paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Snapshot Barrel / Lapco Snapshot Barrel / Lapco Snapshot Barrel

Lapco Snapshot Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Snapshot Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Snapshot Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $92

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Specifications:
Gundrilled from Solid Billet Stock
Lined honed
Perfect concentricity
Polished and then Hard Anodized
NO TUBING
NO GLUE
.687, .689, .693 ID Back
10", 12", 14", 18" Front Tips

No other manufacturer has ever gone to these lengths to produce a perfect two-piece barrel. LAPCO is setting the standard from now on.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Snapshot Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
fatkidswithguns Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot, Dye Ultralite, Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, tippmann Expansion Chamber, DOP front grip, Lapco Bigshot, Lapco Dropforward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
A wide variety...different diameters.
Strengths: FREAKING GODLY BARREL. ACCURACY. DISTANCE.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This Barrel is GODLY. Nothing compares. When Lapco says that no one has gone to these lengths to create a better barrel, they are not lying. It is perfection in the finest sense. I have tested Dye Boomsticks and Ultralites, and they PALE IN COMPARISON. They dont even come close.
Quieter than bigshots. Beadblasted for an Awesome look with the A-5.

Everyone wake up, the time has come. We must all take notice, the new standard is Lapco.

The Snapshot is worth the money, forget the rest. Lapco for LIFE.
Conclusion: Buy it, Sell things, Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cobra45 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Lapco Bigshot Stainless steel
Marker Setup: A-5 with a lapco Snapshot and a 32 degrees drop on it
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil paintballs have worked great with all the barrels i have had on my A-5
marbs are still good but i prefer evil
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: I have played many games with this and I'll tell you this thing is the best barrel for what ever type of paintball you play. It is extremly good in the woods thou because it wont make the ball curve like most barrels do. I can lob the paintballs and knock people out when most people cant even come close. Its a great barrel.

Strength
The barrel is very accurate. At about 15 yards i can hit a pole that is only an inch and a half thick. i can keep hitting this pole as long as i dont move the gun. The barrel is better then the bigshot and the Dye barrels that i have used. The dye barrels are accurate for a short while but tend to curve off target. The snapshot never makes the ball curve, even at very long ranges.

Weakness
The only bad thing about this barrel is it cost alot of money. Lapco has usually been very cheap with their barrels but this one is alot. But the price is defently worth it thou. So all and all the Barrel has no real weakness.
Conclusion: If you want to go all out and get the best barrel you can, i say go for the snapshot. But if your low on cash the lapco bigshot is almost as good. Dye makes a good barrel but the snapshot is the best in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

COCKER_JUNKIE Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco bigshot and autospirit, powerlyte scepter and aka javelin ie stock viking barrel
Marker Setup: 2003 AKA Viking #A00546, Wased out with eyes, bartparts no-rider, dye sticky3's, aim skyforce drop, custom plexiglass trigger that I made and a crossfire 45/4500 with a dye cover. This gun owns your gun unless you have a custom viking or excal, then I hate you.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high end rps balls should shoot like a dream through this.
Strengths: Very accurate, quieter than my scepter barrel which was pretty quiet. Looks really cool.
Weaknesses: Its up there in price with ultralights, stiffis, etc but not overpriced.
Review: I love this barrel. Right when I got it I tested it with some evil paint and its dead on, I get a lot of shots hitting directly on top of each other. Its very quiet, much quieter than a lapco bigshot or autospirit and a little quieter than a scepter. It has more porting then the previous models and it also comes right after the control bore which probably explains why its quieter. Mine is a 14inch with .689 bore which is all thats available so far but kits will be available soon so dont worry about that. I also have to say that it looks stunning, no nicks on the exterior finish and a perfect innerbore similar to a mirror. As of now I dont think it will shoot through breaks but it doesnt break either because i had to break a ball to get to break in the first place.
Conclusion: I would definitely consider this product if your looking to spend some money on a great barrel that just keeps on delivering.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkeybusiness Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" Freak kit
14" Nytestick
8" Stock
dye ultra lite / boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
A.P.E TA5 Rampage Board (25 BPS)
JCS Dual trigger
Palmer male regulator
Trinity on/off rail ASA
20 oz C02 with On/Off
Lapco Snapshot kit
Maddmann spring Mods
JCS Rear Velocity Adjuster
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, because I can match the proper paint to bore.
Strengths: Light but solid
Accurate
5 star quality
Looks deadly
Quieter than my freak kit
Weaknesses: Absolutely none.
Review: Quality is at its peak with Lapco's new snapshot barrel kit. When I opened the package for the first time and held one of the backs, I immediately could feel the quality; solid, balanced, perfectly honed; something you would have to experience for yourself. This barrel is very accurate compared to my 16"freak kit; it blows Smart parts out of the hemosphere. This is the barrel I am sticking with because frankly, there is not a better barrel out there. The best $200 bucks I have ever invested in an upgrade.

Kit includes:
12" Tip
14" Tip
.687, .689., 693 backs
hard plastic case with foam padding.

UPDATE JAN 20 2006
Still the best barrel kit money can buy....I guarantee it! People drool when they see the barrel in person.
They always ask....."what kind of barrel is that?" or "Holy SH!T, WHAT THE HECK IS THAT?" Then they pick it up and they instantly say "Wow, does that ever feel like a quality barrel!" Then they put the barrel on their A-5 and take a few hundred shots.
"How much do you want for the barrel, Mark?"
"It's not for sale"
....LOL!
LAPCO FOR LIFE!

Conclusion: The absolute must in upgrading an A-5 is replacing the stock barrel. This barrel kit is awesome. If you cannot decide between a freak kit or the snapshot kit, do not hesitate to go for the snapshot, you will not regret it. Flawless....Good job Lapco!

A-5 FOR LIFE
LAPCO FOR LIFE

If I could I would give it a 15 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 8:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

darktamer Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp 1 piece
UPDATE-
Dye UL
EVil Pipe
WGP STO
SP Freak
Marker Setup: 2k right feed cocker w/ plenty of ups.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Decent paint that fits the bore, only .689 right now but there'll be more very soon
Strengths: accurate and quiet. looks nice; looks like the DYE ultralite, but different porting.
Weaknesses: Price, but you get what you pay for as so often the saying goes...
Review: I bought this on the reccomendation from somebody at my favorite pball store. I was surprised that something from Lacpo was so pricy, but I was not disapointed. The two pieces connect flawlessly. In other two pieces, if you look down into the barrel from the fron, you will see the connection, and often it will NOT be a prefect circle: in the snapshot, it is perfect, the two pieces connect perfectly.

I was very happy with the accuracy, I was getting about 2ft radius from 150 feet away from my target, once I get a new reg (I use the stock cocker reg right now) I expect it to get even tighter.

Most people don't care about how loud barrels are, and I'm more for accuracy as well, but this thing sounds almost like a soft "whumph", and it does help in woodsball.

UPDATE:
Since I last wrote this review I've tried out many more barrels, including the DYE UL, WGP STO, Freak, adn Evil pipe.

The Lapco was better than pipe, the sto, as good as the dye ul, and almost as good as the freak. amazing.
Conclusion: Great product, get it now, you NOT be disapointed.

(used to be a 9, updated to a 10!!)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 24th, 2005 at 12:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zForce Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bigshot
Marker Setup: lapco snapshot 14''inch
nitro duck carbon fiber tank
lapco drop forward
VL evo
06 Electra eyes
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any and all
Strengths: ACCURACY
RANGE
FOLLOW UP SHOTS

not paint picky
Weaknesses: Does not shoot through chops to good.
Review: I suggest this barrel with any gun, In any situation. The accuracy and range is awsome, this barrel has the best shot for shot consistancy of any barrel in my opinion. The only barrel that has better range is the flatline. I use this barrel on all my guns, whether im playing woods ball or speed ball. I can always trust my lapco to give me the best performance out of any barrel I have used. I have baught and tested numerous barrels, and the lapco has proved the best all around.
Conclusion: This barrel is good all around, and is made in the best quality
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Polished Internals
Lapco Snapshot Barrel
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi Compressed Air
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fit the bore size correctly.
Strengths: Accurate, 2 piece, durable, reliable, mirror finish
Weaknesses: Not too great about shooting through breaks/chops.
Review: Great barrel. On my A-5 with R/T, I can shoot ropes of accurate paint. I am hitting in a VERY small circle with this thing, I don't doubt that it would hit ball on ball with a more consistent gun. This came WAY close enough though for me. You all know about the mirror finish, barely visible line between tip and back parts of barrel, etc. At the target range, I was comparing mine to an Ion with a Freak barrel. My A-5 with a Snapshot was just as accurate as his Ion with a Freak, if not more accurate. What more could you ask?

When I played with it, I did exceptionally well. I was playing a 6 vs 6 and I eliminated 4 players and won us the game, we only lost one guy. In another game, I hit a guy in the mask with one shot. The cool thing is, I was easily a football field length away when I did this and his mask was only BARELY sticking out.

Does not scratch easily, when it does it is very hard to see. I have a couple scratches on mine, the paint is off them but the barrel is better than ever and the scratches are very dull.

I am extremely satisfied with this barrel.

Edit: Ok, I feel like an idiot writing the post above, but you all know the feelings, you want to believe the thing you bought was the best you can buy.

This is something like a year later now, I've joined a scenario paintball team, (E-Jam Red Raiders), I play every weekend, and I have two aftermarket barrels for my A-5 (Palmer Brass and Lapco Snapshot). I currently use the back half (control bore) of the Lapco Snapshot as my barrel. That's right, no tip.

I find it highly accurate, shoots straight, nothing to complain about. But honestly, I'm wishing I bought an 8" Bigshot instead. It would have been cheaper, and more suited to what I play. Don't expect "godly" accuracy if this is your first barrel, it's just better than most barrels out there. Once you get to a certain range, price-wise, you get about the same results, performace-wise.

This barrel is about the same quality as a Palmer Brass, a Freak, an Ultralight, a Bigshot, a Proto, a Stiffi and others that I have missed. Ok, so it might be better than some of these in the right conditions, or worse, but they really all fall in the same category.

Most importantly, have fun 'ballin.

-Argelmcgee
E-Jam Red Raiders
Conclusion: Great barrel, nothing to complain about.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderEye13 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Stock Barrel
A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Snapshot Barrel Kit
Pro Team Hyper Star Bolt
Lapco Offset Sight Mount
Pro Team SAW Stock
A5 E-Grip
32Degrees Coiled Remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works great! (as long as its not terrible quality)
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Stylish
Weaknesses: Expensive? (you get what you pay for!)
Review: I actually have the Snapshot kit, which was very expensive, but worth it. My accuracy is amazing. From about 75-100 feet I shot the pole on a chain-link fence - first try. I have gotten more head shots with this barrel than in my entire paintball history! As for durability, I tripped once, and jammed it into a rock, and it didn't even scratch! (I was afraid to look at it I fell so hard on it I thought that it would be mutilated).

Another plus is that you can put the lapco air cooled machine gun shroud on it, if you like that look.
Conclusion: Get one! This is probably the best barrel you can get for your A5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianeasy123 Friday, October 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. The stock barrel is to laugh at after you've shot this barrel.
Marker Setup: New Spyder Imagine (Green)
12 v rev.- view loader
20 oz pure energy tank
lapco snapshot 14" barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Advantage Super Swirl work pretty well
Strengths: Accuracy!Looks!Accuracy!Accuracy!Quiet gun by a large amount.
Weaknesses: The cleaning can be tricky if you're picky.
Review: This barrel is a great upgrade. Dont even think about passing it up! It is extemely accurate, it adds distance, and it simply look tight. This barrel will not let you down. I found this 120$ barrel for 85$ online so shop around for a good deal. Don't let money be an issue with this thing, you'll be glad you invested!
Conclusion: This Barrel is a must! I shot my gun with the stock barrel from 75FT away onto a 2 1-2'by 3' box and sometimes missed and with this barrel, I stood about 100 to 130 ft away and shot onto a tree 7" thick in about a 6" diameter 4 out of 5 times. I was nervous about this prodect but it did not dissapoint me. I busted paint to see how hard it was to clean because of the drilled holes but to my surprise, a toothpick can work wonders. This gun also cut the noise of my gun easily in half!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 1st, 2004 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghideon Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Autospirit and Lapco Bigshot, J&J Ceramic, Older style All American, Stock E-Mag Barrel.
Marker Setup: AGD E-Mag, Level 10, ULE Body, AGD Flatline 68/4.5k.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums
Strengths: Excellent match with PMI Premiums
Quiet
Two piece, soon to be in kits
Weaknesses: A little on the pricey side (compared to the Bigshot and Autospirit)
Review: I recently switched from the AGD twist lock style barrels to the cocker threaded barrels (available to Mags by upgrading to the new ULE bodies). I had set up the gun on the previous weekend with it's stock barrel (which is very nice).

Switched out bodies, stuck the Snapshot in there, and then chrono'd in at 330ish. Was using the same paintballs as before. (PMI premiums). The paint to barrel match was much better.

Also noticed that thing was really quiet. I'm used to loud barrels (I used the stock barrel, and the Bigshot and the Autospirit mostly). It sounded great.
Conclusion: A great barrel from an oft overlooked company. Lapco may not be "Dye" or "Smart Parts," but there stuff is just as good, if not better. And, it won't break the bank. The full kits are due approx May 1st (according to Colin @ Lapco). They'll have a 10 and 12 inch fronts, and backs for 687, 689 and 693. If you're like me, and can't wait, the single backs and fronts will be available for purchase. For more updates, check out Lapco's forums at http://lapcopaintball.com/forum/index.php
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media