paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E

JT Excellerator 3.5E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 3.5E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 3.5E
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT®’s Excellerator 3.5™ E-Grip and Excellerator 3.5™ Manual Grip have been designed for the beginner paintball enthusiast! We use only the most advanced materials available to make our markers. Exclusively designed by our JT® Team for all levels of playing, Every 3.5 semi-automatic marker has a Double Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Expansion Chamber, Integrated Sight Rail and Die Cast Aluminum Grip Frame. Giving you the tools you need and the quality you expect.
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 3.5E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
crunk_bryan Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested57 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
spyder aggressor xt
Marker Setup: ans gx3 - polished grey to red fade
12" dye boomstick
superfly cocker bolt

*soon adding a gx-style dropfoward and eblade, once i have enough money*

scenario gun:
tippmann a5 -- all stock

Recommended
Upgrades:
new hopper, 12v revvy
new barrel, smart parts progressive or teardrop is recommended
Strengths: nice ROF
decent accuracy
e-grip (when compared to original 3.5)
Weaknesses: Chops some paintballs if hopper isnt good
Trigger sometimes becomes unresponsive
Review: my friend bought this gun a week ago, it was in a marker package, the setup was:

JT Excellerator 3.5e
9" stock barrel
Quantum Hopper

Fire Power:
i went in my backyard and shot some wooden boards i use for testing. i experienced that this gun was pretty good at fire power for a gun at this price ($170). this gun had a pretty light trigger pull, so its pretty good to walk the trigger with it. then i tried my second test, which is firing this gun at the fastest speed possible. it was zipping out balls at about 9 bps, until i experienced some paint chopping.

The i couldn't get the velocity to the maximum velocity speed in our field which is 260, the highest it went was 245, maybe a little higher. the consistency was okay for a gun this price, but JT could of made it better.

How to improve this:
to improve this ball chopping, i would recommend getting a more powerful electric hopper, like a 12v revvy or an egg 2 (eVlution II) if you can fire over 12 bps, semi-auto.
this will really decrease the chance of chopping balls, since you have a hopper that supports your rate of fire.

Accuracy:

The accuracy on this gun was pretty decent, i tested it under 80 degree weather, and for the spread, i fired 10 shots in the same position, and i ended up to be around 10", which is pretty good for that stock barrel.

How to improve on this:

i would recommend getting a smart parts progressive or teardrop barrel for the spyder (all spyder barrels fit on JT guns). the difference about a progressive ($40) and teardrop ($50) barrel is that the teardrop is the same thing as the progressive, only the porting on the teardrop is different. porting on the teardrop had little 'grooves' where each of the ports are. these 'grooves' make the teardrop more quieter than a progressive barrel.

Overall:

This gun is a great gun for beginners, and great for intermediate people to upgrade and make it better. the e-grip(3.5e) produces a higher ROF than the regular 3.5. Just upgrade the hopper and a barrel in this gun, and you will do much better in the field.

The looks of this gun are modern, representing the looks of a spyder, it has a built in sight rail, and it would look like a cool gun to have.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners, stock -- this gun has decent accuracy and pretty good ROF.
Just upgrade the hopper, to an electric hopper (12v revvy (revolution) is recommended),
and upgrade the barrel to a smart parts progressive or teardrop, this will make your gun more accurate.

I'll rate this marker a 9 because it isn't bad for a beginners gun, and if you upgrade to a good electric hopper (not that expensive) and a better barrel (i wouldn't recommend getting a barrel more than $40-$50 unless you are really dedicated to this gun), then it'll turn out to be a pretty good gun.


(sorry on this review, its about 2 am here, and im really tired, so the wording might be a little bit off)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 11:14 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Icarus Sunday, August 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle single shots (S.U.C.K)
Marker Setup: Stock JT 3.5 Excellerator E
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrrel
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy,
Review: Great gun! Rarely ever chops balls and is very accurate for the barrel it has. The only problems I had was when I first bought it. I had to send it back to JT and get the striker and sear replaced because it chopped balls all the time. After I got it back, it's worked great! I've only chopped about 3 balls since I got it repaired.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners and intermediate players, but might need to be sent in if it starts studdering. So remember, if I studders more than once (fires off a ball then fires off a bunch of air (almost sounds like it out of air)) SEND IT IN TO JT. After they fix it, it'll work like a charm :)!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

slackerjack Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM 68
Automag
Marker Setup: Automag
Revolution Hopper
6" barrel
Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs Rev Hopper
Drop Forward
Shorter Barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistency
Price
Electronic Trigger
Easy Field Cleaning
Weaknesses: Unresponsive Trigger and high Rate of fire
Heavy
Dependant on Rev Hopper
Review: I have run with a Mag for years and finally decided to by this gun. I did not want to spend too much money and pretty much just randomly picked this gun off a wall. I did not realize that this gun would out perform my mag in:

Chopped balls
Field cleaning
Accuracy
Range
Price

The day I got this gun, I pulled it out of the box and just ran out and started playing games. I did not even read the manual. It shot great! I could not be more pleased with its accuracy and consistancy. I loved its range and rate of fire. Then when I did chop a ball, field cleaning was so easy! Pull one bolt out and Viola, the barrel and chamber completely exposed. My game definitely got better. I love my mag, but it is a maintenance nightmare. I think I must have chopped a thousand balls while I've had it, and eash time I had to spend 10 min cleaning it out. I'm so impressed, I might take a look at JT's new line of guns.
Conclusion: You need a gun to run with soon? GET THIS GUN. Its so cheap, you won't even feel it. You will destroy open field rentals. I'm not sure about tournament's, but if you just play on weekends, this is the gun.

I love it's strengths. My game definitely got better. It does have a few bugs in it but for the price I would have expected alot more to go wrong. The mag has all of the weaknesses but is 4 times the price. So I give it a 9 for price and the few weaknesses it has.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkWolfSlayer Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the Spyder Xtra and the Core DF
Marker Setup: Mine has a Double Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Expansion Chamber, Integrated Sight Rail and Die Cast Aluminum Grip Frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am getting a New Bolt, New Hopper (if u got a good package, it usually comes with an electronic hopper...8 BPS-i dont like so im getting a new one), and a 20oz Tank for my gun.
Strengths: It has decent accuracy, and a comfortable grip.
Weaknesses: When i use it, is chops mad paint.
Review: I like it a lot, but i haven't used it "in the field" yet, but i can not wait until winter ends to go and play some speed ball. This gun is a simple gun to give to a friend or family member who is getting into the sport, and it is also a good gun to learn how to upgrade with.
Conclusion: I say it is a good beginner gun, i recommend getting and JT gun as a good package deal, or i recommend a spyder xtra.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2004 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

neo32 Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Genisis surge 2
Marker Setup: Genisis surge 2 with freak barrel angel mini reg, anti siphon w on/off 12 v revvy HPA soon to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
REG, EVO 2
Strengths: Very fast rof, Easily upgradable
Weaknesses: Need a reg and e -hoper
Review: This gun uses harsh direct flow of like 3000 psi onto the ball, with a reg it would run at like 750 and not chop nearly as much. Without a very fast hopper (12 v revvy would do) This gun is easy to clean and pretty durable. This gun is compatable with spyder parts so it's upgradable to tourny level. I noticed some bad blowback so i would recommend buying a ported feedneck or drill into the stock.
Conclusion: Good Beginner gun like a spyder(but cheaper)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

StoveBolt Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 and A5
Marker Setup: Stock, straight out the box: e-grip, double trigger, Vertical Feed, x-chamber, small drop forward, running on CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper
Strengths: Price. Its selling for around $50 right now.
Weaknesses: Without an electic hopper it will chop under hi rate of fire.
Review: I have put around 8000 shots through it and under normal woodball play it has never chopped. In speedball it chops without the electic hopper. The stock barrel isn't to bad either, good grouping, not much distance though. I swapped in a SP 14" teardrop(takes spider threads) and that helped out. It is only semi-auto even though it is electic, I didn't know it till I got it. It would have been nice to have 3-round and full auto modes.
Conclusion: This makes an great beginer gun or as a backup.
Great value, hard to find a better gun for the price. Got a whole gun for less than I paid for the x-chamber on my other gun.
This is such a good deal I bought 3 more for when I have friends out who don't have their own guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 8th, 2004 at 9:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike77 Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
pirana rental
Marker Setup: stock Jt excellerator 3.5e
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
maybe hpa
maybe electro loader
Strengths: Easy to maintian
Good rof
Light trigger
Comes with some upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
A little heavy
needed a new spring kit(my fault)
Review: I played a day of speedball with this gun which i got for christmas, and i am very satisfied. it shoots fast enough for a newer player, and walking the trigger is very easy. A lot of people say it chops balls, mine hasnt chopped one. i put about 600 rounds through it. (Paint was zap primer, not high quality) Afterwards, i tested it outside in 5 degreee weather(celcuis) and no balls chopped. the accuracy is decent for a stock barrel. a smart parts progressive would be a nice upgrade i love how easy it is to clean and maintian. I was worried since this is my first gun but i can field strip and clean it easily.

update: if you are having velocity problems with the gun, it needs a new spring kit. i was having a bit of problems then i lost the spring(my fault) its shot out wen i was cleaning it a field right into a garbage can. i got 10 bucks worth of parts for it and now it shoots fine.
Conclusion: Awesome gun for beginners and intermidiates. You wont regret buying it and i recomend it to everyone except tourny players
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

silverbulet2007 Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl plus pmi's
Marker Setup: silverbullet,nitro,electric hopper, 14"in barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new longer barrel,electronic hopper
Strengths: shoots straight light not to loud fast price
Weaknesses: chops barrel bolt set up
Review: I played in one war with this gun it shot great but thing is when i see some one and i fire at them i get trigger happy and i fire to fast for the hopper and it chops balls and gets jamed the bolt i just dont like it but u might the barrel needs to be longger i put my 14in freak barrel on this gun and it shot great its very reliable never nown of my friend having problems with it thats about it so go have fun. on rating id really give it a 7.5 if i could
Conclusion: hopper so it dont chop
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

GhostChain Saturday, June 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra 09, tippmann 98 custom, tippmann A5
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E with a smart parts barrel, gravity fed hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Electric Trigger
Capible of Fast shooting
No diode(ability to use Co2)
Weaknesses: Crap Barrel
Review: Well, I found this gun on kijiji for only $100 and it seemed like an awesome deal. Let me tell you, it WAS. The only problem there was with it was that it had a little lint on the rammer, so all I did was clean the gun, then it was fine. It shoots nice, what I find is that cheap paintballs shoot throught the gun better than the more expensive paintballs for some reason, the cheap paintballs have less chops and jams. If you lube up all the necissary parts, the gun shoots PERFECT. The major problem for me is that theres too many spots you need to put orings onto, but hey, it makes it shoot great, so, no problem. I would reccomend at least a 16 oz Co2 tank because I have a 9 oz, and it makes the shots curve a little because of the lack of air. The only reason this gun can use Co2 is because it has no diode and it IS an electric gun, which is kinda interesting. This gun is perfect for noobies like me, and I paintball every weekend so my less than a month experince is really like 2 months. So the only problems are: O rings, non straight shooting with a 9 oz, and thats pretty much it.
Conclusion: This gun is GREAT, get it, plus the limited edition gold finish, epic.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_fan Monday, October 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JTexcellerator 6.0
Tippmann 98 C
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
12" Progressive Barrel System
Custom Blade Trigger
20 oz. C02
Veiwloader 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a Better Barrel
Better Drop Forward (old one goes down not forward)
Good Electric Hopper (revy is good)
HPA Tank
Strengths: VERY good trigger
accurate even with the stock barrel
feels well made
cheap (price!)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
No firing modes ( 3 shot burst, auto etc. )
Review: WOW! what a great gun.

First off let me say that I got this gun from a friend for $100, it came with a progressive barrel and a hopper. On the gun it says only use Brass Eagle C02, I didn't argue with it but i'd like to try some other kind of c02 and see if it really makes a difference, i'm pretty sure it wont blow up or anything.
The accuracy on this gun is surprisingly good with the short (8") stock barrel (plus it looks good) but a new barrel is a must if you want to face any kind of true competition (This gun will take any spyder threaded barrels).
I got this gun for a hundred bucks as i said earlier. At this price what were my alternatives? I could have bought a spyder sonix but i didn't feel it was as good as this gun. I also could have gotten a peice of cr@p (also known as brass eagle) but that cant even be considered a gun in today's regs and electronics.
One thing I loved about this gun was the feel. When you picked up the Excellerator 3.5E it didn't feel like a plastic peice of crap, it felt like a well built paintball gun. Its solid metal so no worry about rec play damage.
like i said it felt good because of the metal but because of the metal this gun is also damned heavy. You are literally dragging a full blown tank into the field which is good and bad. The bad, its heavy. The good, you couldn't brake it if you wanted to.
I love that this is a gun that is electronic. I can go up to the guys with autocockers and say "hey look i have lots of neato buttons to push just like you!" Although this is true I often wish there were some true firing modes on this gun like full auto or burst but no such luck.
Another thing is the ROF, this is a dirt cheap gun and at 8 bps you will almost never feel outgunned. Some people may say "I have a spyder that can shoot 30 bps" well i say i have fingers that can shoot 8 bps so it don't matter
The center feed is right in the way of the sight rail so i don't really know why they put that there but i guess you still got one.
I can field strip this thing in about 30 seconds flat. I never heard anybody say that before
The trigger is very... different. Don't automatically assume its bad, its different in a good way. Its different because its not so light but it just feels great to pull.
Grab an electric hopper some time cause this gun will need one.
Consistency is pretty horrible at around +/- 12 but that's not to bad for a beginner gun. HPA would probably help alot.
Some things others want to know.

Q: why is the expansion chamber loose?
A: I honestly don't know but don't worry it will tighten when the c02 is on

Q: i'm having problems with the velocity of my gun
A: buy a springs kit for a spyder gun

Q:why is this gun so great?
A:it was meant to be
Conclusion: This gun is great for the average joe baller because its cheap, easy to tinker with, electric so you can finally join the electro only club and look great. I could say its good for beginners (and it is) but that would scare away experienced players whom i would recommend this as a backup. I could list why it is perfect for other things to but that would take to long so simply go and buy one. NOW. Your not gone yet i can still see you. GO!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 1:32 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media