paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004

MACDev Cyborg 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Cyborg 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Cyborg 2004
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $980

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Super fast cycling speeds up to a true 30bps
lightweight construction (1.05kg with barrel)
stick trigger w/ 3 point adjustment
cyber ABS system to eliminate chopping
fully rebuildable LP ram, no tools needed
cocker barrel threads
04 gladiator inline reg
super low pressure operation - 200psi operating and 50psi cocking
self lubricating 2 piece bolt with quick strip pull pin
frame and body machined from solid billet 6k grade aluminum
Product Availability 
The MACDev Cyborg 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
xfile077 Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot ALL high-end electros. This has the strengths of all and weaknesses of none
Marker Setup: Stock Cyborg, 68/4500 04 Conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is Needed. Grips if they really bother you.
Strengths: Light, Fast, Very Efficient,Clean,Everything is ready to go out of the box
Weaknesses: None, Not Kidding
Review: I donít know where to begin this so I am going to go through every aspect of this marker that a players looks to when deciding on purchasing a gun.



Weight: Very impressed, my setup with a conquest feels to be the weigh of some guns alone. No Matter who it is, first words to come out of anyone mouth when they pick up this marker are Wow this is light (or something to that extent)
It is also very Balanced and comfortable to hold. Although it is light is does not feel cheap. Parts do not feel as if they are all screwed or twisted as the marker is extremely solid.

Quality: As I stated above, this marker does not feel cheap. Very sturdy. Even the anodizing is Flawless. The finish is impressive and even twice as much in bright light, as you can see the detail of the anno (almost a metallic look like car paint) Granted the milling is not fancy, but in person It still appeals to some, I think it unique and donot mind the milling at all.

Shooting: Up until now 5 cases have run through the marker ( 2 days) and I have yet to have a single Chop Or break anywhere in the marker. The Breech and barrel have not been cleaned and still look the gun just came out of the box. The bolt does not show any sign of wear whatsoever. I have shot everything from old white box though hellfire. The 12v revy, Egg and Halo B have all been tested.


I use a 68/4500 conquest set at 400 psi. The Gladiator is at 200 psi. (And always on point, I love this Reg!)... I set the LPR to the 260 fps (indoor) Limit. Just to give you an Idea of how quiet this gun is, One of our back guys shoots a Matrix with a SCM and Evolve Bolt, side my side with its was about the same sound ( the borg sounded a bit lower in pitch but not volume). There is Very little kick because of the low op pressure; almost feels like you are not shooting.

While I am the subject of shooting, I must say until now I have never seen a matchstick. Mind you this Barrel comes stock with the gun (.689 Back and 14 inch front) This barrel up to par with ANY High end barrel. The inside looks like glass, the porting is perfect.

Speed? Wow. I am not quite adjusted to this trigger. I have fast finger but many people show me up on my own gun. I get VERY fast bursts but cannot hold strings yet. But back to my point, this gun Riiips, and if you have ever seen my gun cycle, there is no doubt as to whether I know what is fast or not.


Efficiency-As for efficiency claims, Canít really say Iíve done 1700 straight yet, but I do believe them. Because of so much dry firing, and our fill station only going to 3000 at the time, I cannot really get an exact count but I did notice always having MUCH more air that I assumed I did after each set of games.

Electronics- The internal electronics are VERY clean. The LED and micro switch are directly on the board. The eye wires (with connects) are shot and connect right onto it. Having repaired many bushmasters this is somewhat of a relief, very neat, very nice.

The Frame is very comfortable, the Trigger easy to walk. My friend hasnít played paintball until today, after a few minutes with the trigger he can walk it like a pro. For all of the people crying: bounce! For this gun... There is none, at all. It is just that easy to walk this trigger.




Conclusion: Here is my equation for the Cyborg.
Quality feel of an Angel + Op pressure, kick and Trajectory of a Matrix + Speed of a WAS Timmy + Weight of an Alias + No breakage = Cyborg
Yea itís something like that. Remember this gun is right out of the box. You already have the best reg out, along with an awesome Barrel, thatís 180 bucks you donít have to worry about dropping onto the gun before it will be great As of right now I am convinced there is no better ďbang for buckĒ out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

Danman69 Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix
A4 Fly
WAS'd Viking
etc.
Marker Setup: An Insane RT ULE
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Sticky 3s (Matrix Style)
Lighter Switch
Clamping Neck (I prefer no rises)
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
EFFICIENT
Great Eye System
Consistent
Weight
Customer Service/Warranty
Color Options/Looks
Weaknesses: Grips
Stock Switch Is HEAVY
No clamping neck
Board Problem-read body
Review: Well first let me say that I do not own this gun. However, my friend who lives down the street from me bought one a little under 3 months ago and I have shot it many times and can give a review from the owners perspective.That said, this is a very nice marker, but it does have some weaknesses. I am going to break the review down into a few categories.

Speed/Electronics
This gun is very fast and can shoot 30+ bps (Not like you ever will). It comes with a fully adjustable blade trigger which I found to be nice. You can easily walk this gun 14+ bps. The only problem I see with the trigger is the switch. It is pretty heavy compared to other guns in the same price range. It has to be at least 75 grams. It makes a click everytime you pull the trigger and sometimes if you don't have a good rhythm it might skip a shot or two. This said, it is a good idea to make the 5 dollar investment for a switch. I know that a lot of money for you after dishing out 980 for this gun, but it is worth it. My friend is still running the stock switch now, but is going to buy a new 25g switch. The CyberSense eyes work amazing! My friend has put about 7k shots through the gun and has not chopped one ball. We wanted to have some fun and put a gravity feed on the gun and were shooting ropes of 10 bps! The eye is very responsive and could shoot the second a ball dropped in the chamber. Great eyes Period. The board is located right under the grips and is bunched in with a mass of wires. The dipswitches to change the settings (you really shouldn't have to unless you have bounce) are very hard to find. They are super small. A thing i would like to note is that on the 2nd outing with his gun, my friend realized the gun wasn't working when he chronoing. It would not turn on. He replaced the battery and looked for frayed wires, but found nothing. Needless to say he didn't get to play with his gun that day. He sent it to PBK (They cover the warranty in the US) and they fixed it and told him that he had got a "bad board" that just decided not work. I thought this was kinda weird, it had worked the first time he played, and then after 3k shots the second time he plays the board goes dumb. I haven't heard this happening to many people, but it is something that you should be aware of.


Regulators
The 04 Gladiator is an awesome reg. It has been known to have a problem with one of the internal o rings breaking, but when you order it you can ask PBK(you should order from here!) or Mac-Dev to make sure it is working properly and too lube the reg up. The gun will shoot +-2-4 after it is broken in. The LPR works fine and doesn't have any problems.

Barrel
The Stock 14" 689 Matchstik is a very nice barrel. It is lightweight and is accurate. You do not need to replace this. I happened to like it so much that I bought one for my own gun :-). It has a good amount of porting with attributes to the guns extreme quietness.

Looks/Body
The cyborg comes in a nice range of color options (Black, Black to Red, Black to Orange, Black to Silver, Black to Yellow, and Black to Blue). My friend has Black to Red and it is very nice looking. The ano job is good and it doesn't chip easily. The body itself is pretty square with simple milling that I like. The one thing I don't personally like is the fact that you pay 980 bucks for this gun and it doesn't come with a clamping feedneck, instead they charge 50 extra for their own :-(. It comes with a midrise that is made to fit sanding Halos without sanding, however if you happen to have a revy style/ricochet AK then it isn't gonna fit (not sure about eggs). I would buy a new feedneck either way (AKA Threads) like a CCM No Rise or a BP No Rider.

Other Stuff
One thing i thought i should mention is the fact that the grips are pretty crappy. They are dye clear grips so your average moron would think that they are comfy. Wrong, they are hard and uncomfortable. I don't know why Mac-Dev would chose Clear Sticky grips because I used to have the identical model Black grips for my gun and they were nice and comfortable/sticky. I don't think they can make a clear grip that is rubbery. The grips are also pretty loose against the frame as well. Overall the grips should be replaced with Dye Sticky 3s (matrix kind). Not only do these provide excellent comfort, but they look waaaay better. Another thing i should mention is the efficiency. It is beastly. My friend runs a 88/4500 HP Crossfire tank and can shoot a full case off 1 fill (maybe with all the money you save on air, you can put towards the new upgrades ;-). This is the most efficient gun on the market because Mac-Dev has quality internals in the Cyborg. Definitly one of the strong points for this gun.
Conclusion: Overall this is a very nice marker. It is fast and can easily compete with all the high end guns out there. The only thing I gripe about is the small problems I mentioned (minus the "bad board". All these upgrades cost only around 65 bucks together so why couldn't Mac-Dev just include them with the gun? Even if they raised the price to 1050 It would be worth it by far. The Cyborg is one of the nicest guns on the market, if you want to buy one I highly reccomend you shoot one first because it does have a different feel from most guns. I give this gun an 8 out of 10 because no gun is perfect and the cyborg isn't an exception, If you read through my review then you will see an 8 out of 10 is a fair rating. Thanks for reading my review, it took me a while to make :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 29th, 2004 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

natethon Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long 2k4 Alias Intimidator
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Fade Cyborg, Cp Rail, w/ On/Off, 45/4500psi pure energy, matchstick 2 peice barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is needed it comes awsome out of the box!
Strengths: Consistancy
Accuracy
Quiet
Extremely Easy to Use
Super FAST!!!
LIGHT!
Weaknesses: None that I have encountered
Review: The mac dev cyborg is truly an awsome marker. It is the fastest gun I have ever shot. I have been getting +-(2) on the chrono. It is lighter than any gun out there. It is very similar in weight and performance to the new alias intimidator. The eye is great, I have never chopped a ball. The only time I will break a ball is in my barrel because the paint I used sucked. The only thing that is different from the two is the nice milling and a lcd board but who needs that? For 400 dollars less you get the best deal. I have heard no complaints from any person who has used one of these. The only complaint is love at first sight. The gun is very sweet looking, it looks a lot better in person. The anno job is flawless. It also comes with a sweet case!
Conclusion: The mac dev cyborg is probably the best gun I have ever shot or owned. It is lighter than most guns on the market. Its performance is solid and flawless. If you ask anyone who has shot one or owned one they would agree that this is the sweetest marker on the market. It is definately a good investment.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jameslee80 Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom SP Impulse, Various Timmies, Every WDP Angel, Shockers (old and new), Rainmaker, Bushmaster, E-blade Cockers.
Marker Setup: 2k3 Angel Speed:
- Freak Barrel system
- Palmer Stabalizer inline Reg.
- Halo B
- 68/3000 PMI HPA
- Shocktech drop and CP on/off ASA

2K4 MacDev Cyborg
-68/4500 Crossfire Low Pressure HPA
-Shocktech Drop and CP on/off ASA
-Halo B
-Freak Barrel System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamp feed neck (when they become available)
Barrel System (either SP Freak or Macdev Matchstick)
Strengths: low pressure
cocker barrel threading
cocker ball dedent threading
thick and durable feed neck threading
Weaknesses: neck threading exclusive only to the Cyborg
hard to find
Review: I was skeptical when I first looked into the cyborg. Here was a new and unprooven electro making claims of matching the performance of angels ,matrix and timmies. this from a company that only made air systems, regs and customer cockers. This was a new field they were venturing into. Anyways, I went to Skyball7 with no expectations about the marker. I took a leap of faith and bought one (got a good deal on it). First impressions on the cyborg: the marker is light and compact, very small profile. the anodizing is very good. the trigger was nice and snappy. and the overall construction was good. the feed neck was threaded a bit differently than most guns our there. the treading is thick and durable, prone to the stripping syndrome of other marker feed necks. Despite a small set back with the Gladiator inline reg not working propertly at first, the marker performed flawlessly after me and my friend tinkered with the reg. Impressions on the marker's performance: the marker will cycle with very little recoil and very FAST! The marker is also very quiet, more so when compared with a 2K3 shocker, angel speed or even a GZ timmy. The eye is also very nice, covers are anodized aluminium, and the sensor is located on the lower portion of the breach. This means that the marker will not fire unless the ball is fully situated in the breach. This also means the gun will literally fire as fast as the hopper feeding it (eg. non-agitatted hopper 3-6 bps, revy 10 to 12 bps, egg2 and halo 18-21), not like the angel speed system where the bps just slows down to 11 from the top speed when no pressure is detected on the sensor. The cyborg cannot and will not break paint by design as long as the eye is working. the bolt is a two piece rebuildable delron construction with a very nice bolt pinn that prevents miss-latching on to the hammer, it also has a cool macdev gem on it. Velocity adjustment is the same as a timmy and so is the battery. the main board is located in the grip. dwell and other fine tuning settings are located in the grip on the main board. Marker and eye on/off are done with one button on the back of the grip. display is via a multi-coloured LED (similar to an impulse but less bright and doesn't blink!). The barrel included with the cyborg is the best stock barrel that can come with a marker (and its part of a barrel set, 0.689 bore). the price is also very competitive, 1280 CND or about 890 USD vs 900+ USD for base timmy or Angel Speed. This marker has impressed me thus far and it lives up to its initial claims.
Conclusion: Fast ROF+No ball breaks+awsome stock barrel+light weight and small profile+low pressure = The MacDev Cyborg (best electro I've used thus far). on the down side the reg wosn't working propertly at first (no sleeping at the reg assembly section of the MacDev shop please :-), availability is very low (only one dealer in Canada) besides that , there are no problems. If u are looking for something diffrent, but still want high performance and not a lot of money to spend. get a cyborg when u see some one selling them. they don't last
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

rigby Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most every high end marker.
Marker Setup: Cyborg #0330
Recommended
Upgrades:
none as of right now. But if someone came out with a nice aftermarket trigger I'd buy one. Or a barrel kit if you must have one.
Strengths: Minimal recoil
Looks
Consistency
Efficiency
Speed
Ease of use/maintenance
Weaknesses: Internal solenoid hose
Too much attention at the field
Review: Gladiator Regulator: The gladiator is a great regulator. I've been using one on my bushmaster for about 6 months and havenít had anything but great consistency from it. It has a good girth to it so it fits well in your hands as opposed to some other regs (Cp reg in particular).

Sonic lpr: the sonic lpr is also a great regulator. Very consistent and surprisingly simple design. Combined with the gladiator the Cyborg comes with makes gun maintence extremely easy (relube and clean regs every 20k shots).

Ease of use: The most annoying thing in paintball is when guns are sent out from the factory not working, much less chronoed. My cyborg came shooting 240 fps with +-3 consistency. I cranked up the lpr just a tad and got 280 fps with +-3 consistency. That's all I had to touch to get my gun field ready! Extremely refreshing...

Electronics: The original cyborgs shipped out with a very heavy 150g microswitch. Users complained and macdev changed the microswitches to 25g's. The cyborg comes with a custom no-name board. It's very fast, but it's capped at 30 bps which doesn't make sense to me. Why even cap the gun?

The hi-flow hose that connects to the solenoid is a step above the timmy hoses and a step below the drilled air passages. You can't go wrong with a drilled passage.

Trigger: The only thing Iím not satisfied with my cyborg is the stock trigger. It bounces nicely but feels weird. If some aftermarket trigger came out I'd look into it.

General ergonomics: Other than the trigger the gun actually has a awesome feel to it. It's very light weight and has next to zero recoil to it. You just donít notice the recoil at all when youíre ripping.

Ball breakage: Out of the box I had a lot of barrel breaks because the tip wasn't screwed all the way on. Other than that I've chopped once with my revvy at the field.
Conclusion: Other than a couple small things I'm not crazy about, I really love this gun. So buy this killer-machine gun-headblowing-gatling gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

50cnt Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
NO SIMILAR PRODUCTS USED
i have used various angels, timmmaaaayyysss, new shockers
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Cyborg, Sonic Claw clamping feed neck, new cyborg bolt (al by MAC DEV)
EVOII loader with z-board, 68, 4500 pmi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mac Dev does make a few upgrades for the cyborg. One being the new cyborg bolt with re-positioned o-rings for better shot thru ball breaks. Mac Dev also makes a new mid-rise caled the Sonic Claw. It clamps down on the hoppers feed-neck to secure it in place. These upgrades are both very helpful. You will definately need a fast hopper, such as a halo b or evo II with a z-board set on highest rof setting.

Strengths: accuracy, no ball breaks, rate of fire, quietness, 'factory parts' (gladiator reg., etc), weight, looks.
Weaknesses: No weaknesses encountered so far. I will come back and change this if anything occurs.

Review: I purchaed this gun about three weeks ago and could not wait to fire it to see if it could live up to all of the hype it has gotten. YES IT DID DO EVERYTHING. IT DID MORE THAN LIVE UP TO THE HYPE IT RECEIVED.


ACCURACY: The accuracy of this gun is amazing, every shot was literally ball on ball. In my backyard i have set up this post, past my pool, and this is what i use for snap-shot drills. I filled up the hopper with SC ball paint. Screwed in the tank and let it rip. I fired a few quick bursts and the first couple of balls all hit with the exception of two. This was because i needed to actually aim at the post. ( i just brought the gun up and fird without aiming). After sighting in on the post i leaned out (asif in a bunker) and fired another string of shots which all hit within a two inch radius. The post was at least 25 feet away. This is great accuracy. As far as im concerned it is better than my autococker...way better, and the Cyborg is stock! My autococker is tricked out. Overall great accuracy with the stock matchstik barrel. In long strings the balls fall just a few inches short of each other, as they should. You can sustain the accuracy thru the high rates of fire because there is literally no kick in the gun. I did about 19 balls per second and they all hit the post. Amazing accuracy. It also has a very fast recharge rate. I have not encountered any shoot-down of the gun...and i dont think that this will ever be a problem.


WEIGHT: i was really amaxed the weight of this paintgun. the looks are deceiving about the actual weight of the gun. They are because the gun looks very solidly built, and it is. It looks heavy because of this but the gun is actually very very very light. Mac Dev has done an incredible job on the milling of the Cyborg. it is very light even with an evoII and also a 68ci 4500psi tank from pmi that i use with it. the Cyborg is very light in weight and the gun itself is built solidly. very good feel to it.


RATE OF FIRE: rof is sick wit it!! after adjusting the trigger pull to where i like it i can max out at maybe 19-21 bps. the trigger is so light, its amazing. if you can walk any electros with12-15 bps, you can walk the Cyborg with 18-20 bps. Its that good. the Cyborg responds very well to even te slightest pull and it can sutain this. i filled up my evoII and walked the hopper till it was empty. it only missed a few shots when my hopper could not put balls in the chamber. it cycled fast enough but i had to tilt the gun back to get the last of the paint to shoot. overall i believe ( in my experience, and also the guns that i have tested) that the Cyborg is as fast and faster than a Smart Parts Strange Vision with HSW (hyper sports works) I-frame. It is about the same as a New York Xtreme matrix and those things are fast. I was truly amazed the the Cyborgs rate of fire, and also how easy it was to maintain the rate of fire. this thing is blazin fast. Definately faster than most higher end timmys. (z, ironmen, dragon , storm, ecx. to name a few.)

QUIETNESS: the noise level on the Cyborg can really be compared to a matrix. It is quiet. The sound is sort of "hollow", almost like 'light knocking' on countertops.

FACTORY PARTS: the factory parts that arrive with the Cyborg are considerd high end upgrades for most guns. The factory parts consist of a 2004 gladiator regulator (fast recharge rate, low pressure operation, extremely reliable, ultra high flow rate, consistency, dirt resistant seal); matchstik barrel (staight accurate shots, porting, quietness); adjustable trigger(pull lenght and actuating position); ABS (anti-break-system) (similar to eyes); low battery alarm, 2 ball detents, 12 months factiry warranty

LOOKS: you can chose from three different looks. there is a red/orange fade (what i have. looks awesome) a blue fade, and a yellow fade. I was also amazed with the looks the milling on the gunitself was extraordinary, great milling, the anodizing was great and the gun just felt great all around. i like the feel of the gun. after being accustomed to shooting cockers i was able to adjust myself to the trigger.
ANNODIZING; annodizing as i have already stating is excellent. Mac Dev took lots of time to perfect the anodizing job of the Cyborg.
Conclusion: This gun from Mac Dev is going to turn a lot of heads in the paintball industry. it commbines cutting edge technology with sheer power along with accuracy, rate of fire and reliability they have perfected these elements, roled them all into a gun and called it THECYBORG. if you want a piece of achinery that will outshoot, out perform, 'out-accuratize' (made up) then i highly reccommend the Cyborg. this gun really does have it all. 30% BETTER ACCURACY THAN A COCKER, RATE OF FIRE AS A NYX MATRIX, MORE RELIABLE THAN ANYTHING ELSE, all of this truly is the Cyborg. I am glad to finaly own a gun that i can be so proud of stock. I reccommend that anyone interested in the above factors to purchase this gun. i personally give it a 15 on the scale.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 11:44 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Gripy Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K4, IR3
Marker Setup: Cyborg Black/blue fade
Halo B
68/4500 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck (clamping, low rise)
Maybe ramping board if your into that
Strengths: Light, accurate, effecient, fast, looks.
Weaknesses: Feed neck (look at review), reg adjusting(read review)
Review: ****STRENGTHS****
I took the gun out and right out of the box i was getting +-3-5 and this is with out the regs being broken in. This is light compared to other high-ends (only 2.2 Lbs). Trigger is very light (at least for my preferences). the eyes worked very well as did the barrel, i was using OK paint and i didn't get any chops or barrel breaks. It is very easy to clean compared to other high-end guns, the ram will only go it one way, so you can't put it in upside down or back wards. This gun is very effienct out of box, i got around 600 shots off of 1000 psi, so my psi droped from 2500 to 1500, from a 68CI tank. I got ball on ball accuracy at 20 ft and 4-5 in spread at 50ft.(This was in a controled windless environment)

****WEAKNESS****
The only weakness is the feedneck, that is it makes my halo sit a bit too high for my liking and it also takes a bit of sanding your halo to get it to fit the feedneck, but this it totaly preferce. the other weakness that i mentioned above was the reg. The in its self is very good but you must be careful in adjusting it, very small turns will raise the pressure by a lot, and also remember on the 04 gladiators you must screw out the reg screw to raise the pressure and screw in to lower, this is for the HRp, the Lpr is fine u screw in to raise and out to lower, also vist the Mac Dev section in this fourms to ask any questions. Be careful with the regs cause if you set the HPR to high of a pressure you can blow your gauge(I did), meaning it will not work, but the gun will work with out.(this is not recomended or smart to not use a gauge)
Conclusion: This gun is a very good buy for the current price of 600$, so its a high-end gun at a mid-end price. if you have the money get the sonic cyborg. it is the same as the normal cyborg except a bit better.(not sure by how much cause i never shot it) once you get this you'll want nothing else.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 5th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dcpusher Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3/4/5/, Timmys, Angels, Vikings, ect
Marker Setup: MacDev Cyborg- matchstick barrel, NOX board, BP no rider, CP on off and long rail, crossfire 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
In order- Feedneck,. new board, trigger, detents, manifold, and gips, oh and if you want it get the sonic lpr adjuster. Thats pretty much all you can do to it.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Fast
Effecient
Tight tolerences
Well made
Weaknesses: Stock trigger switch
Review: Why I bought it-
This has been my dream gun for quite some time, and I chose it after much research (about 7 months of research). Personally I chose it because I want guns that are well made. Timmys are light and fast, but their tolerances are very bad. Being a front man I need something light and accurate. What makes my gun choice more complicated is y wanting a very well made gun. When I finally decided on a cyborg I chose it ver a viking, because of the weight.

First impressions-
When I first got it I was hoping my gun was in the box because it was very light. The gun comes with a VERY nice soft carrying case. When I looked at it I was very impressed by the anoo job. I am around a lot of high end guns (EGO's G7, DM5 ect) because I work at a pb field, but the anno job on this is better than anything else I have seen before. The milling on it is very clean and simple. I don't really like fancy milling (timmys) because it makes it seem like a toy to me, so it wasn't a minus for me. On the gun, reg, and barrel there are bubble jewels (dunno how to explain them) but they look really nice and professional. The stock trigger pull is on the heavy side, but a new board, new switch, or a modded switch would fix that. I could still shoot very fast even though the trigger pull was just OK.

Using it-
It is very fast, and many people on the local team were asking me what board was in it (stock) and how much I paid for it. It is something very unique and there are only two at my field (my friend bought one after I did). The biggest thing I noticed was the accuracy. All guns are fast these days, so that is something to be expected, but the matchstick really is a great barrel (many prefer it over an ultralight myself included). The reg has a fast recharge rate, but can be a little weird until it is broken in.

::update::
I made a short vid of it and with ramping (my slow fingers do it no justice) it was shooting 18bps consistant (hopper limited. ) I know because I goldwaved it personally.
Conclusion: This is the best gun out there right now. IT is as fast as any other high end gun, but it is very accurate. The kick is almost nothing, the gun's whose performance is closest to this is a matrix. This is smaller and light not to mention simpler and far more effecitnnt than a matrix. I could go on and on but this gun is hands dwn the best gun out there right now. Even though very few people have heard about it buy it! I have changed my perspective on all other products after using this. All of my other reviews will have to be lowered because this is what deserves a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 25th, 2005 at 3:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

karens_man16 Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've shot DM4's, Storm timmy's, Alias, Karnivor, 03 Shocker, Angel Fly (Joy Division and standard), Bushmasters, Impulses, and all kinds of Spyders/clones. My conclusion: Nothing Compares
Marker Setup: I have a 2003 Bushmaster
12 in Boomstick
No rise clamping feed
Halo B
Checkit Uni-mount
Air America Vigilante
68 ci. 3000 psi Nitro Duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed- every gun should have one
Uni-Mount
Full Matchstick kit
Very, very fast hopper ( I cap out my Halo B consistently)
Strengths: Extremely fast
Extremely accurate
Zero Kick
very efficient
weighed a little less than a DM4)
Weaknesses: It is ugly as hell
Sometimes the electronics gave me problems
Thats it
Review: This gun is sick. I have tested this gun at a tournament, and at several practices. At the tournament, i decided to use this gun instead of mine, because it had eyes. When I dry fired it the first time, I was really worried. It ramped really badly. however when I put paint in it, I realized that the ramping doesn't kick in until about twenty bps, because it wasn't ramping with paint, meaning that I was maxing out my halo before that "ramp point" kicked in. When I got out to the field, I noticed something else. This gun has zero kick. This allowed it to be extremely accurate. I was able to hit hoppers sticking out from back corner to back corner. It was great. I was getting 2-3 bodies a game in five man! Like I said before, this thing absolutely mows. I was maxing out my halo consistently. At one point, I got nervous and emtied my halo in SEVEN SECONDS. I know it is seven seconds because we have it on video. Also, I shot 1300 rounds in the prelims. When I started the prelims, I had 2500 psi in my tank. When I finished the prelims, there was 1800 psi in my tank. I shot 1300 rds. on 700 psi! the operating pressure on this thing is 200 psi, and the lpr pressure is 50 psi. Those are angel fly ranges. Impressive. After this tournament, four out of the five (me included) people on our team are selling our guns and getting cyborgs. The only problem I had was with the electronics. Sometimes when I would hit the button, it wouldn't turn on. It never did it at the tourney, though.
Conclusion: Get this gun. It rocks! It combines the speed of an Intimidator with the accuracy of a DM4 and the efficiency of a Viking. It is amazing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

curly2k3 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Multiple Boblong Intimidators
Smart Parts Shockers
Smart Parts Impulses
Angels
DM3's 4's 5's and Protos
Just about everything out there, no really I'm serious
Marker Setup: Black to Blue Mac Dev Cyborg
BP lowrider feedneck
Kila V2 Detents
Air America Armageddon Air
Halo B with Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detents
Grips
Clamper
I guess Tadao and a new trigger would help
Strengths: Bloody fast!
Accurate
Light
Sexy
Rare
Fast
Simple
and oh yeah, FAST!
Weaknesses: Stock detents
No clamper stock
old angel grips
No 15 bps tourny cap
Review: One thing to keep in mind while reading my review is that these testing and results from the gun were being done while in the guns first tourny and day on the field:>>>

All I can say about this gun in one work is: Jackpot!
this gun has blown every expectation out of the water in every single aspect of the marker. I will go thru each section and analyze:

Accuracy: Wholy smokes, with the standard 14 inch mac dev matchstick this thing shoots lazer beams, ball after ball stacked right on top of each other.

Effiency:I was getting about 2100 shots per 4300psi on my Armageddon running it at 475 psi into the gun shooting it consistantly at 285 fps

Consistancy:I went to the chrono the first day of owning it after getting it back from Kila Products and over the chrono it shot the following, 284,285,285,284,285,286,285 Damn thats nice! i support the Gladiator 100% now, I thought my CP was good

Speed:With the dip switches set at 17 bps, lowest it can go, I started to walk the trigger, now the trigger isn't the greatest with the filtering on but when you turn it off and put it to the lowest sensitivity and 31 bps... Wholy Crap this gun can rip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Simplicity:One of the areas where this gun shines the most, it is soooo easy to clean paint off of and to lube, it should be banned because of its simplicity for X ball

Electronics: Really good except for the fact that there is no 15 bps tourny cap, this gun is illeagal if you get caught shooting over 15 bps in a tourny, which believe me is easy to do, 17 is way to simple to reach with it, be careful no to get pulled unless you buy an aftermarket board to save your self

Feel: :D, thats my face while holding it, better than anything on the market today

Reliablity:Have yet to have any simptum of a problem, flawless

Overall impression, this is the best gun on the market today, I have owned or shot almost everything out today and I can honestly say this is my favorite of them all. With a PBK delrin trigger, Tadao M5, and Kila Detents this is unstopable.
Conclusion: Great Gun, I wouldn't however recomend buying one, then mine wouldn't be as rare.
but seriously, but it and I garentee you won't regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media