paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo TSA LCD / Odyssey Halo TSA LCD / Odyssey Halo TSA LCD

Odyssey Halo TSA LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo TSA LCD

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo TSA LCD
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $89

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
HALO TSA LCD.

-Sound activation: Agitates on the sound of your marker.
-Lean left, paddle spins right
-Lean right, paddle spins left
-Two 9V operation

LCD Features:

-Set Timer function
-Shot Counter
-Motor Duration (range: 3 to 15)
-Sensitivity Threshold (range: 5 to-95)
-Bolt Style Selection (open/closed)
-Motor Speed selection - 3 options
-Timeout adjustment (range: 5 to-50)
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo TSA LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
PB4841LVR Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months23 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader although it does not have LCD. It is like it because of the sound activation.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom

Upgrades:
GTA 14 inch Sniper barrel
GTA Double Trigger
InnovativeWrks Wild Viper Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips '04
Shocktech Super Fly Delrin Front Bolt
Response Trigger
Comp Air Kit
Air America Messiah Regulator
Dye Mini Guage 750 psi
Lapco Bigshot (Coming Soon)
Dead On Bullet Drop Forward
CrossFire 92 ci 4500 psi High Tank
Parker Macroline

Loaders:
Viewloader Revolution with Xboard
Halo TSA LCD Backman
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: -Note: I put three months but I have only had it one and a half months so I just rounded.

**GOOD**
It has the Tilt-Sound-Activation(TSA). This allows the paddle to spin in the most reliable way to make paintballs enter the feed neck. If you lean left it spins right, and if you lean right it spins left. It moves the paddle when it hears the sound of your gun. It does not waste battery power on an eye.

The lid is located near the top in an almost horizontal position. This allows you when reloading to fill it to the max without any spilling out. This was a reason I bought the TSA over the EVII.

LCD. The LCD on the hopper allows you to set multiple things in order to customize your hopper in whatever way you wish. The LCD allows you to adjust:

Gametimer
Microphone Sensitivity-How loud a noise has to be to activate the paddle.
Motor Duration-How long the paddle spins everytime a shot is heard.
Bolt Type- Open or Closed
Shot Counter- Based on how many shots are heard and not how many balls are fed.
Motor Speed- Low, Medium, or High
It also tells you how much battery voltage is left when turned on.

The shell seems like it is very durable and is constructed of hard plastic. It has ribs around the electrical components and feed neck for reinforcement.

Comes in three colors- Black, Clear, or Smoke. (I got smoke and it looks awesome!)

Choice of how many and what kind of batteries the user wants. You can use two 9 volt batteries or eight AAA batteries*

Holds lots of paint. It only said it would hold 210 paintballs but I was able to put 230 in it with more than enough room for it to load.

It is fast enough for any tournament. (In which semi-auto is the only used mode of fire) It feeds anywhere from 13-15 balls per second.

Fairly cheap. I only payed 70.00 for mine. Does a lot for its low price.

**BAD**

The company is fairly deceiving because I was browsing online while my Halo was in the mail to see what batteries it needed and I found a website that said 6 AAA. I bought a 12 pack so I would have back-ups. When my Halo arrived, it did not come with the AAA battery adapter. This is simply two black plastic holsters for the batteries that enable you to insert them into 9 volt connections. I went online and found that it takes 8 AAA. The website that sold it had it wrong. I called them about the battery packs and they said you had to buy them seperately. It took them 2 weeks to ship the loader (They say 2 day shipping) so I was pretty mad. I just put 9 volts in instead. Halo recommends the AAA because you get 2x the power but two 9 volts make it lighter.

The lid seems a little fragile when open but if care is taken then there should be no worries.

Is sort of big as in long but the width is relatively short. It is much thinner than the EVII.

The paddle has 3 long prongs and 3 stubs. Halo should have put 6 prongs. This might have effected its performance though I am not sure.

Is heavy at first and takes a little getting used to, but only a weak person would call it heavy all the time.

The feed neck was a little too small for my Tippmann. I had to tighten the neck all the way and even though it will not come out it still twists a little. **SOLUTION** Put a little electric tape on it and it will be fine.

The stickers were a pain at first because they kept falling off. They are cool stickers so I wanted to keep them. A simple super glue job has kept them on just fine.

Lid is not spring loaded. This can be good. If you don't close it all the way it will not spring up and let all your paint fall out, but if you do not push it all the way past the notch it will close on you and will effect reloading.

**UPDATE** I was recently at a tournament and upon arrival back home I found numerous cracks in the feedneck. This however will not take away from the rating because of Oddyssey's awesome customer service.
Conclusion: This is a great hopper and even though it has a few little bad things, the good outweighs the bad by far.I advise you to get this hopper very much. The LCD makes it stand out from any other hopper and it is one of the best bangs for your buck. Beats the Revolution because of more features and beats the eVLution II because it does not have an akward shape and holds way more paint at a better size.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 7:10 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

hitbyaprkedcar7 Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy 12 volt, regular hopper
Marker Setup: WGP Orracle
Halo TSA
Strengths: LCD, Light weight, low front profile, skinny, short, tilt sound actiation
Weaknesses: can be a pain to take apart, but u get used to it
Review: i am.. very. very. very impressed with this hopper.. its a great hopper, the design is beautiful with the low frontal profile, its skinny and short so theres a small chance of gettin hit in it..the sound activation and tilt activation works wonderful! i can hold the gun sideways and it will still shoot and feed.. the lcd h itas so many options, u can change the duration of the spin, the sensitivity, it has a shot counter, it has a timer, it shows u how many hoppers u went through, and theres so many many more options with it.. this hopper now sells for 70$ and its well worth
Conclusion: this hopper is a wonderfull hopper.. i am giving it a 10 becuase its well wroth the 70$ if your upgrading your standard hopper, or even a revy, definatly go for this one.. its absouletly wonderful
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

EckoUnltdKG Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Response Trigger
14" Teardrop Barrel
Drop Forward
Strengths: -Fast.
-Reliable
-Two battery options availible
-Easy to clean
-Easy to operate
Weaknesses: -Stickers peel halfway off.
-Backman is just a lil big.
Review: I got this in April from Action Village. The day it arrived I set it up through the LCD menu and noticed it was very easy to set up which was good, they aren't ever too complicated are they? Anyway later in April I joined a team that plays the local rookie tourny is Houston called HRL. They had never seen the TSA up close before and lucky for them I was the one to show them. They wondered if it was any good but I told them I had never used it and it was their lucky day to see. We played a few games and I let loose with my Response Trigger and not worrying about a chop, like I used. We took a break, I unscrewed the barrel, and after shooting around 14bps, no paint in the barrel! No chops. I went through at least a lil over 1000 balls. I saw some other reviews about the weak shell. Well I got shot maybe twice on it and still in good condition. Later that night when I got home I unscrewed it and cleaned the inside and out and was very easy to assemble and re assemble. Also I noticed with the backman I never reloaded as often as I used to!
Conclusion: Good hopper, kept up with me at 14bps and never have had a chop since! Just the stickers peel off but not a problem. Holds more balls and you don't have to reload as often.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

thecatalyst78 Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w rip drive
Marker Setup: WGP '04 autococker, E-Blade, Worr Delrin Bolt, Worr Torpedo On/Off, Halo B w rip drive, QEVs, HPA
Strengths: Agitator is great and pretty quiet
Tilt device
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: I have found this hopper being durable and reliable. Knows which way it is being tilted so it can use the agitator to spin both clock/counterclockwise to feed the balls better. The only problem I have had with it is if you are playing with the two 9 volt batteries, they don't fit quite snug enough. What I do is I play with the battery connectors and bend them out a bit to ensure there is good contact and also tore off part of the battery pack and placed it under the battery lid to ensure it was really snug. This way my hopper isn't tuning off in the middle of a a firefight. I also thought the instruction book was really poorly written. There isn't really an explaination to it at all but it isn't hard to figure out. I have even used this hopper with my E-blade before I got my Halo B, and even then didn't really have problems using it or outshooting it unless I was bouncing the trigger.

If I was going to be using it as a primary hopper I would definitly get the battery tray for the 6 AA batteries as they last longer than the 9 volts...it is also easier to get rechargable AAs. Would go with rechargable Nickel Metal Hydride...they are more expensive but longer lasting then the NiCad.
Conclusion: A good hopper to buy in my opinion...even with my Halo B I keep it around as a backup...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 2nd, 2004 at 10:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Korndog Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann, The Tippmann 98 custom, flatline barrel, GTA response trigger, GTA double trigger, Halo TSA Backman LCD hopper, 32 degrees drop foward, Bob Long pressure gauge.
Strengths: tilt sensor is owesome LCD screen is sweet strong shell and looks PIMP
Weaknesses: Lid is a little hard to open but not bad. other then that nothing else.
Review: Basically this is simply a great hopper, when I first got it I was so happy because at first I was going to get the Zap Mach 404 hopper but after reading reviews on this same website I found out that it was a bad hpper and wouldnt keep up with my response trigger. So I decided to get this Halo and I am going to pay the dept back and let people know that if they are debating on whether to get this hopper or a different one, Just trust me GET THIS HOPPER. And if your gun can shoot faster then this hopper just get the Halo B I have also heard that that hopper is also a great hopper.
Bottomline THIS IS A GREAT HOPPER
Conclusion: Just read what I wrote up there ^ again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:30 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jclaine Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
revy 12v w/ x board, evo 2, halo a, halo b w/ & w/o ripdrive
Marker Setup: e-mag w/ lvl 10, stanless steel freak inserts, 9" freak barrel, soon to be under barrel mounted qloader, and a ule
Strengths: Suposed to load 15 bps, customizable, counter lean agitation
Weaknesses: Slow feeding, heavy
Review: Well i bought this hopper about 3 weeks ago hoping it would replace my 12v revy, to my dismay, this hopper dosent feed right, there are offten times i find my self dryfireing when i have a shot lined up and im only fireing 8 bps.... Plus as of today it straight up stoped working, on the feild none the less, i would have been better off hand loading my paintballs. Also this is a heavy hopper, it is not for-arm friendly. And if you use a 45 drg. elbow beware, i broke 2 of these a day w/ this gun.
Conclusion: Im not impressed. Shouldnt have bought cheap. This little venture on saveing money ended up costing me 85 dollars more than it should have, spare no expence buy a halo b w/ rip or qloader.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 25th, 2004 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannPB Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revolution, Stock Hoppers
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Halo TSA Backman LCD Loader
Custom Products 1 Piece 12 inch barrel
Lapco Model 98 Old to New Thread Adapter
Double Trigger
Smart Parts Preset On/Off Valve Adapter
Toxic/AVI 4 Inch Drop Forward
Strengths: Holds Alot of Paint, Can Keep up with beginner/moderate guns
Weaknesses: Hideous, Scratches Easily, Logos Come Off
Review: I bought The HALO TSA Backman LCD loader from my friend brand new, never opened. It's clear, and let me tell you, not only is this hopper ugly as a mother, but it scratches very easily. The logos that say HALO will peel right off, and its a pain to keep supergluing them on. This hopper keeps up with my 98c with double trigger, but it looks like if I had a Imp or BKO, i would outshoot this thing in a second. I would much rather suggest going 12v revolution with x-board, they're made so much better.
Conclusion: This hopper is not worth the 80 dollars that you'll pay, get a revvy if you want to save, or an evo II if you want to pay the 80. NOT THE HALO TSA
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

EtoS Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Non-Electronic Hoppers
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant
16inch CP barrel/14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel/14 inch Smart Parts Teardrop
CP Long Regulator w/ Dye Mini Gauge(750 PSI)
New Designz High Flow Valve
Shocktech LPC
Halo TSA Frontman
47/3000 Crossfire Tank w/ NXe E2 Tank Cover
Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Shocktech Spring Kit
Check-It Products 'Sweet Spot' Trigger
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: The Good

-Better then non-electronic Hoppers
-Has an LCD w/ timer/shot counter and various options on how hopper runs
-Small neck for lower profile
-Parts are changeable if the need arises
-Can lean the gun left or right and the feed will direct balls correctly into the hole

Faster then non-electronic:
This will definitely force the balls into the hole at a nice rate. I'm not 100% sure what the rate is but with my E-99 Avant on full auto(14bps) I don't really have any problems.

LCD:
The LCD has alot of neat functions and do-dads. You can set alot of things to you're liking on this hopper. You can set motor duration from 3 seconds to 15 seconds, sensitivity setting from 5-95 and auto-adjust(I believe this is for the sound activation), set your bolt option from open to closed for a more accurate shot counter, motor speed from High - Medium - Low, Time-out setting from 5-50(I believe this is the wait between each detected rotation). There's also ofcourse the shot counter and timer. The timer works real good and really easy to setup. It's a count-down timer also for anyone who's wondering. The shot counter is displayed along with the timer underneath it, but it's not too accurate.

Neck:
The neck is relatively really short. Not too short where you can't get a good grip on a feedneck, but short enough to reduce profile which I really liked.

Upgrades:
Parts seem to be changeable and even upgradeble. I havn't tried it myself but I have seen Shockteck come out with a new propeller.

Rotor direction Change:
If the gun leans right, the propellars will turn left and vice versa. This is pretty good for when you wanna stick the gun out but tilt it so the hopper doesn't show as much but only really seems like it helps if you're not full on paint. Still a nice feature.

The Bad

-LCD is almost useless *In-Game* if the room isn't well lit
-A bit loud, but no louder then your gun by far
-The plastic feels kinda cheap- $3 hoppers have sturdier bodies
-Shot counter can be way off
-When batteries die, can be worse then $3 hoppers
-Would of possibly liked to see a sound option for timer(not a weakness as much as personal desire)

LCD:
Before I said alot of the good things about the LCD. There's also a bit of a downside. If the room isn't well lit- the LCD is useless. It's impossible to see anything on it. This isn't a problem when inputing your settings but if you wanna look at the timer in-game, it's just a pain. An option for a small backlight- just a small one isn't much to ask for.

Body:
The plastic scares me. It feels and looks cheap and that it won't survive a drop on solid ground. I had accidently dropped it(it came off my cheap stock feedneck) but it landed on grass. Didn't seem to of taken damage but again something about it doesn't feel right. I *highly* recommend though that if you're using a cheap plastic adapter like some spyders come with that you invest the extra $$$ on either the Lapco feedneck or if you're willing to put $10 more for a bit lower profile the New Designz Low Rise feedneck. Both will very securely hold onto the hopper so it will not fall out even if you pull it out forcefully.This made my worries of the body breaking go away.

Noise:
The motor is a bit on the *loud* side. This isn't a problem since the gun is louder but this might be an issue with the sound freaks who want complete silence.

Shot Counter:
This thing's way off. Unless you're shooting 3bps this thing won't be accurate.

Outa batteries:
When this thing runs out of batteries, it can be less usefull then a regular hopper. That's mainly due to the design that it's only made to be used with the motor working. This can easily be fixed by always having spare batteries(since when your current ones run out you'll need to buy new ones anyway) or get a $3 hopper as backup. I would personally do both cause $3 isn't much at all so if any kind of malfunction goes wrong with the hopper, at least you can still play.

Sound Option:
For the count-down, I wouldn't mind a voice to tell me "1 Minute Remaining", "5 4 3 2 1 buzzer" and the likes. This isn't a weakness as much as something I'd like to see put in since looking at the timer can take your focus away from the objective and is also a pain to do if the room isn't well lit.
Conclusion: Overall, the product has done what it said it would and surprised me with the LCD functions. I don't plan on firing over 14bps anytime soon so the investment put into this won't be bad. Like any product it has it's downs and potential improvements. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to tinker with settings and push buttons. If you really don't care for any of that, the non-LCD version is cheaper. I give it an 8.8 rounded to 9 for the great performance but loses 2 points cause the main reason I got the LCD was for the shot counter and timer which so far have been a pain to look at but gets an extra point back for all the do-dads you can set on the LCD which seem to help alot.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 28th, 2004 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONator Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b w/ rip drive
Marker Setup: 2005 ION
psycho ballistics bullet drop forward w/ on-off
72/3000 pure energy
Halo
Strengths: Cheap
Kinda fast
Durable
Weaknesses: See below!
Review: yeah this is a very nice loader. its durable, cheap, and it looks good. it kept up perfectly with my 2002 WGP Cocker (i think a gravity feed could keep up with a cocker.hah) anyways...yesterday i just got a SP ION, which rips, and i outshoot it sometimes. thankfully for the eyes in the ION i dont break balls. but if you have an electro gun i would suggest getting an eggy 2 or an halo b (with or without rip). you will be paying more for the halo B but its worth it if youre not freaking outshooting the loader.
Conclusion: all around its a nice hopper...served me well with my cocker but it struggles with my ION!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Zeoalex Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, my first electric hopper
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
Shotech supafly bolt
12" barrel
aci shorty expansion chamber
CP blue flame drop foward
Halo TSA
Strengths: Loads fast, low profile, Holds a lot of balls
Weaknesses: Not as well built as I expected.
Review: I've had this loader for almost a year now. Ive been able to get my spyder goin pretty fast with this thing. I've had one problem with it. I didn't have an elbow when I got this hopper. It fit pretty well over the neck of my gun. Whatever right? Nope. Yesterday I was playing at stamford and i ran out of paint on the field, so i grab a pod out of my pak and as I'm going to pop both tops i hit my halo. Oops! its hits the ground and the battery door and batteries pop out. I run off the field and pop the battries and door bak on and the hopper wont power up. so i borrow a hopper from the owner and then i have to buy a straight elbow. When i get home, it takes Me three hours to get it all back to working order. from what I have seen the shell is in great condition. Not cracked
Conclusion: I think this is a great hopper for people who dont have an extra 10-20 dollars to spend on an eggII. It has worke pretty well for me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media