paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey The One / Odyssey The One / Odyssey The One / Odyssey The One

Odyssey The One Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey The One

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey The One
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $510

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dragun once again tops themselves with the introduction of "The One," featuring Osiris technology. It is equipped with an electronic trigger frame that features an LCD. This gun is an fully electropneumatic gun much like the angels, timmys, Imp's, and bushmasters. It has several different settings and display modes, including electronic safety, game timer, shot counter and battery level. It can and will shoot up to 30 balls per second with the "Nitro" mode activated. This gun also has DOS eyes (Dragun optic sensor.) The gun will not fire without a ball in the breech unless eyes are turned off The frame is powered by a 9-volt battery.
Firing Modes Include:
Auto
Semi
3, 6 shot burst
Nitro mode
Product Availability 
The Odyssey The One is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
coryboehne Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM4 - Very Similar Performance

Autocockers (Several) - I'm not a fan to say the least, but I do want to try the Osirus equipped cockers out, maybe I'll change my mind then

E-Grip Spyders - Not at all similar in performance, but they are both based on the same stacked tube body.
Marker Setup: Dragun "The One" Blue/Black Fade
Poor Man's PaintBall Delrin Bolt
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA tank
EvoII w/Z Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Required:
A good quality HPA tank (I like Pure Energy)
Delrin Bolt

Recommended:
"Diode Jumper" from Dragun 1-866-6DRAGUN
High Quality Regulator
New Drop Forward
Zenitram Trigger


Optional but nice:
Barrel
Strengths: Price vs. Performance
Looks
Color Choice
ROF
Lack of Recoil
Anti-Chop Eye
Freindly Support
Weaknesses: Drop Forward
Regulator
Bolt
Review: The Dragun One is a true electro-pneumatic marker that is based on the new Osirus technology which Dragun has recently licenced.

Don't fool yourself, this isn't an Angel, but it's really close, especially considering the $1000+ price gap between the markers.

I should start by mentioning that the One is a highly capible marker, but it will require several immediate upgrades to the marker in order to both prevent wear and increase performance.

The first upgrade is critical and needs to be done before you ever cycle the marker. A new delrin bolt (available from Poor Man's Paintball, look under T.E.S. Accessories) should be installed to avoid damaging the bore by using the stock aluminum bolt (Delrin is a plastic compound that is both lighter and softer than aluminum, this means that the bolt will cycle with less pressure required and will never scratch the bore of your marker). The one important step that is often overlooked when someone installs a delrin bolt is to make sure that your bore is completely free of oil and other gunk, if left it will swell your bolt like a paintball left out on a rainy night. After you squeegie out the bore take a small makeup remover patch (lint free) and dampen it with rubbing alcohol then run it through the bore of the marker and allow it to fuly dry before installing your new bolt, also be sure to avoid over-lubing the air-ram and other peices of your marker so the oil doesn't blow onto your bolt.

The next upgrade is to install a Zenitram Trigger (or any other trigger you may like) so that you can really rip on the trigger when you want to, not that the stock triger is really all that bad, but you'll appreciate the upgrade for the $15 it will set you back.

Next you'll want to pull your marker apart and install what Dragun is selling as a "Diode Jumper" for $15, I've found however that a peice of wire bent into a U shape does nicely with a bit of either electrical shrink wrap (recommended) or electrical tape on the exposed side. This will allow you to use the Nitro Mode which is disabled from the factory. When you start pulling the trigger at 4 BPS or more the gun will start firing at a selected rate between 4 and 30 BPS, and the eye still functions so you won't chop a ball even at 30 BPS! There are also a Burst mode and an Auto Mode, both of which are worthless because they don't function unless you detach the eye board, and that's simply not a good idea. I'll detail the installation for you:

Take the grip off of the left side of the marker and disconnect the battery , then unscrew the three screws that hold the LCD board down. Next you will want to remove the LCD board by pulling up and gently rocking the board (there are pins that connect the boards together, they can be straightend but I recommend trying not to bend them). On the board below this you will find two connectors, one that the pins go into from the top board and another set at the top of this board, the top set is the one we are concerned with. Here is how we are going to refer to these pins:

looking from the side into the marker with board in place:

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10|

You want to jumper the 1 & 3 pins by inserting your "Diode Jumper" into position and pressing it into the slots (make sure it's tight and not going to fall out and short out something). Now reinstall the top LCD board and snug up the three screws reconnect your battery and test your marker to make sure it is assembled correctly.

If you actually plan on running this gun at anything over 20 BPS then you'll need to replace the regulator on the marker, the stock regulator can't keep up with anything over 20BPS, so installing a high quality low pressure regulator is a smart move that will keep your air flowing fast enough so that you can fire that crazy little paint slinger at 30BPS. When you're installing that new regulator you're also going to want to find a nice drop forward, the stock one is a little less that what you'll probably want.

Overall I can't think of a marker that is even going to come close to this marker in the under $1000 market and I think you'll be very happy with the One provided you're willing to do a few things before you use the marker.

I would continue on about this marker, but the previous three posters did a fine job of prasing this wonderful marker and I'm not going to bother saying everything they did over again.
Conclusion: This is probably going to be the best value in paintball for quite a while, and I expect that you'll start seeing quite a few more of these out on the feild and I'd recommend that if you get a chance to shoot one, don't pass it up, you'll be very impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Mattdieter Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
intimidator
angel
Marker Setup: proteam jungle annodized micromag
- lvl 10
- sp all american
- hougue grips
- benchmark foregrip
- cp flame drop
- kapp on/off
- 68/3000 aci bulldog
- 12 vt revi

I also own a p.o.s cocker (curse)


Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
compressed air
halo or egg
Strengths: no recoil
eye
fast
Weaknesses: nothing I noticed
Review: I got to test shoot this gun at the last tourny i went to. To me it resembled the T.E.S, but the one preformed so different. This gun is as close to a timmy as any gun I have seen. one of the major things I grade paintball guns on is there recoil. This guns recoil is non existant. That means that it has much tighter shot groupings in high rates of fire. I also noticed that this gun is very fast. It does not at all resemble the trigger of a electro mechanical dragun. The eye was a huge plus for me. In my oppinion this is going to be the new choice of players searching for high performance. I can't stess that this thing is an exact clone of a timmy. The thing that makes this gun a winner is the performance/price relationship. Why pay 2X as much or more for a timmy when this is the same thing.
Conclusion: This gun can compete on any level of paintball with ease. Definately pick one of these up. They are worth every penny. If any gun on this site really deserves a ten, this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

D.Valero Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO ( very simialer except my bko is heavier and slower)
SPyder Flash (not similar at all)
Marker Setup: The One Marker (not a kit)
SP 12 progressive barrel
70/4500 worrgas system
trigger switch mod
egg w/ z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
you need air ( they say it will run and it does on co2 but it wont do it well)and a fast loader need some can keep up with 17 bps at least i do, a reg wouldnt hurt it(but not need to start out withthe stock is decent) and barrel(but i must say stock barrel is pretty good)
Strengths: Decent air use, rate of fire and dwell. ACE havent chopped in over 3000 shots
Weaknesses: a pain when you are first setting up Eye is paint sensative (clear/dark)
Review: I bought this marker based on a few people recomanedatons, and i must say this marker lived up to the hype. Now i am not gonna try and say that this is a timmy-like marker because i have fired several timmys and this aint one, but it sure very fast, accurate and quiet, and decent on air consumption. I got it and out of the box was ready to fire(except the usual lubing of lpr and hpr) this was ready to go.

i had a lil prob getting it to give me waht i wanted at the chrono at first i called dragun the tech helped me get it right on the phone, now its shooting +/- 6 at the chrono(thats with the stock hpr and lpr). I took it out to the field and played all afternoon, not a single break with eye on and marker set to 25 bps, and my dwell at 8. My input pressure is about 325 and i got 1000 to a 3000 psi fill. I noted a lil fsdo before i lubed the hpr but i have not noticed it since. As for modes it has semi only and nitro mode which i have yet to play around with. The stock barrel performed quite well and seems to work with a variety of paint.( zap/draxxus/and pmi) the barrel is spyder threads so easy to find barrel upgrades.

One thing i did note that if you plan on changing the regs /asa-drop forward you need to do all at once. Dragun uses a wierd threading for the lines that connect the two(reg to asa) its not metric, not standard, not sure what it is but fyi.
The bolt is interchangeable with a timmy bolt, and some spyder model bolts. Cant find a set of gel grips yet for these , but they are said to be coming soon. New upgrades and mods are coming out almost every month for this and so i have to stop this review and get started.
Conclusion: 10 of 10 for this, its does everything they said it would and very easy to get going out of the box. i would buy it again. I expect that this one will be a fast up and comer for the electro market, they call it entry level, but it performs above that
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

lowrlevelracin Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it, i had a meduim worked automag.
Marker Setup: 2004 Dragun "The One" Empire barrel kit, PB bullet drop forward, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, Macroline, Shock Tech Superfly bolt(trash dont buy it), Dragun ultralite trigger, HPA, pressure is at about 200 psi. Halo B with rip drive.
Recommended
Upgrades:
well- my "The One" marker is pretty well modified. i replaced the barrel with an empire kit, stock barrels are always in need of replacing......i put in the ultralight trigger, awesome. i put in the shocktech bolt, dissapointed! no difference. i put on the PB drop, nice feel. the torpedo reg and marcoline and drop forward get rid of the goofy oringed threads dragun uses.
Strengths: -Fast
-precise
-good looks
-PRICE
-spyder threads
-timmy bolts
Weaknesses: stock reg
stock barrel
weird SS hoses
Review: okay okay lets say im addicted to spending mad money on this thing. i was searchign thru ebay one day and came across this marker and WOWsers! sounded too good to be true.

did some homework- talked to the rep. Odyssey, owner of the Halo series, merged with dragun. nice people, read a couple reviews on here and decided for my dealer cost, heck i'd try one.....what if it turned out to be really awesome?

out of the box shes ready to go, the gun is really something to look at. the stock reg makes the chrono jump around a bit. with all my mods, and soon to be Spudnukl bolt in there, i go in the woodsball feild and DOMINATE and in the speedball field this thing holds its own with timmys. its good about chopping paint and the dwell and firing modes are adjustable. i like turning heads when i put on nitro setting and play rainman. this thing just scares people. its a LOT of gun for the money.

LOOK- its not a timmy. it hangs with the best but its simply not as advanced. but for the price you're hard pressed to find something better. the price, performance, and looks are awesome.

also- soon to come for this marker is a better frame that has rubber grips, advanced technology, and a data interface cable with PC software. tune your gun at the feild with your laptop! and all of that technology for an estimated less than $150.



i give it an 8 because its simply not the best. then again you cant give a fully modded timmy a 10 either cause theres is ALWAYS room for improvement somewhere. dont think i dont like this marker, im in love, im simply not just going to give it a 10. no such thing as a REAL 10.
Conclusion: my final word is THIS GUN IS ON THE RISE-----watch out!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MKMK Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion, Dragun Tes, Spyder sonix w/ egrip
Marker Setup: dragun "the one" blue/black fade, Poor mans delrin bolt, Boblong reg, smart parts drop forward, 14" J&J berrel, eggy 2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper like a halo or Egg ,a new regulator, a drop forward, a new barrel, HPA tank, Delrin bolt
Strengths: ROF
Accurate
Price vs. Performance
Looks
color choice
barley any recoil
Anti-chop eye
Weaknesses: Drop forward
Regulator
Bolt
NOT TURNY LEAGLE : '(
Review: Dragun (Odyssey) made its new gun! dragun "The One." But is it really "The One"??? YES IT IS. It is able to compete with the pros guns, it shoots and feels just like a timmy. At 3-30 bps you can really make your mark. It also has a electric eye
which makes it so you will never chop a ball (woohoo). It has 4 settings, Semi, Multi, Nitro, auto. As well as shot counter, game timer and Dwell. althow the multi and auto modes are basicly useless because you haft to take the eye out to shoot them, (which is just a bad idea) but Nitro can be usefull because you can shoot single shots or if you tap the trigger twice repetedly it shoots a single shot then a 3 burst. THE ONE really has proved to be the one, with a few minor upgrades the field will be yours.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and i recomend it to any baller who isnt playin in turnys--it is a great just for fun gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 6:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rottensquad07 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TES, Dragunfire, BKO, B2K2, Impulse, etc.
Marker Setup: For the purpose of this review, mostly stock!
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, drop, barrel kit, fast loader, compressed air
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well I just recieved my black to blue T1 on Tuesday. As with most of my other markers, I intended to write a useful review of all the elements of the marker, and put the marker through a wide range of tests.

I have to start by saying that this thing looks amazing. The blue on the sites, does not do this thing justice! It is a beautifully anodized marker, with exceptional milling! I opened up the case and I found the marker neatly packed in, along with warranty cards, the stock barrel, a tool kit, and of course a TES manual. No worries, just download the correct manual from www.dragunempire.com. The marker itself is a high gloss black fading to a high gloss deep blue. The barrel, regulator, and drop match the black on the marker perfectly. I scanned over the marker, and admired the overall design, and found no scratches, or blemishes. Truly a great looking marker.

My first step of action was to take the marker apart. I do this for a couple of reasons. First, I wanted to see how the marker functions. I always like to know, before I have to field strip it on game day. Second, I wanted to lube all moving parts, and o-rings. This simple maintence is often overlooked by some. I pulled on the bolt pin, and the bolt was free to be removed. This is a nice feature, as you can clean it without total dissambly. After the bolt was removed, there was a clear view on the breech, and top tube. Again, I found no blemishes. I then utelized the quick disconnect feature on the hoses. I was able to pull the ram and ram sleeve out. A quick inspection showed that the marker needed lubed. I added some dow 33 to the bolt, and ram, and went on tearing the marker down. I pulled the trigger frame off, and inspected the internals. The frame has hose channels milled into the top of it, and the body has a channel milled for the eye wire. In my opinion, the eye wire channel should be milled slightly deeper. I belive this would remedy the problems I have read on PBNation about pinching the wire. After inspecting all the wires, I found no piches, or shorts. Since I had the frame off, I decided it would be a good time to adjust my trigger pull, and complete a trigger switch mod. I then reassembled the marker. My next focus was on the LPR. I unscrewed the cap, and found the rumored valve core. It is for sure the same as in a tire valve! Another cool idea in my opinion. I screwed the LPR adjustment screw all the way in, so removing the spring and seat would be easier. I then lubed up the seat, and reassembled. I was ready for testing on Sunday!

Sunday came, and I took the marker out. I put my 47 / 3000 tank on it, and turned on the frame. The stock drop is not my favorite item, but it was better then nothing. I adjusted the HPR to @ 250 psi to start. With the LPR adjustment screw all the way out flush with the cap, I began to turn in clockwise. Once it began to leak, I turned it counter clockwise to where it stopped. Another 1/4 turn counterclockwise, and I was ready to go. I loaded pink shelled Zap paint in, and went to the chrono. I was shooting in the 290's. After adjustments, I was shooting @ 280 fps, at dwell 6, and 225 psi. I pointed at a set of bunkers on the field, and fired a few quick shots. I noticed that the stock switch was a little heavy before, but after my modification, it rips. I then layed out some ropes. The marker was awesome. It has little to no kick, and will rail on command! I have shot many markers, and this one competes, let me tell you. It was then time to go.

We lined up at the starting gates, and when the whistle blew, I was off. Playing the center back position, I have to lane like crazy, and lane I did. The marker was ball on top of ball accurate! Our team won, and I made the first 2 kills in a matter of 30 seconds. As the day progressed, I had one barrel break. This however can be a downside, as paint gathered over the eye, and forced me to turn the eye off for the remainder of that game. OGI should look into that on their future markers, and make the eye plastic flush in the tube. The stock barrel is fairly accurate when the paint is matched correctly. It cleans itself in 3-4 shots. All in all I ran the gun through about a case, and had NO CHOPS!!!! As said before, I did experience only 1 barrel break. My team mates were impressed with my purchase. We were pleased with the stock performance, and the price is wonderful. I had no FSDO, or any of the other rumored problems. When compared to my TES which arrived at about the same time, the looks were similar, but that is about it. The ONE shoots much more smoothly, and I enjoyed its performance more then my TES.
Conclusion: This is an awesome deal. If you are on the fence about this gun or a TES, or similar gun, this one is the way to go. I give it a 10 / 10 because the gun truely deserves it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 13th, 2004 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TeamRC_Lunchbox Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
First electro-pnuematic
Marker Setup: Stock Dragun "The One"
Nitro setting activated
Stock Barrel
32 degrees Nightstick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The reg and LPR can be serious pains in the *** while they are being broken in. A Palmers reg would be a big plus... maybe a Palmers LPR as well.
Strengths: Fast... Unbelievably Fast!
Weaknesses: The manual sucks!
Review: This is my first electro-pnuematic gun, so for those of u getting ready to take the plunge, this review is for you! The gun performed exactly as OGI Dragun describes on their website, and I'd even venture to say it truly breaks the 30 bps barrier. It's worth twice it's cost, no doubt. The only bad part I found was the dissemination of information on the marker, and God help the manual! The one that came with mine was actually a TES manual, and although they are similar, it didn't help me at all when I was reassembling the air ram system after a clean. Luckily, PB Nation was a tremendous help, and the folks in the OGI section were most helpful. There was a lot about air rams that I didn't know when my T1 hit the doorstep, and trust me... it's been a really educational process. It's taken a great deal of patience and the help of my fellow PB Nation brethren, but I've got a handle on adjusting and working on my gun. IF YOU WANT A GUN THAT TAKES LITTLE OR NO EFFORT TO MAINTAIN, STICK WITH A TIPPY! This is a high level marker, and it takes a high level of maintenance and care.
Conclusion: Excellent marker that performs well beyond it's price tag. I can see how it's earning it's nickname of "timmy killer." While Angels and Timmy's that use virtually the same air ram system cost a small fortune (and your first born young, which isn't always a bad thing lmao) may come with better peripherals (reg, LPR etc.), a few quick fixes on the T1 quickly, and inexpensively brinbg it up to par. A definite tourney level gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

RUNandSHOOT Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Close to be being a Timmy but then again its far from being a timmy.
Marker Setup: Heavily Up'd Spyder Imagine
Slightly Up'd The ONE
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bascially what others have recommended.
Strengths: Read Review Body
Weaknesses: Read Review Body
Review: This marker has lived up to all the reviews before it. It is very fast and may be faster, but what I liked the most besides the speed was the accuracy.

Probably more to come, I will edit it constantly.

Strengths
- Right out of the box this is a great marker to own.
- High performance electro for 1/3 of the price of others.
- Sleek looks, simple but effective.
- Anti-chop Eye (ACE) works great
- (Many others to come)
- Nitro Setting (if activated)
- Nice and helpful people @ Dragun & @PBnation.com

Weaknesses (These are not weaknesses but ways to improve or upgrade a T1)
- Grips (Hopefully aftermarket grips come soon)
- Drop Forward seems/looks brittle (Easily upgradable)
- Regulator (Good for time being but could be upgraded)
- Barrel (Accurate but as all stock barrels could be upgraded)
- Bolt (Great stock but as all stock bolts it could be upgraded)
- Manual (Fixed just buy going online and downloading the online manual)
- Feedneck (Good enough stock but as all stock parts it could be upgraded)
- (ACE) Anti-Chop Eye (just a weakness depending on your paint ie. clear/dark)
- No memory board (Hopefulyl fixed with aftermarket upgrades)


Conclusion: As many others have stated, this is a great marker for the price while retaining great preformance. I have yet to have it over a month so I have not run into any minor or major problems. I will probably have some in do time but for now its amazing. I recommend this gun to many but not to those who are new to this wonderful sport. Typing from personal experience I am glad I owned a spyder before this marker because I learned how to appreciate markers and how they work. If you do choose to purchase this marker the people @ PBnation.com will be happy to greet you and help you in anyway they possibly can.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 30th, 2004 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

johntilling Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: Silver/Gold fade Dragun The One with-
-Eclipse QEV
-Clamping feedneck
-50 gram switch
-DYE aluminum barrel
-Bob Long Torpedo Inline Reg
-WGP Drop
-Tigershark Bolt/ Jam Botl
-Eggy 2 with Z-board
-92 4500 Crossfire tank
....Phew...ok im done
Recommended
Upgrades:
New inline reg, QEV, fast loader, light switch
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, No Chops (Now), decently consistent (+-15)
Weaknesses: No Memory, Chops (at first), HORRIBLE HELP FROM FACTORY. FSDO, Shootdown
Review: Okay kiddies, let me tell you my story. I ordered my Dragun The One and installed everything mentioned above (excluding the Jam Bolt, I was using a Nylatron TigerShark). I shot it and it was great at first, then started to be a stubborn little blender. I wanted to throw it, but I didn't wanna take down an airplane, so I sent it to the factory with my warranty card instead. They had it for a few weeks, and I got it back thinking it would be awesome now...CHOP. It was as much a blender then than ever. So I start looking into Jam Bolts, and finally buy one...when it arrived I installed it, aired up my gun and started flingin some paint. It was okay at first, no chops but a lot of misfires. Misfires with an eye?? I thought, how can it dry fire with the eye on? Oh well, it wasnt chopping. A few days later I played with it and only had one or two chops all day. I took it home and fired it again and it was being a blender. I came to the conclusion that the eye was seeing the bolt as a paintball, therefore when I pull the trigger when the bolt is halfway back, the eye sees the bolt and fires, thus chopping the paintball. So now I have to say I'm pretty mad, so I take it to my local shop to see what they can tell me. They suggested India Ink to make the bolt invisible to the eye. So I bought some and applied it to the bolt. At first it wouldnt soak in to the bolt, but after some gentle sanding to make the bolt more porous, it soaked right in, making the part of the bolt that goes past the eye black. I took my gun out and shot it and NO CHOPS EVER SINCE THEN. You do have to reapply the india ink every once in awhile because it wears down, but thats okay. I must say, I am kind of disappointed with the Jam Bolt...I hope you consider this review if you are thinking of getting a Jam Bolt for a gun with eyes.

I was just shooting today and I had some shootdown in the middle of my "rope of paint". I saw paint fly everywhere, and I thought, oh no not another chop. So i unscrew the barrel and look down it and its completely dry andclean. I was mind boggled. It happened again later and I came to the conclusion that one ball comes out slow and the next one comes out fast and actually hits the ball, breaking it in mid-air. I know it's hard to believe, but that's the only thing I can think of. By the way, under weaknesses, I put FSDO and shootdown. After lubing the inline reg and LPR good then that is drastically reduced, but not eliminated.
Conclusion: Overall, NOW this is a great marker. I give this gun a 7 because it finctions perfectly if its working right, but if its not working right its a pain in the butt. I am VERY disappointed with Dragun's service on my gun, and the fact that they basically just lubed everything up and sent it back to me. Anyway, I definately recommend this gun to anybody that can get their hands on some india ink.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slapdookie Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
from timmy to angel to impluse
Marker Setup: green one
evil pipe w green ultra tip
ricochet apache
shocktech inline reg
micro rock
fbm drop w/ on/off asa
apm bolt
clamping feed neck
eclipse QEV
homemade rubberized grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEEDED
bolt
drop
reg
WHEN YOU GET AROUND TO IT
barrel
upgradeed lpr
Quik Exhaust Valve
maybe trigger mod
Strengths: Cheap (becomes more expensive as you upgrade but still pretty cheap)
Fast
Eye
Stylin'
Weaknesses: Not good on co2
Aluminum bolt
Trigger is a little heavy
Review: Well first i got the gun on ebay brand new for 180$ cant beat that with a bat. my initial impression was that the gun was awful pretty to look at (some may find this ridiculous, but then again some like myself do not). Plugged in a co2 tank first to see how the gun handled(late summer still warm) inconsistant with horrible first shot drop off, i guess to be expected. Let the reg thaw put a compressed air tank on(and new drop) and the thing started hummin. Barrel is above average for stock, reg is mediocre didn't have a chrono but pressure fluctuations on gauge indicated some fps changes(on yeah drop is no good for compressed air tank will need new drop for those tanks). Now that gun is upped this thing is ringin bells. I got to say i enjoy playin against those with expensive markers, not to say this is on the level with timmys and angels and such but believe me if you are half decent you can definitly hold you own and then some brother
Conclusion: Cheap electro marker with eye for around 200 large, with a few upgrades this is an slammin marker well worth its price
9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 8:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media