paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Game Face SKUL Mask / Game Face SKUL Mask / Game Face SKUL Mask

Game Face SKUL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Game Face

Buy Game Face SKUL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Game Face SKUL Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The two most prominent features of the renowned SKUL goggle ystem are hte one-piece molded design and the remarkable image clarity provided by the high quality lens. This system features anti-fog, and anti-scratch lenses, one piece molded construction, and slanted vents. The mak is flexible enough to discourage paintballs from breaking on impact, while ridges in the design provide a rigidity needed for proper protection. With solid protection for the forehead, temples, eyes, ears, chin and mouth, the SKUL combines an aggressive look with a reasonable price tag.
Product Availability 
The Game Face SKUL Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Shadax Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Skul, JT Proteus 1&2, Dye Invision, JT Flex-7
Marker Setup: Splat Attack green to black fade Revenge V1 AKA P-block body w/ e-blade
All AKA internals, AKA mini-pump arm, AKA short sidewinder, PPS Micro-rock
Datapimp drop with Apocalypse 2k tank
Strengths: -Bounce factor
-Doesn't fog
-Good Vision, all the peripheral you need.
Weaknesses: None, it works like it's supposed to.
Review: All in all this is a great mask. The bounce factor is very high and almost all hits (except when hit in lenses) will be deflected around the sides of the mask, even when hit in the jaw or nose area. It's also the official mask of the pro x-ball team, Detroit Thunder. This is evidence that the mask has potential and could become a popular speedball mask now that it's in full scale production.
Conclusion: The price of a brand new Skul from gameface is around $25 shipped, fairly cheap for a quality mask. I recommend buying it and seeing if you like it. If your skeptical, fork out $25 and test the bounce factor yourself. I think you'll be surprised.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 at 8:36 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Silverbolt Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Headshield, JT Flex, JT ProShield
Strengths: - Bounce
- Intimidating looks
- light
- comfortable fit
Weaknesses: - doesnt come with visor
Review: I have 4 masks in total, and this Skul mask has become my primary mask! Its an awsome mask! I have a white skul mask with a blue mirror lens... the combination looks extremely intimidating and has a high "cool factor" to it. Its very flexible, but not nearly as flexible as the flex's lower mouth gaurd. The vision on it is great. Very comfortable, and easy to breath in. I actually added a V-force visor to it. Any visor can be added on with just a little modification to the visors.
Conclusion: I really like this mask and am very impressed with it. It looks very sharp, and functions great! It has slightly less coverage on the sides, but thats no big deal to me. I want to give it a 9 because nothing is perfect... but in this case, I'm so satisfied that I think I just might have to give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Game-on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Flex 03, Skul, assorted rental masks too
Marker Setup: E-rex Pro, J&J 14" ceramic barrel, rev w/ x board, soon to have a reg added
Strengths: Lightweight
Fits well
Cheap, $23 at local shop (non-thermal)
Decent visability
Looks cool
Weaknesses: None really encountered yet
Review: This mask has served me well for the past few months and fits me well. I have been hit in the face a few times from relatively close range and the mask did well. (I need to pull my head in more often, lol) It did shift a little when hit directly, but from 10 feet away, it had no choice... Easy to clean and a wide variety of replacement lenses can be purchased at a lot of places. The lens can be a pain to change out, it will take a few minutes to do this. Pretty well constructed and no complaints from me, yet... A 'pro' team (Detroit Thunder/Strange) uses them, so that can't be that bad. ;-) I liked the feel and look over the Flex 03 mask from JT.( at least the Flex I used, that belongs to friend of mine)


*edit: spelling and grammatical errors
Conclusion: Would recommend this mask to anyone who wants a low-cost ($25), decent quality mask that looks different than all the other masks. I like it and you should give it a go, costs about the same as a Brass Eagle for a higher quality mask. A overall good mask!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 at 9:24 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

myownwerstenmy Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used the Jt Nvader and compared to this mask it sucked, I have also used the JT Proteus which is a very well made mask and Id say a little better than this one
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot with a Smartparts Teardrop Barrel and a Evolution hopper with a standard 20oz co2
Strengths: One piece so less places to balls to snag and break
Weaknesses: None really besides coverage area near neck
Review: Great mask altogether great viewing space and great deflector, since the mask is only one piece besides the goggle is great b/c balls tend to not snag on it and break as easy, many kewl color combos and overall good fit excellent mask good enough even for pro teams to use as well as people new to the game
Conclusion: Get it, this is a great all around mask and its good for newbs amatuers and pros
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trailer_trash Sunday, December 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
most JT's and some kind of cheap pmi
Marker Setup: Odyssey 02 with ricochet apache hopper and aci bulldog 2 tank
Strengths: Fits extremely nice for medium headed people
Weaknesses: Is kinda hard to find lenses for
Review: well here is the rundown
1. decently light
2. hardly ever fogs (unless in extreme conditions)
3. LOOKS BAD A$$
4. intimidating
5. price
it is my second mask and i love it
personally it fits my head perfect
when i put it on i cant even feel it
one bad thing is that the foam is a bit chafey but can be fixed with home materials
Conclusion: Good second mask
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 26th, 2005 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James Blond Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt elite or alpha. This mask is big, fogs easily, and is uncomfortable. It only has a 190 degree view. cost is $20
Marker Setup: Tippmann sl68II + 12 once co2
Strengths: It bounces balls - thermal - looks - 262 degree veiw - very comfortable - price
Weaknesses: The protection is only moderate.
Review: The Diablo Skul thermal is a great mask for many reasons. First, it is thermal and won't fog even in almost 90' heat. Second, it is very comfortable because, the padding is soft, it is padded on the sides (I haven't had any trouble with the padding coming off) (very nice) and the lense comes past the corners of your eyes. Third, the veiw is 262 degrees (you won't be flanked as easily). Fourth, I was playing woodball w/ some friends and got shot in the mask and the paintball bounced off (sweet). Fifth, the skul is very affordable only $30 for a thermal lense and it is very durable with proper care.
The drawbacks are it has only moderate protection along the back of the jawbone and under the ear. Nothing serious though. The nose cuts into the view just a little bit.
Conclusion: I think the Diablo Skul(thermal) is a very good mask for the price. If you are just starting in paintball and your mask is fogging get this mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ftblbum35 Saturday, November 27th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: spyder fenix with J$J barrel, supafly derlin bolt dye threee sticky grips, flame drop forward
Strengths: Bounce factor, neat look, 262 angle of view
Weaknesses: Cheap foam, foggy, touches face, no visor, hard to find lenes
Review: Well when i first bought this mask i had the only one like it. everyone else had cheap walmart masks that outperformed my sixty dollar one. My skull masked looked like it could be glow in the dark so the bright white didnt help for woodsball. there are better masks out there for the money
Conclusion: I would not buy this product because cheaper masks work better
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Tobias_Reaper Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra (Flex 7), JT nForcer,
Marker Setup: Angel LED, Air America Apocalypse, KAPP micro Apoc. drop, KAPP low rise, KAPP breech knob, DYE stickys, Angel Wings (decorative)
Strengths: Flexable
Semi comfortable
Good Perifreal vision
Anti fog
Weaknesses: Cheap foam
Lens distortion
Lens flare
No visor
Review: At first I loved this mask. I thought it was the best mask ever. This coming from someone who has never played paintball before. I had just got my gun (tippmann pro/carbine) and I was ready to take over the world. Well the first year of play the mask did great actually. It held up well, even in raining and cold conditions. I didn't like the fact that it wasn't tinted. And when the sun was in my eyes the lens would flare up bright white. I also noticed that the foam was a much lower quality foam than the stuff that JT uses. My freind bought a spectra and it felt like a dream compared to my mine. Besides those two things everything was fine.
Then around year two the foam on the mask started to come loose. I had to glue it multiple times to keep it one. This shouldn't have ever happened, especially since I took very good care of it. Another thing that I didn't like about it was that it didn't have a visor. And since the lens wasn't tinted I had vertually no protection from the sun. That's only one problem with the lens though. The other is that after a while it starts to get distorted. This drives me crazy. It makes it extremely hard to focus, both metally and physically. This is my biggest problem with this mask.
Conclusion: I would definitely go with another mask. I guess it's a half decent choice for the rec baller. But I still wouldn't get it. The price is a little steep too. I would stick with JT, they know there masks.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

heartsetafire Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT, proto rental masks
Marker Setup: Vexor Eye for now with everything stock. just add a loader and tank with air
Strengths: Cheap, good, does it jobs and people at Gameface
Weaknesses: Not really scratch proof. never bounce of a paintball yet.
Review: Hhmm... first of all i never knew why people would want to get additional lense and where to get
more lenses. So now having a mask on my own i would know why.
I got this mask wee long long time ago and it is a big improvement.
I have only tried 2 other masks which is JT and proto. I tried them while playing in those
rental fields. And we have to rent them. As usual i wear glasses. And using the rental masks it
is terrible, it is like wearing a horse blinds which can see straight and my glasses dun fit
into the mask. And rental mask SMELLS ! yuck...
So anyway thanks to the people at gameface for being able to ship to me these skul masks.
Order a few for my friends too.
So first things first. Packaging is always great from gameface. all nicely packed and in good
condition when arrive from USA. I am from Malaysia.
And fitting it on it is loose. I have to pratically go over the entire rubber band to fit to my
small Asian head i am only 175cm tall 75kg. Must be built for big people the mask.
Anyway nothing about it the clips hold tight with strips of tacky rubber running along the band
so it never slips. I never did any modification to the mask to fit my head.

Second thing about the quality of the product is that the sponges which runs in the inside,
it is glued on and the position is a bit off from the plastic. Some of the sponge are just
hanging mid air. hope gameface can look into this.

Then to test it out with my glass. I am wearing a rudy project kabrio. It is quite a big specs
with flip up black lense. And guess what IT FITS RIGHT IN with more space to move too.
And the vision it is great ! the website says it shows 270 degree. So this is indoor test.

So here i am head ready to head out to the field knowing from other forums and reviews that
the lense which comes with anti fog will initially fog up. And i play speedball with this mask
and yes after 3 minutes of running around and diving under the hot sun IT FOG! but upon
closer inspection it is not the lense that fog up, it is my glasses that fog up.

So for 3 month of every weekend game i washed and use it and never once it fog up. I played
in jungle field too and it never fog up also. So it is true and live up to its name. FYI
previous rental masks fogs up all the time.

Now the anti scratch material. Well i do not know up to which pressure or impact the lense is
scratch proof. I tested it on the first day i got the mask with a sharp pen knife, i gently
scrath the sides of the lense with a small Z. Till today the mark Z is still here. And just
last weekend game in jungle field i dropped if on the ground front first and there were two
deep scratches on it. Luckily it is just above the nose and still good visibility from it too.
Guess the anti scratch mentioned is only for paintball impacts only.
So far those are the only scratches i see on the lense. I have taken a few direct hits on the
lense and no scratches on it even using a cloth to wipe off the shell and paint between games.

Ok next the bounce factor. Well serious all hits to my mask break. Maybe the other guys
marker was not chrono properly. However one point to share though, i got hit on the neck just
yesterday. However i THINK it scrape the bottom of the mask and sort of like roll down. SO my
scar is abour 2 inch down my throat. I guess a bit of the bounce factor do work here.

Another thing is the vents. They are a bit too big. Every time i get hit on the face, the tiny
bits of the pellet shells can come in and hit my skin. 2 times i got direct hit and two time
the shell flew in and create small cuts on my face and it stinks. And i got paint all over my
face too when that happens. And the paintball oil it tastes sweet i vowed for that because i
tasted them before.

And the flex of the mask is great it is a comfort to wear it.
Other than that this mask is a real good deal, it does it job and it is comfortable and it is
cheap.
Conclusion: if you are a beginner TAKE IT. it serves the purpose. dun worry it will protect you. It is comfortable and it is fog FREE ! Plus you get to taste different types of paint
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbaler_nik Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: i have a viewloader maxis rg
Strengths: Strong, flexible, comfortable, no fogging, looks hardcore.
Weaknesses: Can't find it anywhere.
Review: I got it, put it on and i wont take it off. It is a good lookin mask and i cant break it. I was shot point -blank with it and it did not break. It stays on your head well. The pros use it and it is the cheapest mask i have found.
Conclusion: Get it, because you should.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media