paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel 4 Fly / WDP Angel 4 Fly / WDP Angel 4 Fly / WDP Angel 4 Fly

WDP Angel 4 Fly Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel 4 Fly

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel 4 Fly
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Angel-Eyes - A dynamic pro-active operation that constantly self-adjusts to the feed rate of your loader, to guarantee a no-chop operation.
Due to the Fly’s rechargeable Metal Hydride power supply the Angel-Eyes break-beam is so powerful it can sometimes be seen with the naked eye. It will see through paint, grease, dirt and debris. No other eye system can match the Angels EyeQ. Only the finest optical components have been used, to ensure Angel quality. A profiled flexible polymer cover prevents damage from paint or impact.

The Powerful Angel-Eyes system is controlled by the new Fly Board, the fastest, most intelligent and user friendly board ever devised, with achievable fire rates up to 31bps*
*Governed only by loading system.

This new technology is packed tightly into the smallest, lightest Angel ever.

Fact - The Fly can cycle and fire paintballs faster than any other paintball marker.
There are 2 reasons for this.
Fact - Due to its design, the Angel has a shorter firing Cycle time than any other paintball marker.
Fact - EyeQ works differently to other eye systems. There is no fixed ‘delay’ built into the cycle time. EyeQ uses new technology to replace the traditional delay used by all other eye systems, further increasing rate of fire.


Also included

'Laid Back’ Slayer trigger
6 modes of fire
14” Infinity Barrel
Modified Anti-JamTwin Anti-Double-Balls
Custom Fly Back-plate.
20 De-bounce settings for Xtreme fire rates (where permitted)
Ultra Safe Store Demonstration Mode – The Fly will dry-fire at an insane rate, to offer the store customer a true reflection of its awesome firepower, but will not fire if a ball is present.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel 4 Fly is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SuddenStrikPBSu Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4, DM4, Matrix
Marker Setup: Angel 4 fly with: armageddon 45 45, full freak kit, Q-loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't like the barrel that came with the fly, but I already had a freak that I put on it
Strengths: Weight, trigger, speed, LCD, low rise/twist lock, the new eye.
Weaknesses: no more pressure gauge
Review: The angel 4 fly is by far the best angel WDP has put out. Before I had the fly I owned a angel 4, and the only reason I sold that was because I own my own paintball company. So to start out, if you already own a angel 4 it is not worth buying the fly. Performance wise there really isn't a difference. What I do like about the fly is the new eye. It works much better then the sensi. You know longer have those gaps when you are shooting. Also the new slayer trigger on the fly is a much better trigger then what comes on the 4. It's lighter and longer, and you don't have as much side to side movement with the slayer trigger. The fly is also a little lighter then the 4, not much but WDP has done more milling to lose more weight. The speed on the fly is pretty much the same as the 4. The only difference that I have noticed is with the the new eye, since there is know longer any gaps. The new low rise was a great idea. It drops your top profile, and then with the q-loader on it, I only have 1.5" sticking up. The only thing I don't like is WDP got rid of the gauge that everyone was complaining about. It may not have looked great, but it served it's purpose. Now there is know gauge on the fly so I have know idea what my pressure going out of the reg is. But other then that the fly is a great marker.
Conclusion: People are alwasy asking what is the best marker made. Before I always told them it's preference. But now I tell them the new angels. WDP haver really out done them selfs. With the new angel 4 and fly. These markers shoot strings of paint, at incredibly low pressure, with out copping, and are just as accurate as an autococker, maybe evern more. If you have the money and you really want the best marker out there buy an angel 4 or Fly. It won't let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 10:27 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Nascar Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4
Angel IR3
SP Strange Vision
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
68 CI, 4500 PSI Crossfire tank
Halo belt feed hopper
Stiffi barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper
Low pressure N2 system
Barrel (if you want to)
Strengths: Speed
Reliability
Gas usage
Weaknesses: Price
Looks
Review: Finally got to see, touch, hold, and use the new Angel. I used it for about half an hour to 45 minutes and I loved it. It performed well, was very gas efficient, did not chop a single ball out of about 1000. The user interface is friendly and easy to learn, and man this gun is light, even when loaded up with the tank and full electric hopper. The price could stand to be a bit less and it probably will be when the next "perfect gun" comes out, and lets face it this thing looks like a square. The milling could have used some touching up, for the price you pay, you should get a unique gun, but admit it, there are better looking guns out there.
Conclusion: All in all it is a very nice gun, could look better, could be cheaper, will it make you a better player? Nope, (Unless you are going from a Brass Eagle to Angel there are other guns that are cheaper and will break a ball on someone just as accuratly and reliably, not as quickly however, and eventually there will be a better gun, how long does technology stay new in todays world? Not very long.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Bomberoo Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Loads of Angels
Nexus 'cockers
Trix's
Most top end markers.
Marker Setup: Black A4 Fly
Freak barrel
Angel A.I.R 1.1ltr
Egg 2 with z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not a great deal, I pref' a longer barrel.
I need a faster loader
Strengths: Accuracy, Rate of fire, The eye system
Weaknesses: Breach lock pin comes lose.
Review: I had my eye on the A4 fly when it came out, but waited a couple of months for any problems to develop. Then I had the chance to try one, came home & placed the order. I am owned.
Out of the box & assembled with air, this marker is fast. Once you have setup the trigger, it takes on a new life. I hit 24 bps without much practice (with paint).
It also runs at quite a low pressure, once you have run it in, you will be able to drop it more.
I think that paint breakage is becoming a thing of the past, I have put about 25,000 shots on the counter. Most of which have been very fragile paint (Celtic split shell), and have maybe broke 3-4 on the bolt.
The milling is second to none, & it is shown by the overall weight. Even with my angel air, it still is well within acceptable limits.
The only thing that I would advise any owner to do would be to keep a check on the front breech pin. Over a period of time mine became a little lose, but was sorted with a little dab of blue locktight.
Gas consumption is minimal for such a large volume. I have been getting 1500 shots from a 1.1 ltr (68ci) 4500 fill with ease.
If you are using an Egg 2 on the fly, DON'T chop the feed neck. They seem a little temperamental about the stack. Don't be tempted.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy this marker, if you are a little short on cash, save some more. You get all that you pay for, possibly more. With such a large network of tech's, & spares available, you will be hard pressed to get a better deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zipper Matrix Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANGEL Full Line
Matrix/DM4
Shocker
Timmy
etc; everything
Marker Setup: WDP Angel Fly A4 Red
HALO-B Z-Code
JT Avalanche Pro Barrel
Impact Fly Trigger
PMI 72/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Amazing as is stock, but still to perfect its performance:

-New barrel. I suggest JT Avalanche or Dye UL
-HALO-B with either Z-Code or V35. You wont chop even with a gravity fed hopper b/c it has eyes, but you'll need it to keep up with your fingers.
-Impact Fly Trigger. Not needed, but I think it feel great and its crazy fast.
-LOW PRESSURE n2 tank. It's a low pressure operating gun, and should be accompanied by a LP tank.
Strengths: Super Fast, NEVER chops, Super light, accurate, great trajectory, compact, LP operation.
Weaknesses: None! really i cant think of anything.
Review: Man this thing is crazy. If you've never seen one shoot, check out www.wdp.tv/fly for a video. The first time i ever shot it, it was on demo mode....and all I had to do was THINK about touching the trigger an it was ripping at 31. You can ask Jim at Impact....I was in shock for about 5 minutes I couldnt even talk or stop smiling. I wouldnt let go of it! Yeah, maybe its a little heavy on the wallet for some....but its all worth it. I really can't find too much i dont like about it. Actually I cant find anything, except maybe it could come with a wall charger, too....some people dont like just the car charger. Like I listed in the strengths area.....its insane. I was completely hardcore Matrix before this....but now the Fly A4 is basically on the same level as Trixes for me.
Conclusion: Perfect 10. Anyone who says nothing deserves a 10 cause nothing is perfect....just shutup cause this thing is pretty damn close. If you can get your hands on one, do it! You wont regret it!

DAVE
[[[ Impact Factory ]]] -captain-
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stnick80 Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4
Smart Parts Vision Impulse
Marker Setup: Graphite Angel 4 Fly
CP Razor Drop with On/Off ASA
Nitroduck X-stream 68/4500
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel maybe. Stock is good but bore sizing is a pluse.
Powerlyte Scepter
Dye Ultralight
Strengths: Weight, Speed, Reliability, Quality. Did I mention speed?
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the best gun I have ever shot. They come ready to rip to right out of the box. Just hook up some air and a loader. You can adjust the bounce and trigger set up to have it ripping even faster. I always get compliments on the gun. Alot of people say its the fastest gun they have ever seen. 27000 cycles on the gun and not a single chop yet. The eye system is second to none! When I bought this gun I was looking at the DM4 and the Alias Timmy as well. Now that I own the Fly, I am happy with my choice and will never look back. If you are looking into a high end marker, do yourself a favor and get the Fly.
Conclusion: Weight, Speed, Reliability, Quality are second to none. Get one, you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

infinitypb Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Storm Intimidator (completely hopped up), System X Autococker with E Grip, Tippman A5 with Flatline. Only the Intimidator is in the same league, but not as accurate.
Marker Setup: Marker is basically stock. It requires low pressure input and a faster hopper, so I have a Halo B hopper and a Dynaflow adjustable 68 4500 tank with the output pressure set to 400 psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm not sure what you would need to do to the gun. Most would say new barrel, but I tried my freak kit, and quite frankly the stock barrel was more accurate with the Draxxus Paint I used. I've ordered a Battlestick, so I'm anxious to see how it does, but the stock barrel is excellent. Aside from a good hopper and a highflow adjustable HPA tank, I'd say you don't have to buy anything. That's great as far a I'm concerned, as I have invested hundreds of dollars in upgrades to try to make my timmy as accurate as this thing is right out of the box.
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Weight
Weaknesses: None so far. I don't have the trigger down yet....Yet.
Review: I purchased my Fly on Tuesday of this week and finally played with it today. I am extremely impressed with the accuracy. I love my Timmy, but it simply is not in the same league as the Fly on accuracy. I'm still not used to the vertical grip frame and trigger, so I'm not quite as fast as my timmy, but it's more than capable of firing as fast. I put about 1250 paintballs through it today, and about another 600 in my back yard during the week, and I've not had any issues with ball breaks (not one yet anyway). I just couldn't believe the accuray. I have a fence post about 75 feet off my back porch and with my timmy I can fire 20 balls at it and about 15 to 18 will hit with my freak kit size correctly and with good paint (the post is 3.5 inches wide). With the Angel, I can't remember missing the post. I'm sure I did, but it didn't look like it. Each ball seemed to hit right in the same spot...ball after ball. My friend that played with me today has a DM4, and when he couldn't get a ball through a tight spot, we would switch and I could get the guy that he couldn't. He was amazed as well. I'm sure there are other great and accurate guns out there, but I've not fired one. Somebody kidded me about having a timmy and then buying an Angel..saying that was backwards from what most do. After using the Fly, I'm not sure that's true anymore. Also, the Fly is so darn light. It's much easier to snap shoot with it versus my timmy.
Conclusion: 10+ out of 10. If you can afford the price tag, get one. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Vinny3299 Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP KARNIVOR, all angel models, and timmy's
Marker Setup: Stock with a 68/4500 low pressure tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
MUST GO LOW PRESSURE< POSSIBLY A BARREL KIT
Strengths: VERY fast, i was shocked to see it move like it did and little kick
Weaknesses: like they say its only an angel,
Review: but has their own eye's and be the strongest out there is impressive, thats a strength if you ask me. very light weight, and did i say little to no kick on the marker very nice, simple milling job on it which is cool, great color options, and i like the setup of the eyes not look ghetto when ACED etc... in the TOP 5 MARKER AREA.

OH YEAH BY THE WAY DID I MENTION ONE TOURNAMENT I WENT THROUGH THREE CASES OF PAINT AND I HAD NO CHOPS OR BREAKS, AND IT WAS FLYING. I GOT MYSELF MROF UP TO 20BPS SO IT WAS GOING GREAT BEST GUN OUT ON THE MARKET TODAY.
Conclusion: Great bang for your buck, finally angel got their stuff together and got eyes on their guns to ensure little to no ball chops, it can easily outshoot a halo hopper, for the price you can get the WGP karnivor with lifetime warrenty and 8 piece barrel kit for this price..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 30th, 2004 at 2:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WDP-Pride Friday, August 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 lcd angel, ir3 angel, lots of e cockers, trixs, vikings, excals, dm4s, timmis, all the good gats
Marker Setup: white/black custom anno dm4.
tadoa chip
reloader b
72/4500 crossfire stubby

my gats pimps everyone
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, i shot one that had a freak on it and it was alright, get a ultralight or boomstick, freak is lame
Strengths: Fast,kinda light, looks pretty tight
Weaknesses: The milling is pretty borin, expensive
Review: This gat is pretty tight, i used to be a angel man, then i shot a dm4 and was done for. i shot this guys a4fly at the field and it was alright, i hit 29 bps. My dm4 is much faster. this board is set at 31 bps, my dm4 is unlimitied. Angels arnt the most accuturate guns either, they basically shoot fast and shoot alott of paint. I learnd this when i went from a e cocker to a angel. i loved my angel and i would buy a a4 fly, but not for 1600. this gun laces paint but its not very accurate, i mean ya u can shoot someone on a small hyperball field out from the 30 but i need more accuracy then that. this gun is wayyyy overpriced and i dont think its worth 1600, maybe like 1300 but not 1600. the gun is pretty light and good looking but the milling is plain and kinda boring. i do like the fly backplate. there arnt really any amazing colors that this gun comes in eiether. this gun is tight but wdp needs to keep up with dm4s and the new timmis. there slackin
Conclusion: if you have 1600 dollars laying around in your room waiting to be spent, u should get this gun. but if you dont have that just laying around get a matrix or a dm4 or a viking. much better gun for the price. vikings come with was and eyes and theyr only 1000, and much of a better gun. dm4s are 1350 and they are much better then a a4 fly. save urself the money and get a dm4. a4 fly is a good gun but overpriced and not worth the money. i wasnt amazed when i shot it like i was about a dm4. this is just my opinion so dont not buy this gun you were alrady looking to buy one. i like angel and i support them i just think that they overcharge on there prices. look at ALL your options before buying a new gun and make sure you try it out first. trust me saves u alot of money and trouble.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker
Vision Impulse
Various Angels/Timmies/e-cockers
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly, 03 Shocker, 2k2 Vision Impulse.


Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel, Super fast hopper(Halo-B, Reload B, Victory board Halo, Egg2 Z board)
Possibly a trigger if the stock one doesnt suit your needs.
Strengths: Speed
Efficiency
LCD Screen
Weaknesses: No manual(have to download from net)
Review: Ok first off, I would like to say this is possibly the greatest gun ever made. The gun comes boxed up real nice with Infinity barrel, charger, barrel condom, allen keys, a volumizer, Silica gel and some Love Juice. It also has macro and a fitting so all you need is a bottomline. The first thing I noticed when I held it was how solid, but light it felt. My Shocker feels lighter but the battery swishing around in the frame makes it seem like its instable, while the Angel felt like everything was made perfectly. I also noticed is when I turned it on, the gun wouldnt go into Live mode. Then I read the manual and it said to charge the gun for 4 hours before first use. Unfortunately my parents were at a hockey game so I couldnt charge that night. Boohoo. Lucky for me though the next day I took a 6 hour drive. I would like to add that the battery needs to be hit with a surge of power to begin charging. You need to flip the switch on and off a couple times till it says "charge". Anyways lets get to the advantages and disadvantages of the 4 Fly.

Advantages:
Speed: This gun has the legendary Angel speed, and then some. The first time I ever shot it, with Trigger Offset stock, I got 24 BPS! And I have slow fingers and wasnt used to the trigger! Even my dad with his clunky old fingers could get 20. And with paint, man this thing mows!

Efficiency: This gun is extremely air efficient, I will get an exact shot count soon.

LCD: The Fly was my first ever gun with an LCD screen. This one really impresses me. All these people talk about confusing LCD screens on Angels, but its SO simple. The buttons are straightforward!

Disadvantages:
Manual: The manual is awesome, but WDP should have thrown it in with the gun, not make you have to download it.
Conclusion: This gun is as close to perfect as I have ever seen a gun get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 11th, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

4skins23 Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2003 vf autococker with a dye excel 14" barrel,SYSTEM X DROP AND JAVA 68C.I. TANK, AIR AMERICA MESSIAH REG,ORRACLE 3-WAY VALVE, BLACK MAGIC LP REG, AND A .44 MAGNUM RAM.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a new barrel. Also, when selecting a drop forward I would choose a stilletto drop forward from Fireball Mountain.It angles your your tank up to drop your gun down.Lokks great....
Strengths: Super fast, much lighter than my Autococker, just as accurate.
Weaknesses: Price. Stock barrel.
Review: I love my Angel. I received it as a gift. Normally I shoot my Autococker.This is much lighter than my Autococker. Much faster than my Autococker and much tighter than my Autococker.I've shot over a case of paint through it and had no chops.Although I have had some barrel breaks.The stock barrel does not clear breaks at all. Now my barrel does come loose, so I'm wondering if it should have an o-ring on the barrel?Mine does not.I bought my gun for $1250 and it came with an Evil pipe kit, and evo. hopper.So the price isn't too bad I figure overall it was about $1000 for the gun alone.Overall $1000 guns, I can't find a better gun I'd rather have. I have always liked Angels, from day 1 , now I have one. Accuracy is just as good as my Autococker. Reliability is far superior!!!!!!Now instead of working on my gun, I can just play .


EDITED 03-18-07: Wow, After like 2 years now of still using this marker, it has yet to let me down. I love it as much now as the 1 st day I received it. Yes, I still have it. Almost stock still too. My excuse is why upgrade perfection?
Any way, I would like to do a little better with this review as the older top part -sux. Always comparing it to my old cocker.
Rate of fire is phenominal! Weight is not an issue, it is lite while not the lightest on the market nowadays. I do recommend upgrading the barrel. I do sometimes use the stock; it is ok. It has never broken and let me down. I have never had to use a back-up gun since I have owned this. Only thing I have changed are the usuals; barrel,feedneck and of corse it doesn't come with an asa / drop.
I now use an all-american barrel or I do have a phat barrel kit, ccm feedneck, and I use a new designs asa.
I now must mention some downfalls of this marker (to keep everyone happy). Availability of parts,upgrades, knowledge of the operation and all the "you traitor,you must buy American" Angel haters. You know, the guys that say you should buy American markers and then go drive their Hondas or Toyotas away????
" FLY OR DIE BABY, FLY OR DIE!!!"

"LOVE THY ANGEL"
Conclusion: I highly recommend this to anyone that can afford it and is into tournaments.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 7:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media