paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask

Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scott USA

Buy Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Using information gathered over the years, Scott has created the ultimate goggle system. The best lens, face foam, mask, strap and now the best visor make up the HotShot. The best part is it seals the eye port without sacrificing fit and comfort. Over Glasses is not a problem. The newly designed Cool Lite facemask is second to none. It is lightweight, cool and allows the player to talk and hear easily. This system also comes with the all new Cool Lite visor offering style, fit and a 3-position adjuster.
Product Availability 
The Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Xiong Chiamiov Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap JT: uncomfortable and foggy
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor w/PMI flame drop, CMI Tru-Flight, unknown X-chamber, more stuff to come
Strengths: FITS OVER GLASSES
doesn't fog
comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was told to buy a thermal mask by my friends, so I looked around and bought the Scott Hotshot Thermal. I have yet to use this in a game, but I have done plenty of "fitness training" in my backyard. I have gotten to the point where there is sweat dripping off my glasses, and yet I still have not gotten this mask to fog.
UPGRADES
If you wear glasses, get anti-fog spray for those. Otherwise, you defeat the purpose of buying an thermal mask.
WEAR A BACKWARDS BASEBALL CAP. Otherwise, the back strap will keep slipping down the bump in the back of your head, and it'll fall off.
Conclusion: Great mask to buy. Get it, now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 16th, 2004 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lookbehindyou Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lots of masks.......few compare
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
20oz CO2
Rufus Dawg Marker Hardcase
Viewloader Proflex Squeegee
Scott Hotshot Thermal Mask
Viewloader 200rd gravity fed hopper
(still waitin on my new barrel to come in)
Strengths: This mask absolutely WILL NOT fog.
Weaknesses: So far, I have found no weaknesses with this mask.
Review: I just recently acquired the Hotshot Thermal mask and so far i LOVE it. I tried to make it fog by sticking it in the freakin refrigerator and then stickin a blowdryer to that mofo, but it didn't fog a bit. It is really comfortable and is the perfect fit for my big head (but the strap is adjustable if you have a small dome). Also, it has lots of ventilation and a sun visor for those hot summer days in the field. I recommend this mask to beginner and veteran alike!!!!!!!
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good mask that isn't outrageously priced, then this one is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2004 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakexeyes Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Rentals
JT Proteus Spectra Chameleon Gold.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom OD Green
32 degrees Whisper Barrel
Lapco Front Grip
Lapco Sightrail
Target Sports Red Dot Sight
200 rnd Hopper
20 oz Tank
High Pressure Coiled Remote
Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster
...
Strengths: Cheap
Good basic performace
Looks kinda cool
Weaknesses: Doesn't stay in place
Not much protection on the sides
Review: I got this mask in a package when I bought my 98C.

It's a pretty good mask for starters. It doesn't fog that much. Pretty good quality overall.
However the plastic it's made off is very stiff, and that may cause a 'deformed' mask if it get's stuck in a bag or during shipping. Also I think it'll break easier than my JT Proteus, because the JT has a softer plastic.
The plastic also reduces the comfort. It's not really hugging your face. Also the strap tends to slide of your head, so you need to wear something on your head like a hat to prevent that.
The protection on the sides isn't all that, I once had a paintball RIGHT in my mouth. A friend shot my from a distance while lying on the ground while I was running past him. Since the protection at the cheeks is not that low , the ball slipped under it and hit my cheek, resulting in a mouth full of paint!

But it's not all that bad. I used it for a year without much harm. Pretty good for the occasional play, but if you're getting serious with paintball I 'd rather recommend a JT Proteus or something like that.
Conclusion: Good mask for it's price. But it also has it's downsides. However if you're on a tight budget don't hesitate to buy it. Does not fog that much, looks pretty okay, but doesn't offer the best protection available and the comfort could be better.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 12:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slaminator3323 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce provantage, I like it a little better.
Marker Setup: Ion
Red NDZ on/off and feedneck
Lightening bolt
CP two piece
NDZ Saw trigger
Strengths: Doesn't fog
Its pretty cheap, good covering.
Weaknesses: None really. It's hard to take the lense out.
Review: Well this was my first mask, and for the time I used it, it was pretty nice to me. Never fogged gave good coverage on my the front and sides of my head. Pretty comfortable. One of my only complaints is that it was hard to get the lense out.
Conclusion: I say get a vforce provantage over this same price just a little better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chupacabra Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Game Face SKUL mask -anti-fog, yeah right. No comparison.
Marker Setup: Enigma E-2 (EXR) stock w/ CO2 gauge & 16" SmartParts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Cost
WILL NOT FOG
Detachable parts
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Sweat-box
Review: Got these in a package deal with my marker and have been using them exclusively ever since. Have not found a need to use anything else. They are terrific.

I've used these goggles for over 3 years and have never had any problems with them.

Fogging is nonexistent. Even now, after all the wear and tear, scratches, etc. they only fog a little at the top during night games or really humid days, nothing to obscure vision, though. This is attributed to the dual lens system with inner thermal coated and outer lens sealed with foam in the middle.

These are pretty comfortable regardless if you wear glasses or not. They're great for those long scenario games. The foam is pretty thick and it will last forever (like I said, 3 years and still going).

The mask, goggles and visor are all detachable so if you feel the need to remove the visor or face protector (for you airsofters) you're set. Also makes for easy cleanup.

The only negative thing I have to say about them is they are a sweat-box. The foam absorbs sweat and they don't have very sufficient circulation for cooling. I sweat a lot anyway, so after a few hours it'll be to the point of having to squeeze out the excess from the foam like a sponge.
Conclusion: I wholly recommend these goggles. They are the first and best goggles I've used. I will continue to use them for paintball until they fall apart (which by the looks of it will be a long way down the road).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballHQ Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Strengths: It is good for for protecting your face
The thermal goggles dont fog up
Weaknesses: Its not as cool looking as masks like V-Force
Review: I got this mask with a Tippmann 98 Power Pack, and it was a great deal. The thermal goggles have never fogged up before, so that was an nice extra little thing to have. The V-Force is a cooler looking mask, but this one is great. There are no problems with it, but putting it together might be a hassle if its been warped by being in a box too long.
Conclusion: The mask is great, but I would have gotten the V-Force if my Power Pack didnt come with a mask already.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

i_am_ramone Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Masks. Many different kinds. Most every different grades.
From Brass Eagle to Dye and all and other stuff.
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG LCD
14in All American
Empire Reloader
20oz co2 tank (yeah i know co2 is stone age but i'm saving for a Bass Guitar)
Strengths: No Fog. Good for Woods. Strong
Weaknesses: Only black, Not the prettiest.
Review: Well this is a really great woods ball mask. Very sturdy. I reccomend anyone who just plays woodsball at their local field and stuff. It works fine for speedball of course. Black matches your colors and all. But if you feel like looking bright and shiny than this mask is probably not really good for making you look like that. But if you want a good sturdy mas then git this thingy. Its really good and nice
Conclusion: Ther's hundreds of masks to choose from. I would really reccomend this to someone who plays in a humid area and sweats alot. This mask will not fog up. Unless u put a fog machine inside the mask. So if your thinking about getting a mask and you read this review i give it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dre_Dre Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
um i think some JT, but the cheaper ones. (less expensive)
Marker Setup: custom spyder flash lcd
shortened trigger (custom job)
14" J&J ceramic
dead on paintball drop
macro line setup
68/30 carbon fiber
9v revy
Madmann spring kit
and i think others but can remember
Strengths: dose not fog. NO FOG. very low profile
Weaknesses: i liked it, i dont have anything bad to say..
Review: i have read reviews on the regular one, and i play alot of indoor ball, and thats the worst becuase of the heat and i have never had a problem with it in a game or anything. i have never had a problem cleanin paint off of it, also never had it fog up (i would hope so), the only thing is the holes right by your mouth are good ventilation, but if you ever been bunkered and hit in the mouth i hope you dont mind the taste of paint, other than that i enjoy usin it very much probly wont get another mask for a little while, youll look like u belong on the field with this one.
Conclusion: i find it to be very light, and good fiting, if your goin to buy a mask first is the protection aspect and then the comfort(never price for safety). i find this to be very comfortable, and very easy to get good shots but still being hiden behind a bunker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickBizzar Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profiler
Dye Invision I3 Pro
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Ion
Q-Lock
Virtue Eyes
Progressive Barrel
Hybrid Grips
CP Rake Trigger
XSV Rail
360 QEV
S.P. On off
and T-board to come
Strengths: Comfortable/kinda
Weaknesses: Big and Bulky, fog easy
Review: Well this review isn't going to be long, this is a good product if you are new to the sport and you don't have much money and you don't want to buy a mask anytime soon.


This mask is pretty comfortable for being only like a 15 dollar mask. Recomended if you have 15 dollars. The downside to this mask is that it's very big and bulky, I go with the viser off so that helps a little, but it's still really bulky. Wide on my head.

I've tried on invision, invision I3 Pro, and V-Force profilers. I love the V-Force Profilers the best. They have a comfortable fit and they're not a huge target. Recomended if you have that much money.
Conclusion: Buy if you have 15 dollars and need goggles. Otherwise save for better goggles.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

butterz Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V force profiler (way better)
Marker Setup: icd promaster
macdev 05' legion air 68/4500
empire reloader b
dye lock lids
Strengths: Thermal lens
Double lens
Weaknesses: Hard shell
lens are a bugger to take out and clean
Review: A couple years back when i bought my 98c my parents bought me these goggles to go with it. at first i liked them very much, the double lens thermal was a plus. after quite a few games and mask breaks it sucked when it came to cleaning the lens. you have to take the whole goggle system apart and then seperate the lens from the head strap.
Conclusion: This is a great goggle system for people in rec. ball or just play once in a while with friends. if you play speed ball a lot and are in tournaments i recommend a v-force profiler or a jt proflex to help with bounces
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media