paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Pilot / Kingman Spyder Pilot / Kingman Spyder Pilot / Kingman Spyder Pilot

Kingman Spyder Pilot Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Pilot

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Pilot
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 138
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Kingman Spyder Pilot electronic marker showcases a sleek look with tournament-inspired performance. The color access mode display lets you choose between semi-auto, 3-bursts, 6 bursts, and full-auto firing modes. This marker is equipped with an expansion chamber with a fore grip, a tournament velocity adjuster, a bottom-line set-up with a stainless-steel hose, a top-cocking bolt, and more.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Pilot is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Racso Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month268 of 277 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99
Spyder E-99 Avant
Spyder TL Plus
Piranha R6
Rebel BTB
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
Lapco Feed Neck
Halo TSA LED Frontman
32* Vertical Adaptor
32* Expansion Chamber
Dye Macro Line
WGP Torpedo Drop
Dye Sticky 3 Grip
Different barrel for different paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-Reg in the future
-Grips
Strengths: -Performance
-Upgrades Avalible
-Price
-Looks
Weaknesses: -Barrel
Review: Performance: On my first day of playing, I went and spent some time getting the marker ready for play. After finding that I have a leaky o-ring on my tank and replacing it, I finally got to testing. The field where I play at has a 250 fps rule. Lucky me, my gun was already set at 245 on the first shot! The next few shots chonoíd at 243, 244, 243, 243, 242, and 245, and keep in mind that I am using CO2 with an expansion chamber, not a reg!

I went out for some ball. I went through about 750 balls without one single break! My group was running out of paint, and people were finishing up and getting ready to leave, so I went to go waste some paint in the chrono area. I played around, aiming at things, just testing how well it did. With a good barrel-paint match, the gun shot like a charm! It had VERY tight groupings. I then had my first break, around a quarter of the way through a hopper. Turns out that I didnít turn my hopper back on and it was gravity feeding.

This gave me an idea of how hard/easy this gun is to clean. I field stripped it and ran a swab through the gun, Easy, quick, and it got the job done. There was a little paint in the bottom of the neck, and some in the bolt. Both were a quick wipe with the swab, and the gun was back in business.

I then decided that I would give this gun a good test! First, I tested out the 3 round and 6 round burst modes. I gave each mode about half a pod of paint. Great results, no breaks!! Then I gave it a whirl on full auto. I filled the hopper completely full, and I let her rip. 180 balls later, no breaks. I then put the last of my paint in the hopper and decided to see what my gun would shoot after a full day of ball. To my surprise, I got 240, 239, 237, 240 241, and 239.

Obviously this gunís performance is top notch, thus it receives a 10.

Parts: The electronic grip frame for the gun is really easy to use and understand. To turn it on, simply take the safety off. Now the gun is in a safety mode automatically, and to get out, you just have to press the button. This will automatically put you in manual/semi-auto mode.

To get to the other modes, you just have to press the button. Each time you press the button, it will switch to a different mode. In 3 & 6 round burst and full auto mode, you can select how fast the gun shoots, from 6 to 13 bps.

The bolt and hammer are typical for Spyders; there is nothing too special about them. This is a top cocking gun, and I prefer top-cocking, thus I like how it works. To field strip the gun, you just have to pull two pins, out of the back of the gun that holds the back plate, and the cocking rod pin.

The feed neck requires a second neck to connect the hopper to the gun. This part is plastic and looks fragile. Another problem is that the vertical adaptor is not an ASA port. If you want to change to a reg, you have to get a new vertical adaptor. Also, as with all Spyders, the barrel is not very good.

The gun has good parts, but because of the neck, adaptor, and barrel, it receives an 8.

Size: The gun is a typical Spyder size. Because there are smaller guns out there, this one gets an 8.

Weight: For the size of the gun, this one has a pretty typical weight. It isnít too heavy, but because there are lighter guns out there, this gun receives an 8

Upgrades: There are numerous upgrades available for Spyders. For basic needs, you only need to get it a new barrel or barrel system, which most barrel companies make barrels for. However, you can easily get a new feed neck, vertical adaptor, expansion chamber, drop and ASA, bolts, grips, and many other things.

Because of the ease of upgrading this maker, it gets a 10.

Price: When you look at how good of a marker this is, and then compare that to the price, you will see that for under $200, you are getting a really good deal. This marker gets a 10

Looks: I personally like how this gun looks. The milling on it is very nice and different from other markers, and overall the gun looks great. For looks, this gun gets a 10
Conclusion: Performance = 10
Parts = 8
Size = 8
Weight = 8
Upgrades = 10
Price = 10
Looks = 10

Average = 9.1 = 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

pb-enforcer Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month65 of 70 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Tippman M98C
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Teardrop
Egg II / with Y-board
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
A fast motorized loader
Strengths: Fast
Price
Many firing modes
C.A.M.D.
NO CHOPS!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: The instruction manual it come with is a little weak. Thats about it.
Review: I play a lot of woods ball with my family and friends. After playing with a few different semi guns, I decided to get an electric marker. After talking to a lot of people, reading tons of reviews, and checking out my local paintball shop, I decided on the Pilot. This is by far the best marker I have used. Now I am sure there are better guns on the market. However, I don't think a lot of people, and especially some of the younger players, are going to spend 800-1200 dollars for a paintball gun. I don't plan to be a tournament player (although it does have a tournament lock if I wanted to enter one). I just want to go out and have fun. With that goal in mind, the Pilot has everything I could ever want in a paintball gun. The C.A.M.D. is very easy to use. No more DIP switches, or holding the button until this light flashes, or that color light is on. It plainly says on the display Semi, 3burst, 6burst, Auto. You can also set the rate of fire from 6-13 bps, although the board is capped at 14 bps on semi. You will need a fast loader for this gun. I went with the Egg II. The reason for this was that you don't have to worry about out shooting you loader. Also if you upgrade you gun to the point were you can ( like with the T-board ) you can upgrade the loader to match. A little tip if you get this setup. You can slide the feed neck of the loader over the feed neck of the gun, and use a hose clamp to secure it. This puts the bottom of the loader about an inch above the cocking pin, which is perfect. The Pilot is very nice to shoot. It feels good in your hands, and is nicely balanced. With a new barrel the accuracy is dead on. I was shooting Blaze paint, and could hit a four inch tree from 25 yards away on three round burst, with the balls hitting one on top of another. I had to have the smile surgically removed from my face. I haven't shot it enough to know how efficient it is on co2. However, I did dry fire it on full auto about 30-40 shots, on a 62 degree day, and got no snow. So the expansion chamber on this gun really works. I have read other reviews that say the grips bulge out with the battery installed. But if you are careful when you put the battery in, and route the wires around the battery you will not have any problems. As far as chops go, there are none. I did pinch a ball when I first got the gun. I only let it charge for about 45 minutes. I recommend letting it get a full charge before you try it. With that said, After it got a full charge I filled the loader, set the gun on full auto, and let the paint fly. Not one chop! This thing can lay some serious paint. You will have your friends diving for cover, and staying there. Just be careful how many times you do this. This gun can empty a loader quick. As I said before, the Pilot has everything I'm looking for in a paintball gun. Good looks, price, speed, accuracy, easy to use, and lots of after market parts available.
Conclusion: If you are like me, and want a strong, reliable gun. With lots of features, and is fun to play with. Without having to take out a loan to pay for it all. I highly recommend the Spyder Pilot. I am a very happy Pilot owner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kingman89 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested56 of 90 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
its electronic so ur gonna need an electric hopper
Strengths: fast, light, looks good, another amazing gun from kingman.
Weaknesses: nothin
Review: i only tested this gun but it is awesome! the owner of the local kapp store just got a new stock in and he let me test one to see how it was! this is one of the best electronics kingman has to offer! i love this gun! its really fast and feels like an angel when u shoot it (it feels like a speed)
Conclusion: if u get the chance.......BUY IT!! it wont let u down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 15th, 2004 at 8:58 pm PST
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

metalman666 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite like this gun
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, evo2 hopper, 48cu N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, but what gun doesn't need this
Strengths: Looks great
shoots great
easy to use CAMD
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: I just recently bought this marker for speedball use and I was blown away at how well it performed. I had cockers backed into their bunkers all day long. Without a doubt it is able to compete with even the best cockers custom or factory. I have nto been let down with this gun. The CAMD is easy to use and is very convienient. About the only problem with the gun is you can't increase the BPS pass 13, other than that great marker
Conclusion: BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT! It is a marker that will not let you down, end of story
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Pass1onfru1ts Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix+nyte stick
Marker Setup: spyder pilot-12revvy-teardrop
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, electric hopper (revy , empire etc),
Strengths: fast, not too heavy, noo chopping
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: this gun is amazing by far. it is quite fast. there is almost no chops,
i wasnt even using a revvy fer dat. no chops wit the revvy on it. the teardrop
makes the gun alot better than wit the stock, more accurate, more quiet. but stock is still pretty good. i recommend this gun to ne1. although the grip may seem slightly loose. the display is pretty good, and shows how much juice is left in the battery.
Conclusion: buy it, its good for u! its another masterpiece by kingman, it'll be able to go up agaisnt all the more expensive and better guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sfig Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
These aren't exactly similar but

-Tippman custom 98 (not as good)
-Smart Parts ION (better)
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Progressive
Egg2
20oz C02 with On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New Barrel
- An ACS Delrin bolt (read my review)
Strengths: CAMD
accuracy
modes
looks
durability
cleaning
C02/Air efficiency
PRICE
total performance
Weaknesses: Chopping somtimes when on burst or full automatic.
Review: Ok so I am not going to bore you with something lik how much I like it and that crap(though I do love it) so on to my review.

This is a GOOD beginner marker as I said in my strenghts, I think this is one of the best low-end markers out there do to the total performance of this marker. Now I will back up my Key Strengths and Weaknesses starting with strenghts. So the thing that I love about this marker is the CAMD(Color Access Mode Display) not that I really have to explain anything about it I just like it because it gives you the option of changing modes during a game. This marker has quite good accuracy i'd say 7/10 10 being a cocker and 1 you throwing the paint yourself. Now speed,on semi the pilot can acording to the kingman website do 14 bps but the bord is capped at 13 (good luck getting to 11though) I myself can walk 9-12 BPS. The Modes aren't really that useful to me even though there are semi 3rnd burst 6rnd burst and auto. I just think it looks nice Camo. Once my friend accidental dropped my pilot on to the ground from 4 feet up smashing onto the VERY HARD ground and it was perfectly fine. I think this marker is very easy to clean just pull a pin and the bolt comes out. It does its job when something says 900 shots per tank it actually does that instead of 900 or 950 etc. In total iI think this marker preforms well.

VERY IMPORTANT MUST READ- This is regarding the bolt of the marker- It is your choice to buy a Delrin Bolt for this marker I myself will not be,why do you ask well when I use this marker I use it on semi auto becuase I am not a newb who only wants to use auto becuase they cant walk the trigger at all. it never chops for me on semi auto, unless the weather is fairly cold but that is normal.

Update: April/28/2006

I have found that over the months this marker has reduced chopping drastically. I can now shoot full auto(11BPS) and semi-auto(I can walk 12BPS max without a chop. It is amazing. its odd it just doesn't chop anymore. I think the reason it used to chop is because i used to use cheap paint with very thin shells. Now I use X.O. Industries hotbox paintballs, I recommend them for this marker.

Chopping 9/10
Accuracy 8/10
Speed 7/10
Efficiency 8/10
looks 8/10
Conclusion: I'm not one of those people who give it a 10/10 so even though I think this is a great marker I must give it a 8/10 but my reccomendation is to buy this marker if you are looking for something in the 200-300 dollar price range TRUST ME IT WILL NOT LET YOU DOWN
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PAINTBALLA10372 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine Digital LED
Spyder E-99
Spyder E-99 Advant
Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
Viewloader Evoloution II Hopper
20Oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-Grips
Strengths: -Looks Good
-Shoots Fast
-GREAT PRICE!
-Performance!
Weaknesses: -Barrel
Review: This gun is amazing for the price. The first day i got it i probably shot 1000 balls..NOT ONE SINGLE BREAK! But then again I was using an electric hopper...You need an electric hopper for how fast this gun shoots..Then i was done playing so i decided to go home and just shoot around... So I go home start shooting and BANG...Ball breaks..But thats not the gun..It was because i had forgot to turn my hopper back on... So all together this gun definatly deserves a 10.. It looks great.. SHOOTS REALLY FAST!.. and it is one of the best guns you can get for its cheap price...The only problem is the barrel which is really easy to replace beacuse of the barrel system you can buy for the gun..This gun has TONS of upgrades that you can get..The only things i suggest you think about getting is a barrel and maybe a new feed neck... Other Upgrades that you can buy are- a new feed neck, vertical adaptor, expansion chamber, drop and ASA, bolts, grips, and many other things.

10!!!
Conclusion: Definatly buy this gun..It is one of the best guns you can get for the price..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedNoob Tuesday, June 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Just purchased - All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Hopper to keep up with burst and automatic fire.
Quick Charger (1.5 hour turnaround vs. 5-6 Hours on standard charger)
Cheap can of compressed air to do reccomended maintenance by Kingman.
Strengths: Lightwight
High ROF
Display on grip.
Easy to dissasemble.
Trigger feathers well.
Weaknesses: Manual is weak.
Loud .
5-6hr charger.
Colors - metallic blue sticks out in the woods.
Review: I did lots of research on Spyder vs. Kingman and used both. In the end I chose the new Spyder Pilot which is a newer line (replacing the Imagine soon) that Kingman plans on keeping around a while (as opposed to coming out with a new model in a month).

I've had a chance to use this all day last Saturday in speedball, airball, and woods. Couple things off the bat I noticed:

Even w/ all stock parts It shoots far and straight. My distance on this thing was amazing compared to others with thier own upgraded markers (i was not just beating rentals). I was pegging people with incredible distance. (And being a newbie, I am not the best shot in the world). That distance gave me an advantage (and yes, I was chrono'ed correctly)

I was also taking shots in the woods where I had no buisness weaving my shot between 2-3 trees to hit my target. But if you can aim true, it shoots true.

I liked being able to easily read the display. You don't have ot read and interpret LED lights. It plainly says "Burst", "Semi", and "Auto. Easy to tell if your safty is on and if your battery is low.

It's super easy to take apart and clean. Reccomend getting some canned air to use in some reccomended maintenance of a spring mechanisim in the grip. (Suggested from manufacturer after each game)

I let some more experienced players use my gun to get thier feedback and only recieved high praise.
Conclusion: For a newbie - if you get past the Tippman vs. Spyder argument and decide to choose a Spyder. I highly reccomend this gun. It's great just as a stock gun, easy to use, lightweight, and fast as heck. Not only am I happy with my choice, the more experienced players that used it said I made an excellent choice.

I am giving it a 9 only because the operation of the display was not intuitive, the documentation is weak, and the battery charger takes forever to charge. The gun as a whole kick's.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 11:04 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

DragonReborn Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom- good gun, not a tipman person
A5- same as above
DM4- only tested, great but does not live up to 1200
Imagine- it was tricked out and quite nice
Rodeo- doesnt realy compare wo major upgrades
pro carbine- rental so i cant realy say but it sucked real bad
Fenex- same maker as Pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot-stock
VL Revolution hopper
PE 20oz CO2
Overlord sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper NOT A HALO dont waste ur money its overkill, the rev is good
relulater- gun goes +/-40 FPS!!
HPA-
ACS
Strengths: Easy field strip
Fast)
accurate even with stock
CAMD
the modes
cheap
looks sick

Weaknesses: Jams-(hopper was off)
Grip is too wide
big with hopper

Review: Ok, i like my Pilot its a good gun.
feild strip-- im an idiot, i have no skills with assembaling stuff, i have, twice had to take this gun apart in game, with some cover fire and a bunker i was fine
Accuracy- I still have the stock barrel cus im broke. ITs a good barrel actuly 14 inch and glass smoth inside. Doesnt break paint even the cheap stuff. Replace the berral none the less cus its inconsistant one perfect one drop one hook....CO2 doesnt help that either.
with upgrade im sure its better but ill say 8 for now

Looks- Blue is visable but who realy hides?
Looks sweet not as good as the new one but w/e

breaks- Few even without my hopper on. Just dont go full auto or realy fast wo a hopper to back it up (again a halo is not needed)

strenth- a solid marker dropped it, been hit by balls still running strong

Trigger- Good stock
James- if u have a gravity feed it will jam like anyother makrker

Speed- Here we go... It caps with 20 bps with major upgrades. NO ONE NEED SPEED GREATER THEN 14 BPS! Heres my story. these 5 kids show up at my not so local field. ALl in red dye jersies and one had a smartparts ion the others had better smartpats guns, one also had a dm4. The had no aim, and they didnt want it, the game as pull the trigger, they used about a case each a round, no joke, they sucked. Basicly if u want to get good speed is not the most improtant thing, this maker is fine on speed, hell the best players use pumps
Conclusion: Good gun for any palyer. If your a noob with some money and who has fallen on the spyder side of the tipman spyder war this is the gun for you. If you have less money and are still a spyder person go with the imagine or rodeo, the fenex may be better for players who need more speed, or simpey want to spend more money on nearlyy the same marker
if u like tipps but are looking for a spyder type price check the pro carbine
it gets a 8.5, ill give it a nine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eclipse14 Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A triton.(that doesn't even live up to the Pilot.)
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot(stock)
VL200 loader
14 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evo II hopper
Dye Sicky grips
Sweetspot trigger
Lapco feed neck
New barrel
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok. I was wondering what a good, not too expensive, electric marker would be for me. So i came hear to paintballreview.com and found my answer. The Spyder Pilot. This is a great marker for a great price. I got mine for $170.

*Weakness's: The pilot has very few weakness's. One of the main weakness's is the trigger. It isn't that short for an electric marker and it is plastic. What I plan on doing is getting a sweetspot trigger. If you don't mind the fact that it's plastic and you are creative you can try gluing a washer or 2 to the back of the trigger. That will shorten the pull. But it's alot shorter than my triton. (Boy that thing was hell.)Another weakness is the feed neck. I recommend getting a lapco clamping fed neck. looks good too. And of course the barrel sucks.

*Strengths: About everything on hte pilot is a key strength. (it's like every part has it's purpose and works great together.) The pilot is a fast marker. About as fast as a shocker. You can buy an ACS(anti-chop system) for $30 which puts the pilot up to
20 bps.
Conclusion: Get this. Or the spyder fenix if u want a different look.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media