paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED

Dragun DragunFly LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun DragunFly LED

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun DragunFly LED
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Two colors to choose from: Black or Blue.

Features:
Electronic LED Operation
10BPS Preset, programable to 20BPS
Aluminum Double Trigger
SMC 5-Way Valve
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Custom Milled Body
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel (Uses Spyder threads as well)
Custom "Fly" Beavertail
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun DragunFly LED is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
miotch Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alot of similar products..
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED
Nexus Ram (yes the one made for cocker)
QEVs
lightened hammer and valve springs.
stock cocker pump arm
torpedo Reg.
Dye Rail Drop

You can see it at http://kaptainkrunch.mypicgallery.com/cockers-n-stuff/dragun
flyled_large.jpg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any quality cocker ram.. Altho i only know for sure they are interchangable on the LED
QEVs (a must!) the old ram hangs up too much.. it "drags" or is "sluggish" you can tell its the way the air is trapped in the 5way lines. Its sooooo much easier to get it up to max cycle speed (10 bps =( i know it sucks ) with the QEV and the nexus ram.

Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Not exactly ready to go out of the box..
Review: Ok so i found a super deal on these on EBAY..
I figured i'd get one for my collection, i like to tinker.. i read the previous reviews and decided for the money it was worth the chance.

Ok so it arrives, i open the case, everything looks nice.
no drop or reg was included. So i had to supply my own. No problem.
I aired it up and like an auto-cocker you need to cock it before you air it up..It'll hiss down the barrel if you dont. You will need a "hollow headed" regulator or gas-thru grip on the ASA.. The bolt used to hold the ASA on will not allow a simple bottle to screw on. (i would not reccomend that anyways)
Its a software timed and actuated recock system, paired and timed with a sear-tripper type grip. Lower quality ..but not junk.
The barrel is surprisingly adequate. I dont think i would place that as one of the first upgrades (like it is with so many markers)


Its not like an eblade.
Its maxed out at 10 bps (with no instructions on how to turn it up)
The customer service for dragun is non-exsistant (you cant find any real tech support except in online forums at this time) all the phone numbers listed on Dragun's website dont work.. Their email adresses listed dont work.
Who knows if you will ever be able to get replacement parts... So in short its a gamble.



Conclusion: The Dragunfly LED is a marker made for the tinkerer.. There is alot there to satisfy the most inquisitive mind and alot there to test the patience of anyone not familiar with autococker timing.
i would only recommend this marker to anyone who is comfortable doing their own air smithing, and know atleast the basic functions of an autococker.
Out of the box the rating is lower than most.. But you can make alot more out of it with the right know-how.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Hawaii Boy Friday, February 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GEN-X Chaos3. The Dragun is way better in my opinion (faster).
Marker Setup: Dragun Fly LED (Blue), Check It Powerstation, Unimount drop, Armson barrel, Evolution II, 4500 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only thing for me would have to be a good barrel system, and a fast loader because this thing whales.
Strengths: The accuracy, range, speed, and looks of this marker are all great.
Weaknesses: This thing will chop like crazy if you don't have a good loader.
Review: THE GOOD:
This is a great marker. I thought that my friends GEN-X was good, but this thing is awesome. It shoots just as fast as an E-Blade and looks a lot better. I get nothing but compliments about how good it looks on the field. The accuracy of this gun is even better than it looks. If the paint is good it can consistently shoot a nice tight grouping around 2 inches. The range is also great. I was playing a game in the woods shooting up-field and the other team didn't even know where it was coming from.

THE BAD:
The first time that I used it I was using the stock barrel and a 12V Rev. and not only was I chopping like crazy, but the balls were falling out of the barrel once I lowered the barrel to the ground. After thinking about what was going on I realized that the loader wasn't keeping up with the gun, so I bought an Evolution II and solved that problem. I also bought better paint, and found out that the paint I used before was just too small for the barrel and solved the second problem also.

THE UNDECIDED:
This marker doesn't take cocker parts. That might be a good or a bad thing depending on you.
Conclusion: This is a awesome marker, and a great buy. I highly recommend it to anyone that's looking for a great gun. Just get a good barrel and a fast loader.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

King-Smurf Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker / eblade
Marker Setup: Progissive barrel
Anti Chop Jam Bolt
Lady drop
D reg
Egg 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
anti chop bolt , barrel and lcd board is a most upgrade but gun is good stock , you might need a fast hopper to keep up i've got a egg 2 myself .
Strengths: very accrate , no chopping with jam bolt , fast and like e-blade
Weaknesses: no sticky grips
less upgrades then cocker
stock borad is slow 8 bps ,
Review: the dragunfly is very acccrate and has it's up's and downs for one it only takes cocker lpr's ram's and springs i belive which i aint planning on buying any ways this gun is good stock and gives your money the best of value , with the jam bolt you won't have to worry about chops and you got to shoot one to belive how accrate it is tho alot of ppl put the marker down because of it's name / brand and they really whould rate this gun of how it runs and not by it's name
Conclusion: pick one of the markers up and try it out and see for yourself how this marker shoots i say it's worth everything i put into it and looks great , rating is 10 because of price and how the gun shoots and speed with new board , and it's only getting better with more upgrades and new 04 fly with all cocker parts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

joeycollette Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it!
Marker Setup: 04 dragun fly led
12volt revy "red"
14in j,j ceramic
20oz anti syphion
kapp cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
drop foward
hopper
Strengths: Very accurate, distance, looks cool very fast if back block is in right postion.
Weaknesses: Barrel
feed neck
from factory timing
Review: Ok when i first went to buy this it was on ebay new but it said it was a e-blade wgp so i got ripped off. but when it got here i was very surprised how nice it shot after a few adjustments. shoots very fast, light, distance is crazy! one problem i had was my 12 volt revy wouldnt fit on the feed neck so i had to sand it down. it shoots great though chops if u dont fix the feed neck. but for the price it can keep up with any coccker. and co2 works fine with it if u have anti syphion. so dont listen to anyone else if they say they fry there wires. there lying.
Conclusion: Great gun
shoots nice
distance great
light
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

vietcrazyboi Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
psycho ballistic lightning, WGP autocockers
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED, CP drop forward, Pure Energy 119ci HPA Tank, Halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo and barrel kit
Strengths: accurate, e-frame, somewhat an autococker,
Weaknesses: tops at 10 bps
Review: This gun when i first got it seem to have some problems (air leak, weak shot) but once it was adjust correctly turn out very nice. Another problem was I chopped every 4th ball at high rate of fire, my solution to this problem was purchasing a Halo. ever since I put 12000 round through may gun and only chopped 3 balls. The gun can keep up with the high priced guns and 1/4 of the price.
Conclusion: overall great marker for it's price but does need some other pieces that might be kinda of of a high price to make the marker run without any problems. Halo / Egg = reduce ball chop, barrel kit = better accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

volcan6 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI pirhana (sp) with the e-force trigger
Marker Setup: on my dragunfly i have a Shocktech front regulator, CP back regulator, Delron anti chop bolt, CP spyder thred two piece barrel, CP on/of wiht cradle, and the evolution II hopper, and compressed air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I HIGHLY recomending throwing away the stock back rewgulator and barrel, and the front regulator (if your up to it), and then geting any thing else (better) to replace them, compressed air.
Strengths: Acuracy, Speed, Grace, and Beauty!
Weaknesses: Comes with crapy stock parts
Review: when i first this gun i was SYKED! i had just upgraded from a pirhana. the first one i used (i went through 2) i ran CO2 through DO NOT DO THIS! it froze the front block and messed something up. so i took it back the the shop i bought it from and he replaced it. then i got compressed air. then i was ROCKEN!!! i had so much fun. not only was i like 5X faster but i was like 100X more accurate. the i finaly realized the stock parts were crap. so i bought my new upgrades, (see UPGRADES above). then i felt like i was a pro. all though i was still new to the sport, some of the veterans i played with were taken aback. this is a good gun
Conclusion: Before upgrades i give it a 8 but after i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 1st, 2004 at 8:17 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

master935 Saturday, August 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
View loader triad "sucks"
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED/halo TSA LCD/pmi 48ci/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better asa
Strengths: Acuracy electric milling
Weaknesses: Micro line leeks board caped at 10 can get that with mech
Review: I got this gun for the price and don't be fooled by it. The first day i used it it would not re cock rite so i went online and looked it up all i did was unscrew the back back block 1 turn,
the next time i used it it worked fine i had a great day but then it started leaking"u can see where this is going"so i took it home and worked on it and it just would not stop leaking,
so the word of advice is just get a mech you can get more upgrades for that and the worrgames 04 vert is only 360 so get that.


EDIT I found out that the screw that connected to the lpr was striped and thats what leaked
Conclusion: Don't waste you're money on this. Buy the Worrgames
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 10:35 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Vanghis109 Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp vert Autococker;Dye Reflex; Shocker; Impulse
Marker Setup: Progressive barrel; jam bolt; evo 2 hoppe; crossfire tank; sidewinder reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg; barrel;Jam bolt
Strengths: Speed accuracy
Weaknesses: Not all cocker parts can fit
Review: This gun is very sleek looking with its custom milling and its super light trigger
I would probably pick this over most cockers thrown at me
But the thing you would have to do if you get this gun is get a different hopper
I mean what is there not to like about this gun its electric and its a cocker
I can shoot this thing so easlily up to its max bps and it is so easy to keep it at the max speed
Conclusion: This gun is one of the best ive shot for its price if you wanna get a cheap fast accurate gun get this one definately
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Maleficus Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
oracle i guess I don't use cockers
Marker Setup: 68 automag classic body with Xvalve, 12' j&j ceramic barrel, custom drop forward, 68 cu. 4500 psi tank 12 volt viewloader hopper and front grip. Also a Tippman with 14' m 16 barrel, folding stock and expasion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel I've used it with a stock barrel it was horrible, but put a new barrel like an evil driver it will be shooting sweet.
Strengths: Nice trigger pulls. its fast, it looks pretty nice and its not to heavy.
Weaknesses: Chopped paint bad. leaked
Review: I'm not into cockers, or elctros but i did like this gun, the trigger pull was spiffy, but my freind who bought it took it to the proshop and got it worked on, but on the feild it was chopping paint left and right it was pretty bad, when it was firing nice it was great but then it would chop and then leak, i'm not gonna blame the gun because he was screwing with the gun on the feild and obviosly all the guns don't perfom like this.
Conclusion: okay I would recomend this gun to people that want a decent cocker, i myself woudln't buy it souly on the fact I dont' like cockers or elctros but was impressed with it, i'm givving it an 8 because my mag and other guns i saw performed better, when i see and improvement with the gun I"ll change the review. but it is a good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdad Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar.
Marker Setup: 04 Dragunfly LED
12vt Revvy
14" Tru-Flight
48 300 nitro
Dragun Drop
D-reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Jam bolt (I dont have one, but it should minimize chopping)
New barrel.
MUST use nitro.
Strengths: Electronic autococker for $200!
Pretty fast , no short stroking.
Very accurate. No kickback.
Weaknesses: Gun did not work when I first got it. ( will explain in review body)
Review: When I first got the gun it would not cycle properly. The bolt would go back and clear the breech and then move forward again, but the cocking rod would not release. so the owner of the shop kept it overnight and had it fixed the next day. The problem was that a bolt in the cocking mechanism was loose and would not release the cocking rod. Overall the gun performs great and I have had no further trouble.
Conclusion: I give this gun an 8 because i think Dragun has some quality control problems that need to be fixed. Otherwise this a great gun for anyone!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media