paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Triad / Viewloader Triad / Viewloader Triad / Viewloader Triad

Viewloader Triad Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Triad

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Triad
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 216
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Radar mask Quantum electronic loader 9-ounce tank Proflex squeegee High-rise vertical feed port Top cocking bolt Field strippable pin Bottom line adapter Double finger trigger Barrel plug
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Triad is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
craigadamcote Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months79 of 106 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orion
Marker Setup: new barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: fast BPS, like a tank, ease of cleaning.
Weaknesses: balls breacks in barrel, needs cleaning of the barrel after every breack in barrel.
Review: nice gun good for begginers or recreational use. Great for woods play. Works in any time and weather. barrel gives you away. Loud quantum Hopper. great gun for your money. great for beginners and intermediate players. can play almost every day. cheap to maintain the gun. hard to find parts for the rare occasion is hard to find.
Conclusion: Good gun get it if you are itermediate or beginner paintballer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballguy00 Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: VL Triad, stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel--the stock one isn't bad considering its only stock
more variety of colors----only comes in green which is good for woods-ball
Strengths: very accurate
powerful
holds CO2 good
light
good color for woods-ball
Weaknesses: Top Loader
Review: I love this gun. over all it is a great gun. it greatly compares to the spyder xtra. I have only used it for just about a month and it has worked great so far. i haven't had any real problems with it. The only thing that has gone wrong is that when i use a blue streak ball is tends to explode in the barrel. But the easy solution for that is use a different kind of ball.
Conclusion: i recommend this gun to beginners and intermediate players. Its cheap, has a sleek look, and accurate and powerful
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

lybster Sunday, June 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Tippmann M98 Stealthline w/ RT, Spyder Sonix, Spyder Sonix Pro, Game Face Vexor, Spyder Imagine LED, Spyder E-99, Viewloader Prodigy, Spyder Victor w/ e-grip, Spyder Electra, PMI R6, and many more.
Marker Setup: Triad w/ Alamo City Low Blow bolt
VL Maxis RG blade trigger with a softer spring
14” CMI Tru-Flight QB barrel (two piece)
VL Pro Grip
VL Sticky grips
VL Revolution hopper w/ Z-board
20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
see my setup and review
Strengths: Inexpensive, reliable, well designed, easy maintenance, nice color, lots of replacement parts and upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Loud with a long stiff trigger pull and no foregrip. These are all easily solvable.
Review: I am going to base this review on the Triad itself, as I have upgraded it, and NOT compared it with other markers I own or have played with or against. First, this is a well designed marker. It only requires one hex key (1/8 inch) for all the fittings and velocity adjuster, plus a Phillips screw driver. It comes with a screen in the ASA to filter CO ice and fluids. The slots at the base of the feed neck are to help reduce blowback. There is no Low Presser Chamber, though one can be added, because they are not needed. The Triad is designed to be played with CO2. If you play with HPA you might want to think about adding one.

I initially bought this marker, refurbished, for $35 because it was cheap, thinking I might use it for a loaner or backup. I decided to test it out of the box, no upgrades and stock barrel. I did this with my son and a friend who is a tourney player. The weather was cool (low 50’s) and it was raining. We put a couple of hundred paintballs in a 6” target at measured distances of 60 and 75 feet with no barrel breaks using both CO2 and HPA. We were all impressed with its accuracy and reliability with the stock barrel and bolt.

However I do not play with stock markers. My markers are merely an extension, and reflection, of my playing style and skills so I went hunting of aftermarket of the shelf upgrades, all of which cost less than the marker. For comfort I started with a set of Viewloader sticky grips and a Viewloader Pro Grip, which acts as one stage Expansion Chamber. The grip requires an ASA adaptor, which are either right or left threaded. My Triad uses a right threaded adaptor. To increase the rate of fire I bought a blade trigger for a Viewloader Maxis RG which is easier to sweet spot and put in a softer trigger spring. The result of this last set of upgrades was to increase my rate of fire to 10 bps, double that of the stock Triad. My Triad is now light and fast (for me). The final set of upgrades was to change the bolt and barrel. I use an Alamo City delrin Low Blow bolt to put back spin on my balls which increases range and a two piece full rifled CMI Tru-Flight QB barrel to improve accuracy.

The first time I played with this setup I realized I needed one further upgrade… a larger harness. In a 20+ minute game I went through almost 700 paintballs and then ran out of paintballs a couple of minutes before the game ended. My upgrades have doubled the rate of fire to around 10 bps. This rate of fire is easy to sustain with the upgraded trigger setup. I have put thousands of rounds through this setup and have yet to have a ball break in either the breech or the barrel. For low-end markers, like the Triad, reducing ball breakage is primarily a function of a having a good paintball to barrel match and not overshooting your hopper. Use quality paintballs, these do not have to be expensive, just shop around. I prefer Game Face Impact paintballs which I buy at my local Wal-Mart. A better quality bolt can also help reduce breakage.

In response to many of the Triad reviews I have read, and I have read them all, Viewloader has first rate tech support, a lot of which is available on their web site, viewloader.com. If you need parts or upgrades then check out the site you are own now (pbreview.com) for what you need. For Triad parts check out viewloaderparts.com and vlproseries.com. Please note that most Viewloader marker parts are interchangeable. For a good delrin bolt I recommend go to alamocitypb.com. Please do not whine in your Triad (or other marker) reviews, grow up and use your computer to search the wed find what you need for your marker setup rather than demonstrating your ignorance about how little you know about resources available on the web.

Like all markers to keep the Triad performing to it maximum remember to tighten all fittings and keep it oiled before the game and at your mid-day break.
Conclusion: I like low-end markers, both electro and mechanical, because of their reliability, adaptability and upgradeability to fit my skills and playing style. My Triad has met, and exceeded, my expectations, my airsmiths and the tourney players, including pros, I play with and against.

I recommend Triads to new players because they are inexpensive, solid, reliable easy to maintain, remember you only need one hex key.

For intermediate players there are lots of inexpensive off the shelf upgrades to create marker to match you playing style as opposed to buying a new marker setup.

For the advanced player, the upgraded Triad allows you to match your skills against an opponent who relies on their marker to compensate for their skills.

Why spend outrages sums on a new marker when one marker can grow with you as grow in this sport?

To all who love this sport as much as I do, irregardless of what you feel about the Triad, please “play safe and have fun”.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mak-68 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Avenger
Marker Setup: 98 custom, double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
front grip
Strengths: durable, dependable, lightweight, vertical feed, top cocking
Weaknesses: hard to find repair kits
Review: I own 5 of these guns because I have alot of broke friends that I want to play paintball with. The package was complete and the mask was even suitable for human use.Ha Ha The ease of care on these guns are top notch pop out one pin, pull the cocking handle clean and your ready to go. Unlike 98's that require open heart surgery just to clean. The Velocity was high on them so I took the spacer out from behind the spring and that did the trick. The looks of the gun and its simplicity make it Ideal for anyone that wants it. Accuracy seemed compareable to anyother stock barrel you get. The Quantum loader in my opionion is useless and adds complexity to a simple system. I got 5 vl2000 and solved that problem. I believe all guns should be sold with barrel bags and not plugs since you can't use them at most events any more.
Conclusion: Over all good gun for the money it has made it possible for me to go play with good friends and not worry about fixing guns all the time. I think it fills the spot it was ment to fill and thats good enough for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Flashfire Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
Spyder Shutter
BE Eradicator
Spyder Compact
Spyder Imagine
VL Triton
Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Main gun:
-Spyder Shutter
-14'' Dye Xcel
-CP Flame drop forward
-32* Spring kit
-Spinloader hopper
-Polished internals
-Steel braided hose
-Drilled V/A
-Drilled valve
-Modified bolt
-20oz. with SP on/off

Backup:
-VL Orion
-14'' 32* Whisper
-32* Spring kit
-Polished internals
-Modified trigger spring
-VL200 hopper
-20oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, trigger job, polish internals, hopper,
Strengths: Value
Reliability
Doesn't chop
Accurate with better barrel
Gas efficient
Green
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Loud
Terrible stock barrel
No foregrip

Review: This is my Dad's marker. It's almost exactly the same as my Orion (or any other VL). The stock barrel was awful so we replaced it with a 12" VL barrel and it improved the sound and accuracy very much. Trigger pull is heavy, I haven't fixed that yet. It's very gas efficient. It hardly ever chops paint. The color is great for woodsball.

UPDATE!!!

After a year, the stock main spring wore out. The maker had hardly any velocity. So my remedy was to take the silver main spring from the 32 Degrees Spyder Spring kit and trim a few spirals off to make it fit in the Triad. The result was fantastic. It now has much more accuracy and strength than it did before.
Conclusion: I like this marker but there's still better markers out there for the same price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hed Trauma Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Spyder Sport, Piranha, Point Zero
Marker Setup: Nothing was added to the gun form its original state. Stock bottom line and foregrip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ported the stock-barrel shot accuracy and grouping-consistency increased greatly, Drilled out the cap where a volumizer would go. Removed the annodizing on the bolt and polished.
Strengths: Affordable,
Spyder Barrel Threading,
Decent Entry-level marker
Weaknesses: Gas consumption
Velocity high out of box
Plastic Trigger Frame
Lame packaged hopper
Review: My cousins were visitng for the weekend showed an intrest towards my paintball guns.
We went to a few sport stores looking for a cheap marker and honestly weren't having much luck. We ended up picking up Triad Players kit from walmart for 80 bucks, 7oz BE tank, Quantim Hopper and a JT Mask.
Cheap enough to go out and play, After we got some gas and paintballs I was surprised at how well the marker fired and performed. The rate of fire wasn't blazing but was adequate for recreational play or woodsplay.

The Stock barrel performed up to par with stock barrels from comparable blowback markers. After porting the barrel the accuracy and range was almost the same as my 14" CMI Thunderpig, it isnt the best thunderpig i've used, kind of lousy finish.
The stock Hoper... does its job, but by no means does this gun need an electric hopper.
The opening for the Vertical Cocker has worn the bolt, after only a weekend of play, That was a little disapointing but it hasn't obstructed playablitiy
I haven't had a chance to try out the JT Mas it came with , So I can't comment about it.

Conclusion: With a little modification the gun performed quiet well and for the cost of the marker, I can't think of better brand new marker or package.
All in All, I'm pleased with the gun. It should serve as a great entry level marker or recreational gun.

I give the gun an 9 out of 10 because,
It serves it's purpouse and does it's job very well, If your spending 30-80 bucks on a pantball gun can you honestly expect much more than what the Triad has to offer?
My only real Knock on this gun is the Plastic Triggerframe, but it is a nice frame, decent throw and seems to be sturdy.
The Gun met my expectations and exceeded a few.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cephas37 Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, orion: comprapable but spyder is really solid
Marker Setup: triad now
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new barrel or if you have a drill press and can use it put some holes on the barrel end to dispurse co2
Strengths: inexpensive durable ease of cleaning
Weaknesses: none yet
Review: I only have taken the gun out twice, but it is working really well. Barrel makes balls shoot crooked, but that is easily fixed with a new barrel. The electronic loader is noisy, but worked well to get the paintballs down into the marker. The green color is cool and worked well with the camouflage. Flexible squegee (as many know) works well.
Conclusion: good gun for the price. I liked the electronic loader.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paintballsrfur Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Procarbine not evan as good as Triad and triad is not as much as other guns that as good as this one
Marker Setup: VL Triad Quantum Loader 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger CO2
Strengths: Is very accurate and very light green so it will be like camo
Weaknesses: there are no real weaknesses to this gun that i have found
Review: This gun is very good for beginners like me the quantum loader is not very good so get a new hopper. This gun is very accurate and I have only chopped two balls out of 1000. I have had my gun for almost a month and used it several times. I really like this marker because it is cheap and easy to maintain also because it was very easy to clean when i chopped one of the balls this gun is only 100 dollars at walmart so i think thats a pretty good deal for a gun this good.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to beginners and intermediate players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

master18967 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion
Spyder Imagine
Pirhana R6
Pirhana GTI E-Force
WGP STO Autococker
Marker Setup: -VL Triad
-Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: -Easy to Clean
-Accurate with new barrel
-Trigger
-Easy Rear Cocking
Weaknesses: -Somewhat Loud
-Stock Barrel
-Vertical Feed
Review: I have had this gun for less than a month. I had some ball breaks, but after I got better brand balls I haven't had one break. The stock barrel is not that great so I recommend getting a new barrel if you want to be accurate. If you fire to fast with cheap balls they will break in the barrel. You have to clean the barrel after every break or it won't be accurate.
Conclusion: This is an overall good gun for beginners. This is a amazing gun for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 8th, 2005 at 6:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skitle7 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine and spyder victor
Marker Setup: vl triad
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and expansion chamber
Strengths: powerful, inexpensive, and good accuracy
Weaknesses: no expansion chamber
Review: i recommend any one to get it. i got mine at walmart for only $100 and i am satisfied it comes with a 9 oz tank barrel plug, squeegee, a jt mask, and electronic hopper. This is a must get for any beginer or intermediate players. if any of you can tell me where i can get the vl barrel for it at a very inexpensive price.
Conclusion: good gun for beginers and intermediate players. if you are a beginer and doesnt want to spend alot of money you should buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media