paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount

Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The top rail fits 3/8ths scopes. The lower rail is a Weaver mount with Picatinny rails. Fits the A-5 only.
Product Availability 
The Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
knightedwarrior Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ RT,flatline,16"armson stealth,bipod,2X trigger,palmer stabilizer w/ gauge,macroline,lapco longforegrip, ASR-1 raised sight rail W/ lapco offset sight mount W/ BSA 30mm red dot sight & 12X40mm scope,redhot powertube & superflybolt, tactical harness vest w/6+1w/ remote, M4 collapsable stock, A-5 sling
Strengths: Very strong
Looks good
Weaknesses: The larger rail needs to be at the 45* angle
Review: This is a great product. Lapco is one of the best accesory makers in the A-5 buisness. The look is very smooth and it molds great over the A-5 body. I am left handed so it is very awkward to use this because my sight is on the side. I had to have the butt plate of my stock in my face. But with a nice mod, this went away. I installed a Pro Team ASR-1 raised sight rail on the A-5 then mounted the Lapco offset sight rail on top of the other sight rail (trust me looks nice and very tactical) Then I mounted a BSA 30mm Red dot scope on the picatinney (5/8 or weaver) rail and then I put a 16-20X50mm illuminated crosshair scope on the 3/8 45* rail (with a different set of mounting rings) and both scopes cleared the hopper and the stock sights on the gun. Plus they were at perfect eye level and eye relief when I extended the stock into my shoulder. The scope was outstanding for long range recon and general scouting and when they came in close enough, I would switch to the red dot and pick them off. I used this with a flatline and a 16" Armson stealth barrel with bipod and with the stock, it is the most steady and accurate gun i have ever had the pleasure to see much less own. Stunning good looks, very intimidating, and I even put a night vision scope on there for a night game and earned the nickname "predator" at my local field. This rail is an awesome investment to solve thos nasty hopper interference problems without having to resort to using a low profile loader cap and plus, who can beat the looks you get when you pull the marker out of the case. Gotta love it.
Conclusion: Great on it's own but with a raised rail, it is awesome. Mount your favorite sight and mark your opponet with one shot, save money on paint and be feared on the field. what is better than that? Buy one, you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commander Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS 3" Weaver Rail
Marker Setup: SpecOps Tippmann A-5A2, Flatline, E-Grip, JCS MP Folding Stock w/RVA, SpecOps Mag Kit w/Reg, SpecOps Shorty Grip, APP Monster Sight Feeder, DOP Double Trigger, Pro Team Flatline Shroud, Mil-Sim Muzzle Break, Lapco Offset Sight Mount, JCS 3" Weaver Rail, TruGlo 2x30mm Red-Dot Sight
Strengths: -Offset From Hopper
-Clear Sight Path
-Elevation For Mask
Weaknesses: -Priority Rail In Secondary Position (Weaver)
Review: This is practically the only decent sight mount for a scope on your A-5 that you can actually look through without the hopper obstructing half your view, so I got it. And I regret nothing. It's just what you expect it to be, a mount, a rail, or whatever else you could call it. It just does it's job and does it well, and that's why I like it. It's a stable base for any scope or sight, and offers the reassurance that it won't snap or come loose and drop your two-hundred dollar scope. The only thing that I could complain about would be it's rail placement/priority, the Weaver should be the main rail, even if it does require the sacrifice of the Dovetail. More scopes now are using Weaver mounts, ecspecially paintball sights. But an adapter is always available so no big deal here, just a great sight mount...
Conclusion: Overall, the only mount you should consider getting if you actually want to see through your scope. Otherwise your going to being seeing that half-moon-shape of the hopper blocking your sight line...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 26th, 2005 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slayer-LongShot Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lapco/other raised sight rail, homeade offset rails
Marker Setup: A5, flatline, palmer, lapco offset, lapco forgrip
Strengths: Everything, especially haveing 2 rails
Weaknesses: The hopper can still get in the way.
Review: The hopper can get int he way of some scopes, but the rail is tilted so if you put a raised outfit on ti it'll be out of the way, but possibly very hard to zero a scope...

I use mine with a scope because i "sniper" and use a flatline and other gear to make my marker accurate... won't get into that stuff, but this thing fits like a glove and is a very good upgrade.
Conclusion: GET THIS, it's great you'll love it, i only recommend a stock too
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 12:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moboley Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: A-5; F/X Sniper Stock; Flatline w/ F/X SD Shroud; MP5 Clip Kit; EZ Sling; Bottom Line.
Strengths: No need for microcap, two types of mounts, easy to use
Weaknesses: Sharp Edges, be careful when cocking the marker.
Review: I purchase this from Opsgear a few months ago. I was Modifying my A5 to look like an MP5. I purchased that Offset sight mount because I wanted to be able to mount a site without sacrificing the normal hopper capacity and because I wanted to be able see through a red dot sight with out tearing my neck up. This mount does both. Plus I can mount my tactical flashlight on the side weaver mount rail for indoor action.
Conclusion: Simply excellent! This may not be the best mount for you, but it is good for what is does. Plus you don't have to remove it, but it does attach and detach in seconds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Friday, September 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS 3/8 offset rail - not even close
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
QEPH
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Armson Prodot sight w/ Lapco offset rail
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Looks cool
Solid construction / mount
Two rails
Made of metal
Weaknesses: Not cheap
Makes "zeroing in" interesting
Review: This is actually two rails in one. There's one 3/8 dovetail mount and one is a weaver mount with picatinny rails. The dovetail mount is set just to the left of the marker body and tilted to 45 degrees, creating the offset to whatever you mount to it. The weaver rail is attached to the dovetail mount, directly below it. This is a vertical mount, meaning anything that you put on here will be sideways as if it were mounted directly too the "Tippmann" logo on an A-5, which this rail actually covers.

The whole assembly is three pieces: the two mounts as one piece, plus to clamps. It mounts to the body of the marker via both the 3/8 and 7/8 dovetail mounts. The aluminum clamps are held in place by two 1/8 head allen screws, and the rail comes with the needed allen key.

Now for the opinion section, starting with the negative. It's not cheap. It'll cost you $35 for a new one, and I don't think it's the kind of thing that you'll be able to find used. The only other possible downside that I found, however, is that if you mount a sight to the 3/8 dovetail, it makes adjusting the sight a little weird. Since the mount is at 45* to the horizontal, adjustment is no longer going to be up / down or side / side. Now it's going to be up and to the right / down and to the left or up and to the left / down to the right. Instead of moving in a "+" configuration, it causes it to move at an angle, like an "X". That being said, it's not too hard to get used to.

Now, yes, it is expensive for a mount, but you're getting what you pay for. The whole thing is made of aluminum. There's no plastic at all. Because of this, plus the fact that it holds onto both the 3/8 and the 7/8 mounts on the marker, there's almost no way you're going to get this thing to fall off once it's bolted on; it's solid. I used to have a plastic slide-style offset that I couldn't keep calibrated because the plastic kept allowing a little bit of movement during storage, or even when hit with a paintball. You're not going to have that problem with this thing. If it moves, it's because you either didn't have it bolted down, or you hit it with something BIG, like an oil tanker.

The 3/8 rail does provide an offset, but if you're going to mount a sight or red dot to it, a short one would not be advisable. The key to this mount is that it uses the height of whatever you're mounting to provide most of the offset. The taller whatever you stick on there is, the more room you'll have to stick your face back there with a stock.
Conclusion: I'll recommend this to anyone who has the money for it. It's a good solid mount that looks good, does what it's supposed to, and isn't going to break or degrade over time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 15th, 2007 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hafellafuser Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: -16" Dye Boomstick
-Lapco Machine Gun Barrel Shroud
-E-Grip
-Tactical 5 point Adjustable Car Stock
-Lapco Offset Mount
-BSA Red Laser
-Sling w/ sling screw mounts
-Ricochet R5 Hopper
-G36 Mag
-Crossfire 68 4500 Nitro w/ Dye Rhino Cover
-Star Bolt (Internal)
-Side Velocity Screw
-Shocktech Drop Forward
Strengths: -Durable
-Great Offset Angle
-Color Match is Perfect
-Sturdy
-Easy to Install
-Looks Beautiful
Weaknesses: -3/8" Dovetail compatible Only
-Pricey for a hunk of metal
Review: Got this baby because the Richocet R5 Hopper and the front stock sight were getting in the way of the BSA laser. I used this in a few games and the new angle DOES NOT affect the accuracy of the laser at all!! May have made it even better. LOL. The only thiung I didn't like was paying so much for it but it was TOTALLY worth it when I used it.
Conclusion: BUY THIS...NOW. (That's if you need it, LOL)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j3paintball Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
In-Yo-Face Offset Sight Mount
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-Flatline Barrel
-Collapsible Stock
-4x30 SWAT Scope
-Lapco Offset Sight Mount
-(Soon) E-Grip
Strengths: -Works Just like it Should
-Very Well Built
-Installs Easily in Seconds
Weaknesses: -Doesn't Fit all Scopes the A-5 can
Review: I once bought an awesome 4x magnification, 30mm SWAT Scope with lighted cross-hairs, and I was not too happy when my hopper interfered with its mounting. I bought the Lapco Offset Sight Mount to remedy this. It is pretty costly, but it is an excellent little gadget. The Mount puts your scope off at roughly a 45 degree angle, so it can clear the hopper, and you can even keep the old sights on your A-5 if you want (Just cause they look cool). It mounts to your A-5 very securely, and is very strong itself. The only complaint I might have, is that it is only a 3/8" rail, so it might not fit some scopes the A-5's rail does (it has a 3/8" and 5/8" rail). Other than that, its an excellent scope adapter typ thing.
Conclusion: If you have a scope that fits 3/8" rails, this mount will very securely move out of the way of your hopper; not to mention it looks sweet, and has a weaver rail for a tactical flashlight or something!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Tuesday, September 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Special Ops air thru stock setup with remote, Centerflag air tank with sliding valve
Strengths: Form follows function and it does what it says it does
Weaknesses: None
Review: There's an elegance to simplicity, and this product proves that. Easy to install, and re-install for teardown. Solidly constructed, and it does everything that it says it will do. Better than our government, I'll tell you that. It's also built very solid, it's taken shots already and hasn't slipped or chipped. Quality construction that LAPCO is already known for.
Conclusion: If you want to use a sight / scope, and you have an A-5, this is an essential product to have. I hate rating these things "10", but in this case, it's a simple solution to solve a simple problem with the A-5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MUDSLINGIN Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: Does exactly what it is supposed to. Moves the standard 3/8" dovetail.
Weaknesses: It would be nice to have the 5/8" dovetail above the 3/8" dovetail.
Review: PRO:
it gives you an additional 5/8" dovetail on the side of the marker. Easy to install and remove. And it just looks cool (it covers up the tippy name on the side of your marker)

CON:
I had to get different scope rings for my "Red Dot" sight to mount it on the 3/8" dovetail. If I had mounted it on the provided 5/8" dovetail the sight would have been on the side of the gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anyone wanting to mount a scope or sight to their marker. If you are having a problem with the hopper getting in your way, this offset is the way to fix the problem.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFCT Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Raise Rail
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5/A2 32* 12" Palmer Brass Barrel, Lapco Offset, BT raised rail, Lapco Suppressor and BSA red dot..
Strengths: Very durable
Weaknesses: Bolts may rust
Review: I actually got this as a gift. I have an A5A2, so I couldn't initially use this without the aid of a riser because of the A5A2's stock. The plastic of my mask wouldn't allow me to squeeze in enough to look through the red dot. However, the BT Raised rail allowed me to do so, but I had to constantly till my marker to the right. Combine them both? The marker is dead straight up and down and I'm sighting down the side of the marker easy enough. Excellent.

Of the unit itself, its very durable, easy to clean and easy to attach/unattach. Looks great, plays great. If you needed it, you'll be happy with it.

One downfall, the pedestals the bolts go through to attach the Lapco to the A5 don't touch the main unit. Which means the bolt threads are slightly exposed. If you don't do this already with the main marker during cleaning, you'll want to ensure you keep the bolt threads oiled to prevent rust.
Conclusion: Great unit! $30 is just a hair over on the steep side, but considering a raised rail is $30 and this guy supplies an extra set of tac rails, its not a bad deal at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media