paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech In-Line Regulator / Shocktech In-Line Regulator / Shocktech In-Line Regulator / Shocktech In-Line Regulator

Shocktech In-Line Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech In-Line Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech In-Line Regulator
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $89

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Having problems staying regular? Then you need a regulator from one of the biggest names in the industry. Shocktech always means quality.
Product Availability 
The Shocktech In-Line Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
dadude_89 Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock cocker reg.
(This is my first aftermarket inline reg)
Marker Setup: Set Up
2k3 WGP Vert 'Cocker (Red)
Ourricle Bolt
Maddman Springs
Freefow Tungsten Hammer Kit
Shocktech Re-buildable Ball Detent
Shocktech Front Block Kit
Shocktech Inline Reg
J&J Ceramic Barrel (12")
VL Evolution II "Egg" Loader
Really Long Drop 4ward (with on/off)
68cu 3000psi Pure Energy Preset
Strengths: -Looks
-Consistant
-Shocktech
-Externally adjustable w/allen
-2 Guage Holes
-Input hose at bottom
Weaknesses: Only one, not really a weakness, just different.
- Different adjustment threading
Review: Looks
This reg looks great on my cocker w/ some tight milling. Also it has the shocktech bubble stickers on it. It's threaded just right so that when screwed into my cocker ASA, the bubble sticker lookst dirctly 4ward 2ward my pnumatics. Great for when someone's lookin down the wrong end of my barrel.

Consistancy
It seems preatty consistant, but i don't have a barrel kit, so my barrel paint match makes velocity more inconsistant than the reg would so it's hard to tell.

Guage
It also has 2 holes at the top of the reg on either side for a guage if u wanna use one. Doesn't come w/ a guage, but it comes w/ plugs. Also if u wanna use one, it reads the psi going into the gun, which i think would be more usful than some regs that tell u whats coming from your tank.

Input
Also the intup hole that the line from your tank goes to comes out the center of the bottom keeping it out of the way and allowing your line to come from virtually any angle. (Like stock wgp reg)

Adjustablitiy
This reg is externally adjustable w/ and allen wrench. Because it uses and allen wrench and not a knob u need plyers to adjust, it's very easy to do when it's gassed up. Also there's nothing that could be bumped or something during play. But something to know when adjusting this reg, if you want to increase ouput preasure, u must turn the set screw to the left (out) and to decrease the output preasure u must turn it to the right (in). This is the opposite way in which many other regs work. Not really a weakness, just some FYI.
Conclusion: Good reg w/ some cool milling. Preatty consistant, reputable company (shocktech). Easily adjustable. looking for a nice externaly adjustable reg? Get the shocktech. Nothin wrong w/ this product, so it gets a 10,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

M_Foster87 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Messiah, MaxFlo, Pure Energy, WGP
Marker Setup: Black Rat LTD, Black Shocktech Inline Regulator, VL Egg, Shocktech 5" Drop w/ Shocktech On/Off, 12" J&J Edge Barrel Kit, ND Internals, Rat Hole Hammer, 68ci 4500psi Crossfire tank
Strengths: Consistent, Recharge, Looks, Size, Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just got this reg a few weeks ago to put on my Rat and I am very happy with my purchase. It is very consistent, usually +/-2 FPS . Earlier today I shot 273,274,276,277,274 and so on. My old MaxFlo with the same setup was +/-4 FPS most of the time which is good but not as good as the Shocktech reg. Also it has a very good recharge rate. No drops when shooting at high rates. I really like the fact that the macroline line is at the bottom insted of the side. The hose never gets in the way and is a lot more comfortable that way. The reg is pretty small too. Its the perfect size to fit your hand around it comfortably. This thing looks great. The milling and the Shocktech sticker, its so sweet. I got mine for $70 shipped which I think is a great deal for such a great regulator.
Conclusion: For the price this is one of the best regulators you can buy. Great consistency, recharge, looks. The total package.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bamboi128 Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Reg
Bob Long Torpedo
Dye Hyper 2
CP Reg
Marker Setup: Ion, mongoose flame-drop w/ 32-degrees on/off, allamerican, DYE throttle 68-4500 fiber tank, Smoke Reloader B, CP roller trigger, Trinity t-lock, black macroline, blue and black body kit, blue Dye stickies, blackheart board, Shocktech reg, L6 Lightining bolt.
Strengths: Very Consistant
Adjustable Output
Looks Great
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I have an ion and this is a great replacement for the stock regulator. Its way more consistant and more adjustable. It also looks way better than the stock reg. also, its smaller so my hand isnt smashed against the trigger guard. It also recharges WAY faster so i can shoot faster without it dropping in pressure. The only bad thing about it is the price, but i got mine on sale for $60.
Conclusion: Get it if you dont like ur reg or gas through grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skinz Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS Gen X2
Palmer Stabilizer
Stock WGP Regulator
AKA 2 Liter +
Marker Setup: FBM Half Assed Cocker w/ E2
Freak Barrel w/ SS inserts
45/4500 Max Flo
Strengths: Cosmetic looks
Has gauge ports
Macro fittings threading on bottom
Consistency
Easy Adjustability
Weaknesses: You will need HP disc if using for HP purposes
Review: The shocktech inline regulator has the same internals as the CP. I chose the shocktech instead of the CP because IMO, it looked better. Also, i wanted to be able to put a gauge on w/o a need for a different asa adapter.

Some of the key features i like in particuar was that the macro fitting was placed on the bottom of the reg, making it easier for placement and connection to tank. Also, adjusting output pressure is simple. It should be noted that turning the set screw clockwise (in) decreases output psi while turning it counter clockerwise (out) increases pressure. This is worth noting because most other regs are the opposite.

Although i found this reg to be more consistent than the previous regs i have used (except for palmer stabilizer and AKA) there were still some inconsistency issues. with a chrono, fps were relatively +/- 3 except for random occasions in which it was +/- 10. Which occurred once every so often when i was firing about 40-50 shots.

Another con for me was that when i went from a LP marker to an HP marker, i had to buy a HP disc from CP. I did not realize the it was an LP set up and max out put then was only 250 psi. I am complaining because there were no indications on box, manual, or from distributor that this was only a LP reg.
Conclusion: At half the price, it's definitely a cheaper alternative to the AKA 2 Liter + and Palmer Stabilizer. Although, IMO, it is not as consistent as them, it is by far better than other regs.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BigG27 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bushmaster reg, other than the fact that they're both metal there's no comparison
Marker Setup: Blue B2K3 with PDS
Shocktech inline regulator
Smart Parts Full Freak
PMI perfect cradle
Crossfire 68 3000 stub
Revvy(soon to be a Ricochet Apache)
Strengths: Consistent, looks good, easy maintenance
Weaknesses: If u dont lube it you'll get drop off
Review: This reg is great, it only cost $70 were i got it (extreme rage proshop). So far i haven't had any problems with this reg, except for a little dropoff because i hadn't lubed or cleaned it so that was my fault, the reg is very consistent over the chrono, i get +-3fps on average, if its really in need of a clean down u might get +-7fps and thats the worst itll ever do, the reg looks great and is very light, it's not too big but big enough to get a grip on
Conclusion: I love this reg, i wouldn't use anything else. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Beatmanias Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Max-flo
Centerflag in-line
Bob Long Torpedo
Marker Setup: 2K3 Impulse
RAT Internals
Check-it Low-Rise
Shocktech Reg
Halo B/ Zcode
Freak Kit
Strengths: Consistency
Looks
Ability to be moved a bit and still seal
Weaknesses: Price
Feel
Review: I got this regulator for about $85... which was a extreme rip off deal for me because you can get it at paintballgear for about $70 but anyhow what's done is done. I tested this reg out today at my field and I shot about 10 balls: 281 280 285 275 282 283 281 and so on... it shoots very consistent with the exception of that 275... I have no idea how that thing poped in there. Overall, for the price it's comparable to the CP reg but since I have not used the CP reg before, I can't tell you the difference or what's better. Another thing I like about this reg is the looks, I love my chrome reg, especially with the blue ST labels. Last thing I like is the fact that you can unscrew this reg about a 1/4 to adjust to where you like the gauge to be and still seal. Some regs I know of start leaking as soon as it gets loosen. Now for the NOT so goods: PRice.... besides the rip off deal... the CP reg is about $10 cheaper and judging from most who had used it, it's just as consistent yet it cost less... and the feel of the regulator is something i'm not used to quite yet, but that's only personal preference so you shouldn't worry about that.
Conclusion: For those of you deciding on either a CP or ST reg, you should go to your local field and find a CP reg that you can test out so you can look at the difference and see which one you like. If you can find a ST reg used and in good condition for cheap, i'd definitely go for it, but for those who are going for maximum consistency, go with the AKA Sidewinder.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

JLobes Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Detonator
Palmers Stabilzer
Ion Reg
Marker Setup: Flat Black Evil Pimp
Shocktech Inline Reg
68ci 4500PSI CF Tank
XSV Clamping Feedneck
Dye Stickygrips
Viewloader VLocity
Strengths: Small, Light, Great Looks
Regulates well, Versitile
Allen Key Adjusted
Weaknesses: None that I've seen
Review: I picked up the Shocktech Inline when both my Evil Detonators went down on me. I went into the local proshop, and asked what regs they prefered. Simultaneously, everyone in the room says either "Shocktech" or "CP", which shares its internals with the Shocktech. I got it from the proshop, who installed it for me, and even provided the macroline fitting, (THANKS EJAM!!). Out of the box, the only modifications which needed to be made was to put some teflon tape around the plugs which block the holes for the gauges. After that, i put it on my Pimp, dry fired somewhere between 2000 and 2500 times, stuck paint in it and went to chrono.

+/-3 FPS.

Compared to my Detonator, which was getting +/- 9-10 with a NEW seat, this reg is amazing. It's light, looks great, feels great in my hand, and matches almost any gun. It adjusts with an allen key, so no more accidentally adjusting your reg and having to rechrono.

Conclusion: Buy this product, simply the best reg i've used. Worth the 90 beans any day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

asprtr Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: sp ion
lock down feed neck
ndz asa
68/3000
freak barrel 360 qev
halo b w/ rip
Strengths: Consistant one of the best i would choose this or the cp reg
Weaknesses: Very small/ skinny
Review: With this reg i was about to drop my psi from 160 on my ion to 100 its way better than the stock reg because u dont have to adjust it every time you use it one u have it set, it is set nothing more u should have to do it will leak when u first get it all u have to do is tighten up the 2 screws and it will be fine
Conclusion: Buy this if u are looking for a great performing reg
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbuz Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo, Evil Detonator
Marker Setup: Ion, Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel, Halo B, Shocktech Regulator, 3A 4500 psi/68c.i. HPA tank, Dye tank cover
Strengths: Small, compact, easy to adjust. Looks good.
Weaknesses: Wear on internal parts, shoot down during rapid fire.
Review: I have had this regulator for about 2 years. I've used it on a Spyder E-99 (low pressure set-up), BKO and now an ION. It is very small, lightweight and compact. It looks pretty good. When I first bought the regulator I called Shocktech (I cannot remember why now) and the tech support Dude said I should "never" have to lube it. This seemed odd to me since everything I have ever read about regulators says they need periodic lubing to maintain proper function. I never noticed it on the E-99 and BKO, but since I have had it on my ION I have noticed significant velocity drop off when shooting above 15 BPS. At about 80 feet the 1st single shot is a frozen rope. Holding my hand relatively steady the shots drop about 2 feet during rapid fire. I looked at the pressure gage during a long string and there appeared to be about 50 psi drop during rapid fire. Now, being an engineer, I ignored the Shocktech tech support dude and all along would lube my regulator about every 2 cases or so with DOW33. It is difficult to disassemble. There are no real wrench flats to use to separate the sections. This caused me to scuff up the nice paint job (no big deal really). The last time I took it apart I noticed some serious wear on the poppet and some torn O-rings. I called Shocktech asking if they have rebuild kits. The person I spoke to said she didn't know and would check. She never called me back. Since it never came with a manual I wasn't sure what O-rings would be needed to rebuild it. I suspected the reg was similar to Custom Products Regulator and went to the CP website and found a manual. Man ... the inner components look almost identical to the CP reg. I mean identical. I figured out what O-rings I need from the CP manual and fixed it up. Relatively good consistency at slow rates of fire ±3 FPS but it still has shootdown at rapid fire. I could not really recommend it. I am sure it is better than some but worse than others.
Conclusion: Average regulator. Nothing to write home and tell Mom about. Shoot down during rapid fire. Inadequate technical support/customer service. Inconvenient disassembly.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

imhotep29897 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2
Rocket valve
Assault block
Dye mini gauge
Shocktech regulator
WGP black magic drop forward
Viewloader revolution w/ x-board
Crossfire 45/4500
Empire 3pc Barrel kit
Strengths: Lowers pressure, doesnt drop off, can use co2 (for a while)
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got a cp 1 piece last christmas, but it was meant for macro, so when i went to prder one without the macro fittings they were out of stock.I looked around and saw this.I got it the next week. I've been using it for almost a year with no problems (with co2 most of the time).I was able to lower my pressure to around 350psi with this and a spring kit.
Conclusion: Get it, its cheap, reliable, and works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media