paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Pack 3+2 / Proto Pack 3+2 / Proto Pack 3+2

Proto Pack 3+2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Pack 3+2

Paintball Packs / Harnesses

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Pack 3+2
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Completely designed from the ground up by paintball professionals that wanted a clean and simple solution to all ball hauling problems. For this, the Proto harness was born. Anatomically correct back padding system allows for a completely uninhibited range of movement, while still providing the level of comfort every player is dying to have in a harness. Designed to be worn around your midriff to provide you with extra back support. No detail is missing. The choice is clear: watch teams like Legacy and see why.
Product Availability 
The Proto Pack 3+2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
warbeak2099 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
AVI 2+1 pack, PMI 3 pack.
Marker Setup: Logic XRT Custom Mag: X-valve w/ lvl 10, Logic vert frame, Logic Alpha body rail, Logic foregrip, J&J 14" custom 2-piece, PB Aradus 11", ULE vert mainbody, Qloader, Nitro Duck 68/3k Micro reg tank, PB pro-style d/f, SP inline on/off.
Strengths: Comfortable
Snug fit, doesn't move while running
Big enough for my Qpods
Good price
Weaknesses: Haven't found any with it.
Review: I really love this thing. From the minute I put it on it felt great. It's got a perfect design. I almost don't want to take it off haha! I reccomend it to any player out there, old and new. I always use to have problems with other packs moving around when I ran, but this stays in place and holds the pods securely. It also is big enough to hold my Qpods snugly. For $25 a Qpod, I need a harness that is secure and this does the job and then some. I've got to tell you, for a harness this thing has got me pretty excited.
Conclusion: Perfect harness for any player (well not stock class obviously). The price is great for what you get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DaFreakyImpulse Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme rage 5 pack.........SUCKS !
Marker Setup: --IMPULSE !
-voodoo bolt
-strange board( team strange equalizer board )
-max-flo
- 16' freak barrel
-Jackhammer 2 LPR
-gladiator drop w/ on-n-off
-empire reloader b
Strengths: -PRICE!
-comfortable
-holds many pods
-stays in one place (never bounces around)
Weaknesses: Nothing at all !!!!!
Review: this harness is the best harnes ive ever used its very cofortable not expensive and it doesnt move around when your running it stays in one place and its universal ane size fits all and also it holds 3+2 pods "FIVE PODS" FOR 45$!!!!!!!! there are harnesses that cost like 70$-100$ that do the same exact thing!
Conclusion: So what are you waiting for go buy it already its great !!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ase Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ronin gear 5 pod slam pack
32* 4 pod vertical
4+1
3 vertical (100 rd pods)
Marker Setup: system x type x
knockout 10 piece barrel kit
rat valve
twisted paintball products bolt
dye PMP ram

tippmann A5
e grip
double trigger

soon to come:
strange vision impulse
Strengths: Holds as much paint as you will ever need on the field.
Customizable amountof paint.
Weaknesses: The +4 loops are too tight and it is hard to pull pods.
Review: Well just to start i should probably tell you that i am not reviewing the 3+2 pack but the 5+4 because there is nowhere to review the 5+4 and theyre basically the same ting with 4 more podholders. anyways this pack is very comfortable. if you are a younger player like me (13) it will bounce a lil bit but it wont matter cuz we're to small to shoot off the break haha the geezers waste a hopper trying to hit us lol. it is kinda bulky with some showing on the left and right sides which make a bit more of a target. it is great for back players, fill it up all the way. it is great for mid players, give it 5-7 pods depending on you. it is great for front players, give it 3-5 pods. you should always get the biggest harness you can afford ad if you dont need that much paint oh well you dont have to have all 9 pods in it. its nice to have and its comfortable. the 4 loops between the the other 5 seem too tight to me and they are hard to draw pods from. this can waste some time because it takes me about 5 seconds to draw one from there which is why i reccomend using those first in a game so its easier to draw your pods later when time matters more. just a lil common sense.
Conclusion: This is a great pack from a great company, very cheap i got it for about $30 and versatile. i say go out and get 1. im going to give it a 9 just because the pod loops being tight but that probly isnt as much of a problem for you older folks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Achilles0244 Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 3 pack; Not even comparable
Marker Setup: PMI Evo
TSA Frontman LCD
Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
Proto 3+2 Harness w/5 Dye Lock-lid 140rd Pods
Dye C4 Core Gloves
Dye Invision Goggle System
Strengths: Strong
Durable
Adjustable
Weaknesses: None
Review: This Harness is truly one of the best out there. It is made by an incredible company(Proto) which is a sub-company of Dye Precision, whose reputation precedes it of making high-quality products.

The Velcro straps make this harness incredibly adjustable so it can be used by any sized player. It also has a slide resistant grip behind the actual pods which makes it so it won't move at all even when running. A personal experience shows that this harness will not slide when you do.

With it being made of durable and strong materials this harness can really take a beating.

Conclusion: I would highly recommend this harness to any players on any level of circuit. Whether you are a Pro or just a rec-player trying to up your game. This Harness is the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bpbe24 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this java crap harness
Marker Setup: 03 vf with JT 2-piece center flag 68ci 4500psi 12v rev.
Strengths: it is very comfy, looks good, lite and doesnt move around, comes with sticker
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: Very good inexpensive harness. It is very small and will fit perfectly around any waist. i suggest getting the 3+2 one. very easy to take the pos out of the harness. If u can act like a pro u will definetly look like one with this. theres not much else to say because there is too few words and i need to add something.
Conclusion: lite comfy . never would use any other harness. all u need is a jersey and pants and ur set.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe"psycho" Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Joey & Co. 2+1 belt: Bouces like a MoFo

Dye Attack Pack: Second only to NXe's.
Marker Setup: '04 Red BKO...
12 Inch Freak with red AA front.
WGP Torpedo Drop with ON/OFF
Smart Parts black Q-Lock No-Rise
Halo B
Crossfire 68/3000
Strengths: It's a pack and is still made by Dye.
Weaknesses: Weak pod holders, not the most comfy, being looked down upon.
Review: I only tested this in a store but I would have no intentions of bringing it on to the field. Whenever I play rec-ball and some of the time during speedball, people steal my pods. Yes, they steal them, and it sucks. With this harness, you really can't get the pods back in easily at all. Takes two hands and a lot of effort. And no, I am not talking about the elastic loops, but the real sleeves. They are much too flimsay and it is even a hassle to get them out in the first place. Not the most comfortable pack , but is alright. And I know this is stupid, but a lot of really stuck up rich snobs like to look down upon people who wear Proto instead of Dye. It's really shallow because Proto is pretty much Dye but for people with more of a life and less of a budget. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but these douches give people crap for it. Anyway, that really doesn't effect my review on this product, just a complaint. Anyway, I didn't like this pack that much, but hey, I only tried it and it could have been smushed or something.
Conclusion: Maybe I got a bad one but I didn't enjoy my experience with this. Open to the idea of it being a srew up, I give it an optimistic 5/10. Nothing is perfect, but this isn't close.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:45 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

The_Fizz Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz 4+1 (horozontal)
Marker Setup: Pm5
freak kit w/ 3 inserts
tadao m5 board
revvy
Pure energy 68/4500
Planet eclipse on/off rail
cp reg
Strengths: Very comfortable
keeps you small
reliable
Weaknesses: Hard to pull out pods on the outer two pod holders
Review: I got this used off ebay for $12, and it was definitely one of the smartest purchases I made. I didnt like the redz 4+1 because the pods stuck out a little too far for me and I was getting shot there, and it became a little uncomfortable after wearing it for awhile, or I could not tighten it up as much and it would be comfortable but bounce when I sprinted. This harness can be tightened up as much as you want to and not bounce whatsoever and is very comfortable all day long. The only complaint for me is that it can be a little difficult to pull the pods out of the +2 pod holders if the pods are big, but thats not that big of a problem and is easily fixed.
Conclusion: If you can find it cheap then buy it. One of the best buys I ever made.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadowlord06 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac Vest
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Freak Barrel
NDZ Drop Kick
FireBall Mountain wave trigger
Dye Hyper 2 Reg
3A 72/45 Hpa tank
Need Hopper
Strengths: Affordable
Light weight
Easy to get pods out
Easy to replace pods in game
Weaknesses: None that I have found
Review: Well I just recently decided to go from a vest to a harness. Looking for a good qaulity but affordable harness i found this one. It has elastic loops that will eject the pod upon pulling the tab. The tabs are very easy to reach when in a bunker. It has has room for either 3 or 4 pods depending on what one you get. Well after usining it in a scenario over the weekend I must say that I am very pleased. I was able to replace pods back into the harness after reloading despite the elastic loops which was one thing I was worried about when purchasing this.
Conclusion: Get this harness if you dont want to spend an additional 30 or so for a dye pack. Great pack but until I try some others it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NXe 4
Marker Setup: Double pistols as primaries.
Core ZX gear was sold and replaced by dual Tiberius Arms Tac8's.
2 Camo holsters

Stock Smart Parts ION
Strengths: I love the 3+ ones because it's compact.
Looks good.
Weaknesses: Elastic doesn't secure as well.
Velcro is not a continuous piece.
Review: I don't shoot that much, so the 3+ is perfect for me. If I later start to shoot more, I can use the extra +2's to hold the other pods for a total of 5 pods which is plenty.

For most games, I seriously just take the pack off and go out with one hopper. I shoot about 1/2 a hopper a game. I'm more of a front player who sneaks around, so any pack would slow me down and get in the way. I guess if the parking lot and the field is far apart and I dont' want to run around back and forth refilling paint, I'll use the pack.

Pack overall is exactly what I expected. I don't like how the upper elastic part is a two piece though. It would seem like it'd be more secure than a one piece. But usually the one piece elastic is much wider which holds the pods in better.

Overall good quality product though and has good padding in the back. I got it b/c it was the perfect size and was elegant and simple. If you rely on your pack and need paint all the time, maybe you should get a different pack. Dunno....
Conclusion: Okay for my purpose. If you use paint a lot and rely on a pack all the time, maybe this isnt' a good pack. My personal experience is just that the pods fall out occasionally. Maybe I'm just putting it in wrong, but the elastic slides to the side and the pod fell out during a game. If you don't slide and crawl around, I suppose it's a decent pack. Good for a back or mid player I guess.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mzakflip40 Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 2 Pod pack
Marker Setup: Dye DM6 Ironmen Edition, Dye Ultralight Barrel, Empire Reloader B2, Dye Full Throttle N2 tank 68/4500 PSI.
Strengths: Comfortable, the pods don't fall out, and its easy to take pods out.
Weaknesses: Nothing really, except when trying to put pods back in during game.
Review: This pod pack is great. It never bounces around, and the pods never fall out. It has great value for a great price. The only thing is that the pods are a pain to put back in during a game, but that will only effect you if your playing woods ball, other wise I just throw the pods off to the side. The harness looks and feels great. Its not to bulky and not heavy.
Conclusion: Definitely get this pack if you're serious about paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media