paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip

Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 91
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the VL Prodigy™ E-Grip semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The Prodigy E-Grip™ is designed for high performance and durability. It sets the standard for value priced, metal, semi-automatic markers with features that include: a field strippable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, a lightweight aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a self-locking velocity adjustment, welded vertical feed port, two panel electronic grip, double finger trigger, laser engraving and newly redesigned top cocking bolt.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paintBALLER123 Wednesday, June 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months41 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Viewloader Prodigy E-grip, electric hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spyder barrels fit....any 12"-14" barrels are good for above $40.00.
Strengths: Shoots great...hurts...very accurate. 8 shots per second.
Weaknesses: Nothing. GREAT gun.
Review: Overall this is a great gun. I found nothing wrong with this product other than when you turn up velocity passed 350, the paintball goes crazy. Nothing wrong at all, very accurate, best if you play Team death match on medium size field...accurate up to 150 ft. My velocity is set at about 295 fps and works great!
Conclusion: BUY IT! Nothing can go wrong! Go to a trusted dealer...he/she will tell you..great gun. BETTER THAN A TIPPMAN 98 CUSTOM BY A LOT. 8 shots per second.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
36 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Davenport Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year27 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (galour)
Typman procarbin, 98's
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy / E-Grip
VL Revolution 12 Volt / X Board
Pure Energy 20oz.
32 Degrees / spyder spring up grade the gold
Smart Parts 14" teardrop barrel
JT 14" barrel for back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (The nine inch stock is not that bad but it would make a big difference.)
New springs
Strengths: 1) great gun for the money
2) shots accurate
3) Dependable
Weaknesses: Water ; donot take it out to play in the rain.
Review: Plain and simple this marker goes the distance . I ' ve gone out to play with some serious weekend warriors . Some of them thought it was funny that I would even bring a VL Prodigy on their field . Others even lectured on the inferior marker , and how I was as good as gone . I had 6 kills that day and left the field without a drop of paint on me . I left that field that day with my head held high and my inferior marker in hand........lol
Conclusion: Buy it great marker
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 at 2:17 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Davenport Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (galour)
Tippmanns
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy e grip
Smart Parts 14" Teardrop (Spyder)
VL Revolution 12 volt with X-board
VL 200 backup
Pure Energy 20 oz.
32 Degrees Spring Upgrade (Spyder)
The Gold is Truley Golden
Recommended
Upgrades:
1)Barrel......Teardrop
2)Springs....Any Spyder Set
3)Electronic Hopper .....Dramatically increases ROF
Strengths: Shoots Great
Accurate
E-Grip is awesome
Field strip is easy for anyone
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: There is a down fall to this other wise great marker , Rain
Review: I recently Got to play with some serious weekend warriors . On average their guns cost $300 and up.(Mine on the other hand cost $59 at Walmart) they thought it was funny that I would even walk on to their field with my VL Prodigy. Some of them Began to lecture on the inferior weapon . But when it all was said and done . I walked off the field without a drop of paint on me and my victims wished they could have done the same . I left that field with my head held high......


Conclusion: This is one of the best guns out there for the money....
buy it. Yes I got on clearance ,but it is still a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mookie989 Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator, Genesis, and Avenger. They don't compare to this.
Marker Setup: Prodigy E-Grip with a lightened trigger, 16oz co2, revolution hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lightened and set back trigger, that's just if your a front player.
Strengths: It shoots very well, and staright and it doesn't use a lot of air.
Weaknesses: NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: I think this is one of the best markers I've used. It's not a high maintence marker. It comes with baically everything u need. This marker can be used for any position on the field. I have modified this marker so many times that i can't beleive how good it is. I see people on the field fixing their markers and having trouble with it, but i have not ever had any trouble that over 5 minutes to fix.
Conclusion: I think this is the best beginner/intermediate marker that you can find for a good price. It has been so good to me. Just always keep it clean and shiny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Trickster Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Raptor Rental, and Eradicator.
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, Great the way it is.
Strengths: Accuracy, Fire rate, Stability, Reliable, doesnt chop balls, doesnt need much cleaning after use, Barrel.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is GREAT. It has Great aim even when shooting fast. It also isnt very loud. I shot about 600 balls and not a Single ball broke. It also looks SO nice and plays great. I went paintballing with this gun and I got 2 safety kills at the same time becuase the players were afraid of my gun. This gun is 100% great quality for all types of players. Great for beginners and Great for pros. Awesome gun. A+++
Conclusion: I really recommend this gun to anyone who likes paint-balling. This gun is Flawless. I also recommend you to stay away from brass eagle markers. I bought and eradicator, marauder look a like, and it broke before i even used it. My friend also bought a marauder and the velocity was SO high, and he couldnt lower it anymore. Just try not to buy brass eagle markers or paintballs they are crap. Other than that i want recommend the VL Prodigy to any type of player. Great Gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Mattdieter Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmy, real nice autocockers, angel, bushmaster
Marker Setup: 1996 autococker
- shocktech pnuematics
- ans bolt
- orr-acle valve
VL Prodigy
- dye slide frame
- cp one piece barrel

automag classic
- dye xcel barrel
- aci foregrip
- quick disconnect hoses

68/3000 aci tank
black and clear evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, it works totally fine
Strengths: Very light trigger, with a nice board in it.
Good stock barrel
light weight
Weaknesses: Plastic grip frame
Glue holds on grip texture
Battery compartment has a tight fit
Review: I am really impressed by this gun. I expected it to be a total piece of crap when I bought it, but I was wrong. I easily can out shoot my xboard revi, and it is reliable and has decent accuracy. No matter what people think about this gun, I can confidently play in any tournement with it. If you ask me, it shoots just like a timmy. And I am not just saying that. I have owned a ton of guns, and this easily betters or equalls them. I don't know, maybe i just got the magical 1/1000000, that actually works great.
Conclusion: Next time I play a tourney, I am pulling out this gun. And to all the people who think this gun isn't good enough to play with, you are all just scared that youll get made fun of. I think this gun deserves a ten. It costs a 10th of the price of a gun that works just like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballmess Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 - my gun is better
spyder victor 2 - my gun is better
Marker Setup: prodigy
20 oz Co2 tank
normal hopper
drop forward
16 inch spyder barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
electric hopper
drop forward
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Quick clean
electric trigger
Weaknesses: Rain/water
Review: This is a very good gun for a newer or intermidiate player. I took the spring out of mine making the trigger pull much less difficult. I really like the quik pull pin. I highly reccomend this gun. Get it, you won't be dissapointed. I really like the electric trigger too
Conclusion: Just get it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 1st, 2006 at 2:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eldugo Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty similar to most blowbacks, with the exception of the electronic trigger it functions about the same.
Marker Setup: Rainmaker (In work)
Mad Marty mods 1-5
palmer stabilizer and mini rock
Angel 90 degree space frame with Galeforce board and custom switch
x-board revy
More to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
If you want to add an expansion chamber or regulator you must buy an adapter to fit the reverse/awkward sized threads of this gun. Lapco and dropzone both make one and at the time of this review you can get one at www.vlproseries.com
Strengths: Bang for the buck
Trigger
Build Quality
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is pretty bad
Requires an adapter for expansion chambers/reg
Review: I got tired of using rental guns while I built my Rainmaker, so I jumped on the opportunity to pick one up for $60. The build quality is outstanding, unheard of in this price range. The rate of fire is decent, I think the board is capped at 8 or so bps, which is fine seeing how thats about the mechanical limit of this gun. I play in a sandy envirenment so I COMPLETLY dissasemle this gun after every time I play, the whole process takes only about 10 minutes to have it cleaned and oiled. The gun runs pretty well on co2, I did notice some shootdown under rapid fire. A good gun for beginners and recreational players.
Conclusion: I picked one up at walmart for $60. If you can find one at that price JUMP ON IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dman57 Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rental gun, tippman, Raptor, Marauder
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy
Recommended
Upgrades:
You dont really need any upgrades, the gun is great
Strengths: Aim, doesnt break balls, stable, reliable, doesnt really need any maitnence
Weaknesses: none really
Review: Overall this is a great gun, even for a begginner. Looks nice, feels nice, sounds nice, works nice. If u dont get this gun i suggest u DONT get a brass eagle gun, they are like rentals that have been broke before. i bought a marauder and the velocity was so high it could break the skin, and if u tried to turn the velocity down the screw came out. my friends trigger was broke when he bought a eraticor. dont get b.e. VL prodigy works, and its reliable.
Conclusion: Get this gun if u have jsut started paintballing, or are in the middle. it says i hae 3 years of experience, thats only cause i played 2 years ago and now i just started playing agian. p.s zak just go with the crowd and get a prodigy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

joperop Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, VL Orion, Triad, Spyder Imagine, Talon Ghost. These do not perform as well as the Prodigy. The Imagine was probably the closest one but for less money I purchased just as good of a gun if not better.
Marker Setup: Viewloader Prodigy (e-grip), Armson Stealth 13" barrel, autoloader, pure energy Co2 tank and tank stock .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a longer/quieter barrel, barrel stock, rechargeable 9v battery(for e-grip), electronic hopper.
Strengths: Accurate, reliable, inexpensive, easily cleaned and maintained, spyder barrels fit.
pballs rarely break or drift.
Weaknesses: a little difficult to get info on for upgrades. Shiny (not so well in woods)
Review: Absolutely awesome gun. I play with a lot of guys that use very expensive autococker's and spyder guns with their nitrous and everything else. I can promise you that none of that means anything if they can't wield the gun. This gun shoots strong, and straight, and very easy to oil / maintain. I've been playing paintball for a long time and this is the best gun that I have used yet. If i ever see a reason to buy a more expensive gun then I will let you all know. In the mean time the Prodigy is nailing these guys , by the way, at probably at least a fifth of the price.
I can force out 11 balls/sec with an electroloader and rechargeable 9v in the grip.
The only reason I upgraded the barrel was to be more accurate at a further distance and to quiet the gun a little more. The stock barrel, however, I put on my 2nd gun to make it more accurate. I recommended the tank stock so you can rest the butt-end of your CO2 tank on your shoulder for a more steady and accurate shot and less recoil. After playing for this long I say this gun can and will be used by beginners, intermediate, AND advanced players. Just remember that accuracy has a lot to do with the paintball size and quality too. I've been using Draxxus Sun-flare's and they work beautifully with this setup.
Conclusion: Overall I am extremely happy with this gun. I had a hard time finding upgrades at first, but they are out there trust me. I recommend this gun to anyone wants to win without emptying the walet. If you haven't tried one of these yet, I highly recommend it. Its accurate, nice looking, and idiot proof. Remember, having a nicer gun doesn't keep you from getting shot.
I give it a 9.9 (none are perfect) and a must buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 14th, 2004 at 2:32 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media