paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Maxis EG / Viewloader Maxis EG / Viewloader Maxis EG / Viewloader Maxis EG

Viewloader Maxis EG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Maxis EG

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Maxis EG
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

Industry standard fittings
Electronic grip frame
Low pressure operation
Custom top cocking bolt
Stainless steel quick strip bolt pin
Cradle drop forward
Regulator with pressure gague
Volumizer
Vertical air adapter
Custom 12 in. two tone barrel
Blade style double finger trigger
Removable threaded feed port adapter
Custom smoke gel foregrip and grip panels
Flexible durable ball stop
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Maxis EG is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Xelnaga Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ehhh alot?
Marker Setup: VL Maxis EG, 12 volt revvy, 20 oz co2, its lightwate
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hoppper for sure, FOR SURE
Strengths: Speed, speed speed, accuracy, feild strips quick, light weight
Weaknesses: Drop forward can piss u off a bit, nothing else makes me mad
Review: What can you say? its FAST
Its ACCURATE
its MEAN
I am impressed
I was on a budget you know i wanted an electronic gun for under 200 bucks
it was this or the e99 ... semi automatic can fire faster than automatic so forget teh other stuff.
You know everything on this gun makes it one sweet ride.
Conclusion: I like it, for the price nothing is better
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

ooinsaneoo Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine Select 9, Tippmann 98 (reg), Tippmann A-5 (Sniper Barrel), Spider Rodeo, VL-MAXIS R/G and...
Marker Setup: VL - Maxes EG + 20 Oz Co2 w/ remote (sometimes) + All American Back / Freak front + VL Evo II loader,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is fine, if you suck at shooting ... you suck at shooting. I upgraded mine because of the looks. The Evo Loader is a must cause this gun is fast. delron bolt is not needed but if you feel like it...
Strengths: You are not going to get a better gun for this price.
Weaknesses: The connection between the hopper and the gun is not very well made..
Review: Overall The gun is decent. I'm not going to get all excited and give it a 10 because it has many flaws.

The gun itself is kinda heavy and the grip is not very comfortable, drop forward is also a little big (but for somepeople thats a +).

Heres why Its Good:

1. Cost... Beginners: chances are you are going to break your gun. I have seen many beginners try to go out with high maintenance guns and after the game, they toss their guns aside. This is a great gun to practice taking guns apart because it has a field strip pin.

2. The gun has awsome quality for its price. Any gun under 250 is considered a low end model. I can't name one gun under 250 that performs better than this without upgrades. The downsides of this gun is that it is heavier than most, but we can all fix that problem by working out a little bit more.

3. 14 BPS ... is faster than some automatics out there.

UPDATE!!!!!!

I just bought a low rise adapter for the hopper and now the gun is no complaints.... Still not changing my rating for the gun tho cause it should come standard with the low rise instead of me having to buy it.

The MAXIS Standard SHOOTS AT 7 BPS. WITH THE UPGRADED E-GRIP it can shoot at 14...

And for those of you gripers... I pretty sure Pro Team knows how to make a decent gun.

Also Anyone who rates a gun on based on an instructions manual rather than using the gun is not worth listening to. I have used this gun and It will shoot close to 14. I don't know what further proof anyone needs than a person who actually shot this gun. Also my opinion is fair because my favorite low end marker is actually the Tippman A-5 R/G so I'm not really showing any perference to this gun, just trying to dispell the lies.
Conclusion: Awsome gun for beginners.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 17th, 2005 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Gyzmo Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: VL maxis e/g, Evo II hopper, Flatline air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (stock one is not bad but just ok)
Strengths: Easy to clean
Doesn't chop paint
Light weight
electric triger
Cheap
Weaknesses: Grip needs work
Review: Decent gun if your on a budget and want an electric trigger. The grip is comfortable but gets really slippery if you take splatter to the hands. The quality of the internal parts is average. Super easy to maintain and repair (spider threads brass eagle o-rings). The one pin field strip is awesome if you chop or hang paint in the breach. I have run 5 cases though so far and have only chopped 1 ball ( and that was from trying to fire way to fast). Capable of 16+ rounds per second if you have really quick fingers ( you might need an electric hopper). The stock barrel is not bad but not great. I would suggest getting a teardrop or a terminator for the budget minded upgrade.

Great budget gun.


*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*UPDATE*

After using this gun for 3 months and running about 20 cases of paint through I would say the gun has performed nicely. There is wear to the aluminum bolt but the receiver body is in excellent shape. Although I have replaced the o-rings once the gun has never leaked. I ditched the inline regulator for a gas through grip since I went to a nitro air system with an adjustable regulator. The marker seems to run much better on nitro as do most. The battery life is most excellent only having to change it twice (20 cases of paint). The only thing that has broken on the gun is the ball detent cover but it was my fault. It is plastic and I over tightened the screw and it split. vL sent me a new one but it took some time to get here (probably cause they sent it for free). The striker spring has been replaced with a new stiffer one because I could not quite get the fps up to 300.

Over all I have be very satisfied with this marker.
Conclusion: Good electric budget gun. Great for beginners or folks with not a lot of jack to spend (like me). Can be had for 130-150 beans.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 28th, 2004 at 3:26 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years14 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many spyders, and clones
Some high end guns not really similar
Marker Setup: 2002 autococker belsales 3-way, shocktech ram, palm stab, dye trig and grip, dye barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmmm, i only still use the trigger frame, drop and reg, but they aren't that great either
Strengths: It has serval features for its price, thats why we got it
Weaknesses: Only shoot 7 shots per second
Not spyder clone
Review: Read my review before you beginners go and say it's "not helpful" based on the rating. Just because you think the gun is awesome because you own it doesn't mean everyone else has to like the gun. I gave it a fair rating and wrote a good descriptive review, far more informative than most reviews about this gun.

My brother wanted to start playing paintball. He got this gun, despite me saying I didn't really trust it, because it had an electronic frame, reg, drop, nice feedneck, top cocking and was kinda cool looking.

His second time to clean the gun he lost the spring guide in the back(his fault I know)but by that point I had already replaced half the o-rings in the gun. Finding a new guide wouldn't have been such a problem but its not the same as the spyder ones. In fact the springs, bolts, valve spring, are not the same as spyders. The only thing it has in common with a spyder is its barrel thread, and that its a stacked over blow-back. Well the gun wouldn't fire or re-cock without that guide, so i tried to make a new one but I didn't know how long to make it. The spring may be bad by this point but I can't get a new one for it. It's not the same as a spyder. Have you ever seen a spring kit for a viewloader? I haven't and I won't waste the money. I tried over and over to get the gun working but finely bought a new spyder clone gun, and threw the bottom line from this gun on the new one. I won't go into the details of all the problems I had with that but it wasn't an easy switch.

There are no upgrades for this gun either, because again, it's not a spyder clone. The trigger frames aren't even the same, they're close, but take some mods to get them to work on each other. That's why spyder has become an industry standard, so that things are compatible. This gun failed to follow that so you can't upgrade or buy parts for it.

Also it says it had an electronic trigger frame. Why boys and girls do we want electronic trigger frames? ROF. That's right we want to shoot faster. So what good is an electronic trigger frame that has a pull nearly as hard and long as a mech frame, and that is limited to 7 shots a second? Its no good, and it requires batteries. The box didn't say it was limited to 7 shots a second. Its pointless. I could go on but you get the idea.

Now some people are trying to claim it can shoot faster, these are beginners who have never been on the barrel end of a timmy. If you think it shoots faster, its in your head. 7bps is faster than most think, but 14 is pretty much blazing for most rookies. Few player can shoot faster than that with any gun for more than a short burst.

The gun might still work if my brother didn't loose that part (or it might not) but even if it did still work I would have replaced every o-ring in it and I couldn't put any upgrades on it nor could I find replacement parts.

UPDATE: I have posted a picture of the manual that proves once and for all in plain English the cap on the marker with the electronic trigger. Anyone still arguing this gun shoots over 7bps doesn't have any bearing on bps and didn't read the manual.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, I want to return it. If you want it buy the mech version, as dumb as it sounds you can probably shoot it faster. It does have a lot of nice features, but you can't upgrade anything but the reg. So if it catches your eye, turn away and buy a spyder or something compatible with one. I suggest the imagine if you want a fast gun, or a rodeo if you want an accurate one. Both of them can be seriously upgraded and are about $50 cheaper. Piranha has nice stuff too.

ACTUALLY READ THE REVIEW THEN MARK HELPFUL FOR THE CONTENT AND NOT THE RATING
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 6:10 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballEvans Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99, piranha ext pro, rebel btb
Marker Setup: New VL Maxis Eg, 14" dye ultra light, 12volt revi, 16oz co2, standard asa no drop forward, palmers stabalizer w/gauge, macro line, dagar trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, electronic hopper is a must, maybe new drop forward.
Strengths: very fast!!! 12-14bps, easly field striped for cleaning, good looks.
Weaknesses: bad stock barrel but who doesn't replace stock barrels.
Review: I love this gun it has very nice grips on the frame and the frame is very nice similar in quality of the piranha e-force frame or the spyder sprint. there is many upgrades the hose is actually normal thread size. I once had a Avenger and I went to put a drop forward on it and found I couldn't without using the standard asa because of the hose thread size. This makes it much easier to upgrade. The gun is very solid and at the same time light weight, the bolt is good quality and is easily taken out of the gun for cleaning. the velocity adjust is a normal rear velocity with no external knob which I like because I always lost my little set screw on my piranha which made the gun un usable for tournaments.
Conclusion: Great gun same quality as a spyder in the same price range but it comes with much more than most the spyders or piranhas I give it a 10 because it totaly impresses me that VL steped it up and produced a mid-high level marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 22nd, 2004 at 1:55 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

spydercrazy343 Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II (Upgraded), Spyder Rodeo, Spyder Classic pretty much the usual...
Marker Setup: Stock...the gas tank..regular hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, electronic hopper, n2
Strengths: Shoots fast..shoots hard....looks...feel...weight..accuracy....electronic trigger is fast...
Weaknesses: I really haven't run into any problems with the gun it is very solid
Review: This is a great gun..i half expected it to be this good...it is made my viewloader. They did very well on this hunk. And i think it is definitely up there with the 300 dollar guns. Great if you're an intermediate with no cash..if you're like me money burns a whole in my pocket. This def. has good battery life and does NOT CHOP BALLS AT ALL!! This is def a good gun for viewloader.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you have the cash..you won't regret it at all!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scotty187u Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
orions & all kinds of different spyders
Marker Setup: Maxis E/G, Evo II, Teardrop Barrel, Dead On with on/off asa drop forward, 20 ounce co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper, possibly new barrel ....stock one shoots pretty good but i wanted something quieter, new drop forward ..stock one is kinda lame, compressed air
Strengths: Looks, no chopping, good on air, shoots fast for a 180$ gun, light, electric trigger
Weaknesses: Drop forward
Review: I bought this gun without knowing much about it and i have been pleased with its performance. Only problem I have had is the asa adapter stripped off of the dropfoward after a few weeks of use...upgraded to a aftermarket dropforward and havent had a problem since. I have shot probably 15,000 to 20,000 balls threw this gun so far and have only had 2 ball breaks which were due to me setting the regulator up the first day i got it. The stock barrel shoots pretty good but i would recommend upgrading to a teardrop barrel for ultimate accuracy and quietness. battery life on this gun has been awesome so far...i have yet to change the first battery :) Gun if very light and the electric trigger is nice to have. Co2 runs pretty good in the gun but for someone that likes to shoot lots of balls :) like me i would recommend upgrading to compressed air to really get this gun running at its best....
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun to anyone...good for a beginner gun to a intermediate player gun. With its electric trigger and regulator its a hard gun to beat in its price range...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 30th, 2004 at 8:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DslJ Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha's, Spyder's etc
Marker Setup: 2k1 Angel LCD + Angel Air
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Breaks down alot
Capped at 7bps
Big grip
Review: Ok, we bought 20 of these because we got a good price and the maxis eg seemed to be a good marker. That was a bad decision! So far, about 19 of them had an asa that fell off because of bad screws after a few days (which means u have to loctite it back or something), about 5 of the markers have constant problems and most of the time during practice goes to service. A few of them is also completely broken so we have to send them back to service.

Another thing that is bad is that they are capped to 7bps. It didn't say anything about that here, so i might as well write it down. It's stated in the manual, but it doesn't say anything when you buy it.

I would never buy this marker if i knew this from the start. I sold mine right away and got a used Angel LCD 01 instead and it's a giant step. I would strongly tell people not to buy this marker!

The good things about the marker is the price and the field strip pin... thats about it....
Conclusion: I would never buy something thats capped to 7 bps and needs service all the time!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

allevil669 Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Uh, well, lots.
Marker Setup: VL Maxis E/G, J&J 14" ceramic, Chipley reg, Cat5 limitless drop /w on/off, 20oz Co2 w/ anti siphon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward has got to go. Barrel (duh).
Strengths: Inexpensive. Better quality than most in it's class. Very accurate. Light and manuverable.
Weaknesses: Gripframe is non-standard and a little on the large side. BPS limited to 7.
Review: Well, I didn't have the money to spend on an actual electro-pneumatic so I looked into the electro-hybrids. Found this one on sale. Was suprised at it's performance. Although the BPS is capped at 7, I haven't encountered any times when this has been an issue. It's lightweight and easy to handle, has manageable recoil, and with the new barrel, accuracy is dead-on out to 18-20 meters. Maintance is a breeze also. I can't wait until ProTeam releases the delron bolt kit for it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good second marker and find one on sale, buy it. Well worth the investment. Hell, I'm going to use it in this months rec tourney.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Black HawkFMJ Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99, Piranhas, JT 3.5 E. They dont even come close
Marker Setup: VL Maxis EG, 14" Tear Drop Barrel, 12v revvy, 20 CO2
Comin soon- HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (stock is okay, but it never hurts to upgrade)
HPA
Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Good Looks
Lightweight
Cheap
Weaknesses: Capped off at 7 BPS
Drop Foward comes loose but easy fix
not many upgrades
Review: This is a great gun!!!!! Everything on it is quality made exept the drop foward. It's lightweight, fast, accurate, and looks great. You cant go wrong with that. I bought this gun because I was on a budget and needed something faster than my spyder. I shot over 5,000 rounds with it and broke only one ball. That was because I fanned it to see how fast it could shoot (not a good idea). The only real problem I had was the ASA on the drop foward. After shooting about 1,000 rounds it would move till it almost came off the drop foward. Other than that this gun is almost perfect. I bought it for only $140 and it was my best buy with my money so far. Maintanance is also real easy because of the quick strip pin.
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner. If you are looking for an electronic gun, this is the one to buy.
I'll give it a 10 because it's cheap for a mid level marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media