paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme / Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme / Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme / Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme

Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 5.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Raptor Extreme features an extreme splash anodized finish, a double trigger, and an expansion chamber in a bottom line configuration.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
steven64o Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years20 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Gun!!!
Strengths: Ummm... Hmmm... The, no wait, Ummm... Nothing
Weaknesses: Hey, this is an easy one, THE GUN!!!
Review: I work at an ARMY paintballl field in Germany in which soldiers and their families come out and have some fun, and this is the gun that we rent out. Trust me, I had no say in the choice of this gun, I would never pick anything that has the words BRASS EAGLE on it. They suck, Im suprised they have not yet gone bankrupt. These guns breakdown like CRAZY. The sears are the worst part of the gun, they are cheap peaces of crap, the corners chip and will not catch the hammer, so you have to unscrew everything, take the grip apart, mess with the springs and all that damn grease, put it back together, its a pain in the rear end (moderators made me change my original word after a year)! The ball stops break, The springs dont last long, they wear out, The things leak all the time. IF you have not noticed, most of the people that are giving this a good rating, are newbees, they dont know any better!!! And the big surprise that we just got from Brass Eagle, after being on the phone with them for an hour and a half, is that they will no longer be making replacement parts for the thing! I guess thats good though, because now were moving on to Tippmann Model 98's, which I know from first hand experience are great begginner-intermediate guns. They are very reliable and accurate. STAY AWAY FROM ANYTHING THAT BRAS EAGLE MAKES!!! SPEND YOUR MONEY ON SOMETHING BETTER, I MEAN A COMPANY THAT SELLS A GUN AT AS LOW AS $10, HAS TO BE CHEAP!!!
Conclusion: THIS GUN SUCKS!!!!!!!! If you see my rating is 1, Even though I cant do 0, 1 suits it good, because it can actuallly shoot its first couple balls before breaking down
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 28th, 2004 at 2:58 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vogar34 Saturday, March 1st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A typical semi-auto
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new hopper
Strengths: Alright I know there is some confusion about this marker so I am going to try to clear this up. This gun has a decent rate of fire for a semi auto, stock barrel is pretty accurate, doesn't chop that much paint unless you use cheap paint.
Pretty easy to field strip if you get familiar with the parts before hand.
Weaknesses: chops cheap paint (like brass eagle paint)
If you going trigger finger happy it will eventually chop paint in cold weather.
Gas hog with regular expansion( buy 32 degrees)
Conclusion: Alright this is a great marker for a person who would like to learn speedball or
woodball. I think this marker is much better for a beginner than a tippman 98 custom because you do not need to upgrade it to get a decent rate of fire. Yes a tippman can eventually be made into a full auto but at what price. You will spend 200 dollars or more easily on that marker. If you buy the Raptor xtreme you will have a very good gun for the price and you will not have to upgrade as much. This thing is tournament ready so if you wanted to enter a rookie tournament you could. Oh sorry the tippman 98 doesn't have tournament knobs well too bad, but this one does. If you really want good advice I would just recommend getting a tippman A-5 with a response trigger for under 300 dollars and it is a really great gun that can keep up with the competition. Just don't buy a 98 custom and upgrade it, trust me it is a waste buying this overrated marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

pb136 Wednesday, March 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have used raptor xtreme
Most brass eagle guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann Prolite
w/ cmi tru flight barrel
12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
new bolt
basicaly a new gun
Strengths: Nice paint job
Looks good
Weaknesses: Breaks balls
Hard to clean
Stock barrel sucks
loud as a cannon
Way to high of a price
Conclusion: I would not recomend this gun to anyone i have played for a while. Dont listen to your friends and go out and buy it. for the same price you can get a tippmann custom 98 which is a totaly better gun.dont just buy a gun based on looks.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, October 26th, 2001
 
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun has been very accurate and very dependable. It has a very good ball feed and if you get the right kind of paintballs (not Brass Eagle) it does not chop balls.
Weaknesses: I have found nothing wrong with this gun (after firing several thousand shots from it) except that it is a little heavy with my 16" sniper barrel and 14 oz. tank.
Conclusion: This gun performs good as a stock gun but I decided to go ahead and buy the sniper barrel. The gun is definately worth the price I paid for it ($175 including sniper barrel. This is a low maintenance gun and you only have to do a complete breakdown cleanout every couple months. I have also shot Tippmans and Spiders but they are not even on the same level as my Raptor. I would recommend this gun to anyone. I love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

spyder freek Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all kinds 98c and a-5 mag and a MATRIX...I LOVED THE MATRIX
Marker Setup: Spyder victor
~smartparts 14' teardrop
~32 degrees v-bolt
~32 degrees gel grip (modified)
~Red sprint trigger w/ 1 mm pull
~pmi inline regulator
~15* assault block
~Phyco balistics drop forward
~72 ci pure energy Hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
polished internals....clean constantly new barrel does help...new bolt is u could find
Strengths: PRICE,,,,LOOKS,,,,after mod preformance
Weaknesses: weight loud...stock preformance...
Review: OK 1st thing u do get firmilliar with the gun...know the parts be able to field strip....THEn go out online..yes its possible find a large bore barrel...and get a squeege with it ....then look online for a new bolt i couldent find one but i hade some 800 and 1000 grit sand paper i used to sand the face of the boltto reduse breaking...test spring tension stock is too high and allways lube the gun after use.... fast feed is needed and u CANT USE CHEAP PAINT no after burners blue ball crap or be....
Conclusion: im givin it a 7 because stock preformance suks,,,,the chopping and all...but im sick and tiered of people saying that this gun if only liked by noobs that dont know better!!!...for 75$ when u can get the gun and a whole mask tank +everything u need kit take it and mod it till it works..thats how most be guns are so....basicly im not a noob and ive played w/ a couple higher end guns..but w/ a lil modding and a player that knows how to use it they can own w/ this gun...not like angels but def...a tippman
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jason79 Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom. Kingman Spyder. PMI piranha. Brass eagle avenger and marauder. All of these guns are MUCH better than the raptor.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann 98 Custom. I have a 5" drop forward, a collapsable stock, laser sight, bipod, 16" thunderpig barrel,(or 21" 3 piece barrel) rocket cock2, and the double trigger, response trigger, expansion chamber,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades for the raptor? Buy a tippmann, or other good name gun, quality is always a good benefit.
Strengths: NONE (maybe that it looks cool)
Weaknesses: Everything but the finish and barrel.
Review: I tested this gun for a friend of mine, we used good paint, the gun looked to be in great shape inside and out, the co2 tank was full, good hopper. But the gun was only able to shoot 2 paintballs before it shredded some, and then for no reason after we cleaned the barrel and chamber it went psycho on us! The gun went full auto, nearly drained a full 20oz tank, and froze the gun up! After cleaning and through inspection, the gun did the same thing. After reading many many other testominals I decided that it was not the operator and not the accesories. I have a few brass eagle products myself as loaners, and they arent to bad. The other brass eagles (maurader and avenger) at least work, without continous repair. The raptor requires alot of attention, not bad when it actually works, but it has alotta down time on the field from breaking paint.

***After trial and error we did finally fix the raptor, had to re-engineer a few of the firing mechanisms, then the gun actually made a few games relatively good. Still breaks alotta paint though.***

***I am adding this note after we got into the beginning of the second season this gun has been attempted to be used. it is up to its old tricks, chopping paint like mad, trigger problems again, after a matter of minutes in play the gun either needs broken paint cleaned out or repairs. We finally convinced him to get rid of it. This gun is the biggest dissappointment ever to come out of brass eagle.
Conclusion: My final recommendation as prevously stated, buy a good name brand gun. If you dont have mechanical ability, this gun isnt for you. But if you can be inventive on repairs this is a decent starter gun. You can actually get good at fixing guns if you buy one of these guns!!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 3:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yuik Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom(very similar) Spyder flash, compact, extra, basically any low end open bolt blowback gun
Marker Setup: WGP Nightkast
evil 68/4500
karner kit
oracle bolt
oracle ram 3way and back block
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel if you can find one
N2
Strengths: Cheap i got it for 40$ at acion village
Weaknesses: It is alittle off target when shooting however for the price it owns
Review: i got this thing for 40$. For the price it was great. I put it next to a stock 98c and this is what i got. They were both using n2 and evil paint. The raptor extreme was only 1 bps slower than the 98c. How long it takes to dump 200 rounds. 200/time in seconds. the accuacry was the same. The recoil was alittle more on the 98c. The 98c was more consistant. However the reason i think this is better than the 98c. 98c 100$ raptor extreme 40$ you do the math. All you haters remember you get what you pay for. And i got this gun on action village for 40$ when it was on clearence.

Conclusion: Gte this gun if you find it under 100$. Its almost as good as a 98c.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Se1Fer Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots
Marker Setup: Evil Omen (black)
Pipe Kit
Evil Scion A1r
Evo Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW GUN(highly reccomended) :)
Strengths: Hmmm...The...Wait...None :P
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Ok brass eagle congrats!!!! Out of all the brass eagles ive tried this is the best 1 ive used but it still sucks. Who the hell is gonna put brass eagle outta bussiness??? But anyway unlike the samurai after about 6 shots every ball chopped and i needed 2 clean the gun..pretty mcuh the same probs as the samurai(see review). Also this gun is $250 who the hells gonna pay that much for a crap ahs gun especially when its a brass eagle!? ....MY god
Conclusion: I give it a 2 cuz its the best brass eagle ive used.

Note: Every 1 that gave this gun a 10 was a unregistered User!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 4:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 22nd, 2001
 
2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is great i dont know what people are talking about that gave it a 1 out of ten rating this gun deserves a 10 out of 10 i also like the double trigger feature and the paint job and good paintballs dont break in the barell.
Weaknesses: Sometimes this gun will shoot 2 or 3 balls out of the barell but not that often and brass eagle paint balls break so dont buy those even though my guns made by them
Conclusion: in conclusion, this gun is good for beginners and amatures the price is about right maybe a little high but its worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cadgear Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock Raptor XTreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
Starfire bolt, lightened hammer, new barrel
Strengths: Cheap, all aluminum construction. Stacked blowback is reliable. Common upgrades already in place.
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy, even with aftermarket barrels.
Review: Extensive playing with the Raptor XTreme makes me one of the few paintballers who can actually, honestly, and objectively review it without using four letter expletives.

The nice thing about the Xtreme version is that many common upgrades to paintball markers are already in place for this marker. At the time of it's introduction, most markers were still sold relatively bare: no X-chamber, a single trigger, no powerfeed, etc. BE stepped up and, while they may not have made it standard, they did bring the majority of these additions to the lower budget players.

Reliability has been the centre of discussion with the Raptor, as with any Brass product. However, in the six years I've owned this marker, I haven't had it break down beyond any simple cleaning, lube, or o-ring replacement. If you look at the construction, it's a stacked blow back marker design. The parts just aren't going to up and fail unless you torture the thing. And I torture my markers, from the Model 98 to the Talon and soon my T68.

The bottomline adapter is a nice touch, allowing most users to cradle the tank under an armpit or against a shoulder. The bottomline connects directly to the expansion chamber, which is a very nice touch, especially since most low-end players use CO2 as a gas source. Moving up you have the double trigger, allowing higher rates of fire. The powerfeed is nice, giving you that extra BPS. The ported barrel isn't the greatest, and here is where things start going downhill. The barrel IS nice, but it's still a stock, mass-produced, low QA, poorly finished product. The anodised layer on my barrel is still in place, surprisingly, however I feel that this layer is what holds back the barrel's performance.

As with any stacked blowback marker, valve construction is laughably simple, however prone to liquid CO2 mucking up the works. Fortunately the x-chamber takes care of most of that. The bolt is heavy, but the left/right hand cocking knob is a saviour to me since I shoot left handed. Velocity is adjusted through an allen screw behind the mainspring, however velocity over 275 and I chopped almost every other ball. A new bolt would be a must, since the stock bolt is just another chunk of aluminum with some O-rings around it. A derlin starfire bolt is a cheap and effective way to boost the accuracy and lower the chop rate. BE did the smart thing and used the "standard" orange ball detent instead of the old spring wire "paperclip" method as on the original Raptor.

Rate of fire isn't the best. Tops, 12-15 bps, non-agitated hopper. Any higher and I started to misfeed and chop. Chop rate is probably in the 25% range, with low quality paint. Not a very good ratio, but I've owned markers that chop 75% of the balls shot. And no, they weren't BE products...

Disassembly is easy. Essentially there are three caps that hold the guts in: a bolt endcap, a hammer endcap, and a valve endcap. All are easy to remove. The grip comes off with two allen screws, as does the bottomline ASA. The mainspring guide is used to remove the hammer-bolt linkage, through an ingenious threaded design. Oiling isn't a problem, as is cleaning. The all-metal construction, in addition to the anodising, allows you to basically soak all the parts in hot soapy water for cleaning, without fear of rust.

Gas mileage isn't that bad. The expansion chamber helps keep out liquid CO2, extending the shots per fill and increasing velocity consistency. The report is loud, however not much more than any other low end semi. Accuracy is a big problem, however. Even with a J&J Ceramic, a Starfire bolt, and 260fps, I could shoot four shot bursts and have the first ball fly true, the second veer off to the left, and the third would later be found in Cairo, Egypt. But the fourth would be right back on track. Stock parts is even worse, since the poor designs hinder any performance you could hope to gain.
Conclusion: Most people diss Brass Eagle products because they don't want to be the noob who sticks up for them. I have to say, they have their good and their bad. I don't swear by their stuff, but I've been forced, or chosen, to use a few select markers.

In the case of the Raptor XTreme, it's good for nostalgia. Any low end marker out now can outperform this dinosaur (pun intended), but if your primary and backup fail, or you want to pull off a quick 5 minute game with your friends (who don't own a marker), it's nice to have on the pegboard.

Several issues surrounding the Raptor have been addressed in the Xtreme version, however fixing one problem opened up two more for Brass Eagle. If you need a marker that has a high ROF, great accuracy, and a slew of modifications, then look elsewhere. But if you want a putter 'round, reliable, somewhat disturbing paintjob marker, grab an Xtreme off ebay.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media