paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve / Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve / Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve / Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve / Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve

Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Maddman Products

Buy Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve

Paintball Spyder Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $48

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This valve will lower your operating pressure between 400 to 500 psi. No front valve spring, first of its kind. Best low pressure valve available.
∑ no valve spring
∑ lowers operating pressure
∑ includes valve and pin
Product Availability 
The Maddman Products Maddman Low Pressure Valve is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
rottensquad07 Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Turbo Valve, custom valve, stock valve
Marker Setup: Dragunfire LCD 2003
Dead On drop foward
Aim regulator
Maddman Rocket valve
Check-it Products 15 degree assault block
Check-it Products stick trigger
RIP switch @ 40g
aluminum trigger frame
polished striker
Spudnukl LP bolt
lightest main spring
flush cocking setup
Smart Parts Teardrop
Egg 2 w/ Y board
47 / 3000 psi air
290 fps @ 290 psi

Gameface E-Rex --- all stock!
Strengths: Very high flowing, solid piece of equipment
Weaknesses: can be a pain to get your dwell correct....see review
Review: Well I picked up this valve in January of this year in my attempt to build the ultimate LP marker. I had heard great things about it and I must say, I was not disappointed. After checking their website, I had a good idea of how to put it in fine. Tuning it however was not explained as well as it could have been, so I searched some forums. Here is what I found:

here is a posty from the kingman forum. It is a email from maddy @maddman talking about the tuning of a rocket valve! hope this helps.......... I am waiting on my valve to come in so let me know how it goes bro!!

""set valve dwell(gap) at maximum opening with the spring retainer plate "flush" or
even with the stem....start shooting gun and turning reg pressure
down til it won't recock.... then turn it up until it recocks consistently
every time WITHOUT paint...... then you can start making valve stem
shorter and turning it in and filing the valve stem as you go(so it doesn't stick
out past the spring retainer plate(srp) ..... once
you get to this point, it's a matter of what efficiency you want....lighter
components that seal well will allow you to go lower as will a lighter
hammer spring....make sure velocity adjuster is all the way out
so you use the lightest spring pressure to operate the gun.... start
turning srp in until velocity drops....this gives most efficiency at
lowest pressure, and this varies from marker to marker. hope this helps.
if you accidentally file the stem too short, that's what the rebuild kit is
for as it has a spare valve stem /nosecone seal , o ring and spring retainer
plate.

Thanks for writing!

Maddy""


__________________

so basically in this mail you put in the valve and find the LOWEST pressure it recocks at and then use the dwell time (screwing in the SRP) to get your FPS up!

I found this to be a great explaination of how to tune it. I would recommend to anyone who purchases this valve to buy the rebuild kit at the same time. You may need it in the future. So after tuning it, which takes a good deal of time to get max efficency, I shot it. My operating pressure was @ 350 psi, and I was way over the 300 fps mark. I actually had to change to a super light main spring, and lower the pressure to 290 - 300 psi to get my fps at about 285. I am now getting near 700 shots off my 47 ci tank, and a very smooth shooting marker. With this valve in combination with my other parts, I have a deviation of +/- 3 fps. This is a well made product. The only downside is it can take awhile to get to you if you order directly through Maddman.
Conclusion: Great product, does what it advertises!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 11th, 2004 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Prospekt Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Valve
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant (green)
Palmers Stabilizer
Crossfire nitro
Bandit Bolt
Revy
Shocktech Pocket Rocket w/ adapter
Shocktech clamp feedneck
Q. Discs
Mod Trigger + VA
Empire barrel kit
DYE Sticky
Maddman Rocket valve
15* Assault block
Strengths: -Looks cool
-Real high-flow
- No more valve spring
Weaknesses: -Lot of setup time needed
Review: Well I've purchased the valve from the maddmanproducts.com website..and it seemed a bit sketchy at first, especially when I was buying. There wasn't any shipping info or order statuses like a normal company would do. So I emailed the company and ended up reaching the CEO asking for some more info..he said he'd be sending it out on friday (it's wednesday) and it'll probably be here in 10 days. He replied the same day, which was impressive.

I'd give him a 10/10 for customer service, and I haven't even got the valve yet. I'll edit this once I've recieved it and set it up.

***************UPDATE (May 12th, 2006)*********************

I recieved the valve, about 14 days after I ordered. Not bad, I've seen worse for shipping and other people here never got it for months?

OK.. so here we go.
I popped this sucker in, I bought the rebuild kit because I want this to last as long as the marker, and since I have bad luck with these things I decided to blow another 10 bucks as a precaution. The package arrived in a padded envelope enclosed in a sealed bag, much like Palmers Pursuit stuff comes in.

It went in pretty well, (good start) but it was a tight squeeze as most valves are (Yes, I oiled the o-ring). I forgot to align the holes properly so I ended up taking it out again - and I noticed that my gun was scratching the o-ring. Not a good thing, since I knew I'd be pulling it in and out to adjust it to what I wanted.
I attached the tank after rebuilding the gun - BAM all my air was gone. Woops, I had put the valve in without tightening the little plastic part, so the valve wasn't tight enough to seal itself properly. (Told you I had bad luck with these things). So, if you're going to buy this valve, don't do what I did and be hasty about things.

Allright, so I tightened it, got everything back together, and test blew into the hose just to see if the valve was sealing. Things were in good shape, fortunately no air was going through. I had a backup CO2 tank, so I screwed that on and it sealed well. I took a few shots and began slowly lowering my reg, which proved its toughness when I walked it a bit for fun. (See Palmers Male Stabilizer - good buy if you're looking for a good reg). The reg was about frozen solid but no snow was coming from the barrel, what a rockin' regulator.

I was able to lower the pressure from 400 (with the regular valve) to 350. Didn't work too well for me, especially considering the fact that I have upgraded everything else on my gun necessary for an LP setup. And for the high price that I paid. However, I was using C02, and tomorrow when I fill up my air tank I'll try it again and update this. Stay tuned for next time folks!

Current rating: 7

********************UPDATE JUNE 16th 2006***********************

So, still having trouble with this sucker. I've bought myself a new bolt, apparently the Kingman ACS is no good for LP, so I now have a new Bandit Bolt. I've also bought a 15 degree assault block from check-it, still waiting for that one. I'm about to go test things out with the new bolt, I'll tell you how things go.



********************UPDATE Sept 10th 2006******************************

Ok, so two months later, have finally tracked down my 15* Assault block. Couldn't get the black one so I decided to give in and take nickel after all that waiting. It's a nice product, check my review on it after you read this one, lol.

It seems as though the Bandit Bolt and the 15* Assault block solved my problem. With the valve set on fully open, I can drop my pressure to below 250 and still recock. The valve is a lot quieter and smoother sounding as well, it doesn't 'ping' like regualar cup seal valves.

Word of advice - DO NOT GO ABOVE 450 PSI
- I did this and the cone seal was pushed against the valve body so hard that it became grooved, and no longer sealed properly. Good thing I had the rebuild kit.


I've got my pressure where I want it, so now I have to go to a paintball field and file down the SRP until it refuses to recock - that'll get me to my maximum efficiency.


Conclusion: If you're not willing to take apart your gun many times to tweak this valve, don't buy.

If you like to tinker and gain maximum performance from your marker, do buy this, it works really well. Get the rebuild kit with it, you may have to use it.

9/10 - Because you can't just throw it in and play right away.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder freek Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other non lp valves....stock modiied, 32*, Omega
Marker Setup: spyder victor body
cp 1 piece barrel
ans feedneck
black raised sightrail
supafly bolt
DH Ti hammer
Rocket valve
Assault block w/ guage
Torpedo reg
Phsyco drop
emarkerframe ipi 2.0
dye stickies
50gram switch
sweetspot
Nitro tank 72ci
empire reloader
To come:T-board, Eggy II, Eyes w/ covers
Strengths: Does everything it says it will
Weaknesses: does have to be adjusted to fit your gun
Slow to ship
Review: It took a month (and no im not exagerateing) to get my valve,it didnt matter, because i spent my pb money for the month on this and a regulator. When it got here i was very impressed, the directions on their site were very easy to follow and were very accurate. Instalation was simmple, drops right it. But getting your gun to run with it is a little challengeing.

First you have to turn your pressure down to about 100 and then add pressure of about 15psi and fire, repeat till it cocks (with out paint) then turn the srp down to lower your velocity. with paint i was able to shoot my gun at 125psi and 245fps....not useable but cool just the same. I recomend putting a ti hammer in with your lp setup to maxximize shot per tank. i have a 72ci 3k tank stock i got 650 shots, now i get 1300shots per fill and i have a O.p. of 230psi @ 280fps
Conclusion: This was one of the best investments, io gained shots per tank, it quited my gun down, and with a ti hammer it drasticly reduces kick, now at high rates of fire my accuracy is better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modified Stock valve
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
CIP Assault block
BL minigauge
Palmers Stab
Maddman Rocket valve
CP flame drop
ESP frame
Dye E-stickies
APM Rear cocking tigershark bolt
Modded Trigger To Blade
Strengths: single piece
high flowing
effective cupseal
very good for LP
Weaknesses: Learning curve for effective use
Review: I got this when i wanted to complete my LP setup. It is possibly the best up i have put on there. I was able to lower my psi on my gun and keep the fps. Now my gun has very very little kikback and its easy to put your va back on because the valve springdoesnt rest on it. I aslo liked the cone cup seal. Has some issues sealing at low pressures though. I have yet to tinker with it to get it working to its full potential, but ill do it soon.
Conclusion: Very good overall. A must have for LP setups. Got mine used for $25, which isnt too bad. On ebay they are new for $32.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 4:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

customspyderamg Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock
modded stock
Marker Setup: Dragun T1
QEV
Bandit Bolt
Sly 14" Carbon Barrel
Shocktech Drop
CP ON/OFF
AA Vigilante Reg
REX FeedNeck
EGG2 w/ Zboard
Strengths: High flow
Size/weight
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I bought mine on ebay used for a little less than a new one which is the best way to go. Since it was used it was setup already. Over all it performed very well, it made my AMG very consistent and helped with the LP. Since I cut mine for a V/A, I had to go with a valve with the spring on the back which I don't regret. It is now in my imagine and still works great. I haven't had any problems so I don't now about customer service but I am sure it is good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who wants the best valve for Lp but if you are just looking for a cheap upgrade, this isn't one. Other than that it workes well.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slobber Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Valve
Marker Setup: Sonix
AIM Inline Shock Regulator
Maddman Spyder Spring Kit
12 volt rev
Remote
HPA/Co2
Strengths: High flow
Adjustable
Weaknesses: Need Lock tite
No directions in package
Poor directions on website
Difficult to adjust.
Review: *The cone on the valve I received was not correctly shaped and caused an air leak. *Instead of paying for a repair kit I fixed the problem my self.
*The valve had no directions with it.
*Website directions are not the best and are unclear at times.
*You have to put lock tite on the valve stem.
*Adjusting valve take a lot of work because you have to take your gun almost completely apart to get it in and out to adjust it.
Conclusion: If you like tinkering with your paintball gun then this is a great product. It did lower the operating pressure of my gun so it does what it says it should. I give it an 8 because it did not work when I got it and because it had no directions with it. Not to mention the ones on the website seem to be thrown together and not with that much thought. It seems they would finish it and then be like, add this in to. So it seems very ADD.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 15th, 2007 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imhotep29897 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve (which was actually pretty good)
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2
Rocket valve
Assault block
Dye mini gauge
Shocktech regulator
WGP black magic drop forward
Viewloader revolution w/ x-board
Crossfire 45/4500
Empire 3pc Barrel kit
Strengths: Adjustable, lets you get a really low pressure
Hard to find (check ebay)
Weaknesses: Have to loc-tite the little nut to hold it together
Review: I got this because i wanted to make my gun an even lower pressure than it already was (around 350), so i put it in (after loc-titing the nut ), gassed it up, and started loweringmy pressure.I got my pressure down to about 300 on my mokal (at the time i didnt have an assault block).
Conclusion: If you can find it, get it (they usually go for about $30 new)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shunut Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
Marker Setup: Spyder TLX, Bob Long VA w/LPC, Torpedo Reg w/ 700psi Kapp Gauge, CP Razor Drop, CP On/Off ASA, Kapp Super Macroline, Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt, ESP Trigger Frame w/50g switch, T Boarded w/eyes, Bob Long Eye Covers, Custom "comcast" Delrin Trigger, DH Titanium Striker (Otterized Version), Dye Stickies, Maddman Rocket Valve and Spring Kit, Hybrid Feedneck, 14" Dye Aluminum Barrel, Running at 250psi
Strengths: Lowers your operating pressure 200-300 psi alone.
Weaknesses: You have to adjust the valve pin size which is time consuming
Review: Overall this is an awesome valve. I'm running at 250psi and I just added a DH Titanium Striker, which should probably drop the operating pressure a couple PSI. It is a pain to size the valve pin, and I do recommend getting the rebuild kit when you buy it. But if you are patient everything will work out fine.
Conclusion: Great valve, I haven't tried any other valves but I don't think any of them can compare.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Valve
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Strengths: -Helps Achive a lower operating pressure
Weaknesses: -Can be difficult to adjust
Review: If your planin on going low pressure this is the valve for you.Once i got my hands on this valve i was shockes as to how small it was compared to the stock valve. It does not use regular valve springs, i t has it own unique type of spring and the spring is alos self contained. other valvesclose when the spcing hits the VA this one does not.Once you have set up this valve it will work like a dream. A regulator should be on hand to adjust the pressure accordingly. this valve should not be used with a pressure above 500psi. I would also recomend having a re-builed kit on hand because very few retailers will have the re-builed kit for a maddman valve.
Conclusion: Great valve
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikau Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock valves, modified stock valves, turbo valves
Strengths: VERY high flowing
Weaknesses: No problems as of yet... will take a while to get new parts when needed.
Review: This valve is wonderful for anyone who wants to go LP, and wants to do it right the first time. I read the test results for this product and had to have one... finding one was a bit of a problem, but I spotted one on ebay, so $30 and a week later I had my valve. I already had a good regulator (its important to get one that wont leak up pressure, or you could blow out the valve), so I was ready to install. When I bought the valve, there were no instructions, so I had to learn to grind and file the valve pin the hard way. The easy way to set the valve is to compare it to your old valve. Set all your internals out on the table and simulate the way it works. Get the valve to open longest you can while having it line up with the bolt, otherwise the valve will open when the bolt isnt ready, and it wont fire properly. Then just grind it down, and file it to a flat seat, flush with the plastic. See? Not so bad, and the results will be worth it!
Conclusion: If you are going LP, dont be cheap and spend the extra time and money to get the right valve first. It might take time to get this, but you dont have to have LP now... Gather your parts, but order this first. It will more than likely take some time to get and install. I'll give it a 10, because even though it takes work to prepare for installation, it is the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media