paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X

Kingman Spyder TL-X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-X

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-X
[ View Photos (49) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 232
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TL-X features:
Semi-automatic
Sleek,custom design receiver
Super light trigger pull
Anit-double feed
Expansion chamber with fore grip
Tournament velocity adjuster
Vertical ball feed
Drop foward
Quick disconnect pin
Bottom line set up with stainless steel hose
New two trigger finger with regulation trigger guard
Operates on co2 or compressed air
12" aluminum barrel
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ELF666 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month121 of 129 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all kind E99 , Avant , Rodeo, TL etc.....
Marker Setup: Spyder TLX Stock - 12oz Tank - Standard View Loader.
Spyder TLX w/ 14" Thunder Pig Barrel- 12oz Tank - Standard View Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrels provide better accuracy.
However this stock barrel is more than adequate.
Strengths: Smooth Trigger Pull - Efficient Gas Use - Accurate - Reliable
Weaknesses: Hopper sits mighty high leaving you with a bigger profile
Review: Ok here's an affordable marker you can get new in the box that doesnt require anything but a desire to play.

I put 1000 rds through it in 5 hrs of heavy play and never chopped a ball, heck I never even had to re-cock. All that on one 12 oz co2.

You cannot beat this marker for the price, ease of use, & accuracy. If your new and you don't want to waste money you can't go wrong on the NEW 2004 Kingman Spyder TLX.
Plus Kingman has an awesome support team and website. I always get a human when I call!

The marker cost me 99$ New on Ebay , It's MFSRP is $139 -- I bought this because I play woodball. I wanted an easy to use dependable marker without any guages to break or elctronics to fry. If we are not falling off the log bridge in the river then your tossing your marker up a steep bank so you can climb up. This product delivered in that environment with no problems.
Conclusion: Great entry level marker at an unbelievable price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
48 Comments - Add Comment

v00d003 Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months70 of 80 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans- vl orion- rodeo
Marker Setup: 98c with flat barrel - vm 68 - TLX stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel maybe?
Strengths: very durable
accurate
doesn't chop balls
looks great!
well balanced
price
Weaknesses: nothing worth mentioning
Review: I decided to buy this marker because of the great reviews it had received ,problem is reviews are merely opinions and opinions are like belly buttons everybody has one lol ...anyway like I was saying I decided to give one a try and boy was I surprised it surpassed any expectation I had!! very accurate especially considering its a stock barrel hasn't chopped a single ball yet ( well over 3000) and counting ,dropped in mud, stepped on, rained on and still keeps ticking, my tippman can't even boast that! I can't stress enough the type of satisfaction you get when you can put a marker through it paces and still knock off your opponent with their expensive toys! I liked this gun sooo much I decided to get my son one and I'm happy to say he has enjoyed it just as much as me! anybody want to buy a Tippman? lol
Conclusion: In a nutshell if you want a very durable ,dependable,straight shooter look no further than this beast you won't be disappointed ....unless your on the wrong side of one

If I could give this marker a higher rating that 10 I would because it deserves it!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Attila_TB Monday, May 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month55 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmans, PMI Black Maxx
Marker Setup: 16 oz. Chromolly Tank, Viewloader 200 rnd. hopper, Stock barrel, Diablo Midnight Paint.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel!!! might have been the weather, but when dosn't a new barrel help anyway lol.
Strengths: Where do I start, Practical indestructable, didn't shred a single ball, and very compact.
Weaknesses: Barrel has bad accuracy past 75ft. Barrel easy to see in the woods. little heavy.
Review: I played for 4 hours with this gun in the worst paintball conditions possible i.e. Pouring rain / mud / tripping and slidding down hills / wadeing through streams (hey I was wet already so why not???), and even in all of that, this gun didn't break a single ball even with mud filling the end of the barrel!!! Accuracy was a bit of a problem past 75-100 ft. and even a 1 square ft. grouping was hard to get past 50 ft. but in those conditions it could have been the paint warping (but dunno). But by useing accuracy by volume I still got a bunch of ppl out :-). Top mounted blow back is cool and keeps the hammer from getting in the way. Over all its a pretty quite gun, but a new barrel will help that out too. Nice and compact = very easy to manuver with which was a plus in the woods.
Conclusion: I swear this marker is indestructable!!! Ideal for any type of rec ball, but the compact size and ease of upgrades should make it pretty good for amature speed ball as well. Over all, this gun met or surpassed all of my expectations aside from accuracy; which will be fixed with a new barrel (I hope).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

insanedoctor762 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months40 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Kingmans (Xtra, Shutter, Aggressor XT, Victor) good, but not as good as the TL-X
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, 14in Smart Parts Progressive Barrel, Blue Viewloader 12v revolution hopper, Kingman IPI grip, shocktech expansion chamber, 20oz C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is definately reccomended. However if you intend to keep this gun for a while, you can easily upgrade it with an electric grip and hopper, a new bolt, or possibly nitro.
Strengths: Accurate at good distances
Built tough for hard play
Decent drop forward
Weaknesses: dirt gets into open bolt sometimes
stock barrel inaccurate
Vert feed blocks line of sight
Review: This is the second gun I have owned, the first being a Brass Eagle Eradicator (yeah yeah I know). I first noticed it because of its good looks, and for the fact that it was a good size gun. While some players might prefer a smaller gun for easier handling, I prefer a gun that I can aim and fire easily with two hands. After looking online for the best price, I found the TL-X on ebay for a remarkable $80! Even with shipping it came out to $90, which was a steal compared to the $100+ prices you will get anywhere else online. Not two weeksafter my package arrived, I assembled my gear and headed out for a day of tough woodsball at my friends house. During woodball, my completely stock TL-X preformed like a champ up against heavily modified Tippmann 98's, Tippmann A5's and various Kingmans such as the E99 and an upgraded shutter with Nitro. I also noticed the TL-X conserves gas quite well. I finished a two hour block of playing time with one CO2 tank, and even after the matches were over I still had some CO2 left in my tank. The A5's however were chugging down CO2 with their response triggers and cyclone feeding systems. About a week after I played, I stopped in at my local paintball shop because the TL-X was leaking air like nobody's business. I remembered one of my friends tampering with the air hose in the foregrip, so just a reminder to all who get this gun not to mess with the air hose. I also picked up a 14in Progressive barrel while I was there, and I noticed a big difference in the TL-X's accuracy with the barrel.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to any player who wants high level bang for a decent buck. I'll revamp the review after I get to shoot it again with all the upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

afrokid Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Rebel Bottomline, Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: spyder tl-x, 12 oz. co2 tank, 14 in. nightstick barrel, 32 degrees hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade the barrel, but it isn't necessary
Strengths: doesn't eat co2-reliable-accurate-looks cool
Weaknesses: The gun is a little heavy.
Review: This gun is great. It looks nice with the milling. It is affordable, I got mine for $110 at the local paintball shop. You can take the gun right out the box and play. It is very reliable.

If you are just getting into paintball this is the gun to get. It hasn't chopped any of my paintballs and i've shot 2000+. This is just is just perfect for newbies and even for intermediate players.
Conclusion: Good entry level marker that is affordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 2:07 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

been_splat Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
3A Invincible E-Power
Marker Setup: TL-X stock, except for a 16" Demon Snyper Barrel
Stock Straight Feed
Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator

Strengths: Easy to adjust velocity
Good forward grip
very balanced
Weaknesses: Feed is directly in front of the line of sight
Review: Well I was only planning on using this gun as a backup, but today I was in a firefight and my primary went down. My primary was an Electro. I switched to my TL-X and I was able to get more accurate and more bps then my electro.

The gun was light and balanced which made it easier to fire when laying in a prone position.
Conclusion: For all nOOb's that need a good starter gun or a Amatuer or Pro that need a rock solid backup select this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Moose0nTheLoose Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
xtra(the same gun but with different milling and a rear cocking bolt)
e-99(faster and better)
mongoose(crap)
pirahna r-6(ok but the same as a victor)
victor(ok for its money but it lacks.. well..everything)
Marker Setup: spyder tl-x
16 oz
g2k
soon to come:

pilot acs
evil pipe
halo tsa
assault block
bob long torpedo
dye sticky 3s
Recommended
Upgrades:
well if u somehow decide to upgrade a semi auto spyder instead of an imagine then i guess get a barrel, reg, hopper, some snacks, an imagine, and a t-board
Strengths: nice accuracy for stock
cheap
Durable
simple
easy to fix
Weaknesses: VERY FLASHY. youcanbeseeneasilythereasonimwritinglikethisisbecauseicanlon
lyuse15words
elbow makes it stick up half a foot.
Review: the gun as a whole:

weight: 2.4-2.5 lbs.(my scale isnt that accurate)

dimensions: 19 1/2'' by 9 3/4'' so its a little long

looks: nice looks. way better than the xtra. though very bright

now to the field:

Well when i took this out of the box it looked real nice.comment to kingman- get a box for each gun. the box had cutouts for guns with a beavertail and diff feeds. they just mass produce them and slap all their guns into them. well anyway the gun.
I took it out of the box and gassed it up. i went and shot some down the road(we don't live in the city so don't worry). velocity is a little low but that is fixed anyway. what gun doesn't need tuning. i then took it to our field and played a couple games. it does everything the other reviews say it does. the accuracy surprized me though. my friends e-99, peoples xtras, victors, and even a guy with an electra wit all american all shot worse. i could easily hit a 8'' tire from 100 ft with one shot every time using draxxus dusk paint. i could also shoot cans off a barrel at 15 yrds. it was great beating all the more expensive guns in accuracy.
After a couple games we went into my house to eat lunch. it started raining. we all rushed to the field to save our equipment that we stupidly left there. all the stuff was ok because most things were under t shirts but the guy with the mongoose had his trigger frame short out. my gun was left plain out and was dirty and wet. i field stripped it, squeeged it and oiled it. perfect order no scraches on the bolt(i have expierenced scraches in later times after 6 days of play).it will not break.another good thing was that since its top cocking it takes 2 or so inches off the back. this also prevents dirt getting in more.
now im going to compare it to a gun in its class:the xtra

it is top cocking so it takes 2 inches off the back and prevents dirst better compared to the xtra.
it is lighter than the xtra.
it is 10 more than the xtra but worth it.
it has milling yay
it is shinyer than the xtra. boo
it is way more accurate than the xtra though the e-99, victor, and tl-x all have the same barrel, hmm?
it is better than the xtra period.
Conclusion: Well my first gun and it certainly pleased me. hope this review was helpful. umm it is a good beginner gun yeah yeah blah blah. the imagine is the only gun i can think that beats it for the cheap price range. i think it deserves a 6 cuz 5 is supposed to be normal but who goes by that when the stingray gets 10's from people. umm 10 is redicules because not angels are perfect. maybe an 8. aww screw it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jason hassley Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator, Marauder, Triton II, Triad
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
CMI Thunder Pig 16" Barrel
Pure Energy 20 oz.
200 Ct. Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ummmmm....not much just an electro hopper to keep up with the gun.
I don't even have to use my custom barrel it just looks cooler on there.
The stock barrel is perfectly accurate
Strengths: Sleek, comfortable, accurate, looks awsome, doesn't chop, cheap, easy to find. good on gas
Weaknesses: ummm...The hopper sits just alittle high
Review: Ok, this is my third gun i'v own, my first was a blade and i returned it, my second one was an Eradicator and the striker pin that goes in the spring broke so the gun doesn't re-cock anymore. So thatz y i bought this gun, AND I'M GLAD I DID!!!!!, This gun is awsome i shot a case outta this gun and NOT ONE curve or broke. And this gun is SOOOOOOO comfortable. You don't have to buy ANY upgrades for this gun cuz it is PERFECT stock, it looks great, shoots great, and durable and cheap. What more could a 15 year old kid ask for. I LOVE THIS GUN. I reccomend it to any kid who wants to play paintball. Speed ball or woods ball, It's plenty fast so u can shoot as fast as you can and not after worry about about a ball breaking or curving. and the top cocking nob is perfect for lefties like me, becuase the side cocking nob got in the way of ur fingers. This gun is perfect for me and it will be perfect for you. And i'm serious this gun is great.

P.S. I PLAN TO SPEND $100 ON THE GUN TO UGRADE, I DON'T NEED ANOTHER CO2, BARREL, OR LOADER. IF U HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS THAT WOULD BE HELPFULL, THANKS
Conclusion: This gun is great and Kingman should be proud of make a new gun for the TL SERIES cuz this one is GREAT!!!!
do u want a gun that is comfortable?
do u want a gun that is accurate stock?
do u want a good looking gun?
do u want a durable gun?
do u want a gun that is affortable?
if you said yes to these qeustions than this gun is for YOU
I'm serious about this gun i'm not just a newbie that loves his first good gun but this gun is seriously a great gun
NO JOKE
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 7th, 2004 at 6:27 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa205 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
any spyder
Marker Setup: spyder tlx ,12oz. co2, viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,but u dont need to... it works pretty good
Strengths: good wieght, accurate,fun to play with,reliable,looks frigin awesome
Weaknesses: barrel is sometimes kinda unaccurate...but what stock is accurate???
Review: great gun for the price, worth every penny great for beginners and expierienced players
this is a gun that you can use for a few years, its very durable.Buy the spyder tlx
SPYDERS RULE.this is just as good as the spyder imagine and it is better than the aggressor xt and the victors. this is one of the top 3 best spyders you can buy.It is a new model and it absolutely rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: buy this gun it has been working great for me and it is a great gun to use for woodball, i played with people who had 98 customs and the spyder tlx is just as good, and cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

alien8 Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98, Pro-Carbine. Both fine, reliable markers, but do not perform as well as the TL-X in stock form.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL-X
Smart Parts All American Barrel, 14 inch
Palmers Stabilizer Regulator
Empire Reload Hopper
Vaporworks High Rise Feedneck
32 Degrees Spring Kit
20oz CO2
Both PMI Premium and Diablo Midnight paintballs shot very well.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitated hopper (Empire reloader or 12V revy), then barrel. After that, whatever does it for you.
Strengths: Fairly accurate with stock barrel, simple, reliable, excellent price, looks great.
Weaknesses: Again, for the price, none.
Review: This is an excellent beginner's marker. It's fairly light and appears to be well constructed. It actually shoots very well straight out of the box. The stock barrel, with the proper paint match ( I used PMI Premiums), is pretty accurate, and I didn't haven't had any breaks in the barrel. I did chop one ball with the bolt (out of about 1000 shots), but that's because I outshot my gravity hopper, which of course isn't all that challenging to do. Like any blowback marker, cleaning was quick and easy. Paint in the barrel and breach did affect accuracy and precision to the point where you could only hit targets relatively close on a consistent basis (say, about 30-50 feet).

The trigger pull is nice (for stock). It's a little long for my taste, and not adjustable, but there is relatively little side-to-side slack, and almost no back-slack after the striker is released, so I've been able to shoot fairly quickly with no problem, but I'll need an agitated hopper to see how fast it will really go. When I get one, I'll update this review.

I've disassembled the entire marker to determine which parts may need to be replaced if I decided to set up the marker for low pressure (LP). The expansion chamber entry and exit appear to be large enough to accomodate high flow, but I'd replace it with a regulator anyway. The vertical adapter has approximately 3/16" holes, so it looks like it will perform ok with regard to high flow. Of course I'll have to replace the stock valve assembly, and finding a bolt that will take the top cocking mechanism will be difficult, so I'll probably just modify it myself (for excellent advice on this, see Otter SC Customs, http://www.ottersccustoms.com/spyder.html).

## UPDATE ##
I've played a few times with the new barrel, hopper and regulator, and as you would expect, the marker shoots MUCH better now. Both accuracy and precision have improved dramatically. I've put more than a case of 2,000 paintballs through the gun, and had not one break (peak rate of fire approx. 5-6 bps). If I can see my target and it's within a reasonable distance, I can hit it in 3 shots (my aim isn't so hot). I'm still running the marker at relatively high pressure, about 500 psi, but between the slightly lower pressure and heavily ported barrel, it's much quieter now. Efficiency hasn't improved much yet, probably getting about 1200+ shots per 20oz CO2 tank, but that will probably change when I replace the valve system and continue to lower the operating pressure. If I can make this marker run any more efficiently, I'll update this review.
Conclusion: This is an excellent, reliable and fairly inexpensive beginners marker that performs well right out of the box. With the proper barrel and agitated hopper, it performs very well. Top-cocking is nice, you don't have a beavertail sticking out the back, so you can put the back of the marker right up to your mask and aim down the side. For the money, it's a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 4:59 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media