paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol / Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol / Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol / Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol

Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crosman

Buy Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The only double and single action paintball .50 cal revolver. Made in the 80s by crosman.
Product Availability 
The Crosman 3357 .50 Cal Pistol is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Shmavistime Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 25 guns so im not listing them all
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra cylinders, and lots of fun home mods!
Strengths: You look like a B.A. shooting one.
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy out of the box, paint dosnt always break. Not everyone will like them.
Review: I have owned 6 of these, now i own 4. These are by far my favorite guns out of my collection. Theyre not hard to mod either. You can knock out the old barrel, give it a mirror polish, or put in a brass one. You can even dremel in a speed loading slot if you want to. Most of them have poor accuracy and range, but through the mods ive done to mine, they work flawlessly. Not everyone is goinf to like these, if you havnt even played pump before, than dont get it. These guns are probably about as stock class as you can get, 6 shots instead of 10, and a hammer instead of a pump.
Conclusion: If your the kind of person who likes scenario play, messing around with your buddies in the woods, or if your a collector. Get...This..Gun. Period. If you like speedball and high performance ramping and all that rich-boy crap, dont get it. I love mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 4:39 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mike31c Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only double action pistol I have ever used
Marker Setup: Just the Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: .50 cal paint hard but not difficult to find, most fields have FPO only
Review: This is my second pistol that I have purchased. My first being the Splatmaster.

Ok, here's the breakdown about the chrono situation: What most people do not understand is how the chrono station works. Every single chrono out there in modern paintball is calibrated to chrono 68 cal paint. It uses a complex mathamatical formula (and when I find it again, I will explain better) to determine how fast the ball is going over the chrono based on the physical charactistics of 68 cal paint. Using any other cal paint, and you WILL NOT get an accurate FPS reading. In other words, a chrono station showing 450fps using 50 cal paint, it's more like you are shooting about 220 fps if you are lucky.

Anywho, this is my second pistol, and if it was still working, I will probably still be using this :) Don't expect this thing to shoot your opponents across the modern speedball court or be winning against some semi in a fire fight. But for as long as I have used this marker, I have taken on many opponents and have scored many victories with this pistol. I've also been rewarded with many welts all over my body because of this thing too!

Only 6 shots? No problem! If you needed more, you were in a bad situation in the first place! I think I got about 30-40 shots on a good day per 12gram.

This thing is one of the most undestructive pistol I have ever owned. The only reason why it's down now is because I tried to take it apart to clean and I forgot to remove a fully charged CO2 cartarige. That is a bad thing. The good thing, I am going to send this to PPS and they can fix it (hopefully!)

Need 50 cal paint? Send me a PM and I can direct you to where you can still buy it (reasonably fresh paint too!)

Heavy? Yes it is. But I've always used pistols in paintball and you will get used to it. Gunslinger? This is one of the better ones when you got two of 'em.!


Conclusion: I'm getting mine fixed. I am also buying them off of ebay. This marker is very special to me and I hope others will find them just as special :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

3022 Sunday, October 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar to 3357.
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), PGP-2001, ZGP-94 (two), Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC (two), AGD MiniMag, AGD Automag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosman 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
.177 cal Crosman 357 BB barrel and some .177 cylinders for plinking
new custom made metal parts instead the stock made from of plastic
little trigger work & performane tune
...new custom barrel and cylinder for more common 43. cal RAM paint?
Strengths: Real look and operating
hight ROF
no rollouts, no doublefeeds
.50" paint
Weaknesses: accuracy, efficiency
.50" paint
six-shooter
Weak parts
Big, heavy
bad trigger pull
Review: Spotmarker is great marker if you will have something unique, something with more real look and handing. It is not the best marker if goes on performance, but he is very interesting. It is great marker for you, when you are colector, old-school, scenario or milsim player... who has likewise other, more common marker as reserve for other than purely recreational games - because playing with this marker is really not easy... but it can be a lot funnier.

Spotmarker is... generally quite big and heavy, inaccurate, non-powerful, Stock class pistol. With Spotmarker, you will be in pernament disadvantage, even compared to other stock class players. Classic Sheridan PGP - for exception - is simpler, more durable, smaller, little lighter, better balanced, has more paint in magazine, faster reloads, better triger pull, upgrades are more available for them, mods well-known and he uses attested and extended .68" cal paint, whith is cheaper, easier to find and so even easier to get in better quality. So, for regular Stock class play, if you will have good pistol, PGP is imho far, far better choice than Spotmarker.

Spotmarker really looks and holds like real firearm. Those who wrote reviews before me have said, that with Spotmarker you have feeling like be Dirty Harry. That is not exact, to my mind. With the big cylinder and most weight on front, Spotmarker reminds more than modern .357 Python revolver old .45 cal percussion revolver, so it is feeling more like Wyatt Erp :-). Even while the double action trigger is not great, it is better use them as single action revolver and the reloading style reminds likewise more first S&Ws for black powder.

But what do you mus know... Crosman 3357 was not build as original paintball marker, it is only converted Crosman 357 .177 cal pellet airgun - the entire backside is equal, only the barrel and cylinder makes 3357 from the 357. That can be good and bad. Good because you can use this toy with .50" barrel & cylinder as paintball marker and with .177" barrel as cheap plinking gun. Good because you can use parts from more common Crosman 357 airgun. Bad because 357 is generally only cheap gun intend for fun shooting, plinking, and cheap introducing of new shooters. And hence even the Spotmarker is cheap build. Some key parts (gear transmission on the cylinder for exception) are made from plastic, some springs are weak, trigger mechanism is really not the best (especially in Double action mode). This marker haves simply not rugged, durabilite design like of PGP - for exception - and is far more complycated. But these shortcomings are not critical - some can be fixed rellative easily, others commonly do not cause problems for many years of use. This can be adequate price for the real look and feeling of this marker...

The real problem of 3357 Spotmarker is bad (or better horible) accuracy. Barrel has too large diameter (13,4mm = .528") to the paint and holes in cylinders (13,0mm = .512"), and on the other side, the space between of the cylinder and barrel is to big (more than 1mm = .040" !!)... so in reality, the efficient barrel lenght is here limited only on the cylinder lenght. Besides, the holes for paint, the detents and the gearing in the cylinders are not manufactured very accurate, so every shoot pertaining to every hole in cylinider flyes in little different direction. So, with some shoots you can hit the opponent on 60 foot, but with most of them you will be happy to hit them on 30 foot. But accuracy and range is not all. In indoors, 3357 accuracy will be enought for you.

For balistic performance of this marker is important to know, that 300 fps velocity limit was supposed for .68" cal paint - on the basis of his weight and surface area. Because the .50 cal paint has half of his surface area and only two and half of his weight, you have in reallity 475 fps safety limit with the 3357... but most of paintball players and field operators do not know and understand that and even the Spotmarker is not able go for these velocities without mods - in stock conditions, only first two, three shoots have muzzle velocity around 280 fps, following 15-20 shoots around 210 fps... yes, the CO2 efficiency is really not great out of the box. Only 30 usable short-shoots (five cylinders) from one powerlet are common, what is nothing great for .50" cal paintgun with vertical placed powerlet. Improving of the stock efficiency is not easy, but possible. You can lighten the hammer, change springs, devolumize the valve chamber, seal better the space in between the cylinder and barrel, polish the "barrel". That will help a little, anymore. With good paint and consistent velocity around 300 fps, the 3357 Spotmarker tends to be realy far more usable... But improving of the very bad, stock accuracy is imho not possible - it will be necessary change the barrel and cylinders what generaly makes the entire 3357...

The .50 cal paint... the .50 cal paint is little hard, but not inposible to find - Palco Marketing make them unter trademark "Flying Colors" years for Splatmatic blowguns and cheap paint airguns (look at www.palcosports.com or www.blow-gun.com) in good quality and you can buy them on many e-shops... in USA and even in Europe. And even if this shall be problem, it is possible convert Spotmarker for the new .43 cal paint for RAM or more common .40 cal paint for other paint blowguns. So the logistic is not unsolvable problem.

Worse is that most of paintball competitive actions have .68" cal paint in rules and most of fields have Field Paint only (FPO) in rules. Here will you have more problems with .50 cal paint. But if you do not have big competitive ambitions with your 3357 (ehm... ehm...), then that will be imho likewise not problem for you. If you are in good terms with Field operator, he leave you surely play with this old rarity for only small charge and if you play outlaw, there will be surely none who would be remonstrated.

Practically, the .50 cal paint does not break as easy, what should be little disadvantage for you when you play "on blood", but in reallity it is not handicap for you - because of bad 3357 accuracy, you mus go very close to target, anyway. It is pistol, not sniper rifle, actually.


...Spotmarker is not particularly hard for mods, but he is simply different to other paintball markers. He is more like real firearms even inside. Your gunsmith will be surely more familiar with his trigger mechanism, because it is simply cheap clone of common SA/DA revolver trigger mechanism. You self shall be careful while stripping, because this marker has a lot of little parts, but on other side, all parts are easy accessible here, so if you understand how the mechanism works, you can make a lot for them without problems.
Conclusion: OKay, many people loves this gun and I can't blame them for being nostalgic, but there are a many essential drawbacks to this marker.

This marker is the only one real paintball revolver. It is first "Real Action Marker", RAM of his time. The result is not bad for year 1987, not bad for his price... but not good enought for present-day fields. This marker has many weaker points (accuracy, efficiency, small magazine capacity, weak plastic parts, less common caliber)... but if you can live with them, and if fun is more than victory for you, then it will be great gun for you.

...trought that all what has been said, I give 8 from 10 because there are in reallity none rivals between paintball revolvers. And that is what you get - the only one paintball revolver.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 12th, 2007 at 8:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ScreamingShiek Sunday, August 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat w/Trinity Barrel Rail, 12" Palmer's Pursuit Single Ported .685, Collapsible Stock, AMP ACOG Dot Sight
Crosman 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra cylinders wherever and whenever you can buy them.
Strengths: Solid metal construction that is extremely durable.
Air efficiency.
Intimidating.
Weaknesses: Very low availability of parts.
Review: The 3357 is a single/double action revolver. It is part of a line of Crosman air pistols which includes the 357 and the 3576. Point in fact, they are interchangible. Simply by attaching the .50 caliber barrel to the 357 or 3576, along with the ammo cylinder, and the gun is now able to fire the .50 caliber rounds. This makes finding parts or swapping far easier since the 3576 is still readily available in new condition. Finding the unique parts (barrel and cylinder) is far more difficult.

Firing the 3357 is very simple. It is double action, but can be fired in single. By cocking the hammer, the trigger is drawn back, allowing for a much lighter squeeze. The cylinder rotates with each shot. Though it is by no means the most accurate weapon, it has some advantages. It's small rounds allow for gas efficiency far beyond a normal .68 pistol. I totaled about 30-40 shots before the CO2 ran out. Secondly, fits more comfortably in the hand than most .68 markers. It's accuracy inside of fifty feet is very good, enough so that the adjustible sights can be used. Outside of this range, the accuracy is wild at best.

As for weaknesses, it is a rather large gun (over 1ft) to carry for only 6 shots of small caliber paint. It's weight is not terrible until you consider that a Rap4 .43 caliber has similar range and accuracy with greater ammo capacity and much smaller size. Also, as stated above, parts are difficult but not impossible to come by. Emailing Crosman netted me a couple of airgun hobby websites that still carry some original parts. RCPaintball.com also carries the largest supply of small parts I've seen. The left side grip, where the CO2 is inserted, loosens up and falls out when there isn't a 12gram canister insterted. The canister doesn't have to have gas in it, but keeping one there is necessary, at least for mine.

Upgrades are nonexistent for this marker. Since it is patterned after the Colt Python with the 6" barrel, holsters can be bought that will fit this gun well. .50 caliber paint is available from Splatmatic or the new Spyder and GI Milsim stores.
Conclusion: Overall, this marker is a fine addition for those who like classics, or for Milsims. Get one and you have a very unique marker. I give it a 9/10 because of it's uniqueness and looks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Sovereign Mk1
-----------------
Sterling STP
12" DAC
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster, extra cylinders
Strengths: Looks and sturdiness
Weaknesses: Barrel latch and .50 paint, accuracy, range
Review: It's hard to find one new or unused. I got mine off ebay and it had the standard problem with the barrel latch not locking the barrel in place. Fortunately mine didnt have any problem with the cylinder alignment.

The positive things about it are that it looks intimidating, and that it's noisy. A revolver should be loud ;)

It's fairly heavy and robust.. It feels like it weighs more than an Ion with mag and tank attached.

The drawbacks are the barrel latch, as i mentioned earlier, and the fact that its hard to find good .50 caliber paint. The lack of accuracy is a side effect of having bad paint.
The internals should be opened with care, as it's just waiting to make a run for it as soon as you open it.

Another issue related to the paint is that its hard to reload if your paint is slightly smaller than the holes in the cylinder. Thus keeping an extra cylinder or two in a pocket is out of the question.

Conclusion: The revolver itself is pretty good though it lacks range and it only has 6 shots. I was able to get about 30 shots from a single co2 cartridge. The biggest drawback is the paint.. but if you manage to find fresh (and round) paint then it should perform as well as a pgp and other semi pistols.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other double actions were a xgs jackal which was the worst gun i ever owned, and a splatmaster rapide.=it was ok.
Marker Setup: Main- Punishered old style pgp- battle grips, speed tube, velocity adjuster, tube milling, honed barrel, new pump arm, annopdized silver, copper t bolt, and new 12 gram quick changer

secondary- 3357 revolver with 3 extra drums. (actual paintball gun for you nOObs)



When i want to waste money-2004 bko with j&j, egg II, cp drop, cp on/off, dye stickies, bulldog hpa, superfly, bob long torpedo.

Stock class member
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get some extra drums and polish out the barrel.
Strengths: Accurate, shoots darts, consistent, efficient, sweet looking, nice and heavy, its a pump,durable.
Weaknesses: Hard to find and some find the paint hard to find. I find it evrywhere.
Review: When i first got the first one, the barrel was really rusted. I took some brasso and cleaed it completley out. I then put in a 12 gram and took some shots. It is sweet. Shoots very straight. It is so durable its not even funny. Its all metal excluding the drum loader. I got a bunch of extra drums(lucky me) and thos ehelp too. Its stock class legal just to ley you know, and is shootable forem either cocking it or its semi-auto. It chops when you go semi auto too though. I can shoot just as fast in pump than semi practically so it doesnt really matter.Best gun for woodsball ever. I dont play woodsball usually, but when i do, this is really sweet for it. Its heavy which i like. One of the best parts is the co2 effieciency. I get about 27 good sots and 15 ok shots. The last 15 still go far but just lower velocity. Still breaks after the last 15.

Paint is very abundant.
Conclusion: Definetly worth the investment. Shoots straight and perfect for games even. GEt one off ebay. I wouldnt go above $100 for one unless you really really want one. SO pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 22nd, 2004 at 12:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

djdanno13 Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is really no other gun like this, but I would say the closest was a NSG splatmaster
Marker Setup: A tippmann sl-68II with a J&J ceramic barrel, a tippmann pro 68 with a lightened trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can, grab more magazines to speed up the reload process. Or the rubber grips on the current Crosman 357. If your crazy enough you could try and mount a pistol type sight on this gun.
Strengths: Parts are available for this gun, the Crosman .357 pellet gun,
Weaknesses: DA trigger pull is a little hard. .357 pellet gun cannot be converted to .50
Review: This gun is a definate conversation piece, it's definatly something that paintball collectors should pick up as it's more rare than most anything out there, however not so rare that it's impossible to find. I purchased mine on ebay, it was in fine, but used condition. One dissapointment was that velocity was a little lacking as it started dropping after 20ft. I hope to fiddle with this gun a little and see if we can't fix that. I have never taken this gun out into the field, but that may change once I get it really working good. One area to look out for is the clearence between the frame and the mag/barrel. If it's too wide I found that my magazine would not always rotate and I would have a misfire, but when held close together it would rotate very good even when I was pulling the trigger faster than I would in the field. The only other comment is that this gun is suprisingly BIG. It's a real Dirty Harry look, It's also a little front heavy which is what you want for a pistol. Two last notes, prices for this gun runs up to about $120, and 2. Do not take apart this gun unless you are mechanically inclined, this gun is not assembled the same way as any paintball gun, If you don't pay attention to what your doing and don't know what your doing, you can mess up this gun really fast.
Conclusion: I gave this gun a rating of 9, not because it's a great performer, but rather for celebrity, most ol-schoolers will know this gun when they see it, and will give you definate "street cred". It's true that this gun is rather poor for field use, but if you can get an elimination it makes you look all the more cooler. Not to mention all the Dirty Harry quotes you can throw out all the time. Now true Harry's gun was 44.mag and this is modled after a .357, (remeber crosman .357 for extra parts). But no one will really greif you on that as this is the only revolver paintball gun you can buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unived Micindev Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just pumps like pgp or zgp
Marker Setup: u cannot upgrade this revolver but i saw some pics with home-made cal.68 barrel and drum
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u r good u can replace .50 barrel and drum
Strengths: semi-auto, good 4 collectors
Weaknesses: its heavy and trigger pull is insane, out of production, cal.50 balls is history
Review: 3357 is not bad....if everybody play with same gun....heavy for sidearm, unaccurate as primary marker but games can be very funny...that one what i tested was been in bad condition so this is not review, just talking...i saw just one in my life and i think its last in central europe...if somebody has an experiences with replacing barrel please write me how to do it
Conclusion: i recommended 3357 just for collectors or old-school players...i give it 5 because its not usable for today player and i give it 5 because is not bad gun, just old....3357 is very interesting marker
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 13th, 2004 at 2:00 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

slingshot66 Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac--8
Pt extreme
Pt extreme jr
Marker Setup: A5
Empire Barrel Kit
Ops Gear SR 9 Barrel Shroud
Ops Gear A5 Long Wire Stock
M 16 Clip
45mm Red Dot
BT Fixed Rail Sight
Q-Loader W/5 Pods
Hpa Tank

Tiberius Tac 8 W/ Holster and 5 Clips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra speed loaders
Strengths: None
I less your going for looks
Weaknesses: Size of paint
6 shot
Short range.
Review: I bought this for my son to go with his 98 tippmann tompson.
He wanted something to go with the world war II look.
This marker is a great looking marker. But thats as far as it goes.
The range of this marker is short. I'd say 25 foot max. The small 50 paintball doesn't have the power to break at more then 25 feet on soft targets. The marker isnt a nail driver either.

All though it has short range doesnt mean Its not a good marker.
Close range like over taking bunkers or closed areas, This marker will work fine.

For sitting in shurbs and keeping it on your lap so if someone comes from behind you.You can shoot with out moving much. This will work fine.

As for pistols that will work as well as a full size marker go with the Tac-8


Conclusion: This is a great looking marker. 10
But has short range. 05
Doesnt work well in double action
it will break paint. 03

With this in mind I give it an 06


My son thinks its a 10


So its a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP2
Splatmaster
Marker Setup: Black Ego 06 w/ BlackHaloB w/rip drive, soon to have blue accents, Dye UL barrel, Crosfire 45-45ci tank.

Crosman 3357 .50 cal
Sheridan PGP2
NSG Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't believe there are any...
Strengths: \/See Review\/
Weaknesses: \/See Review\/
Review: Key Strengths:

Quiet/Small/Lightweight: The Crosman is a very lightweight marker, it is also one of teh more quiet markers I have shot. It also has a small and lightweight design, which makes for a very manuverable marker.

Ease of use: It may not be the fastest marker, but it's a very easy marker to use, all you have to do is cock teh hammer back and your set to go.


Key Weaknesses:

Balls dont always break on target: The balls dont always break on the intended target, roughly 3 balls will break out of six shots.

Inaccurate: I find that the Crosman is one of the most inaccurate markers I have ever come by, but who needs accuracy when you're in the snake bunkering everyone left and right?

Conclusion: The Crosman .3357 .50 cal is a great novelty item, and if you can get your hands on one, get it. This marker will definatley turn some heads at the field.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media