paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey O3 Electronic / Odyssey O3 Electronic / Odyssey O3 Electronic / Odyssey O3 Electronic

Odyssey O3 Electronic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey O3 Electronic

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey O3 Electronic
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
High Polished Anodizing | Pneumatic Air Ram | Custom 3D Milled Body | Low Pressure Operation |
Optic Sensor Eye | 20 BPS Preset | 30 BPS Programmable | M45 Frame with Wrap Around Grip |
Cocker Thread Barrel - 14" | Rear Cocking Bolt | LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Timer | Twist Clamp Feed Neck
| Hi-Flow Valve | Aluminum 3 Point Adjustable Trigger | NiMH Rechargable Battery system
Product Availability 
The Odyssey O3 Electronic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
marko_sotto Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun T.E.S
Dragun "The One"
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3- Shocktech reg, Halo B, Freak Barrel Kit, HPA

Backup- Tippman A-5, Flatline, modded LPK, E-Grip, JCS Blade Trigger, Palmers Stablilzer
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, fast hopper, new regulator, HPA
Strengths: SPEED!, great styling, upgradable software, nice milling, TINY!
Weaknesses:
Look below
Review: Here we have Odyssey's first run at producing a signature marker, the O3.

First Impressions:

Out of the box the O3 looks impressive. The anodizing is of high quality and the milling is tasteful. The marker feels comfortable in hand with rubber wrap around grips, and the LCD screen is backlit, showing that Odyssey decided to include features that prevented previous Dragun markers (TES and "The One") from truely being comparable with semi-luxury markers in the $500 and up class. This marker truely "feels" like it was made with more forethought than "The One." The body size is compact and light, without seeming cheap, and the quality of the stock barrel deserves a nod. Odyssey also chose to release the marker with a bottomline regulator setup. Knowing that in the past, Dragun released lackluster regulators with their markers, I had to at least test the recharge rate before upgrading, so I gassed this little bad boy up.....

Dry Firing:

WOW! After some adjustments to trigger, I was able to clock an easily sustainable string of 14BPS with mediocre finger speed. The grip features a rate of fire guage to accurately see what speeds the bolt is cycling at. The regulator seemed to have a bit of a problem keeping up with high rates of fire but was by no means deficient. Still, an aftermarket reg would improve consistancy and should be considered. The speed of
the O3 is amazing. With a board that caps at 30 BPS, a gifted operator would be easily able to shoot with the pro's and embarrass those wanna be's.

Field Play:

So I decided to slap a Halo B on the marker, turn on the eye, and have at it. That's when my first surfaced. The eye was not sensing any paint, and was limiting the marker to firing at 1BPS. I took the marker apart, checked for any loose connections, kinks in the wiring, blockages on the actual eye, nothing. So I turned the sensor off and the marker fired like a dream. The marker is so small that the Halo B almost dwarfs it. This is where the design of the marker shines. Even without the eye, going against the premium guns was a snap. I was able to match the Angel's and Timmy's SHOT for SHOT. The marker is fast, light, and compact.

Afterthoughts:

After play, while cleaning, I noticed that the top of the aluminum bolt had a suprisingly high anount of wear. The friction had also caused a considerable amount of wear on the inside of the body as well. This was slightly alarming due to the fact that the marker was oiled prior to use every time. If a delrin bolt becomes available, I highly suggest any owner of this marker to "buy it immediately."

At first chance I called Odyssey to see if a tech could help me out with the eye. Customer service was great, and the tech recommended I send the marker back to Moblie, Alabama. Apparently the problem seemed to be with the board, and their was nothing that they could help me with over the phone. Because this is the first series of this new line, problems with the boards were common. So of it goes for a few weeks.
Conclusion: All in all I think that the O3 is a ground breaking marker. The only drawback is the fact that Odyssey has not been able to shed some of the problems they had when they were Dragun. Some of the markers which they release do have problems, more so than the larger companies. They counter this with exellent customer support. Unfortunately, it is still frustrating to send back a $500.00 marker to be fixed, when it should work perfectly out of the box. When the O3 is functioning properly, watch out. It has the performance and the looks to turn heads. Odyssey deserves credit for bringing high end performance to the budget minded consumer. While they may have an occasional set back out of the gate, they are definitely THE company to watch down the road.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
29 Comments - Add Comment

Paint INC Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any high/midrange gun
Marker Setup: Stock Odyssey O3
WGP TRV
Macdev gladiator
Stiffi Switch
cp rail + cp on.off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt > Barrel Kit > Regulator > Shoot with HPA
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Milling
Datacable capable
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: After getting an Odyssey O3 to test out I was very suprised how similar it was to the Dragun The One but also very different.

Impressions: I loved the look once I opened it. The feel was great and light. This would be one of the best guns for a front player in my professional opinion. The milling and anodizing is of great quality and is eye catching to all I showed the marker to. Being how this is just a Dragun The One in a different body I was amazed on how much they improved this marker. Odyssey obviously knew how great The One was and just fixed the problems they came across and built the O3.

Sadly when I checked everything out I was suprised after all the improvements they made Odyssey still had a metal bolt which was horrible. I decided to take it out and test. I tried it both with a Qloader and a Vic Halo B. Needless to say they both preformed outstanding. This marker is by far the fastest and most accurate in its money class in my opinion. I shot around a half case through the marker.

Afterward: When I went to clean the marker I first checked the bolt and of course it was scratched so I knew a bolt will be the best and most necessary upgrade. I checked inside and luckily it wasnt as bad as I thought it would be.

UPDATE:

After putting on various upgrades I must say this gun is very appealing, so much so that I kepted it. I since have upgraded the hpr/drop, barrel and little misc extras. This is still by far one of the fastest guns I have shot without paying over $800. I also have switched to Halo with an angry board which is a superior form of technology compared to a vic board.

SAD:

Odyssey is loosing alot of support and trust from the future and current customers because they have not came out with the datacable. Also no aftermarket bolts were available which is also bad. Although they have O3x upgrades which makes the O3e top cocking and they give a delrin bolt + software upgrades.

GOOD:

Upgrades were great but still no datacable but the black delrin bolt is nice.


Not much more for upgrades but I will update this when I can, thank you.
Conclusion: Yes I will and would recommend this marker to all who want a great marker for a low cost. I cant wait until the O5 comes out so I can compare the two. If you loved the Dragun The One you will completely love this marker. When the data cable comes out you will be able to program this marker through your computer which will be amazing. Also for those of you who own the Dragun The One you know how you cant save your settings, well with this marker you can! Although Odyssey has a bad rep of not answering all emails or that they take along time for things to come out. I hope they fix those problems because the average customer is waiting.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 at 11:45 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

poodoi2001 Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse
tippmann a5
dragun t1
2003 wgp autococker
Marker Setup: 2004 odyssey o3
cp regulator
dead on drop
qev
freak 14" barrel
pure energy 68 4500psi
evo II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator
barrel
qev
Strengths: Shoots darts
Insanely fast
Small and light
Looks sexy
Weaknesses: no data cable to adjust dwell
DONT PRESS RESET BUTTON!!!!!
stock twisting feedneck
Review: I just switched from a Dragun "one" marker to the Odyssey O3. Let me tell you, it's night and day. I like my T1 marker when there wasn't a leak or any other problems with it but the o3 has been a god send. The construction of the marker is excellent. Odyssey did a great job of fitting such an insanely great marker in a small package.

When I got the gun I switched out the reg and inline grips for a dead on drop and cp regulator. I also put it a qev that made a big difference in cycling rate. I could now thow out ropes of paint with ease. The stock barrel is actually pretty good but my freak barrel was just that much more accurate.

I played a couple of times at SC Village in CA with the marker. I was shooting the lanes against Timmys, Angels, and DM4s. the O3 more than kept up with all of them. I had at least a dozen guys ask me what I was shooting. A couple of the Timmy owners shot the O3 and they kept telling me how sweet the marker is. There jaws dropped when I told them that I got this marker for 1/3 of the price of theirs. 2 of them even asked me where they can one.

My only gripes with the marker is the dreaded RESET button. I read at pbnation.com that when you press the reset button you screw the gun up entirely. The only way to fix the problem is to send it in to Odyssey. Also the marker comes with a plunger style aluminum bolt. It would have been better with a nylatron or delrin bolt.

Happily, Odyssey came out with the new O3x which resolves all these problems. no more problems with the reset button, they put in a delrin bolt with a top pin, more setting adjustments, and a better regulator. If you have the older model Odyssey is willing to upgrade all the parts for $50 (including S/H). Not bad considering a delrin bolt can cost you between 30-45 bucks.

All in all I got to say I am really impressed by Odyssey. This marker has it all and you can find some of these guys for $300 or less on ebay (brand new). If you want to take you game to the next level pick up an O3. You can get performance, reliability, and looks without breaking the bank.
Conclusion: Buy it you wont regret it!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Opteron_FA Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit (Doesnt Compare but is very reliable)
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3 Stock, PMI 72ci 3000psi, Odyssey 3 Barrel Kit (Barrels with diff. bore sizes), Egg Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good Paint to Barrel Match, my gun came with a free 3 barrel kit from Odyseey so I don't really need to upgrade :D
Strengths: accuracy and body of a cocker and speed and lightness of a timmy (See Below)
Weaknesses: Nothing really minor problems (See Below)
Review: REVIEW:

Accuracy: Autococker accuracy, if you don't then get a good paint to barrel match.

Speed/Eyes: almost like if you were holding an Angel or a Timmy, reaching 30 bps, The eyes on this gun auto detect on how fast your hopper can shoot and not let you out shoot your hopper. Very nice upgrade Odyssey has done. :D

Cosmetics/Weight: The Odyssey O3 is SO LIGHT to me this gun ways about 4 pounds at the most, im not kidding... Looks like an autococker with better milling, it comes with a low rise clamping feedneck (no worries here) comes with a sweet reg and gauge, has pnuematics as if it were an autococker, and sweet gloss added to it. Mine is Black to Blue fade on the color *SWEET*

Reliability: Very realiable, not much work is needed on it, just the occasional paint-barrel match, appropriate hopper, etc... but this gun barely needs any work on it just the occasional.

Testing Results: I went out to the field to test the accuracy I used Blue Streak paintballs (paint-barrel match was perfect), same gun set up I have above, about 38°F with no wind. I set up a 1ft by 1ft box, distance was 50ft and 75ft
-Results: (Yes, I actually took the time to measure everything to write proper results)
+50ft: I shot 100 rounds and all were inside the box practically dead on to about 1cm apart.
+75ft: 100 rounds again, all still stayed inside the box still dead on to about 1in apart
-Very air consistent

Conclusion: As to my review if you are not convinced into buying a really reliable gun in terms of both speed and accuracy, I don't know what will oh yea and I got this gun for $290 at ebay(new), this gun is really worth about $500+. I give this gun a 10 for being one of a kind, and very reliable in all that you need to be successful in paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

cw2viper Thursday, November 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fasor technology, nothing really compares, maybe an Impulse, Have tried the one and a Torid X.
Marker Setup: O3, Egg2, 91 CU preset at 800 psi, Odyssey barrell system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the reg to a vertical and get rid of the dovetail ASA reg.
Strengths: Super light, Awesome cycle rate, Backlit display, compact! smallest marker I have ever played.
Weaknesses: Proprietary dovetail. Blowback out of the rear of the bolt
Review: I got this initially as a test after Odyssey had been selling markers for a while. When a new marker comes out it takes a little time to work the production bugs out. I think they prolly did this with the O3X. The trigger is 2 point adjustable but stock has a lot of lateral play. even so I found it incredibly easy to walk and after I voluntarily capped the board at 15 BPS it started spitting ropes. Do not play with the reset!!!!! on an original O3 this will kill the marker. Lots of capability to work upon.
Conclusion: As far as value this is the most incredible machine Ive ever seen less my Angel Speed. It does have a few issues but as the O3X is now available I wouldnt even consider them. I am eager to step up to the X.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Live2Dye21 Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None....Shoots incredibly fast!
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3 with 5 piece barrel kit, Revy, and 70ci 4500psi stubby
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
HOPPER(Halo B or Egg)
New Feed Neck
Delrin Bolt: http://www.spudnukl.com/odyssey.html
Strengths: Shoots Incredibly Fast
Super Accurate
Light Weight
Forward Striking Bolt
Its got an eye
Weaknesses: Kinda Loud
ON/OFF
Feed Neck
Not Many Upgrades(ie. data link cable)
Review: This gun is so awesome for the price!!! It shoots with Timmy's and Matixs. This gun also looks so cool. I bought this gun new off Ebay for 305$. It came with the gun, a five piece barrel kit, free shipping, and a package of random field essentials. (includes the chargers too). If you are looking at these reviews to buy this gun, then definatley buy it. From what I have experienced so far it's a great gun! One downside is the fact that not many parts are available for it since its a new marker. Also, not many pro shops know how to work on this gun because so few of them are around. But, besides that it's awesome.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is great. Shoots like a $900-$1500 marker for one third of the price. What a deal. Oh yeah, it also takes autococker threaded barrels which is a plus for me!
SO GO OUT AND BUY THIS GUN!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

rottensquad09 Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragunfire, Dragun T.E.S., Dragun ONE, and a couple of spyders
Marker Setup: 2004 Odyssey 03. With Bob Long torp. reg., Bullet 7-in drop, Freak barrel kit, EVolution 2 hopper with z-board and paddle mod, Crossfire 68/300 fiber wrap tank, Eclipse QEV.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, New HPR to replace the stock bottom line.
Strengths: Speed, Accurate, Well built gun, No kick, Light, Small, Good software reliable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think that this gun is very well priced for the amount of things that you get with the gun itself. I works really well out of the box and is a very easy to use for new players. I think that it is a awsome marker for the money. I think that everyone should at least give the 03 a try and give it a fair shot.
Conclusion: You need to go out and try to find a better gun for the money. Their are none that i have found for the price. Thbe menu has so many different things to play with and adjust that their is little room for emprovement. The only thing that you could improve is the some of the options in the menu are not needed at this time but when the new upgrades come out their will be nothing that compares.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jntballer Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No electros, I had the dragunfly mech, and ive shot cockers but they don't compare at all
Marker Setup: evolution II loader, 5 piece odyssey barrel kit, 47ci air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel is really all, the stock ones ok but its always nice to have a good paint to barrel match
Strengths: Fast, really quiet, looks awsome, very light, easy to use
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I just got the gun this week, and it flys, its a paint spitting machine. When I got the dragunfly mech the regulator didn't work and it leaked, but this works great right out of the box. I will update this after I play in some games, but after shooting it it flies. Havent chopped any balls at all.
Conclusion: I totaly recommend this gun, you can get it new on ebay with a 5 piece barrel kit cheap and they just flat out work.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Johnnieman44#2 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun TES
Spyder AMG
Bob Long intimidator- compares easily, maybe better
Dye Matrix- compares easily
Marker Setup: Ody o3
CP rail and On.off
Torpedo Reg
Spudnukl bolt
Halo B
68/4500 nitroduck
Recommended
Upgrades:
BOLT!!
NITRO!!
Strengths: This thing is fast as hell.
Weaknesses: hardly any.

DONT HIT THE RESET BUTTON!
Review: Wow. This gun is the most amazing gun i have ever owned. It is far better than my lasoya intimidator and Dye matrix LCD.

The body is pristine and well made, the bolt is the only set back, its metal.

It has eyes and they work great.

THIS THING IS SOOOO FAST!

great gun.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It is the most amazing guy i have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

QbanB Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Marker Setup: 14" Odyssey Barrel
Halo B V35/RIp
88/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B
HPA Tank
Reg and Drop
Barrel
Feedneck
LPR
Strengths: Light
Fast
Price
LCD Screen
Weaknesses: LPR needs adapter if you want to upgrade
Eyes
Review: I bought this gun for $285. I could've found for about $235-$250 but this one had all the O3X upgrades minus the top cocking bolt. I was also informed that a PMI rep tweaked it. Well I get it along with a Halo B because whats the point of having a fast marker if you have slow hopper.

I receive the gun in the mail, and turn it on I personally like the LCD screen. Its easy on the easy with a dark blue background with white characters. You get a shot counter, battery meter, and the ability to turn the eyes on and off. I just put air on it just make sure it works and dry fired about 5 or 6 times. It was pretty fast.

The first day of paintball: We dont play at a field we just go to a spot in the woods and play because most of us are cheap lol. Well I put paint in my Halo and aired it up. I just shot it for S&Gs. And I was amazed with the eyes on it was shooting a line of paint. With the stock barrel it was as quiet. Its also the lightest gun i've ever used.

Stock the gun was great, I would recommend the usual upgrades, bolt, barrel, reg, and so fourth. Also the stock bolt is very good for aluminum its very very very smooth. It doesnt eat the body at all surprisingly. Im also able to get mine running at about 160 PSI shooting 280 FPS.
Conclusion: I found one for selling for $200 its great gun for the price. It was limited to upgrades but they're slowly comming around. Basically you can get them all now. The bolt is available, and LPR adapter is out. Only thing left is the data cable which probably wont comeout. The T-board should be available around late July early August. I only give it a 10 because of price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 7th, 2005 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media