoot very
consistintly compared to a cp reg. Also with my new infamous
board i found little difference other than the settings.
Conclusion: EMPEROR OF ALL TIMMIES
Very nice gun and unlike the alias you wont
find to many of these on the field.
I got mine for 900 so the price
wasnt to bad. a truly great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media