paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock / Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock / Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock / Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock / Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock

Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 4.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Made out of ABS plastic and Aluminum.
Includes rear receiver stock housing with lock.
Stock locks in two positions, fully retracted and fully extended.
Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball A-5 MP5 Sliding Rear Stock is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Greedy Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-AK-47 Folding Stock www.englerpaintballguns.com
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
J & J 45 Aluminum Grip Frame w/Blade Trigger
Paintball Pins "The Skulls" Killer Grip and Insert
WGP 70/4500 Pre-set HPA Tank *Stubby*
Palmer's Male Stabilizer w/Guage (Black)
Dead on Vertical Adapter (Black)
CP Razor Drop
Check-It Product Uni-Mount
Custom Folding Stock
Strengths: -Looks good
-Slides
-Light-weight (less than 1lb.)
Weaknesses: -Low Quality
-Doesn't Slide all the way in
-Broke twice
-Scratches Marker
Review: I'm an A-5 guy, have been since I started paint-balling last summer. I got this bad boy Christmas 2003 because I thought it was pretty sick looking, it slid instead of folded to the slide or remained solid, and because it was light-weight. Well it turned out to be not so good.

The stock slides, but it doesn't' slide all the way in. The Banjo Fitting for the A-5's cyclone prevents that. The stock WILL scratch the sides of your marker. I emailed the owner, Vance Lorenzana about it and he said it was unavoidable because it was too hard to maintain quality during production. Now, I want to make this clear I got this stock directly from the maker, Vance Lorenzana from www.extremesportsandhobbies.com not from OPS Gear, he claimed all of the low reviews were due to a "knock-off" version put out by OPS gear. Well, although that may be, this one wasn't much better. When fully extended the stock had some wobble to it, put it up and down about 1" total.

I had this for 3 months before actually playing with it, and when I did I bought it because it has a clip so you can attach a sling to it. Well after a day of playing and using the stock I noticed a crack had developed due to stress on the clip. So I sent it back and Mr. Lorenzana, he replaced it and said that it really wasn't meant to hold a sling just for cosmetics but that's not mentioned anywhere in the description. Well anyway, I did a sling mod (it's floating around the tippmann forum somewhere) to avoid using the clip again. No big deal. So I got another one and put it on my marker and left it in the case for 2 months. Go to get it out because I want to go play and a huge stress crack formed:
http://img21.photobucket.com/albums/v63/WGPISGOD/ Crack_Big_c rack.jpg

When I took it off the marker the crack retracted, when back on it split open again. Meaning the plastic piece was too small for the marker equally poor manufacturing.

So I sent it back again, got a refund and that was the end of that stock.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend this stock if you intend on playing with it. It looks great, I'll give it that but the quality just isn't there for it to actually be used on the playing field, I'm sorry.

I'd recommend getting the AK-47 Folding Stock made by www.englerpaintballguns.com I also put up a review of it with pictures. Take a look, I feel it's been reviewed well.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 at 11:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jaskel1469 Friday, February 27th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Solid sniper stock
Marker Setup: A-5, RT, 32 degrees whisper barrel, 3-9x Scope, JCS 3in offset rail, Remote Line, X-chamber, Solid Sniper Stock
Strengths: Looks very sharp, appeals to the mil-sim folks
Weaknesses: EXPENSIVE, seem to be poorly manufactured
Review: I got Sliding stock from opsgear, once I got it out of the box I started to mess with it, the first thing that I noticed was that the peices were all still tacky, as if they had just been painted and then shipped off. Then I tried the sliding feature to it, and it was very difficult to slide, when it was unattached to the marker, so I let it go thinking that maybe when it was installed it would function properly. About this time I noticed that the locking mechanism was not functioning properly, and i could put a little force against it and it would not stay in either locked position, again I wrote this off thinking maybe installation would be a cure all. Once I had it installed, my first reaction was "wow this looks sharp on there" but I quickly found out that installation had not fixed any of my previous problems, it had in fact only brought up more. I now noticed that the sliding rails DO NOT WORK with the RT, and would have had to been cut to make them fit right. So I uninstalled the stock and dissassebled it to see if maybe I could troubleshoot the issues. Once it was all apart, I discovered that all the internals are plastic, mainly the locking mechanism, and that the locking tabs were all mauled up and could not work properly, (if only they would have made the one little peice out of machined metal). So I called OPSGEAR and set up to send the stock back, and them to send me another, which I am presently waiting on now.


Conclusion: All that I can say is that this is a very nice addition as far as looks, but it seems that it still needs some improvements, and some advisories on what it will and will not work with(RT) At the same time I may have just gotten a bad stock I will find out soon enough
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 27th, 2004 at 8:48 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tyme Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A-5 RT
Strengths: looks nice
Weaknesses: Mismanufactured
Pricey
Review: I bought this thing because it looked nice and could be quickly converted into a tight package for speedball. When I initially installed it I found the thing would not move all the way forward because of the valve to the cyclone feed. The part which hits the valve is not a part of the sliding rail and is just aluminum so I pulled out a dremel and cut a slot in it so it would pass the valve. It slides all the way forward now, but I was frustrated they would sell such an obviously flawed product.
Conclusion: If you don't mind cutting it, it works okay, but due to it being pricey and the idea of selling a mismanufactured peice of equipment, I'll give it a 4
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yuiopyuiop Thursday, August 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
car stock
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 with RAP4 desert storm upgrade kit - image: http://www.rap4.com/images/a5/a5_desertstorm_os.jpg
Strengths: This retractable stock is all metal construction and easy to install.
Weaknesses: Only the price
Review: I bought this stock from RAP4.com and it is not like what everyone is saying. This stock is not plastic or ABS. It is all metal. The unit comes butt adaptor so all I have to do is pull out the 2 pins plug the stock in and play. I am not sure if others getting the same stock from RAP4 or not because this stock really rocks. I love milsim games and this stock really add the realism I am looking. This stock also comes with sling mount on the side and works perfectly with any sling out there. I am using the t68 tactical vest and the sling for it. This is the best combination I have found for my A5. Here is the vest I am talking about: http://www.rap4.com/paintball/tactical_vest/vest_info.html
Conclusion: This stock from RAP4 is metal and solid, it is not plastic or ABS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

IntegraTypeRDC5 Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Car Stock, Solid Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
MP5 Classic Handguard
MP5 Magazine Kit
MP5 Sliding Stock
10" Commando Barrel
BSA 30mm Red Dot Sight
Micro Cap
Strengths: Looks very sharp
Weaknesses: Does not function properly.
Overpriced.
Review: When I first saw this MP5 sliding stock, I just had to have it. I read many reviews about how it doesn't slide all the way in but it didn't matter to me, I bought the sliding stock with the intention of it fully extended most of the time.

When the packaged arrive, my stock didn't feel so tacky or sticky like the previous review stated. I took it out of the plastic wrap and started to play with it. I noticed it really doesn't side easily, sort of hard to push in and out but it really didnt bother me. So I started to attach it to my A-5, it was easy. Once it was attached, I wanted to see if the sliding rail would work but it didn't. The rail simply wasn't wide enough to slide in. I was a tad bit dissapointed because it would feel good to have the option of sliding the stock in if I wanted to.
Conclusion: This sliding stock will really make your A-5 look REALLY good. But for those expecting to have the stock closed in most of the time, this stock isn't for you. If you are planning to have your stock fully extended most of the time, like me, this stock is a good choice.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stu.the-power.d Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
co2 canister(way better)
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
responce trigger
remote line
new barrel (comming soon)
Strengths: Looks good
Works for a minute or so
Its the same colour as black
Weaknesses: Im only 28 years so im not gonna start
It breaks really good
Just pap
Review: this is my mates stock but i do all the cleaning as he isn,t tech minded(internal)
he got his A5 the same time as me but he got this stock with the marker
first time i cleaned his gun it had a crack in it
second time it had 3 cracks in tit
last time it just about shattered in ma hands
i was gonna buy it off him for looks alone but as time went by i thought no way (5-10 dollar only)
it has the look but that's all
every time we went balling it came back worse than before
i wouldn't give a dime for this pap
only buy this if you have more money than sense
don,t wana poo any company for a product that is worth a dime but this is
A... to pricey
B...costs to much
C...a bit over priced
D... just sh£t

any product that breaks after a game or 2 is not worth squat
this is that product

my mate now owe,s me 3 tubes of super-glue.... and it still comes back worse than ever

kids just say no
Conclusion: only buy this if if
A ...you are mental
B ...you are richer than a oil tycoon
C ...you have more money than sense
D ...you high on crack cocaine
E ...need ya A-5 to look real (like mp5)but drop apart as soon as you touch it
F ... you are just stupid
G ... need every possible add on to ya tippy

if you still think about buying this after my review i will personally send a lot of tablets to put you out of your pain

just cut one out of cardboard .... it will last years longer
and preform better too

only gets 2 out of 10 cos of the looks before it breaks
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ronin1501 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees M4 Car Stock, RAP4 HK MP5 K Folding Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline Barrel, Palmer Regulator Microline feed, HPA remote feed, BSA Red Dot sight.
Strengths: It looks cool.
Weaknesses: Very flimsy, won't close all the way.
Review: The only thing that this sliding stock is good for is its looks. After a while you will get bored with the looks and want functionality. It's also quite pricey for the quality. It also seems to be and Air Soft piece of equipment that is being modified to fit the Tippmann A5 Paintball Gun. It could be made better, but for now, it only okay.
Conclusion: I would recommend it if you got the cash and you are getting it for the looks only.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nauzerlvr Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Metadyne MP5 sliding stock avaliable from Metadyne or Opsgear
Marker Setup: 9 Tippmann A5s in various stages of modificaion
1 Tippmann Pro Carbine
1 Tiberius 8 Pistol
Strengths: Very cool looking
Weaknesses: Does not function as it should due to the price
Review: I discovered this stock by accident and after seeing it, had to have it. I didn't look for any reviews on it. I wish I had. it arrived right on time and was packaged well but had no instructions whatsoever. I did however, receive instructions on the grenade they offer but didn'r order - go figure. The stock went on without a hitch but will not retract all the way due to the "Banjo Fitting" on the right side of the A5. If you have a Rsponse Trigger you may as well forget it, it's not going on at all.

I think that if the manufacturer had put more detents on the sliding part to allow more fixed positions it would be a better product. As it is, there are only three I believe. Fully extended, the stock does wobble. Fully retracted, it's very solid and looks great. If definately adds to the looks of the marker. And if looks are all that matters to you, it's a great product. However it falls short in functionality. The stock WILL scratch your marker so be aware of that. you could get around that with a strip of black tape on each side of your marker. Applied correctly and with care, it won't hurt the overlall look of your marker.
Conclusion: i can only recommend this stock if you are going for the looks only. In that catregory, it excells. As far as functionality, I'm afraid not.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgdiemax Thursday, February 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ebladed cocker w all uptippmann a5 w egrip
Strengths: Nice design needs a lot of improvement.
Weaknesses: Fully opened the stock flexes almost a inch vertically.
Review: Greatly anticipated getting this stock.Company was good about getting me it and also good about taking my $150.00 and running.Stock looks good but functionality stinks.The rails have so much play in them you cant possibly be comfy shooting with it.I called the comp to explain my unhappyness with this product, and they told me they will give me half off on the new one.A revised design.I wont be buying anything there again soon

This stock is from rap4 and is all metal but overall design is def flawed!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I would not recommend this stock at all.i wish i did not buy it...........very disappointed
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commander Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS MP Folding Stock w/RVA
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Tippmann E-Grip, DOP Double-Trigger, OpsGear UMP-CQB Hand Guard, B-Square 8" Rail, OpsGear 10" CQB Barrel, Mil-Sim Muzzle Break, SpecOps Shorty Grip, SpecOps Mag Kit w/Regulator, RAP4 MP Sliding Stock, OpsGear A3 Carry Handle w/Mount, TruGlo Open-Dot Sight, APP Monster Sight Feeder, Weaver Folding Grip, Tac-Cap Loader
Strengths: -Sturdy
-Looks
-Durable
Weaknesses: -Price
-Customization Required
Review: Most people look at this stock and say "crap!" immediately because of all the terrible reviews it has sustained, well, I'm here to tell you, STOP! But, I did agree with you calling it crap at one point, because you were buying crap, you are sitting here getting ripped-off by manufactures pulling this stock off an Airsoft gun and selling it to you as a paintball accessory, and I DO blame you for not reading it's materials, all sellers will tell you plastics and aluminum, but its ABS so it's duarble! WRONG! If you hear the word plastic you just reply back and say "Put that back on an Airsoft gun you cheap bas*ard!" Well, now theres a site that sells this stock for a paintball gun, it's called RAP4, it may be expensive, and seem primative by it's description, but if you contact the good people running the site they will give you a detailed overview of what all they did to make this stock work like no little plastic Airsoft toy would...
Conclusion: If you've got the cash and want the looks and performance of a real MP Stock then get it, it will not fail you!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media