paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt / R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt / R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt / R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt / R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt

R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount R.J Skateworks

Buy R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt

Paintball Piranha Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Made out of high quality Delrin, which is resistant to swelling when oiled. The bolt face is open,(no venturi) and the edges of the bolt face are rounded and smooth.
Features triple o-rings to stop blow bye. Available in regular or flush cocking.
Product Availability 
The R.J Skateworks Boss Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ian1081 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
green bolt
red bolt
evil bolt
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3
boss bolt
boss blade trigger
C5 adjustable drop forward
2K3 e force trigger
high flow valve pin
turbo valve (stock w/ this marker)
12v revvy
MacDev barrel system
Strengths: Very light, made of delrin, has ball detent groove, made for flush mount system

Weaknesses: None found as of yet
Review: ive been using the green and red bolt for some time. they worked fine for what they were. i had to modify the green bolt so it would work with a flush mount cocking system, but it still worked ok. i tried the evil bolt, everyone told me not to, but i was being stupid and did it anyway. needless to say, i put about 75-100 balls through my marker.....the bolt was cleaned, photographed, and sold on E-bay within 72 hours. now on to the real deal....this boss bolt rocks! it is super-light, made of delrin, and is made for a flush mount system. after i installed this bolt, i could not believe the weight difference it made. i loaded up about 100 balls and went to test her out. when i first fired, i thought i did something wrong, because there was almost no noise and no kick. i hit what i was aiming at but did not realize it until i went to shoot again. when i re-aquired my target, i saw the paint. after a few shots i started getting used to the new way my marker was firing. with the combination of the boss trigger and bolt, i was able to outfire my 12v revvy several times, and i have not even learned how to walk the trigger correctly yet, still need more practice on that.
Conclusion: bottom line folks...........GET THIS UPGRADE!!!! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

duckshepherd Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Venturi Bolt
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Pro TS G3, Pro-E Frame, Tear Drop Barrel, Revy w/ empire re-load upgrade, ram air chamber w/ modification, Flush cocking system, Low Pressure internals (Rocket Valve, Boss Bolt), Fatty Stabilizer, Dark Horizon Titanium Striker, Chameleon spring kit, CO2 w/ anti-siphon, also use HPA
Strengths: HighGrade Delrin
Better BPS
Gas Efficient
Better Cycle Rate
RJ Rocks my socks
Weaknesses: Noticable expansion after being exposed to oil for 2 years
Review: This is one of the first upgrades I made to my Piranha when I went low pressure. RJ Skateworks was my first stop in getting low pressure components, and I just couldn't pass up his famous and ever so popular Boss Bolt.

So what makes this thing so great?

Key Advantages:
Gas Efficiency = Better BPS - My last bolt had a venturi head, which, as some of you may know, has a plugged end with holes drilled in it. Since air can only escape through those holes, venturi bolt heads restric airflow. Less airflow means less BPS. The Boss Bolt is open face, which, apart from having no bolt at all, is the best airflow you can get. This bolt required me to turn my opperating pressure down (just what I wanted) to keep my BPS under 300.

Cycle Rate - The Boss Bolt is lighter weight, so it kicks less and cycles faster.

High Grade Delrin - Since this bolt is made of higher quality delrin than most other delrin bolts, the Boss Bolt is less vulnerable to expansion when exposed to oil. In case you didn't know, delrin swells when it absorbs any oil it touches. However, this swelling occures over a very long period of time, usually months, depending on how much oil it is exposed to.

Chamber Wear - No more metal to metal contact inside your Piranha's bolt chamber. Plastic on metal, much less wear and tear.

Ball Breakage - The theory behind the venturi head on a bolt is that the head of the bolt has more spread out, even contact with the paintball to prevent ball breakage. I really noticed no more or no less ball breakage when I switched to the open face Boss Bolt. The inside head of the Boss Bolt is nicely tapered, and probably does just as much to keep from dicing paintballs.

Uses Bottle O-Rings - Some delrin bolts don't use o-rings, simply to reduce friction in the bolt chamber. But the advantage of bolt o-rings is efficiency; they seal the bolt chamber, better directing the air out the barrel, not passed the bolt and out the rear. The Boss Bolt doesn't use it's own fancy brand of o-rings, it uses bottle o-rings, which are easily available.

RJ is THE man - I got in touch with RJ, the maker of the boss bolt, on the PB Nation forum. He replied to my post on LP components for Piranha's. He offered to do a free Ram Air mod for me, and in return, I made an order of LP Piranha parts from him, including of course, his Boss Bolt. RJ is a nice guy, and is full of useful knowledge about Piranhas; he just loves 'em.


Key Disadvantages:
Vulnerable to Expansion - The Boss Bolt may be made of a high grade delrin, but that doesn't mean that it still won't expand when you expose it to oil. It simply expands slower. I'm a grease monkey, and I have a fetish for lubing everything, even if it doesn't need it. My Boss Bolt, after about a year and a half of exposure to my oil fetish, started to have a tight fit in my bolt chamber and my Piranha stopped recocking properly. But since RJ rocks, I was able to send him my bolt and get it machined down free of charge. Now my awesome Boss Bolt is back in action, working better than ever.
Conclusion: One of the best bolts money can buy for your fishy. Plus the guy who sells this bolt, RJ, is a really nice guy. Based on good efficiency, a fair price, a slight expansion issue, but great customer service to make up for it, I give the Boss Bolt a 9.8.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 7th, 2007 at 12:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

niknax Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Piranha EVO bolt
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO
12" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Pure Energy 45ci 4500psi tank
Custom Products small regulator
Boss Bolt
Ricochet AK
PMI Turbo Valve w/ high flow pin
Strengths: Slightly lighter than stock bolt
Less recoil
Slightly quieter
Less air constriction
Weaknesses: None experienced yet
Review: One thing I noticed when I switched out the stock bolt and replaced it with the Boss bolt, was how the Boss bolt shot quieter and there was less recoil with each shot. Each shot seems to have more a muffled sound. Also with the stock bolt you could definitely hear a metal click with each shot, the Boss bolt eliminated that metal to metal clicking sound. I have not had a chance to check if the bolt has made any changes to my velocity, but by the way I was hitting my practice targets at the usual distance I believe it has increased my velocity by a few FPS.
Conclusion: I really like how this bolt performed. I have not tried any other after-market bolts, but it definitely works better than the stock. Overall it made my maker shoot quieter (just a bit) and I can shoot much faster without experiencing the usual recoil, in other words my marker shoots steadier and its easier to keep your aim on your target. Was not disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Lycan Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
red bolt, green bolt
Marker Setup: 2k4 GTI
Dye Excel 14" barrel
PE 68/3000 carbon fiber
Boss Bolt
Boss Trigger
Strengths: Price
Lightweight
Improves performance
Weaknesses: None
Review: Remarkable difference between it and the red and green bolts. The first time I chronoed I thought my gun wasn't working then I notice that it was. It is so much quiter and has significantly less recoil. Accuracy is good. I can't say that it is that much better over the stock bolt, though. Where this bolt excels is in performance. It is much lighter and, therefore cycles more rapidly. Much less recoil makes for more ease of operation.. No chops. I installedthe Boss trigger at the same time and the operation seemed so much more efficient. ROF is limited by the lousy 12bps cap on the e-frame, but with this setup it is very easy to obtain max ROF.
Conclusion: Excellent bolt, Improved performance immensely
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jasoncho92 Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Red Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT G3 Pro, Standard Hoppper, CO2, SP Teardrop Barrel, Boss Bolt
Strengths: Quiet, nice price. and less kick
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very nice. But seems like its louder when you dry fire then the stock bolt but may be wrong and the bolt makes you gun a lot more accurate and also quieter with paintballs.
If you need a bolt you should get the boss bolt. You also have lifetime warranty on it but only if you use in in normal use as boss says.
Conclusion: Get this bolt if you want a new bolt. Probably the best bolt for piranhas.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theIornhorse Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock red bolt & green bolt
Marker Setup: piranha ext pro g3,,Boss bolt ,high flow pin & cupseal,20 oz anti-siphoned pure anergy co2 tank.
electronic 2k3 trigger frame. Blade trigger. evolution 2 loader.
Strengths: wount scratch up the inside of the gun.
adds fps.
cheap.
more air efficent
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: well i was useing the stock ext pro g3 red & green bolts for a while but when i started to notice some scratches on the bolt and the inside of the gun. so i knew it was time for change. so i got this and it's awsome the FPS is improved greatley. and Its definitley more air eficent. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST UPGRADES AVAILABLE FOR THE PIRANHA!!.
so get it it's only like 30 dollars at Rjskateworks.com.

Conclusion: if you have any doughts about this just email boss and hell explain evreything so your comfertable with your purchase you can find his email at his website www. rjskateworks.com
what are you Waiting for? go get this now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nthnspcl Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt for the VTL
Marker Setup: EXT Pro G3, Pure Energy Reg, Boss Bolt, Lapco Bigshot 12", flush cocking.
Strengths: High flow
O-Rings
Good delrin
Smooth face
Solid design
Weaknesses: Striker pin is a little hard to put in/out at first
Review: This is simply an awesome bolt. It can be used for LP setups I'm assuming, because this thing is so very high flowing, absolutely nothing in the way of the air flow. The face cups paintballs nicely, and I have yet to chop a ball in the breech. The EXT I have is a vertical feed, but thanks to the smart thinking, I have little to no blow back up the feedneck thanks to the o-rings. I used to have to use my stiff spring all year round, but now I've had to switch to my lightest since this bolt is so slick. Also speeds up the marker cycle since it's lighter'n all get out.
Conclusion: This won't scratch up your internal body, adds a few FPS, awesome air flow, good delrin, great quality, great price. You've got nothing to lose.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zell045 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Grey Bolt
Marker Setup: Piranha w/ Palmer Stab, Boss Bolt, Modded internals, Turbo Valve and Modded Pin etc.
Strengths: High Flow
Uses Tank Orings
Reduces Recoil
Rounded Face
Made of High Quality Delrin
Weaknesses: None
Review: This bolt is the best bolt for the Piranha period. It uses tank orings to prevent blowback and for ease. It is made of high quality delrin so it won't swell in contact with oil or humidity. It has given me a over 30fps gain over the stock grey bolt. Also, this bolt has been tested against the Red Bolt and the Bandit bolt, showing higher flow than both. The rounded face in conjunction with a soft main spring has reduced almost all of my chops. Also, it reduces hand felt shock slightly.
Conclusion: If you want the highest flowing and best quality bolt there is for the Fish, I recommend you buy it. You will definately notice a difference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trebuchet76 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: E-forced GTI
Boss Blade/Bolt, Macro line, Evil detonator, 14" Teardrop
Strengths: Open bolt face
Light
Orings
Weaknesses: Eh... What's a weakness?
Review: GTI seemed to be kinda a gas hog when it had the stock bolt in it. Put this in and it didn't need so much air to get the same shot. Very nice guy to work with, always comes through :) The hammer-bolt connector pin took some force to get in, but i did that instead of shipping it back to him to get him to fix it. Other than that it was perfect. Very light - well constructed.
Conclusion: if you've got $30 bucks ($34 for the evo - dual detent slots) then get it. Increases air flow which inturn lowers recock psi... Very nice. Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan96 Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolts on other guns.
Marker Setup: Evo
68/4500
other ups
Strengths: A little bit quieter. More accurate
Weaknesses: None I know of
Review: This bolt is incredible. All the great stuff mentioned on pbreview.com and pbnation.com, its all true. The bolt makes the gun slightly quieter which is nice. On top of that it makes my gun more accurate then it already is, and my gun is very accurate. If you upgraded the barrel on your gun, then this is definitely the next upgrade for your piranha, you won't be disappointed.
Conclusion: Get it if you havn't already, well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media