paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask / JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask / JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask

JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Axiom lens is designed to attach directly to the FX-10 uni-body mask without the aid of a goggle frame via the quick lock lens locking system which is incredibly fast and secure. The quick lock system loads and locks the lens into place with just a turn of the Lens Ejector Cams. The superior visiblity, excellent fog resistance and optical claity of the Axiom lens is the main focus, but it doesn't end there... The FX-10 mask is an awesome creation in it's own right! This dual density co-molded, biomorphic mask is a true revolutionary piece of protection.
Product Availability 
The JT Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
J-Dogg182 Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-flex, flex-7, proteus
Marker Setup: speed, tippmann pro-lite for rec ball
Strengths: Small profile, doesn't fog, quick changing lens, huge view
Weaknesses: hard plastic back, pushes on skull, very uncomfortable
Review: this mask is awesome, the biggest lens i have ever had on a mask, it's like not even wearing anything, i love it, there ia a little trouble putting the lens back into place once you have taken it out but if you just apply a little pressure to get the lens to go under the red tabs then it is not a problem, the hard plastic in the back of the mask where the strap is is very uncomfortable, it pushes extremely hard onto the back of my head and causes a head ache after a few minutes, i also have a little pea head and short hair so that might be a problem too. i helped fix the problem by getting some tin snips and trimmed the edges of the back off of the mask so that it does not push on my head as much, then i solved the problem by wearing a thick beanie or my dye hat. never fogs
Conclusion: great product, a little pricy but if your looking for the biggest field of vision, definitely the mask to get, no fog, very comfy except for the back. 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bertbert2oo6 Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Alpha 2000, JT nVader, JT nForcer, Vforce Profiler
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98
Flatline Barrel System
Remote line
9v Revy
Strengths: No Fog whatsoever, much easier to take out lens than the other JT masks
Weaknesses: The back is a lil uncomfortable, The lens are sometimes difficult to take out
Review: This mask is great, no fog no nothing. only awesome vision :P

I would highly recommend this mask, and for all those people who rated it less than an 8.... wtf.

Seriously, this mask looks cool, easy to take out lens, and doesn't fog at all

The only cons are like *don't use it in the rain* or water might get in between the lens. The lens are held together by foam, and water can easily get inbewteen them, rendering the thermal lens useless.

This mask is a great improvement from the ALpha2000... and I love it. I'm gonna keep this for years to come :)
Conclusion: Since the back doens't fit well, and nothing is perfect, and since you can't use this in the rain, BUT, since it doesn't fog at all, and since it looks cool, and since the lens are easy to clean, i'll give it a 9

*EDIT* Just wear a cap, and this mask will fit better than any other mask. the back is very comfortable if u just wear a cap backwards
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

phidelt128 Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All JT: XFire Thermal, Spectra, Flex7ize,WhipperSnapper
Marker Setup: A5 Flatline or 98 EBolt w/J&J Ceramic 12"
Strengths: Easily Removable Lens
Compactness
Solid Plastic (Good Protection)
Weaknesses: Solid Plastic (no bounces)
Fogging
Permeable Lens Edges
Easily Breakable Lens
Venting/Breathability
Expensive
Review: Bad:
The mask has compact & solid protection. This is a 2-edged sword, of course. The compactness leaves your neck and throat open for hits (get a neck guard). The solid plastic construction almost negates the possibility of a hit deflecting and not breaking (although when I got a hit-and-bounce on a Flex7, it hurt so bad and left such a bad welt on my cheek that I wished it broke instead). I stress the "almost" because I actually got a bounce yesterday (although my ears were ringing from the noise and vibration of the impact). Breathing/venting is quite bad. Unlike all other JT's, you cannot breathe out too hard through your mouth without at least feeling the heat in your eyes. If it's warm or humid outside, you'll fog. Learn to breathe through your nose by chewing gum while playing (just don't choke on it). Fogging is extrememly bad on humid days. As for rain, although we all don't play in the rain too often, the top of our goggles treat sweat the same as rain when it comes pouring down your forehead (wear a good absorbant headband). The Axiom has a different type of thermal lens. The area between the lenses are not vacuum sealed. The two lenses are connected with a permeable foam that loves to suck up liquid. This leads to actual water in between your lenses that will only evaporate with time. Do NOT place this lens under running water from a hose or sink. You'll turn your lens into a fish tank. Vortex fans require some creative engineering in order to install them. Taking the lens off and on takes practice. You have to kinda bend the edge a bit to get it on or off the red hooks. Although this can be accomplished in seconds with practice, it does require practice where other masks require none (then again, other masks don't have quick removal lenses either). Also, this bending requirement does increase the chance of flexing your lens too much so that it breaks right down the middle especially if your doing it fast and not being careful (this is probably why JT switched the lens sealant from a solid joint to a flexible foam). Replacement lenses are not as easy to find as other masks. Also, there are no colored or filtered lenses available yet (but there probably will be very soon).

Good:
The lens removability is a godsend. You can completely clean both sides of your lenses and the inner edges of the mask/lens interface EVERY GAME!!!! This is huge!!! Every game your vision will begin absolutely perfect as if you just took the mask out of the box. The inner lens is not soft and delicate like all other thermal lenses. You can actually clean the inner lens with a clean paper towel without worrying about scratching it like normal soft-inner-lens goggles. Compactness is almost as good as the Proteus series and extremely better than my old X-Fire. Peripheral vision is so wide, you cannot see the side edges of the mask. Although venting is poor, the concentrated set of vents near the mouth does allow for good vocals (better than older JT lines, but not as good as the Proteus or Flex7 series).
Conclusion: Decent mask but overpriced for its drawbacks. You should have a spare lens in case you break it while reinstalling the lens. You cannot rely upon this mask in all weather conditions. Bring a reliable spare. The basic JT Spectra Thermal is a good cost effective backup (around $30). I will always start the day with the Axiom. If it doesn't fog, I'll use it all day. If it fogs or gets too much sweat between the lenses, I switch to the Spectra.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sneaky Smurf Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profelx, invision they are all similar
Marker Setup: Aim battle axe frame, aim reg, aim tsunami dropforward, Aim Swift 17 body,
Strengths: looks good, easy to clean, over all good mask
Weaknesses: fragile, bad protection
Review: i got this mask to test from one of my sponsors so i have a slightly raised opion of it. It comes wiht a bag like all good masks should it is a very good mask but it is a little fraglie and it hard to find replacment lenses. I am glad to have this mas kbut a JT profelx is the way to go.
Conclusion: Get a proflex but this will also do i give it i 9 on the fact it was cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex-7, Scott goggles, vForce Goggles
Marker Setup: Green 2002 B2K, 14" All American Smart Parts barrel, Palmer Stabalizer regulator, Lapco reg adapter, 12v Revy w/ x-board, Air Gun Designs 3,000psi 68ci Flat Line air system
Strengths: Very comfortable, Lens EASY to change, Small profile, Unparalleled peripheral vision, styling, made by JT

Weaknesses: Sometimes it will fog
Review: This is the most comfortable mask I have ever worn! It fits as if it were made for me. The lens changing system is a great innovation that was long over due. Plus, this mask has one of the smallest profiles I have ever seen for a mask. It's almost like putting on a second skin. The way this mask is styled makes it look like its straight out of a Sci-Fi movie!

The only thing I can really knock this mask on is that it tends to fog sometimes. But that is an easy fix with some JT anti-fog spray.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone that is looking for a mask that is super comfortable, relatively affordable (you get what you pay for), has a lens that is easy to change, and looks like nothing else on the field. I give this mask a 9 only because of the minor fogging problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Java mask
Other cheaper jt masks
Marker Setup: Its a mutt, spyder rodeo reg, vert adapt., lp champer and internals, dragun compast body and trigger frame, reloader hopper, progressive barrel, hand made drop, crossfire 68/4500 tank
Strengths: Relatively soft
Thermal
Easily remove lense
Great Field of Vision
Weaknesses: Lense replacement hard to find
kinda ugly
delicate lense
overpriced
Review: I got this mask because I thought the way JT talks it would be the new thing with the easy change lenses and all. I was wrong, the lenses are hard to find and if you do find them their $30 or so. The mask might be worth $40 bucks maybe $50 but not more than that. If I could find lenses for under $20 it would be a lot better.

The lense scratches easy and the inside has that thermal coating and is hard to clean if something gets on it without smeering the whole thing up. It doesn't fog with the double lenses and thermal coating. It has an excellent field of vision, I can't even really see the mask out of the sides of my eyes. The lense changing system is nice for cleaning and the mask is a lot more comfortable than the cheap ones i've usde in the past. I haven't tried to many nicer masks to compare it to, but I'm willing to bet they are a little nicer than this one.

It is pretty soft but there are a lot of edges and grooves on it so its ok at deflecting paint. It's fairly low profile, and kinda cool and comfortable, ten times better than my java. It does have a tendency to fall down and the strap won't stay tight so I normally have to wear a backwards cap if I'm gonna be wearying it for more than a few minutes. One other thing is when someone else is wearing one, it looks like they got clipped by paint because of the red tabs on the sides, I always want to yell at them before I remember that.
Conclusion: This mask is supposed to be a high end, new mask but its not really that great. The lenses are hard to find and you may or may not like the looks. It's a good mask but I would buy something else for the $60-$80 it normally costs.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 7:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrewRiggio Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
DOP 5.25" forward, 2.25" downward Drop Forward
PMI Pure Energy 88ci 3000psi HPA tank
Smart Parts All American 14" barrel
Two Finger Trigger
Firestorm Crank
Strengths: Looks good, quick release for lens removal.
Weaknesses: Fogs up like I could not believe.
Review: The mask was touted as the best thing made by JT at the time I bought it. I'm a heavy guy and I sweat pretty good when I'm moving around the woodsball field, so I wanted a top end mask to avoid fogging. I have to say that this mask did not help me wtih that problem.

First, the seal material does not hug my face well, so it does not keep moisture out of the goggle area. Second, the mask holds in moisture like it was built to do it. When I take the mask off after a long game it's literally dripping wet inside the facemask below the goggle seal and inside the plate in front of the mouth. Third, the mask does NOT fit a vortex fan, so any additional benefit it might provide is unavailable on this JT product. I have no idea why they'd release a high cost mask that did not fit their own mask fan product, but they did. JT told me, when I called them, that they might be releasing a versino of it for the Axiom in September.

I was only able to keep the mask from fogging by liberal application of anti-fog, which kept the fog from forming but did not keep it from becoming dripping wet, so vision was impaired anyway.
Conclusion: The mask has good field of vision but does not work well for me in staying unfogged.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez2878 Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott goggles
vForce Goggles
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Hybrid Hedloc
Ricochet 2K Loader / Hopper
14in Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Dye Sticky 3 Grip.
CO2, haven't had a chance with the HP yet.
Strengths: No Fog
Easily Removable Lens
Comfortable
Solid Plastic (Good Protection)
Weaknesses: Chin Stap
Review: The JT Axiom FX-10 is the most advanced goggle system the planet has ever seen. Genetically built for its unequaled protection and pure, unadulterated speed, the Axiom 290° lens is like nothing you have ever encountered. It's been designed to attach directly to the FX-10 uni-body mask without the aid of a goggle frame via the Quick-Lok lens locking system which is incredibly fast and secure
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone that is looking for a mask that is comfortable, relatively affordable (you get what you pay for), has a lens that is easy to change.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 10:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Evil Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name almost any goggle system manufacturer in the last two decades, I've either owned or worn something they've made.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
*Custom Halfback - think XSV Ego
*Smart Parts Linear 14” barrel
*NDZ low-rise
*PMI Pure Energy regulator
*Dead On ASA on/off, custom 5/8” drop block
*3000psi 47ci HPA
*Icon Z Low Pressure Chamber
*Modified front block - drilled and chamfered air passages
*Bob Long pressure gauge
*32 Degree spring kit
*Modified stock bolt - removed venturi, bored/honed orifice, drilled/chamfered air passage, reshaped bolt face, polished friction surfaces, shimmed O-rings
*Modified stock striker - lightened, polished friction surfaces
*Modified stock valve - drilled valve-to-bolt air passage, machined valve pin
*Custom blade style trigger
*50g microswitch
*Triumph SL200 loader

32 Deg. Icon Z
*Back-up gun, same mods as the Imagine without the E-Trigger and half-back.

Strengths: Comfortable, cheap, reliable, unique look, excellent field of view, optical clarity, breathes pretty well.
Weaknesses: Hard plastic on rear of frame can press against your head.
Review: I picked this mask up for really cheap - around $45 at my local pro shop. I got the clear one instead of the black, just to be different. The visor is removable and also has height adjustment, but personally I removed mine and tossed it in the trash just like I have every other goggle I've owned. I just don't like visors. So far this mask has been everything I could expect from JT. It's very comfortable, and the only complaint I have is the rear of the mask is a little uncomfortable for me as it pushes into my skull a bit. I also shave my head so it may be more noticeable, but I wear a beanie when I'm on the field so that takes care of it and I have no discomfort. It's been mentioned that the lens fogged badly. I can say that I play in all weather conditions from pouring rain to snow to high heat and humidity and I have yet to find any fogging, not even the slightest bit. The lens is optically correct so there's no fish-bowl effect and the field of view is, well, huge. Come to think of it, the frame is big enough to fit my Oakley's under them - a big plus when the sun is in my face. The venting is adequate not only for getting fresh air on those hot days, but also for hearing what's going on around you. Cleaning the goggle is as simple as turning two levers and removing the lens. All it takes is plain water and a clean rag and you're back in business.
Conclusion: Get it. It looks a bit odd compared to other goggles, but hey, do you really want to look like everyone else? It does its job, and it's comfortable and easy to clean. What more could you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 29th, 2006 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bleda Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage: Not even close in vision or ventilation
Cheaper JT's and V-Forces: FX-10 has better Vision and ventilation
Profiler: As good as this mask, liked the Axioms vision better
Proteus: FX-10 just seemed better overall
Invision: Didn't like the invision at all
Strengths: Ventilation
No Fog
Best vision of any goggles (profiler, proteus, invision included)
Quick Change Lens
Weaknesses: Price of Replacement Lens
Review: Strengths:
-Quick change lenses really are quick. I popped them out after every game to wipe the splatter off and clean em up with absolutely no problems. Out and back in, in under a minute.
-Field of vision is amazing. You really feel like you have nothing in front of your eyes as the mask extends past the edge of peripheral vision and the top and bottom are plenty ample.
-Ventilation: I played in 90 degree weather with over 90% humidity and had absolutely no fogging at all. The mask stayed crystal clear the whole time and i did not have that nasty hot breath feel.


Weaknesses:
-Price of lens replacements. Basically the lenses cost as much as the masks do so try not to scratch em or it gets kinda steep.
Conclusion: As long as you take care not to ruin your lens the mask is definately worth the price. Gets a 9 just because of the price of new lenses
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media