paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Brass Eagle Rainmaker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Rainmaker
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
An electronically controlled semi automatic firing
sequence allows this marker to fire
up to 13 shots per second.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Rainmaker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Spartan 2 Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, spyder flash, piranha, blade 2 , talon PGP, shocker, and lots more.
Marker Setup: Had 97' cocker, and one of the newest of the rainmakers. Also have a Piranha VTL for sale now.
Soon to come in 1-2 weeks, Evil omen with (grean)pipe barrel system, (green)CP lightning Drop foward, PMI Thor second regulator, dye izon scope(green), and No rise feed neck(black). Evilution 2 loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is great stock, but it can be tricked further to be better then jujst about any gun out there today. First upgraded I reccommend is a blade trigger kit, front block, After market reg, and a BMW bolt. and thats just to start off.
Strengths: Great gun, takes cocker barrels, bolt is easier to get to then a autococker, very fast, unique looking, loades of mods, Great stock barrel(designed by WDP). only breaks if it's your falt.
Weaknesses: It's loud, but who cares, I think it sound coll!
Conclusion: Very good gun for the price. I would not reccommend to a noobie, but maybe as a second gun or a project gun. But also great as a primary. With a price range to-day, for a stock new rainmaker beeing $100-$150 it's 100 times better then a spyder!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
48 Comments - Add Comment

KnightSchneider Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
haven't shot or owned any products like the Rainmaker.

autocockers are similar...but definately ain't the same.

Marker Setup: 1451 '99 RM

-BMW bolt
-BMW trigger kit
-'98 unlimited ROF board with 6v mod
-BMW mac mount
-gutted HP reg, and capped LP reg
-STO HP reg w/ gauge ports
-Lapco 2 hole ASA
-Micro rock LPR
-High-flow hose kit
-soon to be back block
-Dye stickies
-Lapco drop
-14" Dye Ultralight
-Mad Marty's 1-5 mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mad Marty's 1-5 mods.
New board.
BMW trigger kit.
mac mount and vert ASA.
new regs (gut and cap the stock ones - or get a back block)
Strengths: The design has lots of potential that Brass Eagle failed to capitalize on.

Easily modded.

Cheaply modded.

Really fast.

Decently reliable when you know how to take care of them.

Low blowback.
Weaknesses: It is kind of hard to find some the upgrades (AKA Tornado valves).

Loud - doesn't matter too much to me, but this bothers some.

They aren't very good stock - B. Eagle uses zip ties to hold stuff together instead of going the extra inch to put some good parts on it.
Conclusion: Stock they are decent guns...not so fast (with the 9bps cap on the '99 1451 semi only RM's).

Once you put some upgrades on it, it will be a very nice gun...plus you will probably be the only one on the field with one....and it feels good to take out people with Angel's and Excalibur's with a Brass Eagle product.

seeing as how this review is for a stock Rainmaker I'm giving it a 9/10...because BE really could have made a much better gun without too much more effort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 6th, 2001
 
4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Well, it has an ok ROF. Its a step up from the other embarrassing BE products. Its a great gun to enter the worlds of electros.
Weaknesses: Its got a weak frame. Its shabby craftsmanship. It is very loud. Its a little heavy. The shroud is too big and slides off too easy. The trigger pull isn't light and can actually be clunky. It sucks with its stock fireboard, although it was ok with a gale force. The stock barrel sucks. The gun is inaccurate even with my Big Daddy. The air system is horrible and I had to put an autococker reg on it. Its also hard to clean, even if you are a mechanical wiz. Well, maybe not that hard, but it is tough.
Conclusion: I'm not trying to trash this gun. I'm not trying to trash BE. But I have to say this gun isn't worth 4 to 5 hundred dollars, not even 3 hundred. I was shocked by how everyone said how great this gun was, but when I got it it sucked. I tried it with compressed air and it was worse than when I was using CO2. I shouldn't have bought it, because now I can't return it. I AM NOT TRASHING THE GUN BECAUSE IT WAS MADE BY BE. ITS PERFORMANCE WAS WEAK.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

trench_raider Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Oddly enough this is my first true electro...
Marker Setup: Model 1451 Rainmaker
3k psi n2 system
12 volt revvy
'99 select fire board
Brass Eagle red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro is nice but not needed. Some people might want to buy a barrell, but the stock barrel is just fine. I would certainly recomend a 12volt revvy or similar. Also get a '99 select fire board...they just snap in.
Strengths: This review assumes onwership of the model 1451 (or so called '99 model) rather than the older 1450 (or '98 model).
Good features are:
-Short and light trigger pull
-Accurate even with stock barrel
-Will almost never chop
-Reliable if treated with care
-Extremely fast RoF...however f/a is capped at 9 bps which is plenty fast for me.
-Sturdy all metal contruction. I still don't get were a review below states it's made of plastic. There is not a single major plastic piece on this gun.
-Comfortable grip.
-Works best with N2 but takes CO2 just fine
-There is a whole cottage industry of upgrades and cheap spare parts for this gun. Check out the RM Owners Group for links..
-These are uncommon and unusal...a real head-turner.
Weaknesses: Ok now the bad:
-Something of a gas hog
-It's a bit heavy. But nothing you can't get used to.
-It about the loudest paint gun I've fired. However this can be intimidating...especially on full auto so this is not too bad I suppose.
-The shroud is not fastened on very well and tends to fall off. Most folks simply play without the shroud.
-The dentent may require adjustment to prevent double-feeding. Mine broke when I attempted this. However I have been told this is an almost unheard of occurance. In any event a new detent is on .50 cents.
Conclusion: Most of the "K3W1 D3WD2" that bash Brass Eagle are simply parroting what they think is the "popular" position. The have never held or fired a BE product but want to "fit in"..so they bad mouth BE's products.However it is hard to believe the same folks who brought us the likes of the "Talon" and the "Blade" made this little gem! Ignore the bashers and get one these now! It's better than any of the low end to mid range electros out there right now, and with a bit of work can compete with the high end guns.

Actionvillage.com is sold out of the stock that was selling for $99, but many other online retailers still stock the RM. Also these go for less than $150 on Ebay every week.

Note that I give this gun a eight out of ten. I feel that no gun should ever be rated a "10" and very few a "9". With the few problems this gun has, I rate it an "8".

It's an air gun...NOT a marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 5:09 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

turtler1701 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns & Spyders & BE & other guns, none compare
Marker Setup: -Avalon Combat, 16 inch whisper barrel
-Ricochet Apache Electronic Hopper
-old BE stingray 2 i modded the heck out of
-Rainmaker, 14 inch progressive barrel, LPR chamber, WGP regulator, new board, xtreme rage grips, new internals, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger and board (the two stock ones are SLOOW), but can be fixed really cheap
regulator
Strengths: Cheap!
Comparable to guns costing 2,3,4 times as much
cheapupgrades
great stock barrel
Weaknesses: LOUD
leaks sometimes
stock trigger and board stink
heavy
gas hog
Review: I was interested in buying a quality gun for a low price since im broke, so i looked around for a rainmaker. I ended up trading my old tippmann 98 and my old spyder eframe for an upgraded one, and I have to say this thing is amazing. Besides a few drawbacks, it was way more accurate than anything ive shot before, and ive shot many guns. it is a gas hog stock, though, and if your tank isnt very full it wont work right. Never chopped a ball with it, and ive been playing in the freezing new england weather since ive gotten it with crummy paint thats been sitting in my closet for a while. it does shoot slow, and the trigger pull is really long, but light,and can be fixed for litle to no cost (you can do it yourself, just go to www.rainmakerog.com for mods). some people think it sucks for the sole reason its made by BE (alothough i personally love some BE guns like this one and the stingray, and the olderpumps)
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun if your broke like me and want an awesome gun, or just feel like laughing at people who spend $500+ on a gun thats as good as your $100 gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Michael C. Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Autococker, A-5, 98 Cust., 2k1 Angel, EVERYTHING>(Just about)
Marker Setup: Two late '00 Model 1451 Rainmakers,
#1, Ergo Reg-Vertical Adapter. Kapp Drop. Freak w/two inserts.

RM#2, STOCK.

VIsion Impulse, Freak. 114/3000 ACI Bulldog Ajustable

'98 Cocker. Mostly Stock/48/3K
Recommended
Upgrades:
DROP FORWARD. To really counter the weight of the gun you need a huge drop. (Go on ebay and get you a big nice drop for 6 bucks, they're great.)
You don't need a fore-grip, but if you get one, it really helps the looks.
You also might wanna go to radioshack get you a .99 power switch and a 9V Batt. Box. (So you can play with out that crappy BE shroud.
Strengths: Awesome accuracy. NO blowback. Stock barrel is great, copy of a jacko infinity. Trigger is fast but you can make it faster by putting in another trigger stop. This gun smokes my '98 cocker and my friends '03. Once you get used to the gun you can own everyone. GREAT gun. Got my 1st one for 99 bucks. My friend thought it was cool so he bought one b4 they sold out, he hated it because he didn't fix the valve on the mac, so I bought it from him for 50 bucks. (Muhahahahaha) Performs 120000000%% better on n2 than cheap old c02, but if that's all you have, get an anti-siphon.

All in all this gun creams just about anything within 500$ of its price. GET ONE WHILE YOU STILL CAN.
Weaknesses: Stock this gun leaks Horribly. Mac is held on by 2 pull ties, trig doesn't have a power switch (EASY FIX). No foregrip (Big deal..?) It's made by the company 'cocker owners like to dis most. But if you know what you're doing this is the way to go.
Conclusion: 10/10. Get one if you can. Don't pay over $400! You might get a bad one and start dissing brass eagle.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:51 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

FockerJ9 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2k, mags and cockers of all shapes and sizes
Marker Setup: main: stock rainmaker w/ select fire (i would upgrade but i hate to ruin a classic)
revvy with xboard, pmi pure energy 68ci 3000 psi fiber wrapped
backup:spyder imagine w/ tornado valve, rocking trigger frame, pmi regulator, dead-on on/off drop with system x micro gauge, bandit nylatron bolt, and a modified Rhino hopper
backup backup:talon smoke w/ tank adapter, avenger pistol with 10 rnd clip and 12 gram changer/4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, keep it stock to preserve the beauty
Strengths: Consistent, super cheap, accurate, loud, simple, uber rugged
Weaknesses: Dumb plastic hose barbs break off easily, replace with brass ones
Review: ok, lets start with the recieving of the rainmaker, 100 bucks on ebay, 15 dollars S&H
115 dollars, the same price as my Syder Imagine, so ill use it as a basis for comparison

this marker is consistent stock, with a built in reg. which is a very decent stock reg. as opposed to my imagine, which has a cheap X-chamber stock.
this marker is fairly time-consuming to break down, as opposed to my imagine which can be broke down in like a minute
this marker is a fully electronic marker, meaning it utilizes a solenoid to open the air valve, as opposed to my imagine, which utilizes mechanical force and air pressure exhaust to open the air valve, while a little more complex and delicate, it allows for higher ROFs using LP and better consistency
this marker is rugged, it has a closed bolt which means no debris or other stuff will get n your bolt and scratch the surface, as opposed to the imagine which has two open sides in which debris can mondo whomp your internals
OPERATION OF MARKER ON CO2...THE ULTIMATE NEW GUY TEST MUST SEE!
ive been using both markers for awhile now, and ive been in the game a long time, and as every1 knows, most players start with a basic blowback marker with co2 tanks on them, so i see it fit to tell u new guys looking for a gun just how go0d this marker performs on go0d ole cheap co2
Rainmaker: while it works much better on n2 than co2, as most guns do, i was surprised to see a small decline of performance when i switched from my 68ci tank to a standard 20 oz. tank, while firing semi auto the paint remained fairly accurate and consistent with a few balls going on the fritz (dropping short, going too far, or doing a swirly thing)
when on full auto with co2. well, the results werent as great as on semi, maybe its because of the lower pressure co2 is under or something, but the rainmaker had about 3 out of 5 balls on full auto going off target from 30 yards, on semi about 1-2 out of 5
Imagine: the imagine can be pretty picky about its air, it loves N2 but it will work decent on co2 as well
for this test i took off the reg i have on my imagine and put on the stock X chamber and stock barrel (oh boy) i knew what would happen cuz i played with a many a blowback stock my first years
on semi auto co2 in the imagine is, eh, not so great, i was shooting wildly with my imagines stock barrel so i decided to add in a thunderpig truflite to the experiment, (a 9 dollar value, plus 6 S&H) I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BARREL AS AN IMMEDIATE UPGRADE TO ANY BLOWBACK PRICED 200 AND UNDER
with the 9" truflite equipped on my imagine, i went back to the range
this test was much better, out of about 7 rounds 3-4 would hit the 2 foot tupperware lid at 30 yards, which is not bad at all, on full auto i had to lay down some paint to hit the target a few times, not too great if u play on a budget like me

OVERVIEW: SEE BELOW
Conclusion: for the price the rainmaker is the best choice for any1 wanting to start paintball with a 100 dollar budget, it runs great on co2, is low matienence, is upgradeable, (i wouldnt reccomend ruining this piece of art) is super rugged, (heavy, closed bolt, protective shroud) and super accurate with the stock barrel (made by worrgames i think, high quality barrel nontheless) and it will NOT dissapoint you on the field or in the woods
based on markers in its price range, and even its cateory, this marker is definately top of the line 10 10 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 12:58 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing is all that similar, but the imagine a nelson pump and a cocker combined
Marker Setup: 1998 Rainmaker
aka tornado bolt
14"dye excel
QEVs
several custom mods
also have angel, e-mag, shocker, classic mag, pgp, etc, etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
A delrin bolt helps
new regs couldn't hurt
an angel frame and new electronics
Qevs
foregrip
Strengths: overall nice performer, modular design, upgradeable, satisfaction from beating people with a BE
Weaknesses: Not in production, while upgradeable locating upgrades, needs upgrades to work nice, kick is alot
Review: Well, this gun is a nice overall performer, I wouldn't say it is a as good as my angel or my e-mag but, it is most definilty on par with all the other great guns of the time such as the shocker sport, mech cocker, mech mag, and such I see no reason why someone couldn't have went to say the 99 world cup with one. the good things are that it is rather cheap and seems fairly reliable, while not as consistant as a shoebox it is certainly faster, actually it is almost as fast as an LED angel or RT mag. the biggest flaws seem to me to be that it is uncomfortable without both a foregrip and a shroud. and that it seems to have alot of kick. overall there are more pros than cons. I think one other big problem is that stock performance just isn't that great, the trigger is heavy and the ram doesn't cycle well, but get qevs ($30) and take the spring off of the trigger (the switch is like 250g you REALLY don't need the spring) and you've got a decent performer.with a new board it is on par with the modern bko (but the rainmaker is gentler on paint). overall if you see one for between $100-$200 get it but, don't buy anything more expensive, half of the fun is upgradeing the other half is eliminating people with a brass eagle.
Conclusion: good for intermeadiate to advanced players, I wouldn't reccomend to someone new as it has alot of mechanical and electronic parts which require a bit of skill to really work with
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rotoman1 Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
blow backs, Rainmaker is better
cockers, The Rainmaker shoots as accurately but is not better than cockers
DM4..... NOTHING COMPARES TO THE ALL MIGHTY DM4!! ..... sry bout that... i get a little excited about my DM4.
Marker Setup: i currently shoot a cobalt to black dm4 stock (pure sweetness)
Recommended
Upgrades:
you will need a mac-mount, vertical ASA (Auto-mag vertical ASA will work), Adjustable LPR, a new board and a trigger job. There are also some internal upgrades available.
Strengths: Accurate and rarely chops balls. Very inexpensive. but not cheaply made.
Weaknesses: Loud as crap. No battery container (hangs loose in the cover). Poorly designed battery retainer.
Review: the rainmaker is brass eagle's finest achievement.although it leaves much to be desired. I keep mine around because its like an old relic from the past. almost anyway.
Its a very good idea , a semi automatic pump action. works basically like a pump gun with an auto trigger. that means you can hold down the trigger and operate the pump and the gun will fire every time you bring the pump to the front position. Very simple, thats why i think the gun works so well, simple design.
The battery is dangling off the guns exterior via the wire harnes... WTF was that guy thinking? Or maybe he wasn't, in any case, its lame. other than that the gun has a very rugged design. its very durable, and reliable. Its so reliable in fact that it never failed me on the field. i could actually take it to the field and play now if wanted. Its just got a leaky mac-valve. common problem with the gun. If you can get past the fact that your gun is leaking you can still play (unless the valve is damaged), if its just leaking a little it will still work.
you can buy a butt-load of upgrades for it and if you spend some time and money on it, it is capable steady streams of paint down field. i think it can compete with the likes of imps and bushies. The only thing is, is that its rof is slow out of the box. Mine is capped at 9bps thats in the board though. buy a new board for it and it can rip. Its also very accurate, it has cocker-like accuracy.
Conclusion: my conclusion is if you want something no-one else has and have time and money to upgrade your paintball gun its the one for you. as for a rating... it is capable of a 9 but rating it on out of the box performance i have to give it a 7. Rating it against guns we have today i have to give it a 6
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballermmc Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, ANGELS, Automags, Cheap Electros, Black Draguns, Spyders....This gun blows the cheaper ones all away!
Marker Setup: I JUST got it and i havent put anything on it yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel, but the stock one is pretty awesome for stock barrels.
Strengths: Accuracy <p> SPEED <p> Easy Maitenence <p> Look below if you want all of it.....
Weaknesses: How dare you look in this section.....
Review: I went one game with this thing and it fires as well* as any autococker. This gun is soooo friggin accurate.....3 in. x 3 in. target from 110 feet easy...Extremely easy to maintain! Just pop the bolt cover off and slide it out! Works better than field strip pins (you won't lose them!). It's fast....Not as fast as an Impy but it makes up for it with accuracy. <p> This gun easily competes with custom autocockers/impys/angels/etc. It could be upgraded to be extremely awesome, and it's a fraction of the price....It's a shame Brass Eagle discontinued this marker....
Conclusion: It's great.....Get it if you can if you don't wanna pay 500+ for a tourny lvl gun....I got mine off ebay and you can get them for like 200 bucks or so...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media